We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointed returning guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We have stayed here previously about 5 years ago, it was a very good 5 star hotel. but today alas times change and so has the botanico whilst the spa area is above average,the hotel is not,it's tired and jaded .Rooms are of a reasonable size but in need of decorating,carpets in the hallways/walkways are stained and worn . staff are soso one or two were very helpful.We had a meal in one of the al a carte restaurant and were served instant mash potatoes, when i complained the waiter argued with me that it was normal potatoes (his words) but you can tell by the taste/texture,he replaced them with boiled potatoes but by then my meal had gone cold and they would not cook another dish .not a happy diner.There are some very good restaurants around this hotel, the Tucan is one very good place to eat if you book and are willing to wait for your meal we waited best part of 2 hours for two courses.turn right directly out of the hotel and walk behind the putting green follow the road round to the righton to urb Jordan Toucan go down the hill and its on the corner next to the Dentist on Calle Sebastian Padron Acosta.70euros for two with wine.
Also worth visiting are the following Mil Sabores in Town on calla Verde.El Patio on Calle Del Lomo andthe Regulo on Calle san felipe. Need i say we will not be returning to the botanico vary disapointing. the spa area is very nice but the management do not enforce any of the rule they have made for this area ie no smoking ,no drinking alcahol and no eating . the last two i have no problem with but i have a severe chest condition and chose this hotel because of the no smoking area and found my self having to go up to my room to get away from the smoke and use my medication when i told the Duty Manager his reaction was so what.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tony7611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2008

like going back in time,rooms outdated.checked out after one day

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank kaiserHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

we wanted a 2 night treat in Puerto de la cruz and opted for this due to 5* rating ,position - opposite the botanical gardens -and the spa facility.
It looks dated from the road but, as you approach and read that it has been rated as "one of the leading hotels of the world" (written across the front of the bulding) expectations improve.
we had a wonderful time - staff polite and professional; room large,huge bed,lovely sheets and individual duvets;large flat screen TV; great modern bathroom; lots of toiletries;dressing gowns/slippers;good wardrobes and large mirrors; a large balcony and good balcony furniture with comfy cushions; free nightime turndown service(with extras- won't divulge to spoil the experience). The views from the 3rd floor landing and our bedroom were stunning(mountain and sea views) Note - a deluxe double room booked.
The spa was amazing - Thai style- and free entry to adult hotel guests. We didn't book any treatments as there was a lot to do without - all free as follows yoga/Tai chi sessions; 2 pools (one indoor/one outdoor) 3 Jacuzzis- one in a cave! A " thermal circuit " which included 7-8different heat treatment rooms and an ice room which sounds awful,but was great; waterbeds to doze on and also various relaxation areas- some indoor some out.
All calm and beautiful with lots of candles /flowers/lanterns/towels/great changing rooms which made it special and luxurious
we didn't use the other hotel pools (which are in a separate area) as we spent all our relax time in the spa .Note under 16s cannot go into the spa areas but can use the other pools. Breakfast - lovely, well presented and great choice including cava if you can manage that so early in the day- we can when on holiday! You can choose to eat in or out which was nice.
EWe only ate in one of the restaurants in the evening - italian - all fine but more expensive than the restaurants outside. The restaurant opposite the entrance was good food /huge portions! (cant remember the name). The evening entertainment was the same both nights - a duo who played/sang classy jazzy/blusey/rock music- we enjoyed it.
Botanical gardens opposite are worth a visit.
15-20 mins walk down to the sea front - taxi back or bus - too hilly and too much traffic when hot weather.
Would definately go back to this hotel for a couple of days treat - we left feeling pampered.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Have just returned from one week at the Hotel Botanica which we enjoyed very much. I read all the recent Trip Advisor comments on the hotel before we went and was glad to find everthing as was described. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and we got exactly what we were promised by the excellent Helena on reservations - two large comfortable adjoining rooms for myself and my two sons, aged 14.5 & 13.5. on the first floor. We loved the sea view and we were very happy with room cleanliness and room service.

Hotel facilities were really great - my boys loved to be able to play table tennis, snooker and tennis every day. They tried the Kids' Club but were very much too old for it -its advertised to age 12 but they said it was more suited to much smaller children. So they just hung out by the main pool (which was deep, clean and a wonderful temperature) or caught up with the Olympic coverage in our rooms. If we'd been there for more than a week they said they would have become a bit bored though. Not many other teenagers whilst we were there.

The breakfast was wonderful and it was a lovely way to start the day by eating out on the pool terrace. Some restaurant staff were very friendly, like Charlie who is the short-order chef and others were functional. Most didn't speak any english so we tried our spanish which worked - we got coffee when we needed it etc.

Pool service was a little erratic and we were upset on the first morning when the pool attendant unceremoniously and rudely kicked one of my sons off a sunbed because he had pulled it out of line. I did mention it to the hotel Manager who dealt with it swiftly and kept an eye out for us for the rest of the week , which made us feel very well looked after.

We ate in the Oriental Restaurant and Il Pappagallo, both were nice experiences and the only complaint was the fake mashed potato instead of fresh - not up to 5*s! We loved being a step away from the town and ate out a couple of times at local restaurants for a reasonable amount. Really wanted to try one recomendation I found on Trip Advisor for the restaurant, Le Tucan which everyone said was really good but they were on their holidays!

The Spa was glorious - I went there almost every day and had some kind of treatment - I loved the reflexology treatment and the deep massage. The atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing and I loved the hot apple tea they offer you.

All in all, a great week's holiday where everything was as promised or better.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sblackEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Have just returned from one week staying at Hotel Botanico with my husband and three boys. We had a lovely time and I can highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing week away with family.
The staff were excellent, the general manager was a genuinely lovely person who went out of her way to make us feel welcome.
We stayed in interconnecting Ambassador suites which were very spacious and although not the most contemporary rooms I have stayed in they were of a high standard. The gardens are beautiful and the pool area is very good.
Our children enjoyed the kids club for 2 days as they took them to Loro parque, an excellent zoo about 15 mins by coach from the hotel. We also enjoyed the tennis, table tennis and mini golf.
On the downside the town of Puerto de la Cruz was not very scenic - although we enjoyed meals at La Rosa de Bari and Regulo in the town centre. The weather was warm but cloudy for most of the time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flo_joBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

August 2008. This is my fifth time back to Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife. I love it, i love the people, the charm, its culture. The old areas of town and the wonderful shopping! A bit of everything! Normally would have stayed at The Masaru - a great 3 star apartment/hotel in the La Paz area. This time we booked too late - no room there and decided to go to The Botanico around the corner. Its a 5 star hotel and cost us around £900 for the week(the cheapest end of the scale for this hotel!). Still pricy but we decided to push the boat out. Were we impressed? Well it was nice, it was clean and I loved the oriental decor but as my partner said, it seemed to be clinging on to the Five Star status. Everyone was obliging and helpful but i would just have expected more. The Spa and treatments on offer were good but booking and enquiries a bit shambolic. Sometimes no one at the desk. And as you waited for your treatment, quite a lot of the staff running around stressed to meet appointment times! Kinda defeats the object of serenity! There are 3 or 4 restaurants within the hotel and The Oriental was one which was advertised as out of this world - our experience was far from that. Very few people in, which seemed odd it and the service was lacking and the food definitely not first rate. Even when we hardly touched our main course no one asked if it was ok or not. And when we left without being offered a sweet or coffee , no one seemed to notice! They were too busy laying out tables! We did complain the next day but felt that we were being patronised - they'd apparently never had a bad report of it - so it must have been our palates that werent used to that type of food, we were told! But we were offered another meal there to put matters right which we declined or at one of the other restaurants in the hotel. We couldnt take this up either as we were leaving a day and a half later and wanted to take in the wide ranging and fantastic restaurants down town so it annoyed us slightly that we still had to pay for a bad meal. Glad we tried it and would go back maybe....but would try other hotels in La Paz area first! If youre not on a budget, give it a try, it is great place to relax and unwind - just remember not to forget there is lots of other places to see and dine at - you sometimes forget there is a world outside the hotel!

3  Thank Travellerinspired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

This was our second visit to the Botanico and we were not disappointed. The Spa is out of this world and everything has been thought of for a quiet relaxing experience. No children allowed under 16. Despite mixed reviews about the food, we actually think it is value for money if you go half board. It is the only hotel we have ever stayed in where people on half board are not restricted to a certain restaurant or menu. The staff are efficient, helpful and friendly.

I would also add that there have been numerous occasions when we have spent our holidays in hotels whilst a conference has been held at the same time, particularly in Cyprus. Whenever this has happened, conference delegates have always been given preference to the detriment of the holiday clentele. There was an international medical conference held at the Botanico for the entire duration of our stay and at no time did it impinge on our enjoyment of the holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ja1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,838 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 60 in Costa Adeje
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £160 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing