We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Fulfilled our high expectations! We thought this superb value for money.
Where to start - the ever friendly and helpful staff? the superb breakfast buffet? the room with ample balcony overlooking the Spa with sea view in the distance? the very civilized pool area with its beautiful surrounding garden of which we were given a guided tour? The Spa which included many facilities inclusive of our package? the setting on the hill above the port but with only a short walk into town with a mini-bus available as an alternative?
As we had good luck with the weather our week passed like a dream.

Very minor caveats are that the local cafes are not up to much and it is worth walking into town for better food and more atmosphere. Taxis back are plentiful and cheap.
With so many English guests it's a pity they don't provide a kettle in the room.
We stayed b& b and were not enticed either by the menus or reports to eat in house except on the first evening when we arrived late and dined and relaxed in the Thai restaurant - the surroundings and service of which set the high standard for our stay.

The few negative comments on this site we regard as carping and pernickety - they should be ignored

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your excellent experience at the Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden. Your complete review will be very usefull for future guest and your statements pointing out those aspects you believe are good value at our hotel is a great way of appreciate our hard work. Comments as yours encourage us to continue improving and working hard focusing all our effort in guest service. We look forward to welcoming you soon and make your stay again totally memorable.

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Botanico will not be to everyone's taste, given that it is not cheap and it has a slightly old fashioned feel as others mention. However, the quality of service and facilities outweigh any downsides. We were there in early February for a cycling and walking holiday. The staff could not have been more helpful, from late check out to accommodating bikes etc. The spa was excellent and the tennis courts are in good condition. Breakfast offers a very wide selection. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Clanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your excellent comment about the Hotel Botanico. We feel really proud when we read comments like yours. For us is really important provide to our guest with the best services as possible, is for that all the staff try to improve every day. We look forward welcoming you back when you come to Tenerife.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just about to finish our stay at this wonderful hotel and I only wish we could stay for longer! The setting, the staff, the food and the rooms really are superb - truly a leading hotel of the world. Can't wait to return - even the sun shone every day !! :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to during your stay to make your review about Hotel Botanico on Tripadvisor. Our goal is that when a guest leaves our hotel, he is already thinking in coming back, that means that the services have achieved his expectations. It is nice to hear that you found our rooms, food and staff of a high standard and that you have enjoyed a great weather during your full stay. For the entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden it would be a pleasure to have you again as guest.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just returned from a week at this hotel (25th Jan to 1st Feb 2014) and really enjoyed our stay. Every member of staff makes you feel welcome and are very polite and helpful, nothing appears too much trouble. The grounds are fantastic as is the Spa facility. We were moved to this hotel the evening before we were due to fly, the Los Gigantes hotel had been damaged by a storm on the Thursday, it was either go to the Hotel Botanico or stay in the UK. We had only stayed in Puerto de la Cruz on one previous occasion and had concerns as to whether we would enjoy the stay. Within a day any concerns had gone, we were made to feel extremely welcome by the hotel staff and the facilities at this hotel are excellent. The 3 themed restaurants offer very nice menus, our favourite one was the Spanish (La Parrilla) .
There are no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms so you may want to take a travel kettle.

We hope to visit again soon
D&L Ilkley

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Des L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your stay at Hotel Botanico on Tripadvisor. It is nice to hear that you found our hotel as a peacefull place and that our team has been able to surprise you with a personal and helpful service. For the entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden it would be a pleasure to have you again as guest.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have this just arrived home after spending a week at the Hotel Botanico between 25th January 2014 and 1st February 2014

Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly reception staff and then shown to our luxurious room for the length of our stay.

It was the small touches that made the holiday special - it was my birthday the day after we arrived and was greeted at breakfast with 'happy birthday' messages from all members of staff followed by a glass of champagne at the table. We arrived back at our room later in the day to find a bottle of champagne, cake and birthday card.

Whilst staying at the Hotel Botanico we ate at all the restaurants and used all the bars - the food was excellent and was served by very friendly staff. La Parrilla, which we visited three times during out stay, was our favourite restaurant solely for the atmosphere and very efficient service from the staff.

We only used the spa facilities on one occasion, but again found the staff very professional and friendly.

The grounds of the hotel are amazing and are well kept by the gardening staff.

We had one issue during our stay - the room card would not work - within 2 minutes a maintenance engineer arrived and sorted the problem straight away - brilliant service.

Without doubt one of 'The Leading Hotels of the World'.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hayley J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent holiday and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. It is an honor for us that you have decided to visit us during your birthday. We always endeavor to fulfill the wishes and expectations of our guests, and it seems that during your stay we achieved our goal. We are very glad to read that our excellent team of staff has contributed to your wonderful experience at our hotel and we will make sure your compliments will be shared with the whole team. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near future at Hotel Botánico.

Yours sincerely.
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Botanico = Value for Money. Outstanding personnel in surroudings second to none delivers efficient, friendly, and warm service from morning, through the whole day and
entire evening combined with calm and peace for a pleasant night sleep.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Ole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Oleg,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your stay at Hotel Botanico on Tripadvisor. It is nice to hear that you found our hotel as a peacefull place and that our team has been able to surprise you with a personal and helpful service. For the entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden it would be a pleasure to have you again as guest.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A recent visit to Hotel Botanico was disappointing because the weather was absolutely awful. About four hours sunshine in 7 days. After we had booked some friends told us to expext poorer weather in that part of Tenerife but we hoped the hotel described as one of the leading hotels of the world would have some bad weather entertainment such as modern films or such like in the event of prolonged poor weather but no such luck. We visited the sate owned botanical garden next to the hotel and a little clearer. The site was chosen from all of Spain because it is wet and warm. It has annual rainfall of 371.9mm and relative humidity of 70%. Now we realised why perhaps we had rain. The hotel had a good supply of umbrellas which is perhaps another clue but the surroundings outside the hotel grounds were very run down and a bit ugly. Plenty of cheap shops and run down food places. A venture into Puerto de la Cruz proved no better with black rock and sand beaches and an overwhelming smell of sewerage from the vastly overdeveloped sea front multi storey apartment blocks. Sorry Tenerife - back to Madeira for us in future

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Billyboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent holiday and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We always endeavor to fulfill the wishes and expectations of our guests, but unfortunately there are circumstances beyond our control, such as the very unusual weather you experienced during your stay. Tenerife, and especially Puerto de la Cruz, are known for having one of the best climates in the whole world and the usual temperature at this time of the year is around 22ºc – 24ºc. Tenerife is called the island of eternal spring and indeed the temperatures are always mild due to its location on the coast of the island. As a volcanic island, the natural beaches are black sand ones, which is one of the highlights of the island along with its culture, gastronomy and idiosyncrasy of its people.
We very much regret that you could not enjoy the bright skies and warm temperatures that characterize the Canary islands during the all year, but assure you that this was exceptional and would be delighted to welcome you again on the island, and especially at Hotel Botánico, sometime in a near future in order to prove the excellence of our destination and of our hotel facilities.

Yours sincerely.
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
25.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
24.7 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 61 in Costa Adeje
695 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
825 reviews
17.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,886 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £149 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing