We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, first class service in lush surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Wow what a hotel! Unless you are used to the five star luxury of hotels like the Beverly Wilshire hotel then I don't know what you can fault with this hotel. The service takes some beating and I must commend staff at every level from the domestic, waiters up to the Manager himself who took time to walk around the hotel and talk to guests. On arrival you are met before you get chance to get up the steps and are given a welcome fruit smoothie, which is a lovely touch. I stayed with my Daughter in a standard room but couldn't have asked for more; comfortable beds (yes two singles together but it worked in our scenario), choice of pillows, attractive decor, very clean, beautiful views from the balcony over the main pool area and gardens = simply spectacular. The main road is close by but we honestly forgot about this and there was no problem with noise (we were on the third floor). Now the spa area, this is really something special and to be honest we spent our whole time in the spa side of the hotel. From outdoor water beds, pool, jacuzzi in a cave, indoors sauna's and gym there was plenty to do on our four night break. There are all different ages and nationalities staying at this hotel, which is not a problem unless you want to meet other people, our break was simply to chill out so exchanging hello's was all we were interested in not making companions. We only ate in the poolside restaurant and The Oriental, which was fantastic; yes a little pricey if you were eating here for every sitting but the attention to detail and quality of food was a real treat, very much recommended. Breakfast, what a choice! ignore reviews which complain about breakfast the food is in abundance between 7.30am and 10.30am and very good quality, we could have eaten something different every day for a month. If you like tea there is a cupboard with at least 50 different options! Thank you to everyone at the hotel for your warm hospitality and keep doing what you are doing, we were totally chilled when we left - right down to the snow we encountered on landing back in the UK brrrrr :0)

Room Tip: Pool view was lovely on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Lisa:

We greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel and we hope your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community to visit Hotel Botanico. We are glad that you enjoyed our Spa and our dishes at The Oriental. It would be a pleasure to see you again at our hotel enjoying our services.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

We did not plan to stay in this hotel so we had no reservation. For circumstances I will not mention here, we were pulling our suitcases along the driveway towards the entrance when one of the staff came running to our rescue. We were welcomed and given an excellent room at a great rate. The room was supposed to be garden view, but we could see the ocean and the room was clean and in excellent condition as when I stayed here before. Friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, jacuzzi(2) and saunas(4) with 2 towels given at the entrance of the Spa, 3(?)pools included in the price; not to mention cheese tasting and tapas tastings, tour of the back of the hotel, tennis lessons etc., etc. free to participate during the day.
Wifi and free use of the business center.
This hotel is not for anyone who likes modern minimalist furnishings with lots of metal and pointy corners, or for families with young children who need a lot of distractions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YTS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Guest:

We greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel and staff. We are glad you enjoyed your unexpected stay at Hotel Botanico and the different activities that we offer. We hope your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community to visit us.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Don't be put off by the facade of this hotel which is very 70s and in need of some tlc, once inside you soon realise that it is a first class hotel with wonderfully friendly staff who make you feel wlecome at all times.
The gardens are stunning with a lovely putting green and driving net in which to practice.
The restaurants in the hotel are very nice although I must admit I wasn't knocked out by the food, but that is my personal taste I think.
The breakfasts were very good but having just having returned from Shanghai staying in a Ritz-Carlton hotel there wasn't any significant difference in the selection on offer.
The rooms were extremely clean with the odd personal touch added now and again to make you feel as if they cared.
The hotel is situated in a very nice area and there are lots of restaurants round and about, some good some not so good. I can recommend the Magnolia just opposite the hotel, absolutely first class.
A word of warning on the spa treatments, they are very good but also quite expensive, make sure you check the prices before you buy, we didn't!!
All in all a wonderful hotel which I really do hope we can visit again some time.

Room Tip: We were in a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool area with views of the mountain in the background...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Stephanie,

We wish to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. our staff works to give to our guests the best service and quality, trying to be allways helpful and kind. We will try to impresse you with new dishes at our restaurants, on your next visit and we hope your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community to try it.

Best regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I highly suggest this hotel if you are planning a quiet holiday just relaxing and being away from everyday stressful life. The hotel is somehow away from the city centre yet a good supermarket is just across the street. The botanical gardens is awesome if you are interested in plants. The hotel is so clean, the rooms are comfortable and there is easy access to connected rooms if its not in the high season. Large outdoor swimming pool and a cosy indoor one which i really enjoyed. Not to forget the luxury breakfast aswell!
the only problem i can remark is that it takes about an hour to get to the south of the island where is the beach,the clubs and the casinos , but overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Negin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Negin,

We greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel and we hope your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community to visit Hotel Botanico. The location of our hotel, is a way of offering the guest a quiter place to relax, that what we could offer in beach first line. We hope your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community to try it. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Best regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

A big hotel slightly out of the centre of Puerto, just across from the Botanical Gardens which we loved.

Typical and slightly soul-less modernish hotel decor (nothing particularly wrong with it, but all hotels seem to look like this these days) more than made up for by cleanliness, friendliness and service.

Comfy beds, clean bathrooms, sufficient breakfast, good enough!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Guest:

We wish to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community to visit The Hotel Botanico if they come to Tenerife. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Best regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Fantastic hotel in excellent location. Cleanliness exceptional, staff professional and friendly, rooms very well proportioned. Sense of space throughout the hotel. Facilities in the spa are out of this world and will certainly encourage us to return here. A nice touch was the complementary bottle of bubbly and birthday cake that appeared for my wife. Well done to all the staff at the Botanico my favourite hotel to date.

Room Tip: All rooms recommended but overlooking the gardens is a joy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest:

Many thanks for such wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. We are glad you enjoyed our little gift for your wifes birthdate. We hope your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community to visit us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

An absolute paradise 10/10. Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I have been travelling for more than 50 years.

Room Tip: Two doubles together is the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Guest:

We greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel and we hope your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community to visit Hotel Botanico. We are glad that a so experienced traveller thinks our hotel is a paradise. It would be a pleasure to see you again at our hotel enjoying our services.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
25.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
24.7 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 60 in Costa Adeje
687 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
821 reviews
17.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,875 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £156 - £459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing