We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirador del Rio

Mirador del Rio
Book In Advance
More Info
US$41.71*
and up
Northern Lanzarote Day Trip
Ranked #15 of 178 things to do in Lanzarote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located 400 metres high, on the Risco de Famara, the Mirador del Río is one of César Manrique's most representative architectural creations as it shows a series of artistic and architectural details and his eagerness to combine art and nature. It is located near the remains of an ancient military base that dates back to the end of the 19th Century. It is camouflaged on the rock in a way in which only a genius of Manrique's magnitude could conceive.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is located at the northern tip of Lanzarote, so it's a bit of a drive from the main resorts. However, it is well worth the trip driving through unusual volcanic countryside to get to Mirador del Rio as there are truly stunning panoramic views from there. Make sure to take your camera! We didn't eat or drink anything at Mirador del Rio (even though the café was not busy), but we did buy a small souvenier from the shop.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ditas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,531
    1,001
    381
    106
    55
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cerceda, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad manners.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

It was very unpleasant the way that we were treated by the team of the "mirador del río" this evening. We were not allowed to buy a ticket at 17:37, but some other visitors were allowed to access the place because thay had a visit vochure. I mean if it is closed, it is closed to everyone, isn't it? Once again I have to complain about how this worker (hope he's not a public one) mistreated and shouted at us. He shut the window after threatening us with calling security to put us out.
So we walked 100 meters down the road and could enjoy the same great views without paying a ticket... what we drove 37 km for!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sergei V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery and a tasty lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is our second visit to Mirador del Rio. This time we bought a tourist ticket to visit 3 places for 20 euros. The other two we chose were the Cueves de Verde and jameos del Agua. 20 euros for 3 attractions saved us 3 Euros per person so it was well worth doing.

As we visited on Saturday it was busier than on previous visit but the sky was clear so the views were breathtaking. be sure to take a jacket or warm fleece with you as the winds on the observation levels can be quite strong and cold in Winter.

Lunch for the men in our party was tasty sandwiches but for me who can only eat wheat free there was nothing available.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank judith_annw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Mirador Del Rio is well worth a trip if you're staying on the island. We were staying in Playa Blanca which is the other side of Lanzarote but the drive was only about 40 minutes. We were advised to visit but didn't really know what to expect. I'm really pleased we did though because the view is breathtaking. The architecture of the cafe built into the cliff is also really nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
290 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fantastic Panoramic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Views are spectacular, but the place itself isn't up to too much.
Don't forget your camera.
The only negative was the waiters in the cafe who didn't seem too focussed on customer service...apart from when you are leaving

Helpful?
Thank LiLiCockerpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mirador del Rio also viewed

Lanzarote, Canary Islands
 
Punta Mujeres, Lanzarote
 

Been to Mirador del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing