We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hotel in a nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
Ranked #40 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“basic hotel in a nice location”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

spent a week here over new year. very good location close to the centre of puerto de la cruz which is a charming town. great views along the coast and of the nearby national park.

hotel itself is fairly basic, certainly wouldnt class it as a 4 star. room was on the ground floor and not especially comfortable, matress were so soft it felt like it was made of tissue. was also quite loud due to the road behind.

staff were friendly and helpful. food was terrible unfortunately, we didnt even bother getting up for breakfast after the first couple of times as it was so bad. there are plenty of nice restuarants within a shot walking distance thankfully.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mr_conway_twitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear mr_conway_twitty,

Nothing makes us feel better than reading such wonderful comments! We are really happy because you have enjoyed your holidays in this charming town of Puerto de la Cruz!

We feel especially touched by your nice comments about our staff, as we do our best every day to provide positive experiences and unforgettable moments!

On the other hand, we are really sorry because our breakfast service didn´t reached your expectations. Do not hesitate that the Hotel Manager & me, we have just take measures with our Head Chef.

In reference to your comment about your room, I kindly ask you to accept our apologies. Let me tell to you that we are buying new mattress, because we know that your relaxation is the most important aspect! Please, if you decide to visit us again, please contact me. And so, I will be able to assure that we will keep your entire request.

We would like to thank you again for sending us your impressions. We hope your next experience at Sol Puerto Playa will be really delightful!

Warm regards,

Ana Pérez
-Guest Experience Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    182
    147
    82
    68
See reviews for
96
296
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

stayed in the sol puerto playa for 1 week over christmas 2013. booked the hotel the day before travel! not much choice, many hotels fully booked.
Arrived in puerto de la cruz 21st dec. Good, fast book-in, Room on the 4th floor, sea views all around, football pitch between sea and hotel. Bright lights of fun fair about 3/4 mile to our right. delighted. Room very typical of any spannish hotel, 2 large single beds [pushed together]bathroom with very good bath and shower. No complaints with cleanliness, room cleaned every day - even christmas day!
Having stayed in a number of spannish hotels, was not suprised by the food. very typical of anywhere in Spain. Plenty of choice lots of fruit and salad. Enough variety to keep most people happy. Makes me laugh when people complain about food in foreign hotels, they have to feed customers from many diferent countries, so try to provide food suitable for everyone. If you are expecting British - Irish food stay at home. speaking of other people staying in the hotel, we spoke to many Scandanavians as well as Brits and Germans. clientel fairly mixed, not too many young people.
The hotel advised a heated pool - we found it freezing! the sea was warmer. The beach 100mts away from the hotel has lovely black sand but very large waves making it unsafe for many swimmers. As with most of the Cannaries the north coasts do have very large waves.
The hotel is positioned very close to many amenities, cafes shops harbour. you dont have to walk too far for anything. Even the loco park [parrot zoo] is only a mile away - well worth a visit, dolphins orcas sea lion shows. Penguins, reptiles, monkeys and many many parrots.
Overall as a value hotel, well worth a stay, dont expect luxury or gardens, the site is not that large, swimming pool not to big, but lovely greenary nearby.
Would i stay again - most definately. After much research not aware of any better hotel in Puerto del la cruz .

Room Tip: rooms at back have no sea view but look out at mt tiede.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CorkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear CorkLaurenece,

You made my day today! Thank you so much for this complete review about Sol Puerto Playa! We are extremely happy to read so wonderful words about our services and facilities. We are really grateful for having chosen our Hotel to spend your Christmas Holidays in Puerto de la Cruz, and also for sharing your Sol experience with the users of Tripadvisor.

We always work hard to achieve our guests' satisfaction and after reading your lines we can confirm that in your case we did it!, so many, many thanks in the name of our Staff because your words tell us that we are in the correct way and encourage us to continue offering the best services to all our guest! (Although of course, we never stop introducing improvements to surprise them).

We all hope you visit us as soon as possible and once more we will do our best to make you live another great stay among us!

Kind regards and Happy New Year 2014!!

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely. The stafe very helpful. the food was ok but everything smelt like fish. Are room was basic at the front with no compaints. There was entertaiment but not to are tast.would we stop there again Yes but room only i did'nt enjoy the food

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mandyar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi mandyar1,

We really appreciate the time you have spent to write your thoughts about your Christmas Holidays at Sol Puerto Playa!

We're glad to read such beautiful comments about the hotel and the friendliness of our staff! Do not hesitate that I will transmit them your kind words!!

I am sorry that we could not reach your expectations this time and I regret to read that you didn´t like the food, even though we have made big improvements and modifications in the last couple of years. I would be rally grateful if you contacted me directly to provide some more detailed information or suggestions.

We hope your return at Sol Puerto Playa in the near future and enjoy this amazing island and its weather with us!

Warm regards,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotha, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Each winter it pulls me to Tenerife to get some sun. The Sol Puerto Playa is situated quite nicely, near the city and near the beach. There are many hotels looming u have to walk hundreds of steps (cause Puerto isnt really flat). Thats a real bargain.
Each room is big enough and clean (as far as I know). But the interior is quite old and has to be renovated (my door once flew open, cause the wind was hefty), all locks are quite shaky, even the one to the balcony. The arm chairs are spotted, the tables also. If u like everything perfect, u will be disappointed.
The servants are quite friendly and doing their very best to accommodate u. A very small pool with table tennis and a billiard board, which have seen better times. The prices at the bar and at the restaurant for drinks are hefty (nearly double of the ones outside). There is no mini bar in the room available, so u have to buy sth outside the hotel or pay that prices.
In the bar some entertainment is given but most of all football on TV. Therefore its nearly empty in the evenings and no place to meet people.
Internet is liable to pay costs on two stations in the hall - wlan should be sth to be wished for. Even into the rooms.
The restaurant is ok - but what I do not understand is that nearly each cooked vegetable is mixed with meat or fish. There are some veggies, who will eat what? Im not, but I do not like to mix everything with everything, Im a pure type, my coffee is black. And I want to taste the pure, not the mixed up. The other thing I dont like is that nearly each dish is cooked to death. U dont need ur teeth except for those fresh food available at the buffet too. So sometimes it remembers me of a better lunchroom. This time turkey was in: u got turkey at spit and in all other variations u can think off. After a week u dont like turkey anymore.
I dont know, if I will book once again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the seaside, the other one is interesting too (The Teide), but also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank your b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear your b,

Thank you for having chosen Sol Parque San Antonio to spend your holidays in Puerto de la Cruz, and also for sharing here your personal opinion with other travelers. We are sure it will be very useful not only for them but also for us, because it helps us to detect the areas where we have to focus our efforts. So we take note of all your comments in order to improve our services and of course we deeply regret not having achieved your expectations.

We are hugely proud to know that our team turned your stay into marvelous memories!

Please, if you decide to return do not hesitate to contact me before your arrival in order to welcome you personally and make sure we all do our best to make your next visit more satisfactory.

Best regards,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed for three nights in October 2013. Very good value for money. I would say the food was very good, there was always a chef cooking the meat for the evening and eggs for the morning. I would think there is something to eat for even the fussiest. Nice clean hotel, staff pleasant. The head "bloke" in the dining room always very polite and had a smile on his face. Yes it is basic but at the price you pay what do you expect. Lovely area for walks, close to the beach. Definately go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Jane G,

We are delighted to read that you lived a great stay at Sol Puerto Playa! Thank you very much not only for sharing in this popular website your personal experience with other travelers but also, for so positive lines about our services and facilities, especially our staff! We work hard every day, and words like yours tell us that we are working in the correct way. All the staff at the hotel send you our best wishes and hope to see you again soon!.

Kind regards,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikkeli, Eastern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel was nice and tidy. Cleaning was excellent. Everyday new towels. Food was good also, but little bit changing would be nice. Location good, everything is nearby. And the staff was very friendly and polite. And i did sleep very well even in the first floor.

Room Tip: Good views to the .sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Natalie R,

We really love your opinion title!! Because it means that you have not only enjoyed your holidays here, but also you have gone home satisfied with our services and facilities!! As you know, all the staff at the hotel work hard every day trying always to achieve our guests' expectations and also making them live here unforgettable experiences, and in your case it seems we did it!!

Many thanks in the name of Sol Puerto Playa Team, thanks for your attention and above all for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays in Puerto de la Cruz. We have already passed your positive words to our staff!

We all sincerely hope to see you soon, until then we send you our best regards.

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

described as 4 star hotel by local t cook travel agent,with usual 4 star amenities.2 star hotel with 4star views.no entertainment,exept Spanish football on the bar tv,no air conditioning in lounge or dining room.The dining room, cafe style tables,no table cloths,Now the food!!Mixed veg,chicken nuggets,chips,and that was served at breakfast,franks in hot water every morning so the tops were brown the under side pink!!ughHardly cooked bacon on 2 doys out of 7.The chef could win prizes for recycling,todays rejects are tomorrows meals,lots of stew type dishes.Outside ,the hotel is being refurbished,top terrace out of bounds,scaffolding and painters on terrace,sun beds old and dirty,no mattreses for plastic beds.Oh and its 4 euros per hr for wi fi

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear George h,

Thank you for having chosen Sol Puerto Playa to spend your holidays in Puerto de la Cruz and also for sharing here your personal opinion about your last stay among us, we are sure it will be very useful not only for other travelers, but also for us because it allows us detect the areas where we must focus our efforts and introduce improvements.

We always try to meet our customers’ expectations and in your case you are not satisfied with some of our services, so we take note of all your comments in order to try to offer a better service in your next stay.

If you will return back, please do not hesitate to contact me in order to welcome you personally a try to make your next stay as pleasant as you deserve.

Yours sincerely,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
970 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parque San Antonio
Parque San Antonio
#33 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
#35 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,770 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Noelia
GF Noelia
#34 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Puerto de la Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Puerto de la Cruz

Property: TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
Address: Jose del Campo Llarena, 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#22 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Puerto de la Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. The hotel TRYP Puerto de la Cruz is set at the heart of the tourist resort of Puerto de la Cruz, in the north of Tenerife. Set overlooking the sea, you can enjoy excellent views from the hotel. Stroll down to the Playa Jardin beach from this hotel, cool off in the Atlantic and relax on the volcanic sands. TRYP Puerto de la Cruz Hotel is equipped with a sun terrace and outdoor swimming-pool set in a beautiful garden. Take a walk from here to the Plaza del Charco and the small, fishing harbour of Puerto de la Cruz, popular destinations in Tenerife. Loro Parque is only 1km away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Melia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TRYP Puerto de la Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Puerto Playa
TRYP Puerto De La Cruz Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing