We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Island Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Best Semiramis
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“4 Island Tour”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This Hotel is certainly not 5 star. The staff do their best to give you an excellent time but there are not enough of them at the restaurant and bar. The Hotel corridors were in need of cleaning and maintenance, were cold and dark. Excellent facilities in the good sized room but again the room was cold as the Hotel rooms do not get any sun. Used the outside pool once on a particularly warm day - pity the weather does not allow it to be used more often. Can't understand anyone staying 4 weeks for the price of 3 with Saga at this Hotel as the choice of food is limited and 4 days was enough.

Room Tip: Stayed on 9th floor - could hear the noise of the wind and the sea breaking against the rocks below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank g_parry043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear g_parry043,

Thank you for taking your time in posting a review about your recent stay in Best Semiramis.

We are glad to inform you that Best Semiramis will be closed from May to July in order to make some refurbishment in the corridors and other facilities. As you perhaps noticed in your short stay, some corridors were updated last year as most of our guests really appreciate.

As you mention, all the rooms are faced to the north, offering stunning views over the ocean and Lago Marianez. The hotel offers gardens and swimming pool areas and solarium to sunbathe.

We are sorry that you didn't use our heated swimming pool with jets and jacuzzi on the 14th floor. It is available for free for all our guests.

We are proud of the loyalty of many Saga guests that stay in Best Semiramis for several weeks, year after year.

Best Regards.

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    373
    228
    83
    55
See reviews for
226
511
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

No doubt that this hotel is understaffed but you can count on a good stay at this hotel. We stayed there for 1 week, breakfast and dinners were great specially the breakfasts. The only problem was that many times the bar was busy and for example once only one guy was working hardly and of course nervously to serve the guests. Reception is really helpful reserving a tour for us to Siam Park, giving different information about the places, transportaion and of course the most welcoming face in the reception was Janet. Another good feature was the chance of providing you with a lunch pack that for going to Teide at 5 in the morning we requested it the day before and it really helped us to climb mount Teide, They provided us with a pack of 6 sandwiches, bread, cheese, butter and jam and some fruits for free. The rooms and bath were clean and all the rooms were ocean viewed. Outside pool was somehow cold and do not expect a warm water in the inside pool because that is a normal water. Free WiFi was accessible with good quality but they charged for using the safety box, 2 euros per night. Location is not bad, a lot of bars, restaurants around but 20 minutes of walk from the city which made it a little hard to get back because we should get up the hard steeped roads to get back to the hotel. Generally a quiet and peaceful place.

Room Tip: Tou can get free lunch packs if you are leaving the hotel early in the morning to visit some places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faraz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We are glad to know that you describe our hotel as a quiet place where you can have a good stay and the efficiency and the friendliness of our Reception staff, especially Janet who we will transmit your nice comments to.

The staff in Bar varies depending of the hour of the day, being suitable in every moment to the number of guests who make use of it. We are sorry if you felt that it wasn't enough in some moment.

The heated semi-covered pool in 14th floor is 29º-30ºC hot.

We thank you that you mentioned the free package lunch. This service is available for those guests who want to spend the day in one of the beautiful excursions that the north of the island offers and they are not going to come to have lunch in the hotel.


We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis if you visit Puerto de la Cruz.

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 28/02/14 to 14/03/14. Having read previous reviews we were a bit nervous of what the stay would be like. The reason we went for this hotel was that a friend had booked a 4 weeks for 3 with SAGA and suggested we join her and that's what we did. Initial impressions were good in the way we were dealt with at reception, very courteously and efficiently in a friendly manner. The room on the 8th floor of this upside down hotel was very good, spotlessly clean and kept that way every day, view was excellent of the sea and Puerto, so we were very happy with it. The room was fully serviced every day and the bathroom had a full bath with shower over it, twin basins and always hot water. Found the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks quite soothing. The disappointment came when we hoped for sunshine on the balcony, the hotel never had any on the rooms (to be fair it did admit this in the holiday brochure (SAGA)) so it would be hard to make it a serious criticism. We went on an all inclusive package and found the fact that only one bar was open at a time an inconvenience which could have been avoided, the pool bar was open during the day (100 metres from the main building) and the main bar open in the evening, when there was no quiet bar ( all evening entertainment occurring in the main bar, and very uninspiring compared to other hotels). These issues could have been dealt with by having a few more staff, the hotel always seemed to be understaffed.

In the restaurant during all meal times the staff worked tremendously hard to clear and lay tables, at lunchtimes there may have been upwards of 150 guest and 4 to 6 staff leading to long waits for drinks. We have great respect for the efforts most of the staff made during our stay in what for them appeared to be challenging circumstances, whilst in the main remaining cheerful and friendly. The buffet service was at time a bit of a scrum and by the comments of some guests the food was wonderful, by our assessment it is best described as edible. The al la carte restaurant seemed to serve better but not inspiring food from a very limited menu. The best meal was had during our stay was on the last night when we went to an italian in La Paz. We must mention that during our stay it was my wifes birthday and at the SAGA Gala dinner a huge birthday cake had been made to help mark her birthday ( I suspect the excellent SAGA Reps Sue & Bev organised it).
The animation team (Karen) worked really hard and we enjoyed her Stretching and Tai Chi each morning. My wife had a free massage of 15 minutes , which was excellent.

In the main we would rate the hotel 3 star (European rating) for 5 star you have to pay considerably more or go to Asia. The big question for us on assessing a hotel asks the question "Would you stay there again" and unfortunately the answer for the Best Hotel Semiramis is a NO, mainly because of the location and food.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better because of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RicardoWestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear RicardoWestbury,

We really thank you for your detailed review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We are happy you highlight the efficiency and courteously of our Reception staff, as well as the good standard of our rooms and the good job of our Housekeeping Department.

As you mention, the Pool Bar is open from 10,00 a.m. until 5,00 p.m. (depending on the weather conditions) and the Panorama Bar (or Lobby Bar) from 5,00 p.m. until 00,30. I regret to know that you didn’t find it suitable. Saga is provided of a Saga Lounge for all their guests with its own terrace and the quietness you missed in the main Bar.

We are sorry to know that you didn’t find the choice in Buffet Restaurant of your taste, although you recognise that most of the guests find it really wonderful. On regards of À la Carte Restaurant, we only would like to clarify is that the Waiter Service Special Dinner you enjoyed during your stay is not all the choice of our À la Carte Restaurant, but a fixed menu for Saga guests.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis if you change your mind about the location.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Six persons, two rooms, six nights. Both rooms in 2nd level. Views are amazing even from that low, never mind that the sea has it's noises. :) Another room had a broken fridge. Pillows were quite strange and beds not as comfortable as usually in "5star-hotels"
FOOD IS AMAZING. We had half board and little bit afraid do we get something to eat at all. My sister and mother eat only glutenfree and nearly fatfree, but they had their plates full everyday so there is really REALLY something for all. Choices for extremely healthy diet to any kind :) We were just pleased about the food, there is almost too much to choose everyday.
One thing I have to say: My family is aged: 10, 19, 21, 25, 47, and 48. But all the other guest were 60+ or even 70+. This is not really designed for young people. We enjoyed still very much because it was quiet!
Other guests haven't found the heated pool next to the spa. Even there was +17 degrees and raining outside the pool was amazingly warm and relazing. there is also a jacuzzi which is even hotter. We were there just with eachother, usually we did not even see anyother guests there. I highly recommed you to enjoy that poolarea! Big pool outside is not heated and it is almost colder than the sea water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magellan1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Magellan1510,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Best Semiramis with the rest of TripAdvisor’s users.

We are delighted to know that you spent a great family stay in our hotel and that every member of your family found our Buffet Restaurant choice of their taste. We recommend those guest with diet restrictions (gluten free, lactose free or vegan) to contact our Head Waiter or the Chef to better assist them in their choice.

We are happy you mention the free Wellness area. It’s a peaceful place to relax.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis if you visit Puerto de la Cruz again.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We travelled to the north of Tenerife to the Semiramis, as part of an all-inclusive Saga package tour, four weeks for the price of three from 11/02 to 11/03/2014. The Semiramis is a multi-storey hotel clinging to the cliff face with incredible views across the bay. Having read previous reviews, we asked for, and were given, a room on the 10th floor, reducing the road noise and sound of the sea crashing onto the rocks below. Our room was large and airy, with a large bathroom, and cleaned daily to a very high standard by our maid, Candelaria. Facing north, we did not sit out on the balcony. We never managed to get the wifi to work in the room, but it was fine in reception.

The hotel is, apparently, being modernised, but the public areas were immaculate, and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Several of the staff spoke fluent English. The restaurant is a buffet-style and the huge range of salads, and food cooked as-you-wait was always at the correct temperature and very fresh. We had swordfish, shark, prawns, an amazing variety of fish and meats. Service for the drinks was sometimes slow, possibly worse at lunch; the tablecloths were changed after every use, and we always found a clean table to use.

The resident 'animater' was Karen, and she managed to provide an very comprehensive timetable of activities every morning, six days a week. She is an absolute jewel, being very careful of the less-able and cheerfully motivating the remainder....her morning stretching sessions were very well attended.

For those of us more able, the walk to Puerto de la Cruz took about 5-10 minutes, using a subway under the main road outside. We found nothing exceptional in Puerto, but a good range of supermarkets and pharmacies were available, so a good location for a hotel. In addition, there is an excellent laundrette there, essential to us, for a month on holiday.

There was an excellent, if on the small side, heated pool, which was very clean and very warm! A spa treatment area was on this floor, and the staff here were very professional and polite.The weather precluded use of a large outdoor pool. As SAGA guests, we had our own lounge, but there were sufficient areas for other guests to sit, both inside and out.

We were surprised how much we enjoyed staying at the Semiramis hotel, and would not hesitate to suggest it to those of (like us) retirement age. Younger people, particularly those travelling in the cooler months, might find too many golden oldies for comfort!

Room Tip: We would suggest a room from 10th floor or above. Reception is floor 16 and the restaurant is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MetFireChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear MetFireChief,

Thank you for your detailed review about your stay for four weeks in Best Semiramis.

To know that you spent such a wonderful time with us is the best reward to our work.

I’m very happy you have mentioned the good job of Karen with the sports activities and entertainment programme and I will transmit your nice comments to her. Candelaria will be happy too to know how much you appreciated her job.

Thank you for sharing your review with the rest of TripAdvisor’s users and for recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis in your next visit to Puerto de la Cruz.

Kind Regards from all the staff of Best Semiramis,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have just returned from 3 great weeks at the Best Semiramis in La Paz (suburb of Puerto).
It was our first time to the islands and the hotel did not disappoint.The rooms were large and all had magnificent views of the sea and over to the breakwater at Puerto - balconies were large but did not get the warmth of the sun at all as the hotel faces north.
The food was very good and varied. We had worried that maybe it could be on a weekly cycle but no fears there. The staff in the restaurant were fantastic but were run ragged. There is a definite need for more staff not only in the restaurant but in the bar around 19.00.
Cleaning staff were most thorough and everywhere in the hotel was spotless. Also the reception staff were so friendly and knowledgeable.
If like one of us you have walking difficulties (I use a stroller/walking stick) do be aware of the high kerb stones. Real H&S has not quite reached northern Tenerife.

This will not deter us from re-visiting the Semiramis but we might try the South first.

Best wishes to all at the Best Semiramis.

Alec & Sandy

Room Tip: Higher floors are slightly better (above level 6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Alec & Sandy,

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay in Best Semiramis with the rest of TripAdvisor’s users.

We are delighted to know that you spent three great weeks with us. To know that you define our hotel by the good and varied food, the efficiency and friendliness of all the staff and the spotlessly cleanliness makes us happy.

We look forward to welcoming you again if you decide to visit the north of Tenerife again.

Kind Regards,


Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I personally found the hotel a bit dated and in need of an upgrade, The food was good each evening and their was a wide selection of things available.

The views from this hotel are second to none, our room overlooked the sea and it was amazing waking up the the sound of waves crashing into the rocks.

I actually liked this hotel but if they upgraded some of the facilities it would be so much better, for a long relaxing break I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Semiramis, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Dwd K,

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay in Best Semiramis and for recommending our hotel for a relaxing break.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the Restaurant choice to your liking.

We are working in the refurbishment of the facilities so we look forward to welcoming you in your next visit to Puerto de la Cruz and see the improvements.

Kind Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#8 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Semiramis

Property: Hotel Best Semiramis
Address: Calle Leopoldo Cologan Zulueta 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Best Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Semiramis is a confortable establishment of five stars located in the quiet residential area of “La Paz”, 1.5 km away from Puerto de la Cruz and leisure complex “Lago Martianez”. It offers wonderful views of the sea and the north Coast of Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Best Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Semiramis Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Best Semiramis Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing