We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Vik”
Review of Hotel Villa Vik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Vik
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A 5 star hotel!!! Never, the evening food was appalling and the lunch choice was omelette or salad. The pool leaked and needed to be topped up each morning which coincided with the fact we did not have any hot water to wash until after breakfast. The other pools were not functioning either. The hotel was almost empty with few guests which meant we needed to be entirely self sufficient in very way, no casual chatter at the bar, which was good as there were no permanent staff serving!!! Sadly it rained for two days which tests the TV service, well one news channel in English!!! The staff were nice and tried hard and the hotel was clean.

Room Tip: find another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Vik
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Reading a number of recent reviews on Trip Advisor, I was a little concerned before our arrival at the Villa Vik in March 2014. These concerns proved to be groundless as the hotel and it's staff are delightful. If you want lots of nightlife, to be close to where it's all happening and gourmet cuisine the it's not for you, but if you want a quiet location, superb service, good food and a comfortable room then I can't recommend it highly enough.

Well placed for the town centre of Arrecife (about 30 minutes walk along a pleasant promenade) and for catching local buses to other resorts. Also, a 30 minute walk along the same promenade but in the opposite direction to Playa Honda for a good selection of local bars and restaurants and a fairly small shopping mall.

Breakfasts were very good, with hot cooked food available to order and really good coffee! Evening meals were varied and usually very good (garlic mushrooms to die for!). Beds are firm but comfortable with linen changed frequently. Room 204 has it's own terrace and jacuzzi (when working!) with sun beds and table and chairs which gets the sun for most of the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just returned after a very relaxing 7 night stay at Villa Vik and enjoyed it so much we regretted not being able to stay for a few days more which is very unusual for us. The experience was quite different from the large 5 star resorts we have been staying in recently. Its scale with only 14 very nice rooms ( those on the 1st floor with balconies overlooking the pool) means its a much more intimate and friendly experience a little like a house (fortunately not the music) party. Decor was very elegant, staff were utterly charming and could not have been more helpful and the internet was fast and free.
We had stayed half board and breakfast were great but dinner varied a little in quality. There was perhaps understandably given the limited number of guests the choice of only three mains options and my wife struggled a little with this as one choice and sometimes two were fish. This suited me perfectly but my wife who does not like fish found her choice restricted. That said I very much enjoyed every dinner!
For those who want to eat out a car would probably be useful although Areciffe is very pleasant twenty minute walk along the promenade with Playa Honda about twenty five in the other direction. We are already planning to go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms felt by some to be a little dark we did not find this.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chompercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We returned from a stay at the Villa Vik just over two weeks ago, for a stay of one week. It is certainly an excellent and beautiful hotel. The bedrooms and other rooms are appointed to a high standard with very comfortable beds. There is plenty of room in the well designed garden for people to sunbath, without being cheek by jowl with your neighbour.

The hotel is a boutique style hotel with only 17 bedrooms, and you should not expect all the facilities that a large hotel offers. It is situated in a very smart suburb of Arecife, near to a very pleasant promenade along the sea, which can be accessed through a narrow passage between some houses.

The staff are extremely obliging and friendly and will provide any service required, there is a 24 hour room service. If you want something however you have to ask for it . It is very rare nowadays to get service of this quality. With the room service in particular it is best to check on the charges before ordering anything as these are not displayed anywhere. The rooms were serviced at least twice a day, with bed linen changed daily, and towels changed twice a day.

We would certainly return there.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have larger balconies
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay here, and we enjoyed it very much, it is probably one of the best SMALL hotels we have styed in. Some of the reviews criticise this hotel but bear in mind it only has 17 bedrooms so, you are not going to get the all singing/ dancing things you do in a large hotel.
The hotel is in Playa Cable, mid way between Arrecife and Playa, Honda there is an excellent promenade between the two resorts which you can walk or cycle and it is very popular. There is no sandy beach in Pl. Cable but rocks go into the sea. Both Pl Honda and Arrecife have very good sandy beaches they are approx. 20 mins walk in each direction from the hotel.
We hired a car ( which the hotel arranged ) for 3 days and managed to visit most of the island.

For a busy hotel there is a small contingent of staff - all excellent, who multi task exceptionally well, the ladies speak English and German but I enjoyed practicing my Spanish - who do so many English not learn a foreign language? the same staff run reception, the bar, restaurant and the garden sun beds.
We thought the food good, ( though not 5* ) plenty of choice at breakfast, and dinner, we like to try something different, why go abroad and expect fish & Chips? if you do - don't go to this hotel. On the first evening guests were give a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and water, which I thought was a welcome touch.

We had a room on the first floor with a large balcony, it had a view of the pool, gardens and could just about see the sea from the large balcony. There is no lift so if you have mobility problems best to book a ground floor room. We considered room servicing exceptional, as the room was checked twice a day, bed linen changed daily ( which wasn't really necessary). Cosmetics were renewed daily. The hotel does appeal to the more mature guest hence it is lovely and quiet ( no kids screaming ) so you will get a good nights sleep and a lie in - no rushing down for early breakfast most of us turned up at about 10AM. Also no one bagged the sun beds despite there being 50% of Germans staying here. Unfortunately the pool was NOT heated, it was freezing and the Jacuzzi had not had water in ages you could see all the debris inside, which was disappointing.
The evenings are very quiet, so take some books or playing cards etc otherwise its chatting to other guests. We regularly went for an evening stroll after dinner which helped the digestion!!

We never signed for any drinks but the staff have excellent memories and you will get the invoice on your departure, I do think it would be a good idea for the hotel to display prices though. The only price list we saw was inn the evening for the wine and its comparable to the UK.
We loved Playa Honda and Daniel recommended some typical Spanish Tapas bars which we tried and enjoyed.
All in all we loved this hotel and would go again - I would recommend taking a travel kettle if you like a hot drink in the room as none is provided.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room, good views and sunny balcony's
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swift33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just return from having a weeks stay at Villa Vik, its perfect for a relaxing & very quite holiday.
The rooms are comfortable & well furnished, the pool area is private & great for sun bathing, the staff are very friendly & helpful & go that extra mile to ensure your stay is special. Now the down side the food was not good enough for an hotel rated 5 stars, some strange dishes made from unrecognisable produce.
I would however return again the ups out number the downs.

Room Tip: Winter try & get on 1st floor if you want sunshine all day.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Villa VIK for 5 nights between Christmas and New Years. We had booked our stay based on excellent Tripadvisor reviews. A few days before our departure, I looked at the Tripadvisor reviews again, and noticed several poor reviews. Nervous about what we had committed to, we set off on our trip to Arrecife. For the reasons set forth below, I believe that this hotel has the potential to be a 5 star hotel, but is currently a good 3-star hotel. Overall, we were disappointed with the quality of the hotel given the cost per night. The pros and cons of this hotel are as follows:

PROS:
- this hotel was a short drive (5-7 minutes) from the airport, costing us less than EUR 10. There is no need to book a ride from the hotel. There are plenty of taxis waiting outside the terminal
- the hotel is small, with just 12-14 rooms, making the experience more intimate than one of the large box-hotels. Most couples were older (in their 50s or above). There were very few couples under the age of 40.
- the common area was nice, with large comfortable outdoor couches, and 3 tables. The wireless internet worked well enough in the common area.
- the hotel was a close walk to the nearby seawalk (1-2 minutes), which runs along the oceanside. The walk to Arrecife was around 15-20 minutes (there are some shortcuts through parking lots, etc), but more like 25 minutes if you stick to the seawalk itself. You can take a 5 minute taxi ride to Arrecife if you prefer, which cost less than EUR 4.00. You can walk to Playa del Honda in about 20-25 minutes as well.
- the staff was friendly and multilingual (most guests at the hotel spoke German, but we did observe 1-2 British couples)
- the rooms were large and well-appointed, with comfortable beds, a large-enough washroom and a seating area near the door. A plate of fresh fruit was provided on the first day, along with a plate and knife.

NEUTRAL:
- the breakfast was good enough, with a selection of breads, deli-style meats, cheeses, pre-prepared fried eggs and bacon, fruit and yogurt. You could request made-to-order fried eggs and boiled eggs. The staff served tea and coffee, including lattes, etc. and orange and pineapple juice was available. In my opinion, the breakfast was adequate.
- there was a afternoon snack at 1:00pm. Every day was different, but some days there were mini-pizzas, other days there were cheese and tomato skewers, fried croquettes, chicken nuggets, grapes with cheese, etc. There was a selection of wine most days, with beer on one day. The afternoon snack was a nice surprise. Note that water and non-alcoholic drinks were not offered for the afternoon snack - only wine/beer.
- dinner included 3-4 choices for appetisers (including acceptable soups and salads), 3 choices for main courses (usually including a meat dish and 1-2 fish dishes) and 3-4 choices for dessert (including a fruit bowl or cheese plate). Dinner was not horrible as some of the earlier reviews would suggest. It was acceptable - probably 3-star, or slightly above.
- bath water was slightly brownish, but I assume this is an issue with the water supply, rather than the hotel itself, so am neutral on this

CONS:
- Lanzarote can get cold in December, and at night it was around 13-14 degrees celsius outside. Our room did not have heating, and the central air system only blew very cold air. This meant that the room was VERY cold at night. A temperature gauge beside the bed did not work, and my husband got sick in part because of how cold the room was
- The hotel's website clearly states that the pool is heated in the winter. I can confirm with certainty that the pool was NOT heated at all. Given that the temperature outside was often only 18-20 degrees at the warmest part of the day, the pool was rendered unusable by most guests
- The hotel's website also states that there is a "jacuzzi in the garden". The jacuzzi was not filled with water and was not in use the entire time we stayed at the hotel. There was no explanation provided as to why this was the case
- rooms on the bottom floor lack light and have no view whatsoever. There is a table with 2 chairs outside your door. Many people used that area to smoke, which was disruptive as that smoke would blow directly into your area, forcing you to move inside or leave your patio area.
- the wireless internet did not work consistently in the rooms. This was problematic as we were unable to do work in our rooms. The common area had wireless access, but as it was quite cold at night, it was not preferable to sit outside to access the internet. This is very inconvenient for those who need to be connected for work, etc.
- toiletries were not replenished, despite the fact that we stayed 5 days. We had to ask for more lotion (only one very small bottle was provided on the first day). The lotion was finally provided after the staff searched for a long time for it.
- drinks were not included with the half-board option. No price list was provided to us at any point, and no invoice was presented to us when finishing our meals to inform us that any amount was due. Wait staff would just ask if you wanted the "house wine", or something else, and on the first night, we were told that a bottle of wine was included, though it did not seem that that waitress spoke english very well. Upon checkout, we received an invoice for all of our drinks, including water. Whilst I don't have a problem with paying for the drinks per se, the hotel should be more up-front / transparent about these costs, and should present a bill to guests after each meal, as is the custom world-wide at similar hotels. This lack of transparency left quite a negative impression on us
- we were unable to find the bicycle service advertised on the hotel's website.

As I mentioned above, this hotel has the potential to become a 5 star, but there were many issues that prevented it from even being a 4 star. The hotel seems to lack management. While the staff were lovely, many things were unclear, and the lack of heating of the pool and the fact that the jacuzzi was not working was unacceptable. The hotel's website boasts many things that the hotel does not have (aside from a heated pool and working jacuzzi, there were also no hotel bikes, no a-la-carte menu, etc) and this is plain-and-simple false advertising. This hotel has the potential to be a 5-star, but in this case, it did not deliver. I would hesitate to recommend this hotel unless you receive a very good price for it. To be clear, our visit was not terrible, but it was commensurate with a 3-star hotel experience, rather than a 5-star. Obviously, the 5-star price tag does not help this hotel's cause.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrecife
5.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
8.9 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,934 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arrecife Gran Hotel
Arrecife Gran Hotel
#1 of 9 in Arrecife
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,735 reviews
16.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
6.0 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Vik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Vik

Address: C/ Hnos Diaz Rijo 3 | Urbanización La Bufona, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrecife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Price Range: £187 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Vik 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Vik is nestled in the residential area of Playa del Cable, this elegant villa in Lanzarote was completely renovated in 2007, combining a modern design with classic touches with the aim of providing a warm, agreeable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Vik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Vik Arrecife, Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing