We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Botanico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Botanico”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Fantastic Hotel, lovely pool area, nice rooms, great food, friendly staff & helpful staff what else to say ?! Breakfast were amazing - there was anything to choose from. We had a lovely stay would most definitely be back !!

Room Tip: We were located in a room overlooking the pool area, it was on the 2nd floor - and it was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanieeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Stephanie,

We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us and we are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your satisfaction here on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to hear we have been able to meet your expectations and that all our services (rooms, breakfast, activities, restaurants,etc.), have been to your liking. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on our personal service which of course have been shared with the entire team; we are very pleased to read that you felt well looked after by our attentive staff throughout your stay among us. Thank you once again for your visit and lovely review; we would be delighted to welcome you back at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    245
    68
    23
    20
See reviews for
335
911
69
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent a whole day here, as the guests of friends who have stayed here before and love it. We could easily understand why they and their circle keep coming back. Oddly enough, some of the key ingredients that lure them here we would find on a monastic retreat in rural England.

Very sensibly, our host had forewarned the hotel of our imminent arrival, so there was a helpful staff member on hand to park our car. We hastened to the poolside bar-cafe which was a suitable place to make our base for the day. Our friends prefer the food here to that served upstairs in La Parilla. And it gave us ample opportunity to stroll through the gardens.

The lake was first port of call, with the black swans and their grey young family (which were fluffy cygnets when they were here last). On the lake we also spotted a bustling little moor hen and sunbathing terrapins. The human sunbathers were discreetly scattered on loungers throughout the grounds (mind you, Puerto is the wrong side of Tenerife if you are a real sun-worshiper).

In keeping with the Oriental theme, the Buddha is depicted in statues and paintings all over the hotel. Personally, I would prefer to have St Francis of Assisi (but we had already paid our respects to him at the Franciscan church in the town centre). The loveliest statue of Buddha is almost hidden by nearby trees in the garden.

The Oriental theme is of course strongest in the Spa Garden. Here one enters through heavy 'temple' doors and there are delightful elephant statues and fountains. It is a place of great silence and harmony.

Our eating experience was very pleasant. When we first found a shady table we were entertained by a demonstration of paella making, which was followed by a tasting of the product. Too full of seafood for some of our party, but very tasty. For lunch we had a couple of chickens roasted. They were beautifully succulent. In the afternoon there were little homemade biscuits to accompany coffee.

In the dining area beside where we were sitting there is an aviary, so that over breakfast the guests can watch the tropical birds. They must feel very much at home as there are nests in the shrubbery. Other less exotic birds hang around the cafe tables outside - a very tame blackbird was singing most beautifully while he waited for us to leave crumbs.

We also availed ourselves of the conference facilities, as the football fans wanted to go online for a big match. This was in a computer room, sealed off by glass doors from the 'blissed-out' spa goers who wandered by in white toweling dressing gowns. The same floor had a sort of library, with books well sorted by language.

The shops and eating/drinking outlets in the area round about (i.e. off the TF312) seemed to be aiming primarily at the German market, though there were several local cafes and one English bar. However, if we were staying here longer we would undoubtedly prefer to go down the hill to the town centre.

Across the road is the Jardin Botanico, which we have not yet visited.

To summarise: the Hotel Botanico has all the facilities you would expect of a five-star-plus internationally renowned hotel - and peace and tranquility in green gardens. Whereas the Spa and other pampering facilities may be available in similar hotels in the UK, to get the total ambiance created by the gardens (with the birds, the fish, the lizards etc) and the inspired decor you would have to travel much further afield than Tenerife. And the environment is much safer in Puerto than it would be in some competing worldwide resorts.

A TIP: Go to the Hotel website to check their discount prices (and compare them with the offers of online booking sites). It could save you a significant percentage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G and B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly we would like to express our sincere gratitude for your incredible review about your visit to Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden. It is a pleasure to read that you felt that our hotel offers a unique experience and that we meet the expectations of a 5 star luxury hotel. Was a great pleasure to recieved your visit and we hope to have you as guest in a near future.

Warm regards
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our first time at this great hotel but certainly wont be the last. Perfect in every way. Made us feel so welcome. The facilites are incredible but the best hidden secret is the oriental spa garden. Fantastic! really enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and near enough by cab to old part of town that is just buzzing with atmosphere. I would definately recommend anyone to stay at the Botanico! I know we will repeat our fab experience very soon,I hope!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Beryl,

In the name of The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden team, I want to thank you for making such wonderful review about your stay with us, on Tripadvisor. Its been a pleasure to have you as guest for the first time and it´s great to read, that we have been able to surprise you with a great and friendly service. It is our goal to offer you guests the best posible stay and to make you feel like at home. Once again we would like to thank you for your marvelous words regarding our establishment and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A very relaxing hotel which we have visited three years in a row.
Rooms and service are very good.
The main pool area is well maintained and the gardens are beautiful.The pool bar area is very good though the menu could be improved.We stayed 10 days and liked to have our lunch in the pool bar area.Unfortunately the choice of food was repetitive and the light bite menu was predominantly sea food which I cannot eat.
The Oriental Spa with it's many facitilities was excellent.
The oriental restaurant is poor to say it is supposed to be the flag ship of the hotel.In 3 years we have eaten only once and would not return.The other two restaurants are ok but there are other better restaurants in the immediate area.
La Botanico is one of the best hotels in Puerto de La Cruz and is very relaxing and welcoming but I would recommend eating out in the evening.

Room Tip: I recommend a larger Ambassador Junior Suite but not one above the restaurant areas as we were distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are very please to find out that we achieved the expectations you had on us, and that you have enjoyed once again your experience. Your feedback will be highly considered in order to improve our services, as with the individual experience of each customer we improve. Once again we would like to thank you for your marvelous words regarding our establishment and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Third visit, they really treat returns like family and can't do enough to accommodate you. We arrived at 12, in the hotel car that is a must, our usual room was ready with all the down pillows we prefer, flowers, decent bottle of wine and fruit. Cocktails are amazing and really reasonable, there are complimentary classes at the spa, something for everyone. Breakfast is first class, you can eat outside which is lovely, lunch likewise. We don't use the restaurants in the evening as there are just too many of a first class standard nearby. We stay in a lot of 5 star hotels and this place is one that ticks all the boxes and we will return again. The place has never been full, been Sept Oct and April but they do have lots of very well trained staff, always willing to serve.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea, we like third floor. All rooms are quiet and well soundproofed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biffoBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your trust in our hotel and for taking the time and effort to write your friendly comments about your stay. It is an honor for us that you have decided to visit us for third time and we are very glad that our excellent team of staff has contributed to your wonderful experience at our hotel. We will make sure your compliments will be shared with the whole team. Thank you for mentioning many great aspects of our hotel, as they are vital to make each of our guests stays an unforgettable experience. The entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden is already looking forward to your next visit.

With kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Botanico for the second year running and had a lovely time.
The staff were very friendly once again and could'nt be more helpful. It was my wife's birthday while there and the hotel delived a iced bucket with bottle of cava and birthday cake on the day. When we returned later form the spa the hotel mainds had decorated the room with chocolates, hearts and shaped towls into swans which i thought was a lovely touch.
We loved the choice again at breakfast and could ask for more choice. The friendly person cooking eggs fried, poached, boiled and omlettes pluscrepes was great.
We ate at the Thai and Spannish resurants which were excellent. The free shuttle bus down to town/beach was great and there are plenty of lovley places to eat nearby with Oliva being our favourite.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaizer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your second stay at Hotel Botanico on Tripadvisor. It is nice to hear that you found our hotel, once again, as a peacefull place and that our team has been able to surprise you with a personal and helpful service. For the entire team of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden it would be a pleasure to have you again as guest.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

from the moment we checked in to we left this hotel was 10 out of 10 rooms maybe seen better in other five stars but nothing wrong with them the onlky reason i mention this is they did not have the same wow factor as everything else the staff are porobably the best u will ever come across very very helpfull this is what gets people coming back year after year

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanlivy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful holiday experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear how satisfied you are with the service provided by our staff. We will definitely share your wonderful words with the team. It is always a great motivation to receive such nice compliments and this show us that we are on the right track with our services and standards. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
744 reviews
25.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
24.7 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#4 of 57 in Costa Adeje
599 reviews
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Property: Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing