We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Lancelot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancelot Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

When I saw mixed reviews about this hotel, I had second thought but I still continue and book it for my holiday as it ticks most of my requirements. The hotel is 20 seconds-walk from golden sandy beach of Arrecife. The food was fantastic! Buffet breakfast was never boring even if I stayed for 7 days - lot of varieties everyday. As a solo traveller, this hotel was very handy for the likes of me. It is near the airport (10 euro by taxi), 10-minute walk to/from the town centre, 5 minutes away from local bars, pubs and clubs. There is a nearby Spanish-inspired disco/club - if you want to taste local dance, ie salsa, tango, rumba, pasa-doble, etc...The staff were friendly and tried their best to speak in English. There is a free Wi-fi, (out-dated) gym, small roof top swimming pool. There were no many tourists lurking around, I felt I blend well with the local culture despite a short stay. You can have a nice stroll / jog by the boulevard along the shore line. Also, a nice relaxing spa at nearby Gran Hotel tops it all. In terms of excursion, the bus stops beside the hotel to pick up travelers who wish to explore the island, very convenient. Ask the reception staff about trips/excursion (ave. 40 eu with lunch). Although the mattress was not as comfortable as mine at home, this was the least of my worries. Overall, it turned out better than I expected.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimibayot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    297
    87
    23
    9
See reviews for
52
417
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Lancelot was our first stop on our trip to Lanzarote. We had to stay one nite after very late arrival and this hotel offered the best price (51 EUR b&b).
The check-in was very pleasant, with very communicative night receptionist (plus!). The room itself wasn't something special. Basic, showing signs of age, though clean. Mini-bar locked. The view from our window was really nothing, but since we would stay there only one nite, we didn't bother.
Breakfast - not bad, not amazing either. It reminded me breakfast at every Ibis, with a bit wider choice of products. The staff was efficient, nothing was missing on the buffay.
Check-out was smooth, but the receptionist (this time it was a woman) couldn't care less. She said only two sentences - the price we had to pay and "bye".
So, to sum up. If you want or must stay in Arrecife, book this hotel. But not for a long stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitbulltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed for one night only, was perfectly fine, spotlessly clean, and better furnished than I had imagined based on other peoples reports saying it was old fashioned. Was a treat to find carpet on the floor! Theres not much to do in the area at night time but found a small supermarket open just 2 minutes down the road to buy some nibbles and a great new bar had opened that night, a modern chill out bar, but cant remember the name of it! Definately worth a visit though, just a few minutes down the road when you come out of the hotel on the right hand side.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairebear1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Very happy with my expense at this hotel :) Nice room, kind people, good position (in front of the sea) and relaxing environment.

Perfect breakfast, you can find almost everything you want from a breakfast!!

five stars experience

Room Tip: Room with the sea view are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We chose the Lancelot as a last-minute getaway after a bit of indecision between there and the Gran Hotel. The decision to stay at the Lancelot was based entirely on the fact that it was the cheaper option.

A number of other reviews have referred to the Lancelot as a Travelodge-style hotel, and this description is quite apt. The foyer was often full of suited businessmen; the hotel offers free Wi Fi; and the rooms were functional and clean but not luxurious.

We paid extra for a sea view room. The traffic noise complained of by other reviewers did not really bother us, however, we are rather early risers. Any minor irritations caused by the road were more than made up for by the view.

The hotel has a pool on the roof which we used most days. In our eight days at the hotel, we only saw one other couple in this area!

Upon arrival we had a problem with our safe. We reported the problem to the receptionist and, by the time we returned from a wander around the town, the issue had been resolved. Indeed, whenever we had cause to ask staff for assistance, they were always very willing to help and were extremely efficient.

The choice on the breakfast buffet was limited and became a bit ‘samey’ towards the end of our stay. We ate in the hotel’s restaurant on the first evening, and found the food and wine to be very good and very reasonably priced.

Insofar as the hotel’s location is concerned, there is a beach directly opposite which is generally very quiet. Although a busy road separates the hotel from the beach, the noise from the traffic during the day is not intrusive. There are a number of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance of the hotel.

If you wish to explore the island there are a handful of car rental shops within a few minutes’ walk of the hotel, or you can do as we did and ask the receptionist to organise a hire car. There is also a pleasant three-or-so hour sea-front walk from Arrecife to Puerto del Carmen.

We found the Lancelot to be perfect for our needs and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is looking for an inexpensive break in the sun.

A note about Arrecife (which does not form part of my review).

Arrecife is not what one would consider as a ‘typical’ Canary Islands resort. There are no sunloungers on the beach and we did not stumble upon anywhere that sold fry-ups. Anyone looking for a home-away-from-home will probably be disappointed - we heard a number of British couples complain that they were having to travel back and forth to other resorts as they were unable to find restaurants in Arrecife which sold food they would eat.

It was also our experience that very few bartenders or waiters spoke particularly good English. If you do intend to stay in Arrecife, then it would be a very good idea to learn a bit of Spanish before you go!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth the extra few quid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank apb_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week 7-14 Dec 2011 with friends, to celebrate my 70th birthday.Second visit to the Lancelot in 2011. Great hotel with really helpful, and friendly staff. Well managed and spotlessly clean, and great value for the service provided. Carlos Cruz, the Manager leads by example, and is the essence of courtesy. On my birthday complimentary fruit, and champagne were sent to our room, and I thank Carlos and Staff for their kindness. All in all a very pleasant and positive experience. We'l be back- try it- it's a gem!

Room Tip: Top floor front on the left side ( from seafront) with balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Downes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We paid a very cheap price for the room & breakfast as this was part of a special pre-Christmas offer.
Our room was OK, nothing special, but some have balcony and view on the beach.
Gym and roof-pool available but water was rather cold so not used; can be nice in summer.
Service was good and friendly.

Room Tip: For sure try to get a room with view on sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AC_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrecife
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diamar
Hotel Diamar
#3 of 9 in Arrecife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrecife Gran Hotel
Arrecife Gran Hotel
#1 of 9 in Arrecife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
3.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,561 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
5.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancelot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancelot Hotel

Property: Lancelot Hotel
Address: Avenida Mancomunidad 9, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrecife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancelot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancelot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Arrecife, Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing