We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Might" go back again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritim Hotel Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Ranked #37 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“"Might" go back again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2008

I was here over Christmas at the end of 2007,
The good points are the rooms were great, but beware, as some people found the Sea View rooms too noisy, as the ocean is very rough in this area.
The staff were great. Always friendly and helpful.
The grounds were very good. Nice pool areas and fab looking gardens.
The biggest complaint from everyone was the food.
The main problem was hot food was just not hot. I overcame this by having mine straight from the hotplate as soon as it was cooked. But also the standard of the food was not that good.
Quite a lot of people also said they felt the Hotel needed attention. In some areas I would agree with this, but felt it was not a big issue.
The location of the Hotel is not good. The surrounding area is quite grotty.
But overall.........would I return? Yes I think I would

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spikeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    97
    54
    20
    13
See reviews for
54
120
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

Stayed here over Xmas and new year. On first impressions we thought the building itself was horrible. The grounds and leisure facilities more than made up for it though. The three pools meant you never had to squeeze up like sardines. One point though the second and third pools were always freezing so done expect to swim for very long!.

The rooms were what I would eepect for a spanish 4 star. They are clean but basic. The breakfasts are huge with hot and cold options but if you did go half board it is buffet style as well and on a quick look I wouldnt think I could stand it for a week.

  • Liked — The grounds are huge and weel laid out.
  • Disliked — the position is a good 25-30 minute walk from centre of Puerto de la Cruz
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank daff201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2007

We stayed 5 nights at the Maritim in Puerto de la Cruz and thought is was perfectly fine. We were on the 12th floor and although we had no sea view, the terrace did look out towards the mountains and the Tiede volcano. I agree that the hotel was very clean and seemed to be remodeled. The breakfast every morning was just fine with a lot of variety of choices. The staff were really friendly. The location of the hotel was great although it is best to rent a car to explore the island and to get to the more sunnier parts. If you do rent a car, there is also much free parking available. I would have no problem staying at this hotel again. The one negative comment was that it was extremely difficult to find the directions to the hotel since I could not find them on the website. It is a little challenging to find and good directions are necessary.

  • Liked — Location and room
  • Disliked — Difficult to find, double room had two beds pushed together which was awkward.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristyBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2006

Thanks to many reviews posted, we had no surpirse.
But my wife and I were still very impressed by the cleaness of this hotel: shining tables, everything were top clean. Compliment to the hotel management !
He had a package with diners: excellent choice !

In fact, we had diners every single evening at hotel: very good salad bar, good choice for hot food. Drinks are cheap also.
But don't expect animation at the hotel. Which is fine with us: we dont't want to go to a club....

If you get there, do go to the Loro parque, just 10 minutes walk. You'll participate to this excellent and meaningful park.

And also do support the dogs refuge: in the morning (10am) for example, take a dog for a walk, and give some money to help this refuge facing demolition threat...

Make your trip more than a sun and sea trip, go to see our animal friends !

Helpful?
6 Thank Captain_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2005

Stayed here for a week in June...just a very average hotel...rooms a bit gloomy and service was hit and miss.

For the price was expecting a bit more

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2005

we had booked a 9-day half-board package deal. on our first evening, we arrived too late for the included buffet and were expecting to have to pay to eat elsewhere. instead the receptionist arranged for a free a la carte meal in one of their other outlets.

an extensive hot & cold breakfast buffet was available everyday from early morning up until about 10:30 a.m. we usually managed to arrive about 10 a.m. and the food was still fresh and tasty.

the evening buffet was superb, too. so much choice and many different dishes each day.

the hotel is set on rocks directly on the coast. we got a sea view, but having seen the country view, would have been just as happy with that.

an earlier reviewer talks about the waiters not speaking english and room service not understanding english. that sort of tourist, i feel, would be better off in an english-speaking country or at least in playas de americas.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank markkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2005

Stayed in this hotel In December and was very disappointed. When we arrived our door key passes didn't work due to a computer glitch. We had to hang around for an hour with our cases with no apology received.

Food I though was awful, waitors couldn't speak English, only German so communication very difficult.

Rooms were average, room service, don't try it, if they answer the phone they don't understand english, mini bar stocked once during a week. Our room had an interconnecting door to the room next door which they did not/could not lock and meant we could hear everything in the next room.

Gardens were lovely but hotel itself is at best a three star and the service is not very good. It is located a ten-15 min walk from the town and if walking it is a steep hill.

Generally would not reccomend, try and stay somewhere else.

Helpful?
6 Thank SGHRET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
1.6 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#6 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Puerto Playa Hotel
Sol Puerto Playa Hotel
#43 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#18 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#23 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Bahia Playa
Apartamentos Bahia Playa
#45 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Tenerife

Property: Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Address: Camino del Burgado 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an extraordinary spot on the impressionable cliff line and view to the peak of mount Teide with its 3700m.40.000sqm tropically planted garden, 3 pools, fitness centre and more sport facilities.Free internet hot spot.Just a few hundred mtr away the famous animal zoo "Loro Parque" and the beach "Playa Jardin" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Maritim Hotel Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing