We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from our sixth visit - as excellent as ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I previously published a review of this hotel following our last visit in 2011. We have just returned from our sixth visit since 2001 and found it as excellent as ever. All my previously published comments stand - the cleanliness, the attentive and friendly staff and the choice of fine food in the restaurants. There were some further enhancements since our last visit - free and reliable WiFi througout the hotel and new multi-jet power showers in the rooms we had. It was my wife's birthday during our visit. Without any prompting, the staff went out of their way to mark the occassion. I have no hesitation in giving this excellent hotel a first rate endorsement. We will certainly keep coming back!

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms in most parts of the hotel over the years - they have all been great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Martyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make once again such wonderful review about your last stay with us on Tripadvisor. Have guests as great as you is an honor, and it is a pleasure to read that we keep surprising you with an excellent service in every new stay. We are very happy that you appreciate all our services, and specialty our polite and helpful staff , we truly believe they are the strongest point of Hotel Botanico. We will keep improving our services, so you can find your next experience with even better. It would be a pleasure and a great honor to have you once again at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden as guest.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel December last year and decided to visit again June 2014,we were not disappointed.In fact it was better than last time mainly because it was not so busy,June /July out of
season.

The staff at this hotel cannot do enough for you from Gustavo Escobar,Director,Patricio Feier
,Director Sales and Marketing,Susana Alba Public Relations,Toni Vera Reception/Conserja,the
Breakfast Room Manager my apologies name escapes me,the Spa Staff,concierge,pool staff and Housekeeping,my apologies to any staff not mentioned,5star+ to all of you.Another point I should mention which I find amazing some of the staff remembered us from previous visit,incredible when you consider the footfall, it does make you feel that bit special.

We had the same room Ambassador Junior Suite with Sea View,very spacious and recommended.the standard of housekeeping was excellent,twice sometimes three visits/day.Generally speaking this hotel is spotless,from the fantastic gardens swept everyday, again the staff friendly,we went from breakfast everyday to the gardens for an hour and the staff would always say good morning etc,especially a lady,great laugh.The spa area again spotless,I had treatment for a bad back,very good.

Breakfast is superb if you cannot find what you want you must be from another planet,because if it's not out on view they will endeavour to get it for you,inside or by the pool the service is excellent,the pigeons can be a nuisance but you get that everywhere.Staff second to none as far as I am concerned.

Finally I consider this Hotel to be excellent value for money,you pays your money and take your chance but you are not taking a chance here,thank you Hotel Botanico for a wonderful time,we hope to see you again.HELLO TONI have a nice day,what a fabulous lady.

Room Tip: Ambassador Junior Suite with sea view,separate bathroom and shower,wardrobe and safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mervyncutting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen again Hotel Botanico for your stay in the north of Tenerife and for taking the time to make a so extensive and wonderful review about your visit. It is a pleasure to read that we have been able to offer you an even better experience this time, we always try to improve in each guest new stay. All the staff hotel works to leave the greatest feeling in our guests and it is great to read that all of us have been able to overpass your expectations. Your advices and review will be very useful for future guest and tripadvisor users, and for the Hotel Botanico staff it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here one night when we took a round trip around the island by car. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent. We got a welcome drink in the lobby and the picollo took care of our luggage and walked us to the room. We had a deluxe double room with sea view in the 4th floor. It was big, clean and nicely decorated.
One of the first thing we tried was the spa, which was amazing. We were welcomed by a nice lady who showed us around the whole spa area and informed us about all the treatments. There are five different saunas, three different bubblebaths and two pools. They also had a relaxing area with water beds. And the best thing, all of this is included! If you want treatments, you have to pay for it.
The breakfast had everything you can wish for, maybe the best hotel breakfast I have had.
All in all we had a fantastic stay at Hotel Botanico and we will definitly come back another time.
It is a bit expensive compared to other hotels at Tenerife but it's totally worth it and you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kristine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

We highly appreciate that you have taken a moment of your time to share with us your experience regarding your recent stay. Its been a pleasure to have you as guest and it´s great to read, that we have been able to surprise you with a great and friendly service. It is our goal is to offer our guests the best stay possible and to make it memorable one. Again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer experience at Hotel Botanico.

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Another month long visit to our 'second home'.
Always very enjoyable with quite outstandingly caring and courteous staff.
Housekeeping standards are first class as is the Oriental Spa where relaxing treatments are professionally administered by a team of well trained therapists.
A new entrance was being constructed during June and the noise was disruptive but Gustavo Escobar, who has now been Manager for over a year, handled our concerns with professionalism as we would have expected since we spend over 100 nights here each year.
Senator Suites with sea views are spacious and well equipped although bathrooms could do with a more modern look.
Breakfasts offer a wide choice and, while enjoyable, would be enhanced if there was more evidence of management supervision to sharpen up service standards which can be slack particularly if you choose to take breakfast prior to 9 a.m.
Menu improvements are underway in Papagallo ( Italian ) and La Parilla (International) restaurants but better cuisine and value can be found in a handful of really decent restaurants in Puerto de la Cruz...e.g. Rosa di Bari, Kafka ,La Herreria, La Boheme , Regulo etc. ( see reviews).
Botanico continues to attract regular clients who are likely to overlook the very poor exterior appearance of the far from modern building while delighting in the comfort and relaxation which awaits within.
Botanico is still the best hotel in the North of Tenerife and, with a few improvements and refinements, it will continue to attract discriminating and discerning clients.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LARGOBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we wish to thank you for your loyalty and trust towards Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden. It has been indeed our full pleasure and honour to welcome you back again and we all are already looking forward to your next visit. We are delighted and happy to hear that, once again, you have been pleased with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team, and the improves you mention will be taken in consideration. We are looking forward to seeing you, thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your travel experience with the online community on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,
Your second house, Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed 10th to 20th June.
We did not arrive until 1:30am at the hotel but the staff were fantastic and just wanted to get us to our rooms. We had adjoining rooms for me, my husband and daughter, this was a first as we normally get pushed in-together which is not ideal. The rooms were on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. The following morning we could really look at the place which had inspiring gardens with wonderful birds. I was most suitably impressed from start to finish. The spa in amazing and both me and my daughter enjoyed every minute. We booked bed breakfast & evening dinner which we were able to change to lunch served until 4:30pm whenever we felt like eating earlier. I would recommend this hotel for adults and people traveling alone . The restaurant theme of eating is a really good idea but unfortunately during our stay some work was going on in the hotel and the Canarian Restaurant was closed, this did not however affect us in any way. Pino on reception was a gem and advised us where to visit on this side of the Island eg Orotava and LaLaguna well worth a visit. The buses are easy to use so no need to hire a car but buy a Bono card from the shop across the road from the hotel as this gives you a fare discount if you use the buses a few times.

Room Tip: Pool rooms have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maz266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent holiday and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We always endeavor to fulfill the wishes and expectations of our guests, and it seems that during your stay we achieved our goal. We are very glad to read that our excellent team of staff has contributed to your wonderful experience at our hotel and we will make sure your compliments will be shared with the whole team. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near future at Hotel Botánico.

Yours sincerely.
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel Botanico is situated in a lovely location, quiet & well maintained, we had a 4th floor room which was clean & roomy with mini bar & additional nibbles, balcony with table & chairs, overlooking outside day time dining area & day time bar, outside pool & Teide in the distance. The gardens peaceful & nice little walks. Most staff were polite but need to remember some guests understand several languages. The food was good, fresh & well presented, restaurant food was limited & a tad on the expensive side, we ate out most nights choosing a variety of cuisines in many restaurants in the immediate area of the hotel & in Puerto, much better choice, value & atmosphere. Down side was definitely the evenings, the only bar open had loud live singing nightly & was virtually deserted of guests every night, singing to an empty room, shame really, seemed a little time warped, would have been nice to relax in a bar dotted around the area outside or in another part of the hotel where you could hear yourself speak. Little shops around the area specifically aimed at the vast numbers of German tourists. Visited many places using the local bus which is inexpensive & a great service, trams in Santa Cruz too, we purchased a pre paid Bono Bus ticket approximately €12 euro for several trips saved between 30 to 50% of the fare & can be used on the Bus, Tram & in some Museums, the little shop across from the hotel drive sells the Bono tickets, not open on a Sunday. All in all we enjoyed the experience, the hotel was lovely as was its location, loved travelling around exploring the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience at the Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden. Your complete review will be very useful for future guest and your opinion will be very useful to us, to improve our services. Our guest comments encourage us to continue improving and working hard focusing all our effort in guest service. It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back again and make your stay better.

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. I am very impressed and really happy with everything.
The hotel is lovely in terms of ambiance, and set in a lovely garden. There are many pools, I lost count. Indoor and outdoor. Also spa baths for all to use outside.
There were 2 main restaurants at the time that we visited. Italian and Thai. Both were really excellent. The breakfast is amazing as it caters to all tastes. I am gluten free and this was no problem, I even received a fresh baguette with lunch. Soya milk was available too so it really does cater to all.
This is a really good place to relax. The local town is ok, nice to wander around, but a bit touristy. Personally I prefer North Tenerife even though the weather can be a bit sketchy,
I cannot recommend this hotel enough and see no reason why we would not return. They provide the most excellent service too, and the spa is very good indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vijawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful holiday experience on Tripadvisor. It is always a great pleasure to read that a first time customer, has enjoyed a wonderful experience at our hotel and it is already thinking in coming back. We are proud to read that you found our rooms, food and staff of a high standard, our team tries to provide always the most personal and helpfull service. This show us that we are on the right track with our services and standards. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,844 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 60 in Costa Adeje
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £162 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing