We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short break”
Review of Parque San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parque San Antonio
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just returned from the Sol Parque San Antonio.

Previous reviews have commented about the steep climb to the hotel but we found this to be a pleasure rather than a burden and there was a free bus transfer throughout the day should you wish to avail yourself. There was a taxi rank outside the front entrance and cost €3/4.

The pool and grounds were amazing - very well kept and interesting. It was obvious that the hotel take great pride in these aspects.

We stayed B&B - the food was exactly what you would expect; plentiful and with freshly cooked eggs/omelettes, warm breads etc. It did get a little busy at times but we never had an issue finding seating or moving around.

Our room was fine for a short break, with fridge and air con/heating (which was needed as we had a few rainy days). Maybe a little dated but it was comfortable and certainly nothing that detracted from the purpose of our vacation. The room was cleaned daily and the maid was very professional and polite. Our terrace was shared, but unobtrusively so, looking onto a small lawned area. We were next to the road however the road noise wasn't as big an issue for us as some reviews have suggested - I think it's a little unrealistic to expect total tranquility - maybe we just had the right location. The view up to Tiede was stunning.

We didn't make use of the entertainment on site so can't comment on this but it seemed lively and well attended.

The other guests were predominantly older German guests but we speak (a little) German and everyone was very polite and friendly.

There was extensive wifi coverage but the cost of this seemed a little prohibitive; but most bars and cafes in the town do offer free wifi.

Overall, a relaxing and enjoyable stay - we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jaegered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parque San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Good morning Jaegered!

Reading your review really makes our morning better! Thank you so much for sharing your great experience with the Tripadvisor Community!

It is a pleasure for us to know that you would recommend us and that you have enjoyed our Breakfast service, our views and of course, our magnificent and relaxing garden! The Housekeeping Staff will be happy to know that their efforts and their daily work have met his expectations! In fact, we always try to do our best to improve day by day!

We are sure your next visit will exceed your expectations once more!

Warm regards,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of October/early November 2013. He had stayed here before with his Cycling team and described it as a good cheap hotel. We were out most days so we only really need a place to sleep.

Service - We arrived at the hotel around 3pm and the reception was dead. One man on reception, he was very helpful and a quick smooth check in. Our room was on the 3rd floor but thankfully there was a lift to carry our luggage up.

Value - As I stated above, the hotel is cheap and well priced for what you get. We had booked bed and breakfast and were not disappointed.

Room/Sleep Quality/Cleanliness - Yes, I admit the room was slighted dated with the large mirrored wall and some strange decor choices but it was very clean and serviced everyday to a good standard. Our balcony looked over the beautiful grounds of the hotel, full of exotic plants and trees. Only down side was the sun didn't really hit our balcony at all really! The beds were comfy enough and very quiet at night so not disturbances during the night.

Location - The hotel is situated a bit far from the centre of Puerto De La Cruz but we were luckily enough to have a car so it was only a 5-10 mins drive to the centre of the city. In the opposite direction you were 5 mins away from the main motorway that takes you to Santa Cruz and La Laguna (shout out to La Laguna which is definitely worth visiting. Beautiful town/village and stunning Canarian houses!)

Food - The Buffet provided a good selection of food and there were chefs available to cook fresh pancakes and omelets on request. We went to breakfast quite late (10am) and was quite loud and busy but to rate the food it was good and reasonable for what we paid.

Overall, it was a good hotel/apartments. Well maintained rooms, grounds and pool. I would recommend this hotel to couple who wants to explore the northern part of the island and need a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenniferA_EDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parque San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi JenniferA_EDI,

We are delighted to read that we have made you live a fantastic holidays with us here!
You know this is the best news we can receive!

Thank you very much for so positive words about your last stay among us, food, room, cleanliness, location...it seems we have achieved your satisfaction!!

Many thanks again for having chosen Sol Parque San Antonio and also for sharing here your personal experience with other users, we are sure it will be very useful for them. We hope to see you soon!

Best regards.

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here from 20th December 2013 to 2nd January 2014. Our room was on the 5th floor and was clean and serviceable with a cracking view of the sea, the volcano and the pool area. The grounds are full of exotic plants and trees, all lovingly maintained and although some things were a little dated (décor in the room, reception and bar) - it was all clean. I'd describe most of the staff as helpful but not very cheerful! This hotel is on top of a VERY steep hill and we mostly walked up and down every day, resulting in legs an Olympic champion would be proud of - but it's not for the faint hearted, there were times we felt like dropping to our knees and crawling up, it's that exhausting! However, a taxi is 3-4 euros, so it's not like you have to climb up. The food was OK - at breakfast you could cobble together a full English breakfast, or a continental breakfast and there was cereal and fruit and lovely fresh bread. Dinner was a bit samey, but there was a vast selection, so can't complain about that - although I will say that a lot of the time the food was cold. There is a bar by the pool that you can purchase food from throughout the day, we only used this a couple of times, but were pleasantly surprised by the quality - recommend the hamburger!

The hotel did seem to be full of older German guests - I don't know if this is the norm, although I have seen it mentioned in previous posts. While we were there we only saw one other English couple - so if you're going on holiday to make new friends, make sure you speak German or go somewhere else. Having said that, we booked through a German travel agent and live in Germany, so it wasn't a problem for us.

The entertainment on site is pretty dull - there was maybe a couple of hours of either a singer, a DJ or a Spanish dancing demonstration. The bar would be fairly empty most nights too, but the main square in town is pretty lively most nights, so we just went there.

While we were there we visited Loro Parque - you can get a cute little yellow train from the town centre and it takes you all the way there for free. The park has fantastic sealion, dolphin and killer whale shows as well as beautifully maintained parks and enclosures with white tigers, cheetahs, panthers, sloths and lots of exotic birds and parrots as well as a fantastic penguin enclosure - we had an absolutely brilliant day - it's 33 euros to get in, but while you're there you can purchase return tickets for 10 euros - which we did, because we just had the best time there.

If you're going here for New Years Eve - I'd recommend going into the main square in town, we had a fantastic time, there was a Spanish band singing live, we were all dancing in the street and the atmosphere was electric - it was our best New Years Eve ever and of course at midnight a brilliant firework display.

My only complaints would be: The steep hill, the 'not very cheeful' staff, the cold food and finally, they provide 'Do No Disturb' signs for your door - but the maids ignore them, ring the doorbell and come right in - I won't elaborate, but it can be very embarrassing! Surely it's not VITALLY important to change our towels EVERY day - you'd think it was life of death! Although we probably wouldn't stay there again, it certainly didn't ruin our holiday and we had a fantastic time!

Room Tip: The higher rooms have better views - lower rooms are affected by the tropical plants/trees and obscu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parque San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear CazNDaz2014,

First of all, thank you for taking your time to write a review and share it with Tripadvisor’s users. We are very happy that you and your boyfriend decided to spend your Christmas Holidays with us!

It’s perfect to know that you have enjoyed our relaxing and exotic garden, our food services and our location!

We want to express our apologies for the inconveniences you have described us. We always do our best to exceed our guest’s expectations and we are really sorry to know that we haven’t reached yours on this occasion.

I would like to inform you that we have taken good notes of all your impressions to try to avoid these incidents in the future and give our guests the best quality of service and product.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you here again and doing our best to change your impressions. In that case, please contact me before your arrival.

Yours sincerely,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The facilities are very old and in very bad shape. There is a reason why they only show the outside of the rooms in the pictures.
This should be a 2 star hotel/retirement house + a pool.
We had ants in our room.
The bath wasn't good and wasn't fixed.
The service was barely ok although slightly rude.
The location is a 15-20 minutes walk from the center down the hill - must take a taxi back. It's about as far as you can get from the center in this small town.

Room Tip: stay away - pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parque San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi Arik G,

Thank you for having chosen Sol Parque San Antonio to enjoy your holidays in Puerto de la Cruz and also for sharing here your personal experience among us with other travelers.

All the staff at the hotel work hard every day to achieve our guests' expectations but unfortunately in your case it seems we haven't.

We take note of your comments in order to improve our rooms because I can assure you that the satisfaction of our customers is always our main commitment and this is why we never stop introducing improvements in our services.

For your information, we refurbished our Residence building in 2012, so if you decided to visit us again, you should book one of our renovated and very nice double rooms. Anyway, if you need some extra information about them, don’t hesitate to contact me or our Reservation department. I would like that you understand that we do a daily and preventive maintenance of all our facilities…but we have to go step by step!.

Many thanks again for your let us know your opinion. We sincerely hope you visit us in another occasion as give us the try to change that feeling.

Warm regards,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Well close to the beach is not true a good half hour steep walk to the sea but the beach itself is good. This is not a hotel for families or anyone under the age of 65, food was awful and really disappointing. Evening entertainment was again aimed at the senior market and not worth hanging around for! Isolated so make sure you either have good legs or lots of euros for the taxi!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parque San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Kabirch,

We regret to read you have gone home not satisfied with our location and food service. Anyway, I would like to inform you that we have already taken good notes about all your impressions to solve these possible deficiencies that you transmitted us.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of our services! Please, if you decide to return do not hesitate to contact me before your arrival in order to welcome you personally and make sure we all do our best to make your next visit more satisfactory.

Thank you for having chosen Sol Parque San Antonio to spend your holidays and also for sharing here your personal opinion with other travelers.

Yours sincerely,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one week at the end of October/beginning of November 2013 for 7 nights. We were wanting a quiet holiday away from clubs and the city. The area of Puerto de la Cruz in the north of the island of Tenerife is very picturesque and ideal for couples. There are not many amenities nearby but if you are wiling to walk they can be reached within around 20-30 minutes (beach, restaurants, shops etc). We would strongly recommend a visit to Loro Parque, a great day out.

We stayed half board, and were very happy with the quality of the food. The entertainment options were distinctly average with very little to do around the grounds of the hotel after evening meal. The staff in all areas (in particular reception and the bar) were unhelpful and not overly welcoming (it doesn't cost anything to smile). On one occasion it took us three attempts to gain assistance from the reception staff, there was nobody to help us with our bags when we arrived and even though it was dark when we got to the hotel, we were only given vague directions to our room.

The room (number 238) itself that we stayed in was very light and spacious, although the bathroom was in need of updating. However, the walls were very thin, and you could hear conversations from adjoining rooms. The main road outside the hotel was a major issue, interrupting sleep on a regular basis.

The grounds of the hotel are excellent and well maintained, with a very good large swimming pool surrounded by tropical plants. We would highly recommend the pool bar meals which were very well priced, prepared efficiently and of good quality.

Overall, the hotel offers decent accommodation for a holiday to Puerto de la Cruz, but it isn't outstanding. The hotel is very good in some aspects, however there are some areas that need significant improvements. The 4 star rating is a little generous, in our view 3 stars would be a more accurate rating.

Room Tip: When booking, request a room that is on the opposite side of the hotel to the main road, i.e. on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 506Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parque San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear 506Matt,

I would like to thank you for your time to evaluate your experience in our Sol Parque San Antonio and for sharing your impressions with others users of Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read you have enjoyed your stay in Puerto de la Cruz and you have gone home satisfied with our services! This is the best reward we can receive!

On the other hand, I regret that the experience with our Reception and Bar Staff was not as pleasant as you expected. However, I would like to let you know that our guests’ expectations are our priority, and your comments have been transmitted and considered by these departments.

We apologize once again and we hope you will give us a new opportunity to offer our best service.

Best regards,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have just returned from a weeks Holiday with our family of 13 and found the hotel comfortable and very clean. The food for an all inclusive was OK but a little much the same each day. We were there at the end of October and were covered in cloud from the high mountains on most of the day's but that could just be the time. Long down hill walk to the beach which was packed and a must Taxis back up to Hotel. The staff were polite but hardly ever smiled. The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels each day. Gardens very pretty with a great pool. However, lots of steps to rooms and Restaurant. Very good for a week but would not return.

Room Tip: Rooms 200 onwards are above the main Pool area and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 655Stef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
#32 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#12 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#24 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
627 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#9 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parque San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parque San Antonio

Address: Ctra de Las Arenas, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £31 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parque San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Parque San Antonio provides pleasant facilities surrounded by tropical gardens which, combined with the exquisite service of our staff, allow you to enjoy a relaxing holidays. Its privileged location makes possible to admire stuning views of the Mount Teide, the Orotava Valley and the Atlantic Ocean, and being really close from the beaches and touristic areas of Puerto de la Cruz. Our pool area with large green spaces will incite you to enjoy swimming or to relax sunbathing with the sound of nature as background music. The spacious and comfortable rooms full of natural light allow you to find the relaxation and rest you deserve. Delight the delicious breakfasts and dinners that our buffet restaurant offers, with a gastronomic proposal where local products and inspiring recipes are perfectly blended. During the day, you can enjoy snacks and a wide variety of drinks at the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parque San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Parque San Antonio Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Parque San Antonio Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing