We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful Relaxation”
Review of Hotel Villa Vik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Vik
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

What a gem of a hotel! Yes it's quiet, but that was exactly what we wanted.

The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful - a lovely mix of Moorish and modern design done very tastefully. The standard rooms are a fantastic size and ours had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool, white rooftops and the sea beyond. The pool area and gardens were also well looked after and a lovely place to relax for the day.

The breakfasts were lovely - a different selection of fruits, hams and cheeses everyday; a lovely basket of fresh bread; yoghurt and cereals; freshly squeezed orange juice; and your choice of eggs or omelette cooked on demand. No complaints whatsoever. Dinner was also very good, although we chose to eat out a couple of evenings as the food at the hotel has more of an international than a local feel. However every meal we had was delicious. For those look for local seafood we can recommend La Marea in Playa Honda.

The service in the hotel was exemplary - always with a smile, and although they are not always standing in the bar (which seems a bit pointless if the maximum occupancy is only 28) they are always easy to find and happy to help without being intrusive. Their linguistic skills are excellent - we were really impressed with the English and German spoken.

The only slight downside for us was that there wasn't a beach within easy walking distance. It would be lovely to be able to spend a morning on the beach and an afternoon by the pool, but this isn't possible without a car. We did hire a car and went to Playa de Papagayo near Playa Blanca which is beautiful, and also visited the enormous market in Teguise on Sunday which we can thoroughly recommend.

All in all if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing, friendly hotel in which to recuperate from the stresses of everyday life then this is the place for you. Thank you for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sun_addicts_anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorea S, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Vik, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing your kind opinion in this site, we hope this will be useful for the future guests.

It is always a pleasure to know that our clients have been happy in the hotel, thank you for share your experience with everybody.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

On arriving at the airport we found a taxi and told the taxi driver where we wanted to go - you must be mad he said, why would you want to stay there, there is nothing to do! We were somewhat alarmed at his comment but shouldn't have worried, we had a wonderful week of rest and were looked after brilliantly. The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the airport so the taxi costs 10 euros in each direction.

We were welcomed by Daniel, who although only spoke a little English, was very welcoming and showed us to our room, he explained how everything worked and left us to unpack and get ready for dinner.

The dinner was a choice of 3 starters and 2 main courses followed by dessert, and this was what we had every night. The food was excellent and the chef very happy to cook something else if you didn't like what was on the menu. He also prepared lunch if wanted and we had lovely fresh salads and sandwiches every day, which were very reasonably priced. Our average lunch bill including a beer and water was in the region of 20 euros for 2 people, which we considered very reasonable. Water was 2.4 euros a bottle which we did think was expensive but all in all we were very happy with what ate and drank.

The hotel was very quiet when we went and aside from some air crew, who you would hardly know they were there, we were either alone or with no more than 5 other couples staying. This was great for us but not good for the hotel, we were told their busiest time is during the winter months.

Everywhere was kept spotlessly clean by Daniella and Ava, who worked tirelessly to keep surfaces free from the constant dust caused by the wind and sand. The pool was heated and was also kept clean and was lovely to swim and cool down in.

The hotel had some bikes which you could borrow free of charge which we used most mornings, you can cycle past the airport along to Puerto del Carmen in about 30-40 minutes depending on the wind and how long you stop to watch the flights coming and going. Once at Puerto del Carmen we stopped at Paddy's Bar for a beer (usually at 10am!) before cycling back and ordering another drink at the hotel, before relaxing by the pool for the remainder of the day. The bikes aren't in great condition and could do with some attention. We had the tyres pumped up for us by a kind young man in a nearby bike shop. A bell would have been useful to let other pedestrians know we were around and also a little bit of work on the brakes would be good too!

The best thing about the hotel has to be its staff and they were fantastic, nothing to much trouble for them, always smiling, so many thanks to Sylvia, German, Daniel, Daniella, Ava and the Chefs.

If we get the opportunity we will definitely return at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank antiguababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikhotels, Gerente at Hotel Villa Vik, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments will be passed on to the staff. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Enrico Giordani,
Mangement Hotel Villa Vik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Clean, nice hotel with swimming pool. Staff is very friendly, fluent in Spanish, English and, some of them, even in French. Good for relaxing, even though there is no spa. you'll need a car if you stay in this hotel, as the hotel's neighbourhood are just luxury villas. I stayed for 4 nights with my two (young adult) daughters, and we enjoyed it. NB: the hotel is located between the airport and Arrecife. Drive 5 minutes from the airport towards Arrecife, pass the exit "Playa Los Hondos" and leave the mainstreet 2 minutes later at the gasoline station. There, you'll find a roadsign "VIK Hotel". Not so good, but still ok : the food in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Chose a view on the swimming pool (no noise !)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very well located for the many daytrips one can make on lanzarote. Staff is friendly and always eager to help out. We did not have negative experiences mentioned in earlier reviews. This could be the positive consequence of the low occupancy rate during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mxiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We were looked after as if we were royalty! The staff could not have done more to help make our stay more pleasant and comfortable. The service was brilliant and willing. All done by charming young ladies which this old lady really appreciated. Small but utterly perfect. Just wish they could have arranged the weather too!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
4  Thank Foxtrot0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillavik, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Villa Vik, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Dear Guests,

From Hotel Villa VIK, the Management and the Staff would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays at the attractive island of Lanzarote and we are very glad to hear that you had a lovely stay with us.

We have received with satisfaction your opinion article, which we consider it has a big value and support to improve and to offer our best service with the finality to make the holidays of our guests an unforgettable experience.

Likewise, we invite you to publish your positive comments in other Web sites, where you can collaborate with possible clients which they have not still decided their destination and they are looking for an establishment with similar characteristics as ours.

We would like to welcome you again in a short future and we are absolutely disposed for any consult about our best offers during all the year, or any other further question or doubt you might have.

With our best wishes
VIK Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This is not a five star hotel-three star maybe! We booked for four days but left after two days, a little sad for the very charming and enthuastic girls who were attempting to promote a business with no management. We were told it was managed by the food and beverages manager in the hotel San Antonio but despite the efforts of the staff it was not possible to contact him. Our experience leaves us with doubts about the grading of hotels in Lanzarote. It is interesting that all the problems we experienced were highlighted by a customer one year previously and clearly they were ignored. Unless there is action there is sadly no future for the staff despite their best efforts.

Room Tip: A hotel to be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gallagher76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I spent five of my happiest days in this place. The rooms and the pool were excellent. I have read some of the negative feedback and I think it is all valid. The tip here is ask for what you want. We like a bottle of Cava by the pool before lunch, we wanted lunch at a specific table.

Breakfast is continental, avoid the cooked stuff. We had a tuna salad for lunch every day. Dinner is to be avoided, it is a 20 minute stroll to Lilium and a 5 euro taxi ride back.

Is it five star? no. Will we be going back? yes, can't wait.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank maestro-mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrecife
8.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,183 reviews
1 mi away
Arrecife Gran Hotel & SPA
16.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
5.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
16.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Vik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Vik

Address: C/ Hnos Diaz Rijo 3 | Urbanización La Bufona, 35509 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrecife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Price Range: £161 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Vik 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Vik is nestled in the residential area of Playa del Cable, this elegant villa in Lanzarote was completely renovated in 2007, combining a modern design with classic touches with the aim of providing a warm, agreeable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Vik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Vik Arrecife, Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing