We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa and garden are fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spa and garden are fabulous”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This was my third stay at Botanico, and I just wonder what has happened during one year...
I had an Ambassador suite with ocean view. The suite has a large balcong,marvellous views over the city ---and plastic white chairs! Very "cool".
The staff was friendly, especially the students (?) in the lobby bar and escorting to a table for breakfast.The breakfast was all the same,I´d prefere more fresh fruits. The waiters were in a great hurry and somewhat tense. So I ordered breakfast to my room: the service was excellent and punctual. To communicate with the reception was not easy: I asked if they had slippers to buy for a souvenier, a man looked ashtonished as if he did not know what I was asking. I showed my sandals and then he realised---there was not the right size. Check-out was a surprise but I realised it at home. I had given my credit card when reserved the room and at the arrival,so I expected they charge credit. In Europe we live the time of SEPA, so the receptionist girl just choosed debit without asking me how I want to pay. -Have to mention Botanico was not the only place in PDL where was the sametype of charging during this visit.So be careful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KnowSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your contribution and for your third stay with us. Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden try to offer the best service and we will try to improve those aspects you mention. We hope despite the problem with the method of payment, in a near future you give us another opportunity, for us it would be a pleasure.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    244
    67
    22
    20
See reviews for
334
899
68
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purley, Surrey UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Botanico for 10 days. The room/bed was very comfortable and the facilities are what you would expect from a 5* hotel. The gardens were a delight and wonderfully maintained. There was always plenty of room around the pool and shade if you preferred. The visited the Spa and enjoyed a Japanese Sauna and a dip in the massage pool, all very invigorating! We also enjoyed a leg and back massage which was very professionally done and in a comfortable and luxurious room. Robes a flip flops are provided FOC.
We opted for half board and although expensive perhaps at £30 pp per night, the food was beautifully and expertly prepared. There are three restaurants to choose from - Italian, Canarian and Thai. Our favourite was the Thai, followed by the Italian, but the Canarian was good too, but perhaps not so much to our taste. The service in all Restaurants was impeccable and you only had to raise you head to receive service, but then that was true of the whole hotel. Be warned though, the helpings are generous!
Now, what about breakfast! Well I think the term 'abundance of choice' is suitable here, a larger spread you will not find and the quality is superb. Those staying B&B come down late and skip lunch. I have visited numerous hotels over the years and this breakfast beats the lot.
An example of the excellent service was the free Wi-Fi on offer. The one in our room broke down. Having reported this to reception, we popped out for 10 mins to buy a paper; on our return the item was replaced!
Car hire, go to the local Tourist Office in Puerto de la Cruz. I surfed for ages trying to find a suitable car hire firm without any issues, such as loaded insurance, or added fuel charges. The tourist office arranged a VW Polo 1.4 for 30 Euros a day for three days. Included all insurances and the petrol was 'return as received'.

We travelled with Thomson, which included free transfers from the airport. Although we did not pay for it, we appeared to have been upgraded to a sea view, perhaps because we paid extra for half-board? Or perhaps the hotel was not full. In any event it was appreciated.

On the last day we were allowed to stay longer in our room FOC until 4pm, although you could extend this further and have a lunch included for an extra 25 Euros pp.

Our room was 445 overlooking the Putting Green and the sea in the distance. Yes you are about 15mins walk down the hill to the coast, but the advantage is the silence at night and the lack of traffic noise. The hotel has a Minibus to take you to the shopping Centre, although a taxi in Puerto will only cost you 3 Euros a time to get back to the hotel from the town.
We had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Puerto, especially if you want a real break with lots of rest and recuperation!!

Room Tip: 445 is on the fourth floor and has a sea view and is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest:

We have to thank you for a so complete review and for the photos added to our profile. We are glad, that you enjoyed our Spa and our restaurants, we work to give every guest the best service, in every single aspect. We trully believe your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community, to visit The Hotel Botanico. It would be a pleasure to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Went fo 2 days last Feb with partner and daughter, I must say customer service was EXCELLENT, they noticed it was my partners birthday and sent a cake and champagne up which impressed me.

Rooms (we had an interconnecting pair of rooms) were starting to look old and the ambience was OLD OLD OLD. Felt very out of place as we were all under 85.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JohnParkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear John:

Thank you very much for your contribution, our staff goal is to offer the best service. We will take in consideration your opinion to improve our services. It would be a pleasure if you give us another opportunity to achieve the expectations you put on Hotel Botanico.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOUCESTER
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. The reception staff are wonderfully helpful - nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent, particularly the 'Oriental'. The spa is great - those girls know how to give a really good massage.
The room was spacious and very comfortable but I found the bed hard.
We would happily return to this hotel but thought Teneriffe was a scruffy, overcrowded island - with exception of Mount Teide National Park.

Room Tip: If booking an Ambassador Suite ask for a sea view otherwise you get a view of the street outside rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRYBRYDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind contribution, our staff goal is to offer the best service. We hope your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community members, to visit The Hotel Botanico. We are glad that you enjoy our SPA and our The Oriental culinary offer. It would be a pleasure to see you again at our hotel enjoying our services.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

what a fantastic hotel and great holiday - the hotel is beautiful, fresh flowers adorn the public areas, beautiful art work and sculptures are dotted around, adding real depth and character. Rooms were immaculate and kept clean all our stay. The food in all restaurants is top class - on an equal to a really good restaurant meal in U.K - with good presentation and an imaginative choice. We used the spa every day and loved the little touches - flowers in water, warm herbal tea on tap etc.. However, I have got to say that what makes this hotel special is the LOVELY STAFF. We travelled as a family with a 3 and 1 year old boys - and all the staff were exceptionally caring and friendly. By the end of the holiday, my elder son would run to the door man and expect to be thrown into the air !!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear James:

We greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel and we hope your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community to visit Hotel Botanico. We are glad that you enjoyed our Spa and our staff services, we work to give every guest, does not matter the age, the best and most friendly service. It would be a pleasure to see you again at our hotel enjoying our services.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

When you first arrive at Hotel Botanico, as others say don't be put off by the exterior (it is a dated building) however the staff are exceptional, really professional, eager to make your stay special and I couldn't compliment the staff and management more for this aspect of the hotel.

The rooms we had were clean, tidy and well maintained; the decor is a little tired in terms of todays style and the owners would do well by renovating to the more in vogue boutique look and feel that 5 stars have today.

The gardens are beautiful and the separate spa was enjoyed by both my wife and I.

We ate in both the Italian and Thai restaurants and had room service from both, again good food well served.

Our disappointment was not with the hotel, but rather with the tour operator Sovereign holidays who had led us to believe that the hotel was a family hotel and our sense having used Sovereign before for a family hotel in Cyprus (which was fantastic, the Almyra) was that this hotel is mis-sold as a family hotel, particularly if your children are under 5. There really only is a childs paddling pool and the kids club only runs during peak season (we were there for only two days of the kids service (lovely staff, but again limited to a small room). We were also told that the hotel was a 10min walk from the beach, whilst roughly true! - it is down a very steep and long road (taxis available) but just pretty hard going with little kids who want to play on the beach.

We raised this with Sovereign during our holiday and they offered to move us to a more child friendly place at a cost of £500-£1000 more! Their chap had lots of nice words to say, but lacked any action or genuine care, which for a company that brands itself as a luxury provider we felt really let down by Sovereign.

However the Hotel were lovely, when they were contacted by Sovereign who told them we were not happy, their manager Mr Perez made contact, he arranged free tickets for a local Zoo, sent cake up for our little boys birthday and really behaved in a way that was reflected by all staff in the hotel - so a huge thanks to them. This hotel is I would argue more for couples, business, solo and the retired generation!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TEPickering12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest:

We greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel and staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Botanico, despite the troubles with Sovereign. During summer, christmas, easter and carnival we have different activities for children with our Botanico Kinder Adventure program, we hope your kids ca try it in other ocassion. We will take in consideration your review to improve our services.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

What a great hotel... despite looking pretty ordinary from the entrance, it transformed into something special once we got inside. The staff were really warm and friendly, and sincerely so. They really looked after us and made us feel especially welcome right up until, and including, the check-out. We stayed for a week and completely unwound and relaxed. The basic room was really good - we stayed in 221 which afforded sea, garden and Mount Teide views as it's on a corner. Please note the bed is two singles pushed together, though. There's no tea making facilities in the room, either, which encouraged us to pop down to the bar in the late evenings for a cuppa. We only had to resort to room service a couple of times. The restaurants in the hotel are pretty good, if a little expensive. Despite intending to venture into town most evenings, we ended up staying at the hotel to eat most days, so half board would have been a good idea in hindsight. The gardens are lovely and really well maintained, and there's loads of great terraces and seating areas - both inside and out - to find a peaceful spot to chill out. The free WiFi came in handy to add a book to the Kindle. The spa area is fantastic, and no kids under sixteen in there too. Breakfast is really good and reflects the popularity with Spanish, German, French and British visitors in its offerings. All in all, a great hotel for couples looking to unwind and relax. Deserves its five star plus rating. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_B_077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Mike,

We wish to thank you for your extensive review and your photos of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, our staff works to give every guest the best service and quality, trying to be allways helpful and kind all through their vacations. It would be a pleasure to see you again at our hotel enjoying our services.

Best regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
25.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Property: Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing