We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, amazing value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Best Semiramis
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We travelled to the north of Tenerife to the Semiramis, as part of an all-inclusive Saga package tour, four weeks for the price of three from 11/02 to 11/03/2014. The Semiramis is a multi-storey hotel clinging to the cliff face with incredible views across the bay. Having read previous reviews, we asked for, and were given, a room on the 10th floor, reducing the road noise and sound of the sea crashing onto the rocks below. Our room was large and airy, with a large bathroom, and cleaned daily to a very high standard by our maid, Candelaria. Facing north, we did not sit out on the balcony. We never managed to get the wifi to work in the room, but it was fine in reception.

The hotel is, apparently, being modernised, but the public areas were immaculate, and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Several of the staff spoke fluent English. The restaurant is a buffet-style and the huge range of salads, and food cooked as-you-wait was always at the correct temperature and very fresh. We had swordfish, shark, prawns, an amazing variety of fish and meats. Service for the drinks was sometimes slow, possibly worse at lunch; the tablecloths were changed after every use, and we always found a clean table to use.

The resident 'animater' was Karen, and she managed to provide an very comprehensive timetable of activities every morning, six days a week. She is an absolute jewel, being very careful of the less-able and cheerfully motivating the remainder....her morning stretching sessions were very well attended.

For those of us more able, the walk to Puerto de la Cruz took about 5-10 minutes, using a subway under the main road outside. We found nothing exceptional in Puerto, but a good range of supermarkets and pharmacies were available, so a good location for a hotel. In addition, there is an excellent laundrette there, essential to us, for a month on holiday.

There was an excellent, if on the small side, heated pool, which was very clean and very warm! A spa treatment area was on this floor, and the staff here were very professional and polite.The weather precluded use of a large outdoor pool. As SAGA guests, we had our own lounge, but there were sufficient areas for other guests to sit, both inside and out.

We were surprised how much we enjoyed staying at the Semiramis hotel, and would not hesitate to suggest it to those of (like us) retirement age. Younger people, particularly those travelling in the cooler months, might find too many golden oldies for comfort!

Room Tip: We would suggest a room from 10th floor or above. Reception is floor 16 and the restaurant is on the...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MetFireChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear MetFireChief,

Thank you for your detailed review about your stay for four weeks in Best Semiramis.

To know that you spent such a wonderful time with us is the best reward to our work.

I’m very happy you have mentioned the good job of Karen with the sports activities and entertainment programme and I will transmit your nice comments to her. Candelaria will be happy too to know how much you appreciated her job.

Thank you for sharing your review with the rest of TripAdvisor’s users and for recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis in your next visit to Puerto de la Cruz.

Kind Regards from all the staff of Best Semiramis,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Best Semiramis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have just returned from 3 great weeks at the Best Semiramis in La Paz (suburb of Puerto).
It was our first time to the islands and the hotel did not disappoint.The rooms were large and all had magnificent views of the sea and over to the breakwater at Puerto - balconies were large but did not get the warmth of the sun at all as the hotel faces north.
The food was very good and varied. We had worried that maybe it could be on a weekly cycle but no fears there. The staff in the restaurant were fantastic but were run ragged. There is a definite need for more staff not only in the restaurant but in the bar around 19.00.
Cleaning staff were most thorough and everywhere in the hotel was spotless. Also the reception staff were so friendly and knowledgeable.
If like one of us you have walking difficulties (I use a stroller/walking stick) do be aware of the high kerb stones. Real H&S has not quite reached northern Tenerife.

This will not deter us from re-visiting the Semiramis but we might try the South first.

Best wishes to all at the Best Semiramis.

Alec & Sandy

Room Tip: Higher floors are slightly better (above level 6)
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Alec & Sandy,

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay in Best Semiramis with the rest of TripAdvisor’s users.

We are delighted to know that you spent three great weeks with us. To know that you define our hotel by the good and varied food, the efficiency and friendliness of all the staff and the spotlessly cleanliness makes us happy.

We look forward to welcoming you again if you decide to visit the north of Tenerife again.

Kind Regards,


Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I personally found the hotel a bit dated and in need of an upgrade, The food was good each evening and their was a wide selection of things available.

The views from this hotel are second to none, our room overlooked the sea and it was amazing waking up the the sound of waves crashing into the rocks.

I actually liked this hotel but if they upgraded some of the facilities it would be so much better, for a long relaxing break I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Dwd K,

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay in Best Semiramis and for recommending our hotel for a relaxing break.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the Restaurant choice to your liking.

We are working in the refurbishment of the facilities so we look forward to welcoming you in your next visit to Puerto de la Cruz and see the improvements.

Kind Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We are in our third year of spending 4 weeks in January at the Semiramis and are booked again for Jan 2015.
Why do we keep returning?
The positives:
We escape four weeks of an English winter.
We meet up with a large group of old friends and friendly welcoming staff.
No cooking, cleaning, routine shopping for a month.
A beautiful location, well appointed hotel, fantastic views, close to the town of Puerto and also La Paz.
Lovely rooms kept very clean.
A hotel director, staff and Saga staff who care and are helpful.
An excellent hotel director, Senorita Bilbao Henry who is always visible and was most helpful when my bag was snatched. She accompanied us to the police station where she acted as interpreter.
N.B. She never fails to respond to Trip Adviser feedback.
The food, on the whole, is of a varied and tasty range, nutritious and well presented - something for all tastes. The restaurant grill and chefs provide freshly cooked, appetizing cuisine. However, after four weeks it can become somewhat repetitious and dull.
All staff are extremely helpful and pleasant - we now know them personally. They greet us like friends and work diligently to compensate for their lack of numbers. Senor Abad is an excellent and efficient Maitre d'hotel.
Entertainment and animation programmes are good with lively staff such as Karen and the superb guitarist, Eugene - English version of his name.

Perceived points for improvement:
The designation of 5 star [locally] is probably too generous - 3 star would be more accurate.
Insufficient staff means that there are sometimes severe service problems in restaurants and bars. The leading Saga representative attributed this to the limited number of popular or busy months. The hotel seems to be mainly a winter favourite.
The outside pool is virtually too cold to use. For the entire month of our stay, only two or three hardy visitors swam, for no more than a minute or so. What a waste! The dark indoor leisure pool is not suitable for swimmers.
There are two bars indoor and outdoor, which are never open together and are a considerable, stepped distance apart. On chilly/wet days the pool bar is closed. Lack of flexibility means that a damp start to the day, which improves later, sees the pool bar closed all day and sometimes vice- versa.
The refurbishment already taking place is having a positive effect and we look forward with pleasure to further improvements on our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank nina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Nina T,

Thank you for taking your time in posting a review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We are really grateful for those guests, like you, that visit us every year. We are glad that you mentioned the improvements you have seen in the last three years and the friendliness and efficiency of our staff. I will transmit them your nice comments as this will encourage them. To know that you have already booked for next year is our best reward.

I take your suggestions seriously, and I hope you will see more improvements in your next visit.

Best Regards from Puerto de la Cruz,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

a good hotel for a short escape from winter. We took the Express bus 343 from the Reina Sofia aeroport - it is near its second stop ! Amazing (100 km) ! Everything was correct. The best for winter time - after a day of excursions or shoping - to pass an hour in the worm swimming pool (no roof, so you are exposed to the rain). There are springs from under feet (massaging your fatigue out), 3 different jets and a part with strong whitewater, and a jacuzzi for some 6-7 persons. We are satisfied with the food, fresh and cooked vegetables, fruits, champaigne for breakfast. I appreciated that the waiters are to show us a table at dinner. The ocean colors were a real pleasure. We bought the volcano/Orotava excursion at the reception - a very good car, a very good guide, and we rented a car with the help of the reception for a reasonable price - a new car well adopted to the mountain roads.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avdonina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Avdonina,

We thank you for taking your time in posting a review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed relaxing in our free wellness area (Jacuzzi and heated swimming pool with jets) after your daily excursions to the north of the island and then, replenishing your forces with our choice in the Buffet Restaurant.

The Reception staff is always delighted to advise you about all the activities and excursions the north of the island can offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Now having made the comment in the title, that refers to the lack of assistance and the rooms, not the top level where reception, pool and restaurant are situated. I have to say the hotel is OK, it isn't brilliant but adequate. My wife and I were there in February 2014 along with a lot of SAGA visitors, the hotel is well set up for disabled persons. We are not however, and found the hotel old fashioned and dark, the décor and dark brown wood did not help. The layout of the hotel is strange as it is built onto a cliff, all rooms face the sea. As you go in on the ground floor to reception, which is floor 16 then go down the lift shaft to the bottom of the hotel, we were on floor 2 right at the bottom, not the best location, I called it my mine shaft as it was like disappearing underground and it got dark and dismal with the décor. The rooms are large and adequate, good bathroom, however 2 bad points, the balcony looks over the sea but no sun as the sun rises and falls behind the hotel so is very cold and in February unusable. The beds, terrible, poor mattresses that were uncomfortable and worse which was really bad the bedding, the plastic mattress cover was a square sitting on top of the mattress, the sheets are not fitted so instantly ruck up when you get in, that leaves you sleeping on the mattress without protection, I would guess this will happen to every one so very unhygienic. This is not acceptable. Now compare that to the buffet restaurant very good, great selection of food, clean and well laid out, well at the entrance they provided a hand gel to help prevent infection, no one used it that I saw but the thought was there. We did not use the restaurant in the evening so cannot comment, just breakfast and lunch and it was fine and good value if you have to purchase, a lot of guests are all-in, we were B&B. The pool area and pool bar was brilliant, lots of sunbathing areas, plenty of shade, especially with the February low sun. The bar and bar staff were great, jolly and friendly, most importantly the prices were very reasonable, in fact we found the whole of Tenerife reasonable, unlike Barcelona where you were ripped off everywhere. The inside bar which is open in the evening is OK but nothing special, it is an old hotel, well built but not modern, the dark wood was probably top class when it was built and is still in very good order so I understand why it is not changed or painted, but the colour of the walls, dark blue is something that could be changed to brighten it up. The staff were all helpful and very pleasant I have no complaints in that area, rooms were cleaned and tidied daily to a very high standard. The hotel is in good order and clean, but is depressing. In short I will not recommend this hotel and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Mr. Steve B,

Thank you for choosing Best Semiramis to spend your holidays en Puerto de la Cruz, and for posting a detailed review about your stay with us.

We are happy to knowing that you appreciated the offer in our Buffet Restaurant as well laid out, with a great choice and a good value. The Bar staff’s efficiency and their helpfulness, besides the good prices.

We are sorry to knowing that you found the bed uncomfortable. Our Housekeeping Manager had been delighted to assist you with this if we would have known it during your stay. As you mentioned, the standards of our Housekeeping department are really high.

Best Semiramis is under a refurbishment from 2013. We have finished some floors and we will keep on with some others during 2014.

We hope to welcome you again in order you can see the changes.

Best Regards,


Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

stayed here for one week ,half board ,it is the most disappointing and understaffed hotel I have ever stayed in.I could write an essay on the failings of this place; but for ease of reading here are the points that confirm it falls well below the standard of a 5 STAR establishment;
1.no porters.
2.no waiters at either of the bars (you queue up as in a pub)
3.shabby furnishings and stained chairs in public areas, needs complete refurbishment .
4.A la carte restaurant closed all week(hotel advertises has 2)
5.only one bar open at a time (advertises pool side and indoor, but not both at the same time!)
6.dirty cutlery , cups and plates(lipstick and food easily visible)
7.tea came from a machine at breakfast!
8.no room service
9.outdoor eating area, tables not set out, scattered all over the place, guests were even setting their own tables .
10.no dry Martina in the bar for 2 nights , no fresh orange juice in the restaruant for 4 days, vegetable soup 4 consecutive days for evening meal, only one type of draught beer .
11.wine list was a laminated card board affair , as you'd expect in a burger bar/cafe ..urgh ..
12.only 2 choices of red wine by the glass in the bar, none by the glass in restaurant.
13.tables not reset at evening meal, shown to an empty table, then cutlery and napkins simply put down in the corner.
14. rusty railings round the upper pool terrace, tatty perspex wind shields round balconies.
15. tiles missing in swimming pool
16. mini bar in rooms had only 2 bottles of water and 2 soft drinks...nothing else
17. the derelict sea water pool is a real eyesore
18. rude staff in the restaurant, even the maitre D', (Abad) who directed guests like he was directing traffic, and publicly repimanded us when we brought a drink in from the bar one evening "not allowed " he barked at us like naughty school children ...

Whilst these points individually are not serious, collectively they make pretty poor reading.

This hotel quite clearly does not care about its image, when we asked about some of the points above, eg why is the a la carte not open ?were told "there is no call for it " .... what kind of answer is that , how do you know there's no call if theres no option ??
Many of the guests were long stay SAGA people... some of whom I spoke with and have been coming back every year , simply for the company and the fact they pay for 3 weeks and get the 4th free !! they admitted "its not 5 star but its OK for us "!
I do not know when this hotel was awarded its 5 stars or when it was last reviewed, but I have stayed in many , many 3 and 4 star Spanish hotels that are far superior to this one.
The only good point was the bedroom , which was a good size and my bed was comfortable ....

Thank fully I was in good company , and we ensured it would not ruin our holiday,and by the 3rd day of our "experience" we actually began to laugh at this place and compare notes for our list of irritations each evening in the bar .
I would not recommend it to anyone and certainly would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Redose,

We deeply regret that your stay in Best Semiramis didn’t meet your expectations, but I would like to clarify some wrong information you state in your review:

The Restaurant à la Carte is open, only previous reservation is required. The regular board contracted (half board, full board or all inclusive) doesn’t include the Restaurant à la Carte, so if there is no reservations for a specific day, it remains closed. This information is available in the printed welcome we give every guest in the check-in. During your stay you could see open twice, as there were two groups they had reserved it.

Best Semiramis offers the Pool Bar from 10,00 hours until 17,00 hours and the Lobby Bar from 17,00 hours until 24,30 hours. Depending on the weather conditions, when it is raining or very windy, the Lobby Bar is open from 10,00 hours until 24,30 hours. This information is available in the printed welcome we give every guest in the check-in.

Room Service available from 10,00 hours until 22,30 hours. You only have to dial 9 to order it. Every service in the room has an extra charge of 3,50€.

The outdoor seating area of the Buffet Restaurant is partially covered, so when it rains, as it happened during your stay, only the covered ones are available.

The Best Semiramis offers for free, as welcome package, two soft drinks and two waters in the Minibar of your room. The guest can ask for the Minibar to be replenished with a alcoholic or non-alcoholic package at a fixed price. This information is available in the printed form in every minibar.

The sea water pool doesn’t belong to Best Semiramis and we don’t include it in our advertising. As every point of the coast, it belongs to the Seafront Department of the Spanish Government. Therefore, Best Semiramis hasn’t any responsibility about its maintenance.

We take good notice of the rest of your comments in order to improve our service.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#21 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,079 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#11 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
817 reviews
0.8 mi away
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
#30 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Semiramis

Address: Calle Leopoldo Cologan Zulueta, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £64 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Best Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Semiramis is a confortable establishment of five stars located in the quiet residential area of “La Paz”, 1.5 km away from Puerto de la Cruz and leisure complex “Lago Martianez”. It offers wonderful views of the sea and the north Coast of Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Best Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Semiramis Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Best Semiramis Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing