We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and recommendable for budget traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 9 February 2008

My wife and I stayed at Maritim during the X-mas for 10 nights. The hotel is actually not in Los Realejos but in Puerto dela Cruz.

The apartment rooms are in need of renovation, but have all the bare necessities, good size bathrooms, TV, drier, kitchen etc. Although no english channels, but 32 German ones, as it is a German hotel chain.

The hotel has many sports facilities that I used everyday, like Basket ball court, football, big Gym and mini golf, pools etc. good stuff.

They also have restaurants there, but we didn't go cause PDC have a lot of really good places to eat, once you find them. Ask the reception for the street with all the good restaurants, and then don't go anywhere else.

The hotel personnel is very friendly, and always willing to help with anything.

The Hotel is 1.5 kilometer outside the center, but busses to hotel are free, and cab is 4 Euros, so it doesn't matter.

The hotel is located along the coast, and is only 200 meters from a good beach Playa Jardin, if you get bored at the pool. ALso it's only 200 Meters from Loro Parque, don't miss that eventhough it's 30 Euros.

We would definitely go again, cause it's really good value for price.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Maydane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2008

I was here over Christmas at the end of 2007,
The good points are the rooms were great, but beware, as some people found the Sea View rooms too noisy, as the ocean is very rough in this area.
The staff were great. Always friendly and helpful.
The grounds were very good. Nice pool areas and fab looking gardens.
The biggest complaint from everyone was the food.
The main problem was hot food was just not hot. I overcame this by having mine straight from the hotplate as soon as it was cooked. But also the standard of the food was not that good.
Quite a lot of people also said they felt the Hotel needed attention. In some areas I would agree with this, but felt it was not a big issue.
The location of the Hotel is not good. The surrounding area is quite grotty.
But overall.........would I return? Yes I think I would

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spikeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Stayed here over Xmas and new year. On first impressions we thought the building itself was horrible. The grounds and leisure facilities more than made up for it though. The three pools meant you never had to squeeze up like sardines. One point though the second and third pools were always freezing so done expect to swim for very long!.

The rooms were what I would eepect for a spanish 4 star. They are clean but basic. The breakfasts are huge with hot and cold options but if you did go half board it is buffet style as well and on a quick look I wouldnt think I could stand it for a week.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank daff201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2007

We stayed 5 nights at the Maritim in Puerto de la Cruz and thought is was perfectly fine. We were on the 12th floor and although we had no sea view, the terrace did look out towards the mountains and the Tiede volcano. I agree that the hotel was very clean and seemed to be remodeled. The breakfast every morning was just fine with a lot of variety of choices. The staff were really friendly. The location of the hotel was great although it is best to rent a car to explore the island and to get to the more sunnier parts. If you do rent a car, there is also much free parking available. I would have no problem staying at this hotel again. The one negative comment was that it was extremely difficult to find the directions to the hotel since I could not find them on the website. It is a little challenging to find and good directions are necessary.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ChristyBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2006

Thanks to many reviews posted, we had no surpirse.
But my wife and I were still very impressed by the cleaness of this hotel: shining tables, everything were top clean. Compliment to the hotel management !
He had a package with diners: excellent choice !

In fact, we had diners every single evening at hotel: very good salad bar, good choice for hot food. Drinks are cheap also.
But don't expect animation at the hotel. Which is fine with us: we dont't want to go to a club....

If you get there, do go to the Loro parque, just 10 minutes walk. You'll participate to this excellent and meaningful park.

And also do support the dogs refuge: in the morning (10am) for example, take a dog for a walk, and give some money to help this refuge facing demolition threat...

Make your trip more than a sun and sea trip, go to see our animal friends !

6  Thank Captain_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Tunbridge Wells, UK
17
Reviewed 3 November 2005

Stayed here for a week in June...just a very average hotel...rooms a bit gloomy and service was hit and miss.

For the price was expecting a bit more

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2005

we had booked a 9-day half-board package deal. on our first evening, we arrived too late for the included buffet and were expecting to have to pay to eat elsewhere. instead the receptionist arranged for a free a la carte meal in one of their other outlets.

an extensive hot & cold breakfast buffet was available everyday from early morning up until about 10:30 a.m. we usually managed to arrive about 10 a.m. and the food was still fresh and tasty.

the evening buffet was superb, too. so much choice and many different dishes each day.

the hotel is set on rocks directly on the coast. we got a sea view, but having seen the country view, would have been just as happy with that.

an earlier reviewer talks about the waiters not speaking english and room service not understanding english. that sort of tourist, i feel, would be better off in an english-speaking country or at least in playas de americas.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank markkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#11 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
835 reviews
1.9 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,777 reviews
1 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
#38 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel El Tope
Hotel El Tope
#32 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
903 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
620 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Tenerife

Address: Camino del Burgado 1, 39410 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £57 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an extraordinary spot on the impressionable cliff line and view to the peak of mount Teide with its 3700m.40.000sqm tropically planted garden, 3 pools, fitness centre and more sport facilities.Free internet hot spot.Just a few hundred mtr away the famous animal zoo "Loro Parque" and the beach "Playa Jardin" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Hotel Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing