We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is one of the best 2STAR HOTEL IVE EVER STAYED IN”
Review of Puerto Azul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puerto Azul Hotel
Ranked #57 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My son and I stayed here we were here for new years eve as this is only a small hotel it was very nice of them to supply drinks on the roof at midnight on new years you dont get that very often in such a small hotel this is one of the most friendliest hotels ive ever stayed in the staff are brilliant nothing is ever too much trouble no matter what time it is day or night it is like home from home my son is going back with his girlfriend I would definatly recommend this hotel you even get free wifi me and my don had a brilliant holiday and I would definatly recommend it to anybody. From kim and boyce xx

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Puerto Azul Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

Jens, the manager, did a great job finding a solution for every situation! Being there felt like being part of a little family as everybody is very open and chatty if you like that. The rooms are basic but clean and quiet. They offer a good breakfast and great (!) coffee around the clock, which you can enjoy in one of the hammocks on the roof. There's great availability of Wi-Fi, a computer to use for free, games, DVDs and books. Also, there the possibility to do a Spanish course if you have some time. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, as you are right in the centre of town and you get the best tips about the restaurants, places to see and other activities in the area. We will definitely come back when we're in town again. Thank you Puerto Azul Team!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Basic, but clean with really helpful Reception Team who are also great linguists. They offered helpful advice and top tips on restaurants, attractions and travel.
Substantial breakfasts (bread, jam, cheese, salami, ham, cream cheese, cake, yoghurt and tea or coffee) - lots. Also free wi-fi or use of computer, plus the normal 'hotel library' and facilities for making drinks and a dispensing machine.
Great location - close to bus station and more restaurants than I could count!
Good value for money - I will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Puerto Azul hotel is located only a couple of blocks from the bus station and is also close to the sea as well as to the main square and the shopping streets. The room was simple but very clean and the staff extremely nice and helpful. I spoke Spanish to them but overheard all the receptionists speaking at least two other languages. The sun terrance on top of the building in a nice bonus and the free wifi worked well during my whole stay.

The only less positive things were the thin walls (which is not unusual) and allowing smoking in the rooms.
I'd go back if I was in Puerto de la Cruz again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EllyNeitonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Only good point is it's central location - if you like the noisy parties!
Rooms don't get propertly cleaned.
They use the common rip-off of showing two of their rooms: one is tiny and smells of dog turd, the other slightly larger. Only when paying do they tell you that this room costs some 30% more.
Recommended to backpackers when staying for only one night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Local_Expert_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Puerto_Azul, Manager at Puerto Azul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for your stay with Hotel Puerto Azul.

Our clients are important to us and it was never our intention to rip-off anyone.

The only reason we showed the 2 types of room we have was because you reserved a small room with a double bed for 2 people, but turned up with two children (which were not booked for).

We thought with the bigger room, it will be more pleasant for your family.
Per our booking policy, one child stays for free. We did not charge for the 2nd child either; but only the price difference for upgrading to the bigger room.
An extra bed was also being set up for free in the room.

Regardless, we hope you have enjoyed your holiday on the beautiful island of Tenerife :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We arrived by bus from the North Airport and had no trouble finding the hotel. It is located in a nice area in the little pedestrian streets of Puerto de la Cruz. You can walk easily to either the beach or the pools and shops in around 10 minutes. As for the hotel itself, it is what it is a cheap place to stay - budget hotel. When we arrived we were given 2 rooms that were not yet clean but the man at reception greatly apologized and changed us with no problem. Also because they were out of the type of room we were looking for they were very friendly and offered us a different (better?) room for the same price. It was cleaned both of the days we were there and we were given fresh towels. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay in a nice area of the town it is a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank FeasBeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Puerto_Azul, Manager at Puerto Azul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear FeasBeg,

Thank you for your stay with Hotel Puerto Azul and feedback.
We are glad the initial glitch you faced when checking-in with us was solved and hope you have enjoyed the rest of your stay on the island :)

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

The Hotel is in good place, near the ocian. The stuff is cool, friendly, cleanless of hotel are great too, but I hate when i need to share the bed with other person. (Not girlfriend/wife i mean). And one more thing, that its too expencieve for this kind hotel... It should be cheaper...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manciusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Puerto_Azul, Manager at Puerto Azul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Manciusz,

We are regret regarding the sleeping arrangement you faced when you were with us.
The reason for this was because the reservation was made for a double bed room (cama matrimonio), instead of a twin bed room.

Nevertheless, we hope you have enjoyed your time in Puerto de la Cruz and Tenerife :)

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#42 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#21 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#54 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Don Candido
Don Candido
#43 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tenerife Ving
Hotel Tenerife Ving
#60 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos RF Bambi
Apartamentos RF Bambi
#41 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Azul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Azul Hotel

Address: Calle Lomo 24, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £25 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Puerto Azul Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four-storey hotel is situated in the heart of the old fishermenʼs quarter of PDLC, in the charming and quiet pedestrianized street (no traffic noise) of CEL. We have a roof-terrace where you can relax and sunbath. From there, you can enjoy beautiful views of the surrounding mountain range, especially Mount Teide - Spainʼs highest volcano. The hotel is small, comfortable, and familiar. Thereʼs free WIFI in all rooms. Internet computer, satellite TV and Wii in our common room are also free for all guests to use. There is also a small library, hot drinks (Nespresso) corner and vending machine for cold drinks and snacks. The reception is open 24h with multilingual receptionists who will be more than happy to share with you information about Puerto, the island and activities you can do. If needed, we can also help you print flight tickets or send a fax. There is a Spanish school in the house offering private and group classes for all levels. Breakfast (€5 extra) is served between 7:00 and 14:00 in a pleasant and light-filled room on the ground floor. It includes: tea, coffee, bread, yogurt, salamis, ham, jam and cheeses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Puerto Azul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Azul Hotel Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing