We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, if you do not like sand and beach”
Review of Parque San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parque San Antonio
Ranked #36 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, if you do not like sand and beach”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nothing wrong with the hotel we were staying there in December 2009. Our son 9 months old loved the room which was quite big, as we have a small child dinner was too late , it started at 19,30 and he slept than. So no dinner on me as somebody has to be with him. But my boyfriend had time. Pools are not warmed up but some brave people were using them anyway. We took taxi to find some food but a lot was closed during winter time. Beach: stones and good only for wind surfing, big waves. We met a couple from Bergen who was in the hotel because they got bored of Playa de Americas and sun. There is a lot to do in puerto de la Cruz but sun and nice beach with golden sand is not one of them. 3 hours drive from airport and taxi drove 100 km/h . The worst paella I had in the hotel pool bar, but hamburgers was ok, also breakfast was ok. Nice service, nothing to claim about. Shops closed in December and only a notice that neighbor knows where the owner is. No season, no fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena511976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    264
    174
    106
    89
See reviews for
232
370
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had the misfortune of staying at this hotel last week and how it got 4 stars is beyond our comprehension. On arrival we got the distinct impression that we had arrived at a retirement village - no guest was under the age of 70. No disrespect to the elderly. The bed was so hard and uncomfortable - sleep was not possible.The mattress was covered with a crinkled hard plastic incontinent sheet - not equating to comfort! I requested a room transfer which was only a slight improvement in. No satellite TV therefore no english channels. No facilties for making tea/coffee in room - and its suppose to be 4 star. Reception staff were rude and unhelpful. Would not facilitate printing our flight boarding cards. No hotel entertainment, pool freezing, food poor. Staying at this hotel was the ruination of our weeks holiday. Thank God the weather was good. Would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fran211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have been in Puerto in several hotels, all fours stars, but this San Antonio don´t deserve four stars, may be three minus. Our room was dark (no sun during 24 h), furniture was old, worn out, breakfast was wide, but almost nothing for vegetarians. No hotel book in the room with information on hotels services. Rooms were clean, garden is very green (four stars for it), pool area is normal. Location was good for us due we wanted do some running on Taoro park which is pretty close to hotel. And we wanted to take a closer look on upper Puerto Cruz area. There are some good restaurants nearby, as Albertos´Bar (snacks, tapas, drinks) and Taoro Terraza Restaurant. And some other we did not visit this time. It is also possible to have a dinner at hotel´s restaurant, but the value is not good 14,95 e without drinks. Hotel was quite at night time, no parties, no shouting.
Hotel has a shuttle service several time per day from hotel to down town, Martinez shopping center. Wi-fi costs for one week 30 e. Martinez shopping center has free wi-fi, and speedy one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony from sunny side. Hotel offer also half board, but I can´t recommend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel with good service and friendly staff.
Some queue can be expected at the breakfast buffet, but there is a good flow in serving.
The food is good and the wait staff efficient.
Very nice pool area, with quiet atmosphere and delicious bar.
most of the residents are German tourists aged 70 +, perfect hotel to have a relaxing vacation at.
The hotel is just in height, but only takes ten minutes to walk down to the center, and around 12-15 minutes back up again if you are not couch potato.
taxi from downtown and the hotel costs only 3.5 €

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vegar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parque San Antonio, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hi Vegar F!

You made my day today! Thank you so much for this review about Sol Parque San Antonio! We are extremely happy to read so wonderful words about our services, facilities and of course, about our Staff.
We are really grateful for having chosen our Hotel to spend your holidays in Puerto de la Cruz, and also for sharing your Sol experience with the users of TripAdvisor.

We always work hard to achieve our guests' satisfaction and after reading your lines we can confirm that in your case we did it!, so many, many thanks in the name of our Staff because your words tell us that we are in the correct way and encourage us to continue offering the best services to all our guest! (Although of course, we never stop introducing improvements to surprise them).

We all hope you visit us as soon as possible and once more we will do our best to make you live another great stay among us!

Kind regards,

Ana Pérez
-Guest Experience Manager-.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just returned from the Sol Parque San Antonio.

Previous reviews have commented about the steep climb to the hotel but we found this to be a pleasure rather than a burden and there was a free bus transfer throughout the day should you wish to avail yourself. There was a taxi rank outside the front entrance and cost €3/4.

The pool and grounds were amazing - very well kept and interesting. It was obvious that the hotel take great pride in these aspects.

We stayed B&B - the food was exactly what you would expect; plentiful and with freshly cooked eggs/omelettes, warm breads etc. It did get a little busy at times but we never had an issue finding seating or moving around.

Our room was fine for a short break, with fridge and air con/heating (which was needed as we had a few rainy days). Maybe a little dated but it was comfortable and certainly nothing that detracted from the purpose of our vacation. The room was cleaned daily and the maid was very professional and polite. Our terrace was shared, but unobtrusively so, looking onto a small lawned area. We were next to the road however the road noise wasn't as big an issue for us as some reviews have suggested - I think it's a little unrealistic to expect total tranquility - maybe we just had the right location. The view up to Tiede was stunning.

We didn't make use of the entertainment on site so can't comment on this but it seemed lively and well attended.

The other guests were predominantly older German guests but we speak (a little) German and everyone was very polite and friendly.

There was extensive wifi coverage but the cost of this seemed a little prohibitive; but most bars and cafes in the town do offer free wifi.

Overall, a relaxing and enjoyable stay - we would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaegered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parque San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Good morning Jaegered!

Reading your review really makes our morning better! Thank you so much for sharing your great experience with the Tripadvisor Community!

It is a pleasure for us to know that you would recommend us and that you have enjoyed our Breakfast service, our views and of course, our magnificent and relaxing garden! The Housekeeping Staff will be happy to know that their efforts and their daily work have met his expectations! In fact, we always try to do our best to improve day by day!

We are sure your next visit will exceed your expectations once more!

Warm regards,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de La Laguna, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of October/early November 2013. He had stayed here before with his Cycling team and described it as a good cheap hotel. We were out most days so we only really need a place to sleep.

Service - We arrived at the hotel around 3pm and the reception was dead. One man on reception, he was very helpful and a quick smooth check in. Our room was on the 3rd floor but thankfully there was a lift to carry our luggage up.

Value - As I stated above, the hotel is cheap and well priced for what you get. We had booked bed and breakfast and were not disappointed.

Room/Sleep Quality/Cleanliness - Yes, I admit the room was slighted dated with the large mirrored wall and some strange decor choices but it was very clean and serviced everyday to a good standard. Our balcony looked over the beautiful grounds of the hotel, full of exotic plants and trees. Only down side was the sun didn't really hit our balcony at all really! The beds were comfy enough and very quiet at night so not disturbances during the night.

Location - The hotel is situated a bit far from the centre of Puerto De La Cruz but we were luckily enough to have a car so it was only a 5-10 mins drive to the centre of the city. In the opposite direction you were 5 mins away from the main motorway that takes you to Santa Cruz and La Laguna (shout out to La Laguna which is definitely worth visiting. Beautiful town/village and stunning Canarian houses!)

Food - The Buffet provided a good selection of food and there were chefs available to cook fresh pancakes and omelets on request. We went to breakfast quite late (10am) and was quite loud and busy but to rate the food it was good and reasonable for what we paid.

Overall, it was a good hotel/apartments. Well maintained rooms, grounds and pool. I would recommend this hotel to couple who wants to explore the northern part of the island and need a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenniferA_EDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parque San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi JenniferA_EDI,

We are delighted to read that we have made you live a fantastic holidays with us here!
You know this is the best news we can receive!

Thank you very much for so positive words about your last stay among us, food, room, cleanliness, location...it seems we have achieved your satisfaction!!

Many thanks again for having chosen Sol Parque San Antonio and also for sharing here your personal experience with other users, we are sure it will be very useful for them. We hope to see you soon!

Best regards.

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here from 20th December 2013 to 2nd January 2014. Our room was on the 5th floor and was clean and serviceable with a cracking view of the sea, the volcano and the pool area. The grounds are full of exotic plants and trees, all lovingly maintained and although some things were a little dated (décor in the room, reception and bar) - it was all clean. I'd describe most of the staff as helpful but not very cheerful! This hotel is on top of a VERY steep hill and we mostly walked up and down every day, resulting in legs an Olympic champion would be proud of - but it's not for the faint hearted, there were times we felt like dropping to our knees and crawling up, it's that exhausting! However, a taxi is 3-4 euros, so it's not like you have to climb up. The food was OK - at breakfast you could cobble together a full English breakfast, or a continental breakfast and there was cereal and fruit and lovely fresh bread. Dinner was a bit samey, but there was a vast selection, so can't complain about that - although I will say that a lot of the time the food was cold. There is a bar by the pool that you can purchase food from throughout the day, we only used this a couple of times, but were pleasantly surprised by the quality - recommend the hamburger!

The hotel did seem to be full of older German guests - I don't know if this is the norm, although I have seen it mentioned in previous posts. While we were there we only saw one other English couple - so if you're going on holiday to make new friends, make sure you speak German or go somewhere else. Having said that, we booked through a German travel agent and live in Germany, so it wasn't a problem for us.

The entertainment on site is pretty dull - there was maybe a couple of hours of either a singer, a DJ or a Spanish dancing demonstration. The bar would be fairly empty most nights too, but the main square in town is pretty lively most nights, so we just went there.

While we were there we visited Loro Parque - you can get a cute little yellow train from the town centre and it takes you all the way there for free. The park has fantastic sealion, dolphin and killer whale shows as well as beautifully maintained parks and enclosures with white tigers, cheetahs, panthers, sloths and lots of exotic birds and parrots as well as a fantastic penguin enclosure - we had an absolutely brilliant day - it's 33 euros to get in, but while you're there you can purchase return tickets for 10 euros - which we did, because we just had the best time there.

If you're going here for New Years Eve - I'd recommend going into the main square in town, we had a fantastic time, there was a Spanish band singing live, we were all dancing in the street and the atmosphere was electric - it was our best New Years Eve ever and of course at midnight a brilliant firework display.

My only complaints would be: The steep hill, the 'not very cheeful' staff, the cold food and finally, they provide 'Do No Disturb' signs for your door - but the maids ignore them, ring the doorbell and come right in - I won't elaborate, but it can be very embarrassing! Surely it's not VITALLY important to change our towels EVERY day - you'd think it was life of death! Although we probably wouldn't stay there again, it certainly didn't ruin our holiday and we had a fantastic time!

Room Tip: The higher rooms have better views - lower rooms are affected by the tropical plants/trees and obscu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazNDaz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parque San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear CazNDaz2014,

First of all, thank you for taking your time to write a review and share it with Tripadvisor’s users. We are very happy that you and your boyfriend decided to spend your Christmas Holidays with us!

It’s perfect to know that you have enjoyed our relaxing and exotic garden, our food services and our location!

We want to express our apologies for the inconveniences you have described us. We always do our best to exceed our guest’s expectations and we are really sorry to know that we haven’t reached yours on this occasion.

I would like to inform you that we have taken good notes of all your impressions to try to avoid these incidents in the future and give our guests the best quality of service and product.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you here again and doing our best to change your impressions. In that case, please contact me before your arrival.

Yours sincerely,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
795 reviews
0.7 mi away
TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
#35 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#15 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Tope
Hotel El Tope
#26 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#24 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parque San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parque San Antonio

Property: Parque San Antonio
Address: Ctra de Las Arenas, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parque San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Parque San Antonio provides pleasant facilities surrounded by tropical gardens which, combined with the exquisite service of our staff, allow you to enjoy a relaxing holidays. Its privileged location makes possible to admire stuning views of the Mount Teide, the Orotava Valley and the Atlantic Ocean, and being really close from the beaches and touristic areas of Puerto de la Cruz. Our pool area with large green spaces will incite you to enjoy swimming or to relax sunbathing with the sound of nature as background music. The spacious and comfortable rooms full of natural light allow you to find the relaxation and rest you deserve. Delight the delicious breakfasts and dinners that our buffet restaurant offers, with a gastronomic proposal where local products and inspiring recipes are perfectly blended. During the day, you can enjoy snacks and a wide variety of drinks at the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parque San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Parque San Antonio Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Parque San Antonio Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing