We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Mecca For Pure Relaxation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“A Mecca For Pure Relaxation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Another month long visit to our 'second home'.
Always very enjoyable with quite outstandingly caring and courteous staff.
Housekeeping standards are first class as is the Oriental Spa where relaxing treatments are professionally administered by a team of well trained therapists.
A new entrance was being constructed during June and the noise was disruptive but Gustavo Escobar, who has now been Manager for over a year, handled our concerns with professionalism as we would have expected since we spend over 100 nights here each year.
Senator Suites with sea views are spacious and well equipped although bathrooms could do with a more modern look.
Breakfasts offer a wide choice and, while enjoyable, would be enhanced if there was more evidence of management supervision to sharpen up service standards which can be slack particularly if you choose to take breakfast prior to 9 a.m.
Menu improvements are underway in Papagallo ( Italian ) and La Parilla (International) restaurants but better cuisine and value can be found in a handful of really decent restaurants in Puerto de la Cruz...e.g. Rosa di Bari, Kafka ,La Herreria, La Boheme , Regulo etc. ( see reviews).
Botanico continues to attract regular clients who are likely to overlook the very poor exterior appearance of the far from modern building while delighting in the comfort and relaxation which awaits within.
Botanico is still the best hotel in the North of Tenerife and, with a few improvements and refinements, it will continue to attract discriminating and discerning clients.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LARGOBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we wish to thank you for your loyalty and trust towards Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden. It has been indeed our full pleasure and honour to welcome you back again and we all are already looking forward to your next visit. We are delighted and happy to hear that, once again, you have been pleased with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team, and the improves you mention will be taken in consideration. We are looking forward to seeing you, thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your travel experience with the online community on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,
Your second house, Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    241
    65
    22
    20
See reviews for
318
877
67
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed 10th to 20th June.
We did not arrive until 1:30am at the hotel but the staff were fantastic and just wanted to get us to our rooms. We had adjoining rooms for me, my husband and daughter, this was a first as we normally get pushed in-together which is not ideal. The rooms were on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. The following morning we could really look at the place which had inspiring gardens with wonderful birds. I was most suitably impressed from start to finish. The spa in amazing and both me and my daughter enjoyed every minute. We booked bed breakfast & evening dinner which we were able to change to lunch served until 4:30pm whenever we felt like eating earlier. I would recommend this hotel for adults and people traveling alone . The restaurant theme of eating is a really good idea but unfortunately during our stay some work was going on in the hotel and the Canarian Restaurant was closed, this did not however affect us in any way. Pino on reception was a gem and advised us where to visit on this side of the Island eg Orotava and LaLaguna well worth a visit. The buses are easy to use so no need to hire a car but buy a Bono card from the shop across the road from the hotel as this gives you a fare discount if you use the buses a few times.

Room Tip: Pool rooms have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maz266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent holiday and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We always endeavor to fulfill the wishes and expectations of our guests, and it seems that during your stay we achieved our goal. We are very glad to read that our excellent team of staff has contributed to your wonderful experience at our hotel and we will make sure your compliments will be shared with the whole team. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near future at Hotel Botánico.

Yours sincerely.
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel Botanico is situated in a lovely location, quiet & well maintained, we had a 4th floor room which was clean & roomy with mini bar & additional nibbles, balcony with table & chairs, overlooking outside day time dining area & day time bar, outside pool & Teide in the distance. The gardens peaceful & nice little walks. Most staff were polite but need to remember some guests understand several languages. The food was good, fresh & well presented, restaurant food was limited & a tad on the expensive side, we ate out most nights choosing a variety of cuisines in many restaurants in the immediate area of the hotel & in Puerto, much better choice, value & atmosphere. Down side was definitely the evenings, the only bar open had loud live singing nightly & was virtually deserted of guests every night, singing to an empty room, shame really, seemed a little time warped, would have been nice to relax in a bar dotted around the area outside or in another part of the hotel where you could hear yourself speak. Little shops around the area specifically aimed at the vast numbers of German tourists. Visited many places using the local bus which is inexpensive & a great service, trams in Santa Cruz too, we purchased a pre paid Bono Bus ticket approximately €12 euro for several trips saved between 30 to 50% of the fare & can be used on the Bus, Tram & in some Museums, the little shop across from the hotel drive sells the Bono tickets, not open on a Sunday. All in all we enjoyed the experience, the hotel was lovely as was its location, loved travelling around exploring the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience at the Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden. Your complete review will be very useful for future guest and your opinion will be very useful to us, to improve our services. Our guest comments encourage us to continue improving and working hard focusing all our effort in guest service. It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back again and make your stay better.

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. I am very impressed and really happy with everything.
The hotel is lovely in terms of ambiance, and set in a lovely garden. There are many pools, I lost count. Indoor and outdoor. Also spa baths for all to use outside.
There were 2 main restaurants at the time that we visited. Italian and Thai. Both were really excellent. The breakfast is amazing as it caters to all tastes. I am gluten free and this was no problem, I even received a fresh baguette with lunch. Soya milk was available too so it really does cater to all.
This is a really good place to relax. The local town is ok, nice to wander around, but a bit touristy. Personally I prefer North Tenerife even though the weather can be a bit sketchy,
I cannot recommend this hotel enough and see no reason why we would not return. They provide the most excellent service too, and the spa is very good indeed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vijawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful holiday experience on Tripadvisor. It is always a great pleasure to read that a first time customer, has enjoyed a wonderful experience at our hotel and it is already thinking in coming back. We are proud to read that you found our rooms, food and staff of a high standard, our team tries to provide always the most personal and helpfull service. This show us that we are on the right track with our services and standards. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponsacco, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed a week for our second honeymoon (early June) in a sea view room and had half board. We loved most of everything! The five star rating is well exemplified at this hotel. Staff was fabulous, entire hotel spotless, spa facilities fantastic, grounds beautifully maintained and we arrived to towel art (swan hearts) with flowers and chocolate splattered beautifully all over the bed.
We would have enjoyed more choices for dinner as one restaurant was closed during our stay but the specials were varied enough in addition to the regular menu at the two open places that this was only a minor thing and easily overlooked because we enjoyed our overall experience.
We will return for sure and highly recommend this hotel to any couple looking for a romantic spa get away!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen Hotel Botanico for your romantic getaway in Tenerife, its been a pleasure to have you as guest and read that you both enjoyed the experience. It is wonderful to read you liked our facilities and that our staff has been always kind and helpful during your stay. It would be a pleasure and a great honor to have you once again at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden as guest, and we hope next time you can enjoy all our restaurants offer.

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014. Rooms are huge and have more than enough room for all your things as well as lots of complimentary toiletries in the bathroom with dressing gown and slippers. The use of the spa is complimentary, only treatments you have to pay for. The staff in this hotel are so friendly. They endeavor to learn every guests name which is a great personal touch. The food available for breakfast is unbelievable, the biggest selection i have seen in a hotel with hot food, cereals, fruit, pastries, cold meat and omelettes etc made to order. The only thing i would say to improve would be the quality of the wifi as it cuts out quite often, however it is free so you cant complain really! All in all a very luxurious hotel and i wouldn't hesitate to return in future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bathrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly we would like to express our sincere gratitude for your review about your visit to Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden. It is always a great motivation to receive such nice compliments and this show us that we are on the right track with our services and standards. Your feedback will be highly considered in order to improve our services, as with the individual experience of each customer we improve. Was a great pleasure to recieved your visit and we hope to have you as guest in a near future.

Warm regards
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Me and my husband visited Tenerife from 28th of April till 10th of May and as we were just married, we decided to spend our honeymoon in a luxurious hotel. So we chose Hotel Botanico! What to say about it...What I didn't like could be answered more easily! I loved the spa facilities and the hotel garden. Also its location is just great as the hotel is very close to a bus station and this makes it very easy to visit other places of Tenerife. And last but not least....I was impressed by the fact that every afternoon, at about 7-8 pm, a lady was coming to our room to check if we were in need of towels, toilet paper etc. And before leaving , she was giving to us a small chocolate!!!!
Although our general impression is great, I couldn't refer to 2 things we didn't like:
1. All the hotel restaurants are very, very expensive for the portions they offer.
2. We didn't like the fact that the receptionist asked us to pay the sum on our arrival...it was the first time I was told so in a hotel. It seems that our Greek origin played a big role...we felt that there was a lot of suspiciousness...at last, we paid 2 days before our departure and I am pretty sure that we were among the few, not to say, the only one, who paid such a big amount of money, in cash.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinnieThePooh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your experience with us. We kindly inform you that the prepayment of the stay is a general requirement for all guests that have made the reservation directly with the hotel, either by telephone, e-mail or fax, or through any other channel offering the guests the possibility of paying directly at the hotel. This requirement goes for everyone, regardless the origin or nationality of the guests. We are very happy to welcome guests from all over the world and deeply regret having given you that impression. For Hotel Botanico staff it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
25.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Property: Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing