We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel, great service, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Valle Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valle Mar
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute hotel, great service, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Stayed there for 4 nights on Sep. 2009 on vacation with my wife. The hotel is located right on the center of the main coast of Puerto, in front of the "artificial beach".
We ordered it the night before from a different location through the site. Since the hotel site is all spanish we missed the fact that the deal we took (79E for half board instead of 91 for B&B) was for Canary residents only. When we got to the hotel the manager explained us the mistake and told us that since we ordered only the night before and she could not reach us to correct our mistake - she will honor our reservation. All that said with a smile. Staff also helped us whenever we needed assistance calling the volcano authoroties to check if open, and planning road trips.
Indeed the hotel and rooms decor is 80's style, and furniture may be a little old, but still well maintained. Rooms clean and tidy, and tiny swimming pool on the roof is charming.
Breakfast was ok, with discent variety of food. Missed a bit more vegetables.
As we didn't plan on half-board, we tried it only 2/4 nights - one was very poor, and the other "spanish night" was excellent.
No parking though, since the hotel is beach road is closed to private cars. Parked on nearby streets. Not easy to find parking most hours of the day. Free large parking lot at the port 10-15 min. walk.
Guests were Spanish, British and Germans.
I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    120
    63
    11
    8
See reviews for
44
189
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

We have stayed at this hotel three times and maybe don't want to share the experience with others in case it gets too popular. Guests are very mixed - Spanish/German/French/Scandinavian/Few English. This mix added to our holiday experience. However, our expectations of a hotel do not include evening entertainment - so consider this when reviewing our experience. There is much to do in the area, so you don't need to rely on your hotel to provide entertainment.

On our first visit we were at the back of the hotel - view over a block of flats and quite dark. On our second and third visits we booked a sea view room - what a different experience. Can't quite remember the room layout (agree that there is a lot of dark wood - but nothing sinister). We were over the entrance/reception area and my husband, who does not enjoy the best of health, had a wonderful time 'watching the world go by'. Had no noise problems from outside or room to room which is hugely important to us if considering visiting a hotel again.

The view is great - and the whole area is extremely safe - I usually go for a very early morning walk on my own (female - 57) and felt completely happy with the experience. Would happily do the walk along the front late in the evening on my own.

Breakfast at the hotel is 5* and the evening meal 4* - but the experience exceeds this - due to the cosmopolitan guests - just sit back and enjoy!

Staff - generally OK - but the receptionists (mostly male) have a bit of attitude - you just have to live with this and stand up to them
- we have never had a problem which was not solved eventually.

Don't visit this hotel if you want latest technology & modern decor - but if you are happy with comfortable rooms and good international standard service try this hotel.

We are planning to go back in October for our 25th Wedding Anniversary - having considered all the other hotels we have visited - we have only been back to two hotels more than twice - so they must be doing something right.

Don't think they have a commercial attitude, but maybe that is their strength. The position is excellent - we have stayed in one other hotel in the area - but they don't have the view - view from the front of the hotel cannot be improved and we are seasoned travellers.

I will happily answer any question you may have on this hotel and Puerto de la Cruz which may help in your choice of hotel.

Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank nortons21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
212 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

We had a package tour and stayed a week at this hotel.
The staff seemed a bit tired of tourists and there was not much attention uppon arrival and departure at the reception.
The room was a bit dark because of the wooden panelling but looked clean. There was no internet connection but a television.
We had a wonderful view from the nice balcony towards the sea and the large pool area in Puerto de la Cruz.
There is no traffic only pedestrians on the street in front of the hotel. So be sure to get a room with a seaview and balcony towards the front street.
There is a nice cafe Cafe de Paris close to the entrance.
Both the breakfast buffet and the breakfast restaurant were large and situated on the second floor.
The collection however sadly a bit too much dedicated to the many germans that frequent this hotel no spanish or canarian feeling.
There is a small pool on the top of the hotel but with not that many sunbeds.
In all a clean standard hotel without any extra luxury.

  • Liked — The view from the room and balcony
  • Disliked — No attention from the staff
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2008

I stayed for one week at ValleMar with my mother and my sister 13-20 January 2008. All three of us were very satisfied with the hotel. We had a quite large double room with an extra bed and a wonderful view of the Atlantic. Service was very good and the buffet breakfast was excellent. The room was very clean and nice.

The negative thing was that the beds and pillows were quite hard, so my back was a little sore after a week. I was a bit dissappointed at the fact that they did not replace some of the coplimentary things in the bathroom, such as the shower cap and the shoeshine sponge.

The location is splendid, it was very nice to walk around the area and it's locaded just next to the sea-water pools where we went to sunbathe and swim (although the water isn't that warm in January, but I'm from Sweden and quite used to swimming in fairly chilly water). What the area really is lacking is good restauarants. Most serve the same dishes, many of them quite boring. If you can, try to find more geniune restauarants somewhere else in the city. The ones in the area are only tourist traps.

On a more positive note, there is a café/restaurant next to hotel entrance called "Café de Paris". Food isn't good, but most of the drinks were very nice, and it's an excellent spot for just hanging a round with a coffee or a drink and look at people passing by.

Even though Puerto de la Cruz is not a "party-town" we were disturbed some nights by slightly intoxicated young (?) men making noise in the street below. And the neighbouring buildnings had very loud ventilation things on their roofs, which also made it difficult to sleep with the balcony door open.

But a apart from that, we did enjoy the hotel very much, and can warmly recommend it.

  • Liked — Cleanlyness and breakfast.
  • Disliked — The hard beds and poor reading lights.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kat_stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2007

We have just spent two weeks in the Valle Mar and have been delighted with it. The hotel is solidly built with wide corridors and old fashioned doors. It is very quiet internally with very little noise from plumbing etc. Our room looked onto a pedestrian zone and we were relatively untroubled by noise - many people we met who were staying elsewhere in Puerto found noise at night a serious problem. Service was excellent, everything was very clean and breakfast offered everything you could want. There is a pool on the roof which we didn´t use - the lovely Lago is right opposite. Customers are mainly German with a few Spaniards. The terrace is an excellent suntrap. We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in this part of Puerto, and hope to come again.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
16 Thank AnneYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#13 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valle Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valle Mar

Property: Valle Mar
Address: Avenida Cristobal Colon 4, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Valle Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Valle Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valle Mar Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Valle Mar Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing