We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
Ranked #40 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice 2 night stay. Bed and Breakfast option.
Friendly staff and very good buffet breakfast Only down point would be, no extra pillows for beds (one each), but rooms were clean and bright.
A lovely couple of nights for what we paid and will go back again some time. We love the area, some great eating places in town centre and a relaxing place. Much more traditional than in the South.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    159
    137
    77
    62
See reviews for
81
269
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed in Oct 2013. Friendly on reception. Nice, clean basic room. Beds were comfy. Shower had good pressure. Was a bit worried about food - both husband and I are vegetarians. But the buffet style breakfast and dinner were good. There was plenty choice although the labelling was a bit vague, not always mentioning the the odd prawn or bit of ham in. But we were satisfied, just had to have a little look before putting it on our plates. The staff in the diner were friendly. The pool was nice and clean. Unfortunately we didnt have a sea view but the beach is 5 mins walk away. We had a balcony with 2 chairs with a nice view over the town and mountains. Air conditioning was great too. Town centre about a 15 to 20 min walk. Part of the hotel was being done up when we were there but there was little noise and no disruption. We were worried after booking our holiday then reading some reviews online. But after our stay we were very happy with our overall stay and some people are too fussy and critical - Conclusion - if you want 5 star pay 5 star prices. But this is a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LynnCorbridgeWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for one night and was really pleased. Great location near the beach and a short walk to the town centre. Our room was on the 6th floor and the views were spectacular. The room was clean and spacious with a verandah, table and chairs inside and out. Bathroom was clean and bright with a bath, shower and bidet. Shampoo/soap is provided with a fairly good hair dryer. Plenty of free parking outside. A nice lounge bar area offers a happy hour for drinks and breakfast was good. There is a football pitch and outside swimming pool and you can hear children but it didn't bother us. Staff were friendly and polite. Hotels in Spain are not the same ratings as home so we didn't expect four star (British standard) especially not for the reasonable price paid. Would choose to stay here again if we return to this area

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Front of the hotel has views of the city and mountains. Beach views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

............ to Puerto De La Cruz and the Sol Puerto Playa. Location is great, a 10 minute walk to the town centre but wouldn't rate it as a 4 Star. Accommodation was basic but each room was kept clean and had a balcony. Rooms have sliding wardrobe mirrored doors, where in one side there is a three drawer chest with hanging space above, and the other side there is a full length hanging space. There were about 12 hangers included in the wardrobe with a wall safe contained in the wardrobe (February 2014 cost 21 euros for a week). The bathroom has the usual toilet, bidet, handbasin and bath (with shower - though this was not very powerful). Some toiletries are included (shower gel/shampoo located in the bath area together with hand gel located near the handbasin area). For those of you that require it, there is a hairdryer also located in the bathroom. The TV in the room is basic and as we didn't pay for other TV services, the basics in English were BBC World News, CNN and the Disney Channel.

Breakfast is taken in the dining room which is in the basement of the hotel - whilst breakfast items were plentiful with lots to choose from, we did find the dining room quite warm and uncomfortable if there were quite a few people in there.

Location to Loro Park is great - come out of the hotel, turn right, turn right after about 100m and you walk towards the ocean (and pass a big cemetery on your left). After the cemetery turn left and keep walking on the coastal road for about a kilometre and Loro Park is on your left. It is currently priced @ 33 euros for an adult for the day but we felt it was well worth it - Orca Whales, Dolphins, Sea Lions and much much more on show and have performances several times a day. The penguin area is well worth a visit - we went round it twice!!! Loro Park also has a free mini-train service to the main resort if you want to be dropped back there after your day (pick up and drop off point located near McDonalds).

Lots of places to eat with every type of food you can think of............ you're spoilt for choice and prices are very reasonable.

Be warned it is about an 80 minute transfer from Reine Sofia Airport in the South to Puerto De La Cruz in the north!!!

Overall a hotel where staff are making the best of what they have available to them - could do with some refurbishment and updating....... :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cairo1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just after Christmas for one week, Puerto Crux is a great area, the hotel has a good location and it's views on to the sea could not be better, as long as you look past the football stadium and local highways signage depot, the stadium was used regularly by the locals and didn't detract from the area, was nice to see a local community outside of the tourist inhabitants......
All in all we enjoyed our holiday, but I am afraid I must take issue with the rating of the hotel, being rated at 4 star we would have expected a much higher standard, the decor can only be described as tired, the furniture was tired, the carpets were tired, the beds were comfortable and the linen clean and the maid service was good. The 'restaurant' I can only describe as a canteen, it Felt like it had been an underground car park in a previous life and been converted, it was buffet style and the quality of the food was ok....waiter service consisted of removing your plates after your meal and the wine waiter was there to take your order for drinks and bring you a bottle, including bottled water at a cost of 1.70 euros for 500ml ( 0.20 euro in the local supermarket) Tea and coffee were only available from a vending machine at breakfast and switched off for your evening meal.
To summarise, a well located hotel, but we fail to see how it can be classed as a 4 star.....

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Peter,

In Sol Puerto Playa we take every single review into consideration and we are extremely grateful for sharing your experience with us.

We are sorry if we haven’t met your expectations in this occasion, but I can assure you that all the Sol Puerto Playa Team always work with the intention of improving the service focused on our guest’s needs.

On the other hand, as you point out in your review, our location and room views are quite nice, and we are glad to know that you enjoyed them. Moreover, It’s perfect to know that our food and housekeeping services exceeded your expectations! This is the best new we can receive!

We hope you come back soon!

Kind regards,

Ana Pérez
-Guest Experience Manager-.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

spent a week here over new year. very good location close to the centre of puerto de la cruz which is a charming town. great views along the coast and of the nearby national park.

hotel itself is fairly basic, certainly wouldnt class it as a 4 star. room was on the ground floor and not especially comfortable, matress were so soft it felt like it was made of tissue. was also quite loud due to the road behind.

staff were friendly and helpful. food was terrible unfortunately, we didnt even bother getting up for breakfast after the first couple of times as it was so bad. there are plenty of nice restuarants within a shot walking distance thankfully.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mr_conway_twitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear mr_conway_twitty,

Nothing makes us feel better than reading such wonderful comments! We are really happy because you have enjoyed your holidays in this charming town of Puerto de la Cruz!

We feel especially touched by your nice comments about our staff, as we do our best every day to provide positive experiences and unforgettable moments!

On the other hand, we are really sorry because our breakfast service didn´t reached your expectations. Do not hesitate that the Hotel Manager & me, we have just take measures with our Head Chef.

In reference to your comment about your room, I kindly ask you to accept our apologies. Let me tell to you that we are buying new mattress, because we know that your relaxation is the most important aspect! Please, if you decide to visit us again, please contact me. And so, I will be able to assure that we will keep your entire request.

We would like to thank you again for sending us your impressions. We hope your next experience at Sol Puerto Playa will be really delightful!

Warm regards,

Ana Pérez
-Guest Experience Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

stayed in the sol puerto playa for 1 week over christmas 2013. booked the hotel the day before travel! not much choice, many hotels fully booked.
Arrived in puerto de la cruz 21st dec. Good, fast book-in, Room on the 4th floor, sea views all around, football pitch between sea and hotel. Bright lights of fun fair about 3/4 mile to our right. delighted. Room very typical of any spannish hotel, 2 large single beds [pushed together]bathroom with very good bath and shower. No complaints with cleanliness, room cleaned every day - even christmas day!
Having stayed in a number of spannish hotels, was not suprised by the food. very typical of anywhere in Spain. Plenty of choice lots of fruit and salad. Enough variety to keep most people happy. Makes me laugh when people complain about food in foreign hotels, they have to feed customers from many diferent countries, so try to provide food suitable for everyone. If you are expecting British - Irish food stay at home. speaking of other people staying in the hotel, we spoke to many Scandanavians as well as Brits and Germans. clientel fairly mixed, not too many young people.
The hotel advised a heated pool - we found it freezing! the sea was warmer. The beach 100mts away from the hotel has lovely black sand but very large waves making it unsafe for many swimmers. As with most of the Cannaries the north coasts do have very large waves.
The hotel is positioned very close to many amenities, cafes shops harbour. you dont have to walk too far for anything. Even the loco park [parrot zoo] is only a mile away - well worth a visit, dolphins orcas sea lion shows. Penguins, reptiles, monkeys and many many parrots.
Overall as a value hotel, well worth a stay, dont expect luxury or gardens, the site is not that large, swimming pool not to big, but lovely greenary nearby.
Would i stay again - most definately. After much research not aware of any better hotel in Puerto del la cruz .

Room Tip: rooms at back have no sea view but look out at mt tiede.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CorkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRYP Puerto de la Cruz, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear CorkLaurenece,

You made my day today! Thank you so much for this complete review about Sol Puerto Playa! We are extremely happy to read so wonderful words about our services and facilities. We are really grateful for having chosen our Hotel to spend your Christmas Holidays in Puerto de la Cruz, and also for sharing your Sol experience with the users of Tripadvisor.

We always work hard to achieve our guests' satisfaction and after reading your lines we can confirm that in your case we did it!, so many, many thanks in the name of our Staff because your words tell us that we are in the correct way and encourage us to continue offering the best services to all our guest! (Although of course, we never stop introducing improvements to surprise them).

We all hope you visit us as soon as possible and once more we will do our best to make you live another great stay among us!

Kind regards and Happy New Year 2014!!

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parque San Antonio
Parque San Antonio
#35 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
#36 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#39 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Interpalace by Blue Sea
Interpalace by Blue Sea
#68 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Puerto de la Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Puerto de la Cruz

Property: TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
Address: Jose del Campo Llarena, 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#21 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Puerto de la Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. The hotel TRYP Puerto de la Cruz is set at the heart of the tourist resort of Puerto de la Cruz, in the north of Tenerife. Set overlooking the sea, you can enjoy excellent views from the hotel. Stroll down to the Playa Jardin beach from this hotel, cool off in the Atlantic and relax on the volcanic sands. TRYP Puerto de la Cruz Hotel is equipped with a sun terrace and outdoor swimming-pool set in a beautiful garden. Take a walk from here to the Plaza del Charco and the small, fishing harbour of Puerto de la Cruz, popular destinations in Tenerife. Loro Parque is only 1km away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP Puerto de la Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Puerto Playa
TRYP Puerto De La Cruz Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing