We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arrecife Gran Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

We arrived here on boxing day and stayed for 1 week, the hotel is impressive as we were coming into land the hotel was clearly visible as it is the tallest building at 17 storeys.
When we arrived at the hotel we were pleasantly surprised after reading other reviews, the first thing we wondered is if anyone would take our cases to the room and yes a very smart porter took our cases.
When we arrived at the room it was clean with good decor nice wood floor, two wardrobes and built in safe and small fridge with complimentary juice and water. The TV was bulky not the modern flat screen and the only english station was news 24, however free WI-FI throughout the hotel. We often find european beds a very little hard but this had some give. The bathroom had a large tub with shower over and nice fixtures including his and hers sink and a toilet separated from the bathroom by a glass door. When we reported the fridge not working and asked for a softer pillow this was attended to very quickly.
Breakfast was served on the first floor, there were good views of the beach and sea from most tables. The breakfast was buffet style i found the choice good lots of fresh fruit and juices,breads and cakes, cheeses and ham, cereals and dried fruit and nuts, and eggs and bacon which is cooked at the hot food station coffee and teas are brought by the waiters. We only had breakfast at the hotel so did not try out the rooftop restaurant.
This location is different than staying in one of the main holiday resorts. There were plenty of restaurants within 10 mins walk if you are prepared to explore the back streets including japanese and typical spanish tapas and a great pizza joint. There is a small bus station at the end of the beach where you can get a bus into Puerto del Carmen every 20min appox cost 1.5 euros each way and even cheaper if you want to go to Costa Teguise. There is also a taxi rank just a short distance from the hotel.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel we had a comfortable week relaxing and enjoying the sun we found the staff very pleasant and we paid very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jclaydon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    578
    204
    69
    42
See reviews for
213
1,034
84
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

I came here for a week with my boyfriend. First impressions of the hotel are good, lovely reception and greeted by a friendly receptionist! The rooms are lovely, well furnished and comfortable! We stayed bed and breakfast which was ok but the chef was really rude and alot of the staff didn't understand English!

The pool isn't the best, it was heated and ok but like others have commented it did have run down areas such as broken class and dirty beds, not wat u would expect from a 5* hotel!

The location was average, it's a good 10/15min walk b4 you come to any restaurants, but we found that u could get the number 2 bus into puerto del carman from the bus station which is a 10min walk from the hotel! In puerto del carman there was plenty to do and lots more choice of restaurants! We also spend new year there where there was fireworks on the beach! I restaurant I would recommend is bodega in puerto carman, we went three times!!

All in all we had a good time at this hotel, we were glad we didnt pay 5* prices and if you book be prepared to find your own feet and be able to entertain yourselves!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank me2ujem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

We booked this for 1 night after a 7 night villa stay in Lanzarote. As expected, the hotel isn't 5 star, but then we didn't pay any where near 5 star prices! We booked a half board deal, which offered good value. Our room was much better than expected, with fabulous views across the sea, the room was really spacious, with a smart granite/marble bathroom. Towelling robes were provided which we didn't use as it was so hot but they had seen better days.

There are amazing views from the bar - quite a hit with day trippers and cruise ship passengers in the day time to enjoy the super views across the sea and the city. We could only get a sandwich prior to 1pm in the bar area despite the menu offering other choices.

The pool on the 2nd floor is lovely but the surrounding areas definitely need some refurbishment - broken glass panels and dumped furniture. It is also very windy, which we expected, but as were lucky enough to have almost 30 degrees, it was very welcome.

The restaurant has fabulous views - our deal included a meal which had a great selection, but sadly food didn't deliver. Some very nice presentation, but some bizarre food arrived - sweet potato was actually white potato, sweetened with sugar which was soooo wrong! The cheesecake was very savoury and my husband's crema catalana was missing a flavour hit.

Breakfast offered a good selection although of a lesser standard than expected.

The hotel could be fabulous -it needs some serious maintenance - it had been very windy, but all the huge glass windows were filthy and the hotel is in an area which has sadly seen significant vandilism and grafitti - the attractive wooden boardwalks had been ripped up, sea wall railings had been ripped out and pretty mosaic tiling in the surrounding area have been broken and pulled out - a real shame.

All in all, we had a good deal and the views were spectacular and we also enjoyed a swim in the sea directly below. However, the immediate area has a definite 'down at heel' feel. Would we book again? Probably not.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

super modern comfortable suites with knowledgeable helpful front of house staff. Good breakfast content and service.
Excellent location adjacent to Reducto beach, public transport and taxi rank.
Down side. The servicing of rooms left something to be dsired. Mini bar was replenished intermittently, bar glasses left unwashed three days out of seven and polished timber floors were left unswept.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stillgoinghants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

My wife and I booked 2 nights at the end of a week in our timeshare villa. Over the 20 years we have been visiting Lanzarote this building has stood as a monument against high-rise buildings i.e. despite being built in the 1980s it was not occupied (except by squatters) until 2004 when it had had something like 25million euros spent on it transforming it into a hotel.

First impressions were good; reception was efficient and helpful, the room with a view was beautiful. Even the pool area is nice but ......... 5*? There was one small tablet of soap in the bathroom (the type that Travelodge supply and I think they provide two tablets!), the pool area does not open until midday (unbelievable) and we had to pay 40 euros cash deposit for two tatty old towels (one had many holes that had been sewn up) for the pool area. In any case it was not possible to stay for long around the pool area because of the wind. I don't have a problem with the pool being on the 2nd floor (it offers a nice view of the beach) but there should be a much higher plastic barrier to make it comfortable.

It was clear that there were very few people staying at the hotel. Went to breakfast in the morning and we couldn't move for people. The breakfast was OK but inferior to other 5* hotels but the reason there were so many people was that an aircraft had developed technical difficulties before take-off and the passengers were put up at the Gran Hotel at 2.30am. That's how many spare rooms there were! The view from the 17th floor bar and restaurant was wonderful. The food was OK, but very well presented, service was excellent and the price was little more than we had been paying in resort restaurants, so we thought the restaurant to be good value.

All in all a disappointing experience for a price of £230 for 2 nights B&B. It's a landmark building in Lanzarote and should be offering more.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank templecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

When we arrived no one offered to take our bags to the room -5 star? The rooms were lovely, clean and if you prefer to look at the views through a window rather than sitting on your balcony, there were good views of the sea and the city. The pool didnt open until 12noon and the pool bar was permanently closed - possible lack of staff. We ordered drinks via the spa reception which took an hour to arrive, at least. The pool area was deserted, it was on the 2nd floor, no parasols as the winds were so strong up there they would have blown away. The beach was within a few feet of the hotel. There were fragments of glass in most areas of what looked like a fabulous sandy beach and no where to get a sun bed or chair in sight, not even to hire. The best restaurant in the area is the 17th floor of the hotel, great panoramic views with wall to cieling windows, but again, its eating from behind a window and the menu was limited. The cafe bars opposite and along the beach front were ok, but if you want to eat out in a lovely restaurant overlooking a beach as opposed to the main road through the city, forget it! The breakfast at the hotel was very good, the suite we had was lovely but the hotel lacked charm, ambience or anything that you would associate with 5 stars other than the accomodation. There was no night life, nothing to do but fight the wind and try and get some sun and why they built a pool area high up instead of ground level where it was a bit more sheltered from the wind is beyond me. We had to leave before the end of the week we had booked and we were not unhappy about going. The surrounding area is run down and looks like a resort in trouble and I am not surprised given the 2 night experience we had.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glam29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

The hotel is lovely. Quite bizarre in this wonderful island. We have stayed regularly in Lanzarote and 2nd time at the Gran. The first occasion, being several years ago, when the hotel was n its infancy. The hotel lacks atmosphere. It is huge, and clinical. Staff were excellent however. The pool area lacked attendants and general care.
This is a good hotel if you were staying a few nights - but not a two week stay.
It is not a 5 star quality. I would rate 4 star.
The hotel needed some attention to detail - like cleaning the glass in the lifts and glass area entrance. Cleanliness around the pool area would be prudent. Also they dictate the spa is 7 days - it is not. The hotel, in my opinion lacked staff. When trying to get information/assistance, there were none. I would still recommend it - we did have a lovely stay - and it is a beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandWestside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrecife
9.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
4.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
17.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.1 mi away
Lancelot Hotel
Lancelot Hotel
#2 of 9 in Arrecife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrecife Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrecife Gran Hotel

Property: Arrecife Gran Hotel
Address: Parque Islas Canarias | Arrecife de Lanzarote, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrecife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Arrecife Gran Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa is the only 5 star hotel which is situated next to one of the biggest white beaches of Lanzarote.Ideal to spend an unforgettable vacation full of relaxation and tranquillity. It offers in its 17th floors 26 standard rooms, 26 rooms with sea view, 104 suites with sea view an 4 Imperial Suites on the 16th floor with extensive sea views. Fantastic and spacious rooms with excellent views over the sea and the beach, El Reducto beach.All rooms are equipped with the following: •Internet connection/ WIFI•Satellite television•Bureau •Mini bar•Safe deposit box•Air conditioning •Telephone in sleeping room and bathroom Attention to detail is present throughout. They combine exclusive decoration, sophisticated amenities and an excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrecife Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrecife Gran Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing