We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
31
54
30
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
54
30
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden floorsincluded in the pricecentral courtyardpedestrian areahistoric centersanta cruzold townbusiness trippatioplugscapitallagunaarchitectureeurosislandtenerifeluggage
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2017

I stayed at this hotel during a short business trip to Tenerife to give a scientific presentation at the local university in La Laguna. This hotel was recommended and booked for me by the local hosts. In my experience nothing beats the local knowledge when it comes to finding nice spots, and I wasn't disappointed this time. Hotel Aguere is located in a pedestrian zone right in the middle of the historic center of La Laguna. It is on the north side of the island, very close to the capital of Santa Cruz. The hotel is located in a beautiful old historic house right in front of an old theater. It has a truly authentic Spanish atmosphere. I did not see any tourists in the hotel, or the surrounding area, during my stay. The room was great, the bed and shower were good as was the breakfast (buffet style, included in the price) that is served in the patio. Because of its location in the historic center, you only have to exit the hotel and walk one or two minutes to find several nice, and again authentic, Spanish restaurants, local bars, shops etc.

The hotel is very close to the northern airport of Tenerife. However, I flew to the southern airport located at the southern tip of the island where most of the beach resorts are, since only the southern airport is served by a direct flight from my hometown of Amsterdam. From there it was a ca. 75 minute taxi ride to the hotel, which cost me ca. 70 euros. Not really expensive considering the long travel time. It is good to notice that since the hotel is located in a pedestrian area, the taxi had to park ca. 100 m from the entrance of the hotel. I only had a small backpack, so for me this was no problem. And the advantage of course is that there are no cars passing in front of the hotel.

So the bottom line I guess is this. If you are looking for a vacation (or business trip) where you want to see the real Tenerife. Perhaps a hiking vacation or a vacation that includes a visit of towns and villages. And you like an authentic base for this, Hotel Aguere will be perfect. If instead you are looking for beach-and-beer vacation only, this is not your hotel. In that case, choose a resort in the south of the island close to the southern airport where most of the cheap flights go.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Boris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL AGUERE S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Aguere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Hello, Mr. Boris.
Thank you very much for your assessment and especially for dedicating this great and exciting opinion about our small hotel, which we love to see that the daily effort of all employees is very good.
The truth that we loved that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course, we hope to see you again very soon with us.
Receive a warm hug.
Greetings from your new home located in Tenerife and called Hotel Aguere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Very pleasant & inexpensive small hotel in a great location in the pedestrian area.
Great staff, nice breakfast. Charming period courtyard building, popular for locals to have coffee & chat during the day. La Laguna is well worth staying in for a few days as an alternative to the mega tourism of the south. A 100% intact 17c Canaryian / Spanish town near to the green & mountainous parts of the north, and this is the hotel to stay in to soak up the atmosphere. Loved staying there.

Room Tip: All nice rooms, first floor is probably better
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL AGUERE S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Aguere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hello Vincent M.
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us, which we like very much that our guests enjoy being with us.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We were taken to the hotel by a local friend, and also he showed us where to park. Our room was on the top floor, so had to climb several flyers of stairs with heavy luggage, not a problem for a fit person though. Room overlooked the glass roof of the patio and was a bit crammed, perhaps servants chambers? Very quiet at night.
But had a small electric heater which was great, bed was comfortable, plenty of hot water and breakfast delicious. We also loved the orange press machine.
Overall a good stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL AGUERE S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Aguere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hi Lucie H.
Many thanks for choosing our hotel to stay with us for a few days and enjoy our breakfast, our staff, our hotel and of course our city.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in January. 1st impressions were very good, beautiful building, entrance and grand hall with a cafe that served great coffee and cake. The hotel reception staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Although the hotel was in a great location for access to the shops and restaurants it unfortunately made for a noisy stay. We were originally given a room overlooking the main street which at first thought was a nice feature for people watching but found it to be far too noisy and affected our nights sleep greatly. We asked if it was possible to have an alternative room and this was sorted for us with no quibbles at all which was great. This room was much better. Breakfast was great and overall we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend asking for a room that doesn't face the main street and is not directly above the ground floor area as the noise travels up as other reviews have mentioned. The rooms are basic but have everything you need and the staff are happy to accommodate extra requests such as the use of hairdryers and room changes so thank you for looking after us

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL AGUERE S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Aguere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hi vjennings.
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to enjoy your three days in our city. We are very sorry for the inconveniences caused by the noise coming from the street. Also we like that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.
A greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

La Laguna is an amazing historic inland town and this hotel is right at the centre of the most attractive area. Cafes, bars and restaurants abound in the local streets.
300 year old with a pleasant central 'courtyard' cafe.
The reception staff couldn't be more helpful - thank you.
The room was dated and basic but comfortable.
We looked out to the pedestrianised street which was rather noisy at night.
An excellent breakfast.
Recommended as an historic stay.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Prudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL AGUERE S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Aguere, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Hello Prudol.
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write your opinion about us.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will like everything.
We hope to see you again soon.
Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews