We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel should have been called Faulty Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I can honestly say I would never have gone on this holiday if I knew we were going to be put in this awful hotel. We booked all inclusive allocation on arrival in Tenerife to have it switched on us into this "nothing more than a B & B" Hotel. No drinks, no staff, nothing going for it. The staff said they were too busy doing other things like preperation of food, to serve drinks. The pool is poorly positioned, the sun does not shine til 11 am. The food was at best below average. The one night there was entertainment on, only two people in the bar apart from us.? That was a quiz which started late. We went out to the beaches and spent an absolute fortune on food and drink, anything to escape the sinking feeling of returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: simple, dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

Disapponted, Not a 4 star ? Clean but shabby, no entertainment, could not get a drink or coffee till after 4 pm. Asked to go to a whelcome meeting but the courier could not speak a word of english, food not too bad but mostly cold, recycled napkins on tables gray looking not very pleasing to the eye, organisation poor, iit is a shame realy because it is in a good position near the beach and shops, good pool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Have just returned from two weeks spent in a ????four star hotel with no tea/coffee facilities during the day, no evening entertainment except for just two Saturday nights when there was a quiz. The food was cold and boring, if you like pork or rabbit you were fine. Breakfasts were another thing every 3rd day you could have bacon, undercooked and cold baked beans, undercooked eggs, I just hate eggs with slime on the top!! oh and chips for breakfast too!!!! Dinner the cabbage came out swimming in water, carrots were cold and tinned. The hotel was so cold, we had to have extra blankets to wrap around us if we stayed in our room for any length of time. The wind just went through the hotel and up the spiral staircase to the 7th floor like a tornado from the front door which was constantly open. We were met with indifference by the staff who pretended they didnt understand,-- if you were Spanish or German you got loads of attention. We are a couple of advanced age, i.e 77 and 72 so we really didnt have an axe to grind, but in the whole of our experience, this has got to be one of the worst hotels we have stayed in. On the upside, we had clean sheets every 3rd day and clean towels every day. I cant believe we spent two weeks here if we hadnt have paid, we would have gone~!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea do not get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lighwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Hotel is very old and need refurbishment urgently. On arrival we were waiting 40 minutes before get any attention. Staff - unfriendly, unhelpful and almost rude. Hotel was full of teenagers running around and in the hotel making a lot of noise. Looks like a youth hostel. Rooms - without fridge or tea and coffee facilities and unfortunately with strong cigarettes smell. Four stars for this hotel is far to much..

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alluzja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

After booking, and reading the reviews I was a bit worried how bad this hotel would actually be for a 3 night stay over New Year. On arriving, the guy on the desk was waiting for us, and greeted us by name (& no we weren't the only ones staying there!). The hotel was nicely decorated for Christmas (as was the rest of the Island), and all the staff we met were pleasant, courteous and efficient. We only had B&B so can't comment on lunch and dinner, but breakfasts catered for every European taste, from cereals, full 'English', Continental (croissants, bread, cheese etc), German bread, and so on.
The room was cleaned everyday, and although as mentioned by previous commentators it might not be to the standards of some 4 star offerings, the bed was comfy, sheets were clean and the accommodation was perfectly acceptable. One point to mention is that there are two sides to the hotel- the sea side, and the mountain side. Arriving late at night,we had the mountain side, which I thought was a disappointment, until the morning when we realised not only did we have a good view of the country side and mountain, but also had the sun all day! Had we had a sea view on the other side, it would have been in the shade (perhaps better in the summer, but not for a winter break).
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town centre, opposite the Police Station, and the bus station Is just a 5 mins walk away, making DIY airport transfers cheap and easy.
So overall, I would be happy to recommend it, and return again next year.

Room Tip: Go for the mountain side in winter, the sea side in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ptr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Arrived and couldn't believe this was our hotel! entrance hall is shabby, the man on reception did not even acknowledge us or speak to us and only held his hand out to take our booking confirmation form. No comment at all on dinner times and the fact that we had to take the paper room card with us as proof of our room number. Safe was 11 euros which was a full payments and not a deposit. Rude and uncooperative reception.

Room was standard, twin beds on one sort of double mattress. Shower gel and shampoo were provided in a refillable container in the shower (we decided to use our own!) and they only provided a free hairnet and a pack of 'tissues' which looked like toilet paper folded over and sealed. Room did not even have a fridge or mini bar in which to store any bottles of water which was a hassle as you have to buy water and not drink the tap water like you do in Spain mainland.

Pool area was small, tiny pool and the green felt round the edging had seen better days, they even did some building work whilst we were there so one part of the pool was inaccessible.

Bar didnt open till around 4/5pm which was disappointing as couldnt have cocktails or soft drinks or snacks by the pool. Weirdly at this time they also turned the disco lights on despite it still being daylight outside.

Breakfast selections were okay, included cereal, full english, croissants etc. Dinner was limited, some sort of pasta,potato,fish daily and buffet area itself was small. Food was cold on more than one occassion (and we varied which times we went to dinner). However, the staff were all very nice and the place was kept clean.

Area around the hotel itself was pretty grim. Seemed like it was on the edge of town and forgotten about.

Just as we left, two coach parties arrived full of teenagers so we definitely picked a better week, as they made so much noise upon arrival!

Definitely not worth the money we spent on it and its only redeeming factor was the fact that the beach was close to the hotel (about 2 mins walk) and there was a very nice spar down the road for girly pampering!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelEurope87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I had a room with ocean view and the noise was disturbing esppecialy when the wind blow.
The windows and the door make some sound when wind blows.
Another minus is the fact that at TV you have only spanish channels.
The food was great, that was the only good thing.
At that time the hotel was full with old people, so is not very ''nice'' for youngers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatalinRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#20 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parque San Antonio
Parque San Antonio
#28 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RF San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon
#30 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#11 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Puerto de la Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Puerto de la Cruz

Address: Jose del Campo Llarena, 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#22 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £41 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Puerto de la Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. The hotel TRYP Puerto de la Cruz is set at the heart of the tourist resort of Puerto de la Cruz, in the north of Tenerife. Set overlooking the sea, you can enjoy excellent views from the hotel. Stroll down to the Playa Jardin beach from this hotel, cool off in the Atlantic and relax on the volcanic sands. TRYP Puerto de la Cruz Hotel is equipped with a sun terrace and outdoor swimming-pool set in a beautiful garden. Take a walk from here to the Plaza del Charco and the small, fishing harbour of Puerto de la Cruz, popular destinations in Tenerife. Loro Parque is only 1km away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Melia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TRYP Puerto de la Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Puerto Playa
TRYP Puerto De La Cruz Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing