We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay at a beautiful hotel, would definitely return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arrecife Gran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arrecife Gran Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at a beautiful hotel, would definitely return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I just returned from a week's stay at the Arrecife Gran Hotel with two friends and had a truly excellent time. We had booked a standard room but on arrival were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge, and were further pleasantly surprised to find champagne in our room! We were on floor 9 out of 17, which turned out to be a very good location as there is a pool bar on floor 2 and a cocktail and snack bar on floor 17 which of course had evening/late night music on some nights. The views from almost any floor are stunning, but the panorama from the restaurant and bar on floor 17 is completely incredible.

The hotel itself is beautiful, quiet, relaxed and in a simply stunning location, right next to a beach which was not at all busy in the week but a little livelier at the weekend as local residents came down to enjoy the sun. We had hired a car for convenience - there is a huge car park directly underneath the hotel which costs a special pre-arranged rate of only 8euros per day (exclusive to hotel guests, I think the standard rate might have been 50euros per day? A lot more than the hotel rate anyway!)

Half board was an excellent option - at the buffet restaurant breakfasts were always incredible with a huge variety of food readily replenished. There was everything from hot food (sausages, eggs, bacon, beans, mushrooms etc) to fruit (pineapple, peaches, watermelon, oranges, melon etc) to pastries, pancakes, yoghurts, cereals, meats and cheeses...honestly something for everyone! Similarly dinner always comprised a full and varied salad bar, a huge range of hot options (sometimes on a theme - we had Canarian food, Italian food and Asian food nights during our stay), and again lots and lots of fruit, dessert and ice cream options for pudding.

Before our trip our only reservation about the hotel was that it didn't have an outdoor pool, but this actually turned out to be one of our favourite aspects about it. The pool area is covered in, as you can see in the photos, but with an open balcony at one end, and was a lovely area to swim and relax as it was hardly ever busy. If you want outdoor swimming, the beautiful beach is less than 20 seconds walk from the hotel entrance and there are of course a plethora of other beaches around the island! It was lovely to be able to relax and swim without worrying about sunburn and the like. We also used the spa - they offer a 90 minute 'circuit' for only 15euros, which allows you free use of the jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, turkish bath, foot bath, and sensation showers and pool. Again a very relaxing afternoon and they were not at all strict on time - having had no method of telling the time, when we finally emerged we discovered we'd spent just over 2 hours in there!

The reception staff were always extremely helpful, professional and friendly, and even booked a boat excursion for us on account of our Spanish not being too great! The booking couldn't have taken more than a few minutes but they apologised for 'keeping us waiting' - could not have been nicer people! Many of the bar and restaurant staff were similarly lovely, I wish I had got their names so I could mention them in person! Only a couple seemed less ready to smile or engage with the customers.

Overall a fabulous stay which was a definite highlight of our week in Lanzarote. I would certainly return and have already recommended it to several friends and family. The only point of awareness is that the hotel seems very geared towards couples or two friends travelling together - the tables at breakfast and dinner were always set for two and our room for 3 people comprised a double bed and campbed. The campbed was very comfortable and we were definitely grateful for the upgrade to the suite (!) but just a point to note if you are travelling in a group larger than two.

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Out of 17 floors there are bars on floors 2 and 17 so middle floors are a good option if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sorcha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    568
    196
    65
    42
See reviews for
205
1,009
82
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meysey Hampton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed first week of June and had an absolutely fantastic stay!

Food, rooms and staff were excellent. Unlike other places on the Island Arrecife is not "touristy" so the beach right on the doorstep was never busy and when we paid to go in the incredible Spa we had the place to ourselves!

We had a standard room that still was of a great quality (Twin beds but hey ho!) And the bathroom was stunning.

If you want to escape for a week to eat, drink cocktails and really relax, this is the place for you!

P.s Prawn and mushroom risotto in pool bar is a must!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The first impressions when we got to our hotel were that it was very close to the airport, and looked pretty impressive perched on a lovely beach.

Unfortunately it took 45 minutes to check in, which was quite stressful. This was partially my fault as I hadn't printed one page of a document, but although the staff were very nice, I think that with more training they could have handled the situation better.

The suite we booked was lovely, with gorgeous views. The cleaners were very efficient. The site conditioning was bad, and when we asked if they could help, they said they had but there was no noticeable improvement. When we told them this the repairman came to room and told us that we had the curtains open (in the day) and that the air con wasn't good enough to cope with this. He also told us that we weren't too touch the control panel!

There is no balcony in the rooms, but the views are lovely from the large windows.

The meals in the buffet restaurant were good at breakfast I thought, and usually nice for dinner. Omlettes are good for breakfast, and fish is good for dinner as both are cooked in front of you. Some staff were very happy and others were less so. We only encountered one guy who was blatantly rude, and we made sure that we tipped the people who were helpful and pleasant. Again, with more training the staff could make this an excellent experience.

Alex at the pool bar was really helpful and good company. We didn't like star city (bar at the top) much as we didn't find much atmosphere there.

The pool bar area was lovely and like may have said it is covered. We felt that we mixed going to the beach, pool and sunbathing areas up and it was fine for us.

I'd definitely go back for a long weekend or week if the price remained competitive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lcleaver1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Booked as a secret hotel but the write up gave away the location so not any surprises when we arrived. Fantastic experience from check in to check out. Beautiful room, buffet breakfast & evening meal with so much choice you would have to be really picky not to find something to eat here. Several "themed" evenings which were a change but would certainly recommend the a la carte restaurant on 17th floor - half price menu if you are half board & worth every euro! Staff throughout we're friendly, polite & attentive - nothing was too much trouble. Light bulb in bathroom changed swiftly when fault reported, beds & towels changed daily. Entertainment in both bars was excellent. Would recommend booking excursions through lowcosttourslanzarote as fares around half of what were charged through hotel & tours were just as good. Only down side was that there is very little shelter on the beach so not so great if you are unable to squeeze under one of the few palm trees. Cheap public transport close by so plenty of scope to see the rest of the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 611 which had a beautiful view of the sea from both bedroom & lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeF518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArrecifeGranHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comment regarding your stay in the Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of an 8 night holiday in Lanzarote. We booked a double room and on arrival we received a complimentary upgrade to a suite on the 15th floor. The suite was immaculate and had fantastic sea views; everything we could have wished for. It was our 1st wedding anniversary and on returning to our room after a wander around the town centre there was a bottle of Cava and hand-made chocolates waiting for us in the room. This was the loveliest of personal touches and we can't thank the hotel enough for this very thoughtful gesture. We booked the 90 minute aqua-spa and this was a wonderful, relaxing experience which we would definitely recommend to other guests. The following morning at the breakfast buffet we were blown away by the quality of the food and the amount of choice; again it was faultless. All in all we had a wonderful stay at the Gran Hotel and just wished it had been a few nights longer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArrecifeGranHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a lovely stay and you have apreaciated the courtesy of cava and chocolates.

Waiting to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night and eventhough our first impression was supere, we soon found out the other details that were not so nice.

Our room was fantastic, we asked for an upgrade from the standard double room and against a small charge got a lovely room on one of the highest floors. The rooms were beautifull, spacious and very nice.

As a friend had stayed at the hotel before, we were recommended to have a meal on the top floor in the restaurant which by the way had amazing views over Arrecife. The food was quite pricey and 2 of our meals had to be sent back twice as they were cold when we were given them. The Manager soon came to apologies offering us a bottle of wine on the house but it still left us with the fact that two of our party didnt actually had an evening meal as the ordered duck was just not edible.

We went to the pool bar for some drinks and ordered a round of cocktails for our party. The Mojito's were very good whilst at the same time the strawberry daquiri's were one and all sugar and had been made with liquid and sirop and did not have one fresh strawberry in them. For 7 Euros each a bit steap if you arent even going to try to make a real cocktail for your guests !!!

The breakfast was very poor aswell compared to any other 5 star hotel, the buffet was very small with not much choice. Coffee was like water but they did have fresh oranges that YOU could squeeze yourself for juice. Terrible !!!

Overall very disappointed as I was looking forward to our stay at this hotel. Hopefully changes will soon be made as it would be such a shame to have such a beautifull building have nothing else to offer.

The staff eventhough very friendly just seemed in their own world... when we ordered our lunch the chef actually had to check the ingredients of the dish we had ordered as he obviously did not remember what was supposed to be in it.

I wish I could give this hotel a 4 or 5 star but honestly it is not worth more then 3 stars, not just here on tripadvisor but also in real validation... I wonder how they ever got a 5 star rating by the hotel board.

Room Tip: The upgrade price for a Sea View Junior Suite is definately worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 7IslandSurfschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArrecifeGranHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to leave a comment regarding your stay,
we are very sorry to know that your stay wasn't as good as you expected.

Your opinion is very important for us and help us to improve.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a last minute break and weren't sure about staying in Arrecife rather than one of the tourist resorts. We decided that we had definitely made the right decision when we arrived at the hotel. We got a complimentary upgrade to a 14th floor suite and the room and the views were spectacular. The pool is great and was vey quiet most of the time - do be aware that they have aquarobic classes and such at certain times so if you want a peaceful swim check out the times.

Breakfast is superb, can't imagine anyone could want for anything more.

Taxi's are available directly outside the hotel and regular buses to Puerto del Carmen, Playa Blanca etc. are a short walk away.

We were able to book a late checkout for €28 that made the last day much more pleasant than leaving at midday. The airport is 10 minutes away by taxi at a cost of about €12

Overall a fantastic hotel, wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 10th floor have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArrecifeGranHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Arrecife Gran Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We really want to thank you for taking your time leaving the comment, redarding your stay in the Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa.

We are glad that you had such a good stay with us, and we hope you will come back in a not too distance future.

Yours sincerely,
The Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrecife
9.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,382 reviews
5.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
17.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
17.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lancelot Hotel
Lancelot Hotel
#2 of 9 in Arrecife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrecife Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrecife Gran Hotel

Property: Arrecife Gran Hotel
Address: Parque Islas Canarias | Arrecife de Lanzarote, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrecife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Arrecife Gran Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa is the only 5 star hotel which is situated next to one of the biggest white beaches of Lanzarote.Ideal to spend an unforgettable vacation full of relaxation and tranquillity. It offers in its 17th floors 26 standard rooms, 26 rooms with sea view, 104 suites with sea view an 4 Imperial Suites on the 16th floor with extensive sea views. Fantastic and spacious rooms with excellent views over the sea and the beach, El Reducto beach.All rooms are equipped with the following: •Internet connection/ WIFI•Satellite television•Bureau •Mini bar•Safe deposit box•Air conditioning •Telephone in sleeping room and bathroom Attention to detail is present throughout. They combine exclusive decoration, sophisticated amenities and an excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Arrecife Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrecife Gran Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing