We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hiking the highest European Volcano.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcan El Teide

Volcan El Teide
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.32*
and up
Tenerife Teide National Park Tour including Volcano Teide and Masca
Ranked #3 of 366 things to do in Tenerife
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Albinea, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hiking the highest European Volcano.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Starting from the small parking (7-8 cars) in Montana Blanca at 2300 meters it is possible to reach the refuge Altavista (3300m, no shower, no potable water) after 5-6 hours of hiking in the middle of volcano debries, Pumice, black rocks and so on. Sleep in the refuge and at 5am, using head lamp reach the top of volcano (approx 2 hours of additional hiking) to watch the sunrise. Great live experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,454
    1,553
    310
    82
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Do it ... But go it alone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked a half day coach excursion (7:55 - 14.55). Multiple pick-up's so now we know why the half day trip is so long. I can't deny that the scenery is fabulous but the excursions are like a cattle market operation. Ended up at Mount Teide but by the time we had queued for the cable car (admission tickets purchased prior to arrival) and got to the top we only had about 30 minutes before having to come back down to get return coach back to the hotel. We had read that the last 200 metres to the top of Mount Teide would take about an hour so obviously we did not have the time to venture too far. The cable car journey should be a pleasant experience for 25 euro but up to 44 people are crammed in ! You can't move and unless you're fortunate enough to be the first or the last to board your chances of a view are next to none unless of course you are well over 6ft tall. The excursion was well organised and the guide spoke 4 different languages but the tour operators cannot be blamed for passengers who are late ! We were supposed to stop at a village for a 20 minute break on the way to Mount Teide and on our return to the hotel but unfortunately we didn't stop at all and some passengers had run out of provisions ie : water which in 30+ heat isn't good. If I were to do it again I would hire a car and go it alone then your time is your own.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Been to tenerife many times and finally went to the mount and glad we did the views are breath taking would recommend a trip here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank audra_mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dramatic alien landscape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We planned to drive up to Mount Teide early from Costa Adeje ( via TF82/38) and having read some of the reviews about queues and parking were glad we did.

The drive into the park at 8am was fantastic as we seemed to be the only car on the road for much of the journey.

We arrived at around 8.30am and parked easily in the main car park and joined a short queue waiting for the cable car to open at 9am. We had prebooked our tickets online a few days earlier. At 9am the cable car started to operate and we were in the third car to go up. They do pack you into the cars but it felt perfectly safe and the place was really well organised.

The views from the top were stunning and even our two teenage children were glad they decided to ride the cable car despite being really nervous about it.

There are a couple of routes at the top to explore that are easy walking and well worth it to get different perspectives on the landscape. We found the views to be enthralling as the landscape is so different with the lava fields and surrounding smaller volcanos, compared to your average mountain view!

Once back down the cable car we took a leisurely drive back through the national park to stop at all the viewing points along the way that we had not stopped at on our way up.

A must I do trip from anyone coming to Tenerife and I would definitely advise an early start and to drive yourself to avoid the queues and coaches.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TSteward70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

There are lots of different ways to experience this, we did a half day coach trip, which I felt was long enough, however, for some you may wish to explore more. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking, we walked around the national park for 2 hours and go the most amazing photographs, it really is spectacular, the mountains, volcanos, lava etc! Even saw some lizards and butterflies constantly landing on you! We didn't get the cable car, as it was a 2 hour queue, the day before i had been told at the hotel was 3 hours. The coach parked up for 2 1/2 hours, so while I had a fantastic time exploring, some people on the coach were disappointed as they did not have much time at the top! Therefore if you want to do the cable car and walk around, you may want to do a full day so you dont feel rushed. The coach is great, as you stop on the way down and get to take further photos, the talk is also very good and the coach is A/C. The downside is that is takes a few hours to get home, due to all the stops at hotels it makes. So if you are in a rush, dont take this option! However, plus side is you get to see even more of beautiful Tenerife!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolatelover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volcan El Teide also viewed

Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Tenerife, Canary Islands
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 

Been to Volcan El Teide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing