We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Ranked #37 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 day stay”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We chose this hotel as were visiting loro parque for my daughters birthday. I don´t think we could have got closer if I had tried.

The rooms were a good size and clean although some areas were a little dated.

We ate in the hotel at the breakfast buffet, which was OK with great views to watch out on. Also ate at the restaurant a couple of nights and everything was good, all restaurant staff very pleasant and attentive.

The gardens could do with a little more upkeep but were still very pleasant to walk around 3 days out of our 5 days there. The pool area in the Gardens also very nice and peaceful. Because of the gardens everybody kind of had there own little retreat which was nice.

Taxi into Puerto de la cruz was only a couple of euros

Pleasant stay and pleasant staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest !

Thank you for choosing the MARITIM Hotel Tenerife to enjoy your holidays. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Your MARITIM Hotel Tenerife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    108
    59
    21
    16
See reviews for
60
131
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week as part of a packaged walking/hiking tour around Tenerife. The hotel is located ideally, on the quieter end of Puerto de la Cruz about a 45-minute walk from the center. There is a hotel bus that takes you to the center and back for free each hour (except during siesta hours). Otherwise, you can grab a cab for about 6 euros one way. There is also an ample lot in front of the hotel for buses or cars to stop etc. and Loro Parque is right next door. I appreciated the location of this hotel because it wasn't too close to the tourist belt, however, it is true that you don't have the beach right in front of your door. (You have to walk about 3 minutes downhill to actually reach the beach. Which implies that you'll have to walk uphill to get back.)

There are rooms facing the volcano and such that face the ocean. I stayed in one of the latter ones and the view was just spectacular. You might find it annoying that the wind is rather loud, though. It didn't bother me, though. Also, the rooms were generally very soundproof.

The service of the hotel is great. Waiters are very congenial. Rooms were well-kept, you got a beach towel each time you used one of the 3 pools. There is a bar with in-house entertainment at least 3 times a week. The breakfast and dinner buffet was outstanding. I have never stayed in a hotel with so many choices (and they changed every day)! The desk was always polite and uncomplicated.

The only downside to this hotel is that the rooms are carpeted. It's no good for people who are allergic. It also had a peculiar smell. Anyway, I don't get why a hotel right next to a sandy beach decides to put a carpet in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank j-m-suliban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing our MARITIM Hotel Tenerife for your holidays. It is a great pleasure to know that all your expectations were met and you enjoyed our services and facilities.

We appreciate your comments which will help us to improve in our services and standards.

We would be pleased to welcome you in the near future.

MARITIM Hotel Tenerife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Maritim in March, a large hotel on the western edge of town. Our room on the 15th floor had an ocean view, and it was just that – unless you peered over the balcony to the rocks below, you could see nothing but the Altantic Ocean. Wonderful. The noise of the waves, even 15 floors up, took a while to get used to.
The room was comfortable and spacious, and exceptionally clean, with a very useful fridge. Internet access was included, but this was hard wired internet, not wifi, and not quite what I’d expect in 2014. Free wifi is available in the lobby however.
The hotel grounds are a delight – plenty of little places to escape and relax, with a plentiful supply of sunbeds.
Breakfast was a delight – hot food included bacon, sausages, eggs fried, boiled and scrambled, delicious grilled local tomatoes, and there was also a fine range of cold meats and cheeses, fruits and cereals, and a seemingly endless range of breads. There was also that rarity in a modern hotel – real orange juice from an actual orange, rather than some insipid chemical concoction that is all too common these days.
Dinner was pricey if you’re not half board – 19.50 for the buffet. The food was excellent and extremely varied – rabbit stew, shark and countless fish dishes for example. There was 5 or 6 good options each night.
The hotel is part of a German chain, and as such, caters mostly for German holidaymakers (for example one of the bars was showing every Bundesliga football match over the weekend). German beer is on the menu (bottles of Erdinger and Erdinger dunkel 3.50), as well as the local “standard holiday lager” Dorada, at 3.30 for a 40cl glass. Soft drinks seemed expensive to me. I’d say around 95% of the guests during our stay were German. If you want a hotel with lots of British guests, perhaps this isn’t the place for you.
Overall – loved the place. It’s a bit of a trek from town (20 minutes walk and a very steep hill on the way back) but there is a free shuttle bus which takes you to the shopping centre in town.
The staff were great, cheerful, friendly and professional, and a credit to the Maritim chain. If it wasn’t for the lack of wifi in the rooms, I would’ve given 5 stars.

Room Tip: A sea view room offers great (but noisy) views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BloodyHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay in our MARITIM Hotel Tenerife. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We truly appreciate the wonderful comments you had about your stay. We always try to make our guests stay with us as enjoyable as possible. We are glad that we were able to do this in your case and hope to do it again in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. stonington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Tenerife calls me back frequently and I stay at Hotel Maritim near Puerto de la Cruz. It is the only hotel that is directly on the ocean with the sound of waves crashing on rocks. Many attractions, good restaurants, and shopping are within easy transportation or casual walking.Accomadations at the hotel are reasonably priced and may include a more than adequate breakfast. Service is friendly,multilingual, and helpful.

Room Tip: The sound of waves lull you to sleep in seaside rooms with balconies. Rooms on the other side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at the MARITIM Hotel Tenerife.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I am a senior citizen decided to go and see what it is all about visiting an island in the Canaries, my girlfriend from Chile and my background, born in Germany, felt as being home, with our language we had no problem. In the Hotel Maritim on the Island of Tenerife, I was astouned to find out that most of the employees spoke besides Spanish, German as well. The service and the staff at this hotel gave their very best. The rooms were always made up nice and to our likings, the food in the morning a breakfast buffee included in our price was at it's best, plentyfull and tasty.
A funny thing a server by the name of Santiago was always at his best, he spoke such nice German with his Spanish accent, it was a pleasure to listen to him, one day I told him to bring me a nice cold beer, he said ok my Herr a German Cappacino is on it's way, I told him, no a beer, he said no, no here we only have German Cappachino a short time later he brought me that cold beer, it was brewed on Tenerife but tasted just like a beer from the old country.

Room Tip: We had no trouble with our room, they all were quiet, the hotel is laying in a quiet section of town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heiko112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience in Tenerife. We are glad to hear that you liked the room, the food and the friendliness of our staff, we will pass them your nice comments. We hope to welcome you again in the near future in our MARITIM Hotel. Best regards from Tenerife..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnislake
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Wanting a week in the sun not too far away and having a large number of Avios (formerly Airmiles) in hand, we booked the Maritim purely because it was on the Avios list, was out of the town and we had stayed in a Maritim Hotel in Mauritius. We knew it was a German chain, largely patronised by Germans and was rather old, so our expectations were attuned accordingly. I did begin to panic at the less than complimentary reviews, but arriving late in the evening owing to a delayed flight, our 10th floor sea view room was absolutely fine. Very clean, functional, (nearly) everything worked fine, the room & balcony had been repainted & the bathroom, which was clean & bright, had been partly refurbished.
The good points:
* Its fantastic location - overlooking the sea all around and mountains behind, away from the high rise horror of Puerto de la Cruz (OK, it's a high rise building, but doesn't stare out at other ones!)It's an easy walk to Punta Brava, which we enjoyed a lot, with its beach, fish restaurants, local bars & beach cafes. A good bus shuttle into the town worked well.
* The extensive and beautiful gardens and the two large, well maintained pools and surroundings. There were always plenty of loungers, umbrellas etc; although for the first few days we were almost the only people round the pool, it did get busier as the week went on.
* The (mainly) friendly, helpful & cheerful staff. As noted, many only spoke Spanish (of course) & German. School level Spanish went a fair way, but we should have swotted up a bit more before coming. Reception staff, who were rather less cheerful, had working level English, & the delightful manageress was entirely fluent. But hey, this was a hotel aimed at Germans and Spaniards - I think we were the only British people there the entire week, so no complaint.
The less good points:
* Aircon in the room, although working and set to its lowest setting barely kept the room at an acceptable temperature, and we often woke up too hot at night. The balcony and outdoor areas were generally cooler than indoors, including in the dining room & reception. Likewise the frig only cooled rather than chilled.
* You have to pay to rent the safe, which I haven't experienced anywhere for years. On the other hand, the wifi was free and the signal strength in the reception and outside pool area was excellent.
* The food. I doubt if anyone comes to the Maritim for a gourmet experience, but again, it was aimed at its core customers, who seemed happy enough. We deliberately did not choose half board, and ate a la carte or out - the buffet certainly did not set our pulses racing. The menu did not change and the choice was very limited, but everything we had was freshly cooked, hot and came in vast quantities. We had some excellent steak, but there was very little fish, and considering this was an island which grows a wide variety of tropical fruit, the chemical fruit juice and tinned peaches at breakfast were inexplicable.
* The TV in the room was a vast old thing which showed Spanish & German channels only, with the exception of Sky News. OK by us, but probably why no British or other tour parties were observed.
* Towels were small, grey and thin rather than large, white & fluffy, and toiletries were limited. Observation rather than complaint! However, as a fellow (German) guest explained, it was jolly cheap!
While this is undeniably a hotel that has seen better days, and the echoing emptiness of the vast public spaces was a bit depressing, we enjoyed our stay. If you went expecting 4 star fripperies, you probably would be disappointed. It's a shame, as the hotel deserves better and with a bit of investment in the remaining rooms (not let as apartments) could be truly lovely again.

Room Tip: Do pay a bit more for a sea view room - we spent hours watching & listening to the waves (yes, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cornwallgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Public Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Gust:

Thank you very much for sharing your comments of your recent stay at our Maritim Hotel.
Your kind comments about staff, the location and garden with pools are higly appreciated.
You can be sure that your words will be shared with the entire team, who will be encouraged by your remarks.

We are assure that every single comment will be carefully analyzed and our standards will be reviewed.

We hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were very disappointed when we walked into the hotel, and thought for sure the 4 star rating was a mistake. One person at the front desk that didn't speak English or French. Room smelled like mold. We ended up changing rooms the next day, and they have us a choice of rooms, in EVERY single one of them one or both of the sliding glass doors to the balcony had a broken lock. I know people who have had things stolen from hotel rooms by people who accessed through the balcony, and even though the room was high up, it is possible go to from balcony to balcony. The amenities in the room and near nothing. Decor is old -- all of it is VERY old, very badly needs updating.

However, we liked being near Punta Brava and the black sand beach, the shuttle that they have always worked well and was on time, the people were nice. There were so few tourists there that whenever we went in the pool, we were the only ones -- or maybe one or two others. Never a problem getting a lounge chair. The mini golf is actually very good. The people serving in the restaurant were very good.

It seems they are busy selling most of the hotel as apartments, so the hotel part is becoming smaller and smaller. With the old decor, it is kind of depressing. We had a view of the mountains, not the ocean as we wished. We were told that no rooms for three people had a view of the ocean.

We did end up having a nice time, despite the bad first impression. I really suggest to the management to update the rooms -- they need new carpets and furniture, and an upgrade in terms of style. For a 4 star hotel, the amenities should be better. It is too bad that it gives off a bad first impression since as I said, there are many fine points -- mini golf, nice uncrowded pool, nice staff, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Public Relations Manager at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Client:

Thank you for taking your time to put your comments in Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you had a nice time with us and you enjoyed garden, pools and surroundings.

We regret very much the first impression you had and will take your suggestion into consideration.
Remaining with kind regards and hope to see you soon again.

Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Guest Relations and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
795 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
568 reviews
1.9 mi away
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
#29 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#24 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
540 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#8 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
982 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#15 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Tenerife

Property: Maritim Hotel Tenerife
Address: Camino del Burgado 1, 39410 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an extraordinary spot on the impressionable cliff line and view to the peak of mount Teide with its 3700m.40.000sqm tropically planted garden, 3 pools, fitness centre and more sport facilities.Free internet hot spot.Just a few hundred mtr away the famous animal zoo "Loro Parque" and the beach "Playa Jardin" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Maritim Hotel Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing