We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heavenly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 April 2014

from the moment we checked in to we left this hotel was 10 out of 10 rooms maybe seen better in other five stars but nothing wrong with them the onlky reason i mention this is they did not have the same wow factor as everything else the staff are porobably the best u will ever come across very very helpfull this is what gets people coming back year after year

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanlivy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful holiday experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear how satisfied you are with the service provided by our staff. We will definitely share your wonderful words with the team. It is always a great motivation to receive such nice compliments and this show us that we are on the right track with our services and standards. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Working in the travel Indusrty I have stayed in many Hotels not just in Europe but throughout the World. Having recently returned from the Botanico I can honestly say the the staff, service and spa are one of the best I've seen. From the moment we checked in from the time we left, nothing was too much trouble. If you want to know anything about the area ask a lady called 'Pinot' on reception, she gave us enough ideas to fill a two week holiday let alone 4 nights. We sampled the Spainish and Thai restaurants for our evening meal, presentation and service in both were superb although I put the Thai as my favourite. Breakfast was a vast buffet including anything you could possibly want plus if you stayed by the pool the lunch menu had a good selection and wasn't too expensive.
Overall an excellent stay made more special by the friendly and efficient staff.
Thank you Botanico, we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful holiday experience on Tripadvisor. It is always a great pleasure to read that a first time customer, has enjoyed a wonderful experience at our hotel and it is already thinking in coming back. We are proud to read that you found our rooms, food and staff of a high standard, our team tries to provide always the most personal and helpfull service. This show us that we are on the right track with our services and standards. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

From our first sighting from the Palm sheltered drive-in, the meet and greet, and the friendly transfer to our fourth floor room it was obvious that we were in a truly five-star family owned hotel with a consistently oriental theme. Although our room on a corner of the building facing a road junction could have been a concern, the view of The Spa, pool, gardens, El Teide, the sea and the Botanical Gardens more than compensated. - especially as the changing sky and cloud formations on the slopes of the volcano could be viewed from bed each morning.

The Reception Hall area is stunning. Marble, colourful carpets, oriental artefacts and original paintings beautifully displayed and accented by wonderful fresh and exotic floral displays. The Hall Bar off to the left is a comfortable area to relax in and to enjoy the evening musical entertainment which is first class. The breakfast area is large and well furnished to complement the wonderful buffet breakfast - which included Champagne - during our stay.

The pool and gardens are exotic and immaculate. A peaceful shady haven to enjoy sun and relaxation. The Spa pool, jacuzzi, sauna etc, are immaculate and luxurious and many treatments and exercise classes are available to guests. In fact, the daily newspaper lists many activities and demonstrations available to guests.

We only had breakfast in the hotel as we were out and about during our stay, but had good reports from those who used the restaurants - some of whom had been visiting the hotel regularly for up to 30 years. There are many small restaurants and bars very close by for a congenial meal before enjoying the entertainment in the hotel, if that appeals.

This is not a beach hotel, but a regular shuttle bus is available to the promenade in the old town and taxis are very reasonable. It is a pleasant downhill walk to the sea, but a little daunting on the return!!

The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was also well equipped and the toiletries first class. The only slight downside was the shower, which did not seem to have a thermostat so the temperature varied from hot to cold and back without warning. If this was addressed then it would be perfect.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel. I could spend a week just relaxing in the beautiful gardens and being pampered in the spa. The weather was wonderful in the first week of April so the flowers were all gradually blooming and adding colour to the tropical greens of the trees and shrubs. Heaven!

Room Tip: Our fourth floor room had a sunny balcony in the morning, interesting views and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DOLLYMIX690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear guest,

In the name of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden team, I want to thank you for making such wonderful and extensive review about your stays with us, on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a fantastic experience and that you were very satisfied with our facilities and services. We will definitely share your wonderful words with the team and analyze your opinions to improve those points you mentioned. It is always a great motivation to receive such nice compliments. It will be a pleasure to have you once again at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If there is an hotel with more caring staff than Botanico we would be very surprised.
As regular guests who visit four times a year for the months of March, June, September and November / December we now regard this hotel as our ' second home'.
Every member of staff is totally committed to ensuring that guests are cosseted and their preferences remembered.
Manager Gustavo Escobar has been here now for one year and has made a number of improvements with more promised.
The food operation is also improving under the direction of new F&B Manager Antonio and a meal in Il Papagallo was of a much higher standard than in the past.
The Spa is first class for relaxation as are all treatments and the Manageress Anne Marie Chauvaux runs a vey efficient and caring operation.
Even poor weather for the first three weeks of our stay did not affect our enjoyment of this old fashioned but very decent hotel.
It is situated in the La Paz area and , apart from annoying barking by dogs in nearby houses, this is a very peaceful place which is ideal for those seeking total rest and relaxation.
Well done all staff...we are looking forward to returning yet again in two months time.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LARGOBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your latest stay at Hotel Botanico on Tripadvisor. Our goal is that when a guest leaves our hotel, he is already thinking in coming back, that means that the services have achieved his expectations. It is nice to hear that you found our rooms, food and staff of a high standard once again and that is a clear example of the great work is doing our newest staff. For the entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden its a great honor that you feel our place as your second home and it will be a pleasure to have you again as guest in a couple of months.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

As soon as you arrive you have an immediate sense that this property is "top notch"! All though full payment for the entire stay was requested like at a brothel up front (which I thought odd),after that incident,all went uphill! The ocean view suite was a ideal for an extremely comfortable visit. As most reviewers say, the service can not be faulted,and any request is met with a positive result and expeditiously (i.e.router brought up to speed up WIFI) The property is full of ambiance, serenity,class and style

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripMember050120171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear guest,

It is wonderfull to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Botánico. We feel sorry you started your stay with a bad feel, but it is great to see that from that point on all was to your liking. Thank you for sharing your impressions about the wonderful room views and its confortable sensation. Our team tries to provide each guest with a personal and attentive service and it seems that they achieve their goal during your stay. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A very large five star hotel that manages a personal touch, most of the time. Staff are unfailingly polite and helpful, whether in housekeeping, the Spa, the restaurant, reception... All marvellous.
Every whim and desire catered for.
We had two separate stays during our trip, and the second room had mattresses that were soft (to the point of saggy, in my view) but 3 maids and a beefy caretaker arrived within minutes of phoning Reception to swap them out for harder ones as we had in the first room. All done without fuss and very swiftly - Result: another two nights of blissful sleep.
Restaurants varied in our experience - La Parrillo (spanish style) was a bit underwhelming - partly due to the table d'hôte / full board menu we chose, perhaps. Come early or ask specially for a table on the enclosed terrace with a view. When we arrived at 8, they were all taken, and for a while a while we were the only ones in the inner area.
The Italian themed Il Papagallo restaurant is in the basement but has a lovely view of the botanical garden in the middle of the hotel, beautifully lit at night. Ask for a table by the window if that appeals. The first night it seemed we were forgotten, and waited too long for drinks and bread and ordering. But the food was good enough to return the second evening, when we were royally treated - and the food was even better. Trust the maitre d' for a wine recommendation.
Prices of these meals are steep, however - upwards of €50 each with wine, just for 2 courses. (10 minutes walk down into the town will take you to a wonderful dining experience for far less at Bambi Gourmet -see separate TA reviews for this - so we went there twice). Breakfast in the dining rooms is a *major* operation, a vast choice, lots of staff refilling your coffee flasks, an omelette / fried egg / crepe bar cooking these to order, I've never had better.
Worth pointing out that the weather in March was far more variable here than on the south coast - a couple of degrees cooler, on average, and prone to clouds. But it is an unbeatable base for exploring the north of the island, especially if you want to walk in the Anaga park.
We chose a room with a view of Mt Tiede, on the 3rd floor, were given 338 and were rewarded with sunshine on the balcony for our only room service breakfast (breakfast downstairs too good to miss). On the second stay we had 357 in a wing at right angle to the first, and which would have had a great late afternoon sun - if there had been any, see above. My geography is not great, but it therefore seems to me that the prized ocean view rooms face north - and the hotel is a good way from the sea.
Oriental Spa is world class, although the treatments on offer are not to our taste, the rest of the free facilities can absorb and pamper and relax one for hours.
Book through the Botanico website for the best price / flexibility options.
Most often met Germans, English and French, but a real mix of guests.
All in all, a long, long way from your average Tenerife beach hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a view of Mt Tiede, on the 3rd floor, were given 338 and were rewarded with sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Not_a_Jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest,

In the name of The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden team, I want to thank you for making such wonderful and extensive review about your stays with us, on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a fantastic experience and that you were very satisfied with our facilities and services. We will definitely share your wonderful words with the team. It is always a great motivation to receive such nice compliments. It will be a pleasure to have you once again at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night. As we pulled up to the hotel our car was taken by valet and we were helped with our bag. Very attentive. Check in was smooth, reception very attentive. (Even a welcome fruit cocktail)We stayed on the 2nd floor, and had an ocean view. There was a bottle of chilled cava upon arrival, not to mention rose petals on the bed & swans made out of the towels. Also complimentary chocolates which were divine. A nice touch for a romantic night away. Bed, very comfy! Slept very very well. Plentiful supply of pillows & you can request which ones you would prefer. Rooms are slightly out dates decor wise but I would much prefer a comfy one to a pretty one! Few more plugs needed also.We dined at the Thai restaurant downstairs which was delightful. Staff fabulous & food also divine. Breakfast was good, nice selection but not something to get too excited about. We booked a joint massage at the hotel which was fantastic. The pool & sauna rooms were lovely too. We loved the jacuzzi hidden in the cave. Only downside to the stay was the service at lunch. We dined outside, around 4pm after our trip to the spa. The waiters ignored us for atleast 10 mins whilst we looked at a menu near the bar, and then when we sat down still proceeded to ignore us for another 10 mins before laying the table and finally probably 30 mins into us arriving we got asked if we would like a drink! Food average. Not worth the wait. All in all a fabulous stay but would lunch elsewhere! A must visit if you are in the north!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emwee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest,

We highly appreciate that you have taken a moment of your time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay. Your comment is very much valued and we will analyze your considerations to improve on the necessary points in our restaurant "La Palmera Real". It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our exclusive services, unique facilities and that our attentive staff has contributed to make of your stay a good experience. For the entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden it would be a pleasure to have you again as guest..

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
25.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
24.7 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 60 in Costa Adeje
686 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
821 reviews
17.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,872 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £158 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing