We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel - for 'mature' people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Tope

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Tope
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel - for 'mature' people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Enjoyed our stay immensly, staff were very attentive, nothing too much trouble. They took service seriously. Beautiful views of Mt.Tiede from our balcony. Not much in-house entertainment and nothing for the young. This used to be a Thompson Gold hotel but now there is no UK Thompson rep which was a greatly missed, shame on you Thompson!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side enjoy the best views and the evening sun, they are probably miss most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin_Ryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    358
    150
    67
    34
See reviews for
118
482
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We travelled to the Hotel El Tope as a couple (aged 20/21), having travelled atleast 3 times with Thomson in the past and always the reps were there to inform and book trips. However, upon arrival it turned out that there were no reps in the north, although there were millions of full time reps down south. There are even Tui reps around the north to help out the German visitors from basically the same company. So you have a 1hr 30min transfer from the airport with no information and thats how it stays (I will get to more grumblings later.)

The hotel itself has very friendly staff, the feature room view had a nice view out to the sea. Reception is a godsend if you get one of the ladies during the day, but the level of English from the other staff was pretty difficult. The pool area is nice and tidy with a very friendly lifeguard and all the bar staff are excellent. It is also great not to really meet many of the typical English holidaymaker as they tend to spoil the whole experience.

The downsides are mainly that the hotel needs a little bit of a tidy up as its prime (based on the awards above the reception) was the late 80's early 90's. Everything is a little tired, with tired carpets, old tv's and cracks in tiles. Although these are mainly superficial as the staff keep the place very clean but a lick of paint and some new furniture would be nice. Food is a little meh with a fairly average choice of salty stews with meat in, perfectly acceptable but food that has sat on a hot plate for a long time does go past its prime. Also the 'show cooking' area was a litte pointless with only one piece of meat and some fish, even if it was the nicest bit.

If you have trouble with stairs I probably would not recommend this hotel has there are atleast 140 of them to climb up to get to the hotel, although they do have a bus twice a day down to the front.

The area is nice and quite (perfect,) very few Brits and a pleasure to walk around. Most bars are very nice and the food is always good quality. Plenty of things to do and walk around whilst there, Loro Parque is a definate. Not a place to go if you want to drink yourself silly, if you want to relax then this is the place.

Watch out for Parrot people who try an con you out of 30 euros for some pictures you didn't want with annoying parrots. Also there are plenty of Africans trying to sell you beads or naff objects on the front. The resturant leaflet people are also pretty annoying, by the end of the week you will become an expert at avoiding these people which is not something a holidaymaker should have to endure.

My main gripe is with Thomson, as stated they have no reps at all in the North even when they have atleast 4 hotels with regular influxes of British travellers. They could atleast have one or two at the main hotels at the front to just pop in occasionally and sort out any issues. As relying on the 24/7 phone line is a waste of time, email and they tell you to phone, if you can get a phone to ring the UK then they are very unhelpful. Essentially you are on your own in a new place, so it is up to you to explore. This means that if you want to book a trip then you have to do it through the hotel which was very nice, even if the trip to Mount Teide was an adverture and a half as we didn't know which bus at all was ours as they do not pull up at the hotel rather on a main road with no specific stopping point. With no reps, going home was an adverture as we got on the Thomson bus and travelled around until we visited the hotel on the front where we were informed it was a bus to Bournmouth and not East Mids, even though that bus never pulled up to the hotel. Although we did end up at the right airport, it is somethingthat a rep could sort out easily.

Overall, nice hotel if a little tired, but not rely on what I though was a safe pair of hands Thomson. I would probably come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade to a feature view room, then you get a decent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

El Tope has a potential to be a lovely, quiet hotel. The location is excellent (if you don't have mobility problems - to get to the town you need to walk around 140 stairs, which is definitely not for everyone), you can get great views both on the ocean and on Teide, but:

- the design is extremely, but extremely tired - most of the furniture hasn't been replaced since 1970s I think. In our room only the bathroom looked fairly new;
- the cleanliness level wasn't satisfactory;
- even though there was quite a wide choice of buffet food, 90% of the stuff tasted the same;
- the dinner staff was very rude at times, clearly reserving the tables with the best view for people giving tips and rudely pointing you towards dirty tables if we tried to sit there without a bribe;
- Internet works only in the reception area and there is no way to get even a "paid for" connection in the rooms.

I didn't complain while there, but would think twice or three times before going back, unless there is a general refurbishment.

Puerto de la Cruz is a nice, quiet place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giulia_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed at the El Tope for a week from 12th August. Nice hotel, if a bit tired looking. Good variety of food but could have been slightly hotter and nice pool area. Would not recommend it if you are looking for a lively time as it was geared for the older generation. Puerto is a nice resort for families and couples with none of the brits abroad like the south of the island. Lovely restaurants to be found just off the main square.

The bad points of the holiday were down to the services of Thomson as a holiday company. Firstly, we arrived at the airport more than 3 hours before to be told that the only seats together were ones with extra leg room for which we would be able to purchase for a supplement of £30. This was being offered to each group on check-in. Most people were declining, meaning that there was a possibilit that if the seats were not sold, a couple checking in later might have had seats together. As it was we were basically penalised for checking in early. We were informed that we could have booked seats on line - but again this would have cost £15. How much money do Thomson want to ring out of us?

Secondly, we had ordered meals on the plane. When it seemed that other people had received their meals but we hadn't, my fiance queried it with the stewardess, only to be told that there was a mistake and they were one meal short. We were offered a voucher that we could exchange for a meal from the snack list but this was not enough to cover the cost of extras such as the starter and tea and coffee that came with the one meal that we did have. It would have been spmething that we could have lived with were it not for the fact that the stewardess attitude. She couldn't really have cared less and we were made to feel that we were fussing about nothing.

The last issue we had was that there was no rep either on the transfer or available at the resort. We were not offered any invitation to a welcome meeting to tell us more about the resort and area and therefore did not get to find out about any of the excursions run by Thomson and had to make our own arrangements to visit the places we wanted to see. I think Thomson need to decide whether they still want to feature Puerto as a resort as it was obvious that if you did not want to stay in the south resorts then you were not looked after.

All in all a very poor showing by Thomson who are a long standing company. I would have expected a hell of a lot better.

Room Tip: Go for a feature view room and don't let them put you into one of the rooms below reception leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 407Della
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Good hotel with nice facilities. Did seem aimed at over 60's though so not the place if you want something a bit more lively. Located on a steep hill up a lot of steps but there were a few cafes/bars on the roads at same level as the hotel. Nice rooms and buffet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

this hotel is very good , if all the rooms in the hotel were as the standard of our room you will not be dissapointed, the bathroom was top quality, in the fittings and cleanlines, the room was cleaned every day, and the view from the room was very good, we had a superior room whitch was located on each of the four corners of the hotel, the food was ok a bit reptitave ,breakfeast good for the english, but plenty of choice, we did not do any entertainment, witch was not good, a local bar 100 yards from the hotel called alpipsa is a very cheap drink , near by and in the town square, BAR CENTRAL CAFFERIA
is the top place to eat,( e mail me if i was wrong )

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shayman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We have stayed in this hotel 8 times in that past 20 years or so and have never been dissappointed yet.
The rooms are always clean and well presented with great showers.
The views are fab.
The food has always been good,even though the hotel was quiet and less than half full breakfast and dinner were always provided with plenty of choice and to a high standard,its always good to start your day with a glass or 2 of Cava at breakfast..well its not something you would do at home.
Since smoking has been banned from the bar in the lobby it makes it a nice place to sit in the evening with an after dinner drink and the measures are good.
The pool area is always clean and the meal/bar service their very good throughout the day and not a broken sunbed in sight.

All the waiters were excellent and couldnt do enough for us and even helped us through the wine list full of Locally produced wines which were fanatstic and not expensive.

If you have mobility problems then find an alternative as they have dug up the road outside the hotel to lay a new sewage system and the work will continue thru until Aug/Sept 2011,so you will be faced with walking down all the stairs and there are quite a few of them.

Room Tip: Go for either a mountain or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank a_scotatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#15 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#13 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tope

Property: Hotel El Tope
Address: Calle Calzada Martianez 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Tope 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gran Hotel El Tope where you will be made to feel at home during your stay with us.Our philosophy is to create a warm and enjoyable atmosphere where all our guests are considered to be our friends.Enjoy the calmness and the facilities provided in a warm and cosy family-like atmosphere where our kind staff members will be on hand to assist you at all times.Our hotel reflects the hospitality typical of the area as acknowledged by our guests.Our guests will enjoy free Wireless DSL Internet access throughout the hotel. The Gran Hotel El Tope is magnificently located with a panoramic view of Puerto de La Cruz and the fabulous Valle de la Orotava. In addition, it is also adjacent to the Martianez Shopping Centre, which is less than five minutes walk from the Atlantic Ocean beach and next to the fabulous swimming pool complex, Lago Martianez. The hotel is only 25 and 90 kilometres from the airports Tenerife North and Tenerife South, respectively. Each room is spacious and bright with a unique and elegant character, where every detail makes a difference. Our en suite facilities included fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryer, T.V., Telephone, wall-to-wall carpet and air-conditioning, as well as an optional safe and a mini bar. Their balconies are overlooking the sea or offer a view to the mountains.The swimming pool is located in a unique setting surrounded by green vegetation and magnificent gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Tope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tope Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing