We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just about to finish our stay at this wonderful hotel and I only wish we could stay for longer! The setting, the staff, the food and the rooms really are superb - truly a leading hotel of the world. Can't wait to return - even the sun shone every day !! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to during your stay to make your review about Hotel Botanico on Tripadvisor. Our goal is that when a guest leaves our hotel, he is already thinking in coming back, that means that the services have achieved his expectations. It is nice to hear that you found our rooms, food and staff of a high standard and that you have enjoyed a great weather during your full stay. For the entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden it would be a pleasure to have you again as guest.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    255
    69
    23
    20
See reviews for
343
931
69
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just returned from a week at this hotel (25th Jan to 1st Feb 2014) and really enjoyed our stay. Every member of staff makes you feel welcome and are very polite and helpful, nothing appears too much trouble. The grounds are fantastic as is the Spa facility. We were moved to this hotel the evening before we were due to fly, the Los Gigantes hotel had been damaged by a storm on the Thursday, it was either go to the Hotel Botanico or stay in the UK. We had only stayed in Puerto de la Cruz on one previous occasion and had concerns as to whether we would enjoy the stay. Within a day any concerns had gone, we were made to feel extremely welcome by the hotel staff and the facilities at this hotel are excellent. The 3 themed restaurants offer very nice menus, our favourite one was the Spanish (La Parrilla) .
There are no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms so you may want to take a travel kettle.

We hope to visit again soon
D&L Ilkley

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Des L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your stay at Hotel Botanico on Tripadvisor. It is nice to hear that you found our hotel as a peacefull place and that our team has been able to surprise you with a personal and helpful service. For the entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden it would be a pleasure to have you again as guest.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have this just arrived home after spending a week at the Hotel Botanico between 25th January 2014 and 1st February 2014

Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly reception staff and then shown to our luxurious room for the length of our stay.

It was the small touches that made the holiday special - it was my birthday the day after we arrived and was greeted at breakfast with 'happy birthday' messages from all members of staff followed by a glass of champagne at the table. We arrived back at our room later in the day to find a bottle of champagne, cake and birthday card.

Whilst staying at the Hotel Botanico we ate at all the restaurants and used all the bars - the food was excellent and was served by very friendly staff. La Parrilla, which we visited three times during out stay, was our favourite restaurant solely for the atmosphere and very efficient service from the staff.

We only used the spa facilities on one occasion, but again found the staff very professional and friendly.

The grounds of the hotel are amazing and are well kept by the gardening staff.

We had one issue during our stay - the room card would not work - within 2 minutes a maintenance engineer arrived and sorted the problem straight away - brilliant service.

Without doubt one of 'The Leading Hotels of the World'.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent holiday and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. It is an honor for us that you have decided to visit us during your birthday. We always endeavor to fulfill the wishes and expectations of our guests, and it seems that during your stay we achieved our goal. We are very glad to read that our excellent team of staff has contributed to your wonderful experience at our hotel and we will make sure your compliments will be shared with the whole team. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near future at Hotel Botánico.

Yours sincerely.
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Botanico = Value for Money. Outstanding personnel in surroudings second to none delivers efficient, friendly, and warm service from morning, through the whole day and
entire evening combined with calm and peace for a pleasant night sleep.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Ole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Oleg,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your stay at Hotel Botanico on Tripadvisor. It is nice to hear that you found our hotel as a peacefull place and that our team has been able to surprise you with a personal and helpful service. For the entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden it would be a pleasure to have you again as guest.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A recent visit to Hotel Botanico was disappointing because the weather was absolutely awful. About four hours sunshine in 7 days. After we had booked some friends told us to expext poorer weather in that part of Tenerife but we hoped the hotel described as one of the leading hotels of the world would have some bad weather entertainment such as modern films or such like in the event of prolonged poor weather but no such luck. We visited the sate owned botanical garden next to the hotel and a little clearer. The site was chosen from all of Spain because it is wet and warm. It has annual rainfall of 371.9mm and relative humidity of 70%. Now we realised why perhaps we had rain. The hotel had a good supply of umbrellas which is perhaps another clue but the surroundings outside the hotel grounds were very run down and a bit ugly. Plenty of cheap shops and run down food places. A venture into Puerto de la Cruz proved no better with black rock and sand beaches and an overwhelming smell of sewerage from the vastly overdeveloped sea front multi storey apartment blocks. Sorry Tenerife - back to Madeira for us in future

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billyboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent holiday and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We always endeavor to fulfill the wishes and expectations of our guests, but unfortunately there are circumstances beyond our control, such as the very unusual weather you experienced during your stay. Tenerife, and especially Puerto de la Cruz, are known for having one of the best climates in the whole world and the usual temperature at this time of the year is around 22ºc – 24ºc. Tenerife is called the island of eternal spring and indeed the temperatures are always mild due to its location on the coast of the island. As a volcanic island, the natural beaches are black sand ones, which is one of the highlights of the island along with its culture, gastronomy and idiosyncrasy of its people.
We very much regret that you could not enjoy the bright skies and warm temperatures that characterize the Canary islands during the all year, but assure you that this was exceptional and would be delighted to welcome you again on the island, and especially at Hotel Botánico, sometime in a near future in order to prove the excellence of our destination and of our hotel facilities.

Yours sincerely.
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Yet again the staff - many of whom we have known for years - work hard to ensure our stay is 5*.
The breakfasts, the Spa, the gardens and the service exceed that we experience elsewhere. We were looked after from the moment we arrive at the entrance to when we left in the taxi to return to the airport. Each visit see some improvements and we hope and expect next time we will see more.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool & gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear David,

We would like to thank you for sharing your complimentary words with us here on Tripadvisor regarding your latest stay at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden. We are glad to hear how satisfied you are with the service provided by our staff. We will definitely share your wonderful words with the team. It is always a great motivation to receive such nice compliments. Once again we would like to thank you for your motivating words regarding your experience. Your loyalty is highly appreciated and we are pleased to hear that you will visit us again. We are all looking forward to your next stay at Hotel Botanico.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just returned from the Hotel Botanico after a six night stay. The general decor and ambience met our expectations but there were a few disappointments. Upon arrival which was late at 20.30pm we found a bottle of spakling wine and a chocolate cake in the room to mark my husband's special birthday. A very nice touch. However we would hardly want to start eating chocolate cake at that time of night when we had to rush to shower and get ready for dinner. We thought it was a shame that the cake was not covered over for hygiene reasons as it had obviously been there for quite a few hours.There was no room in the tiny fridge for it which was crammed with miniature bottles. The breakfasts had a magnificent choice of cold meats and cakes and wonderful bread but sadly the cooked food was not of English taste. The bacon was streaky and very fatty and undercooked as were the sausages. Since I don't eat eggs I could not partake of the omelettes which did look good.Like most English people I prefer lean back bacon and crispy well cooked sausages and usually enjoy a kipper when in a top hotel.. We only ate at The Oriental restuarant on our first night and found the food to be exceptional but the service not so good! We waited ages to be served and given a menu and were seated near to the serving hatch and open cooking area not a location I would have chosen on my husband's very special birthday. We also had to waylay and chase the manager to order a drink as none were offered! We expected to be shown a wine list or told what wine was available but instead were given a white wine and had to ask what it was. Strange in a five star hotel we thought. We ordered another glass of the same later, but were given a totally different wine! Both wines were very pleasant it has to be said, but that is hardly the point. We did not eat in the hotel again as we felt the prices were not justified when there are some excellent restuarants nearby at half the price.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.Our room was lovely although the sliding wardrobe doors that kept catching on the built in drawers started to agravate after a while. The lights were very poor to read by. There was some very pleasant entertainment in the evenings. Overall a very genteel hotel which seemed to reflect a bygone age.Wonderful spa and pools and excellent putting green.

Room Tip: fourth floor have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marbeau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Marion,

We highly appreciate that you have taken a moment of your time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay. We would like to give you our apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and that the high standards we wish to offer have not been to your full expectations. Your comment is very much valued and we will analyze your considerations to improve on the necessary points. It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our exclusive services, unique facilities and that our attentive staff has contributed to make of your stay a good experience. Once again we feel sorry we have not been able to offer you a perfect experience, but we hope you give us another opportunity to show you the improvements we make day by day thanks to our customers feedback.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
759 reviews
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,764 reviews
25.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Property: Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing