We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't ask for a better honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 December 2009

we were welcomed at the hotel with yummy drinks at reception while checking-in, the check-in was fast and in no time, we arrived to our HUGE room!!! we couldnt believe that these were classic rooms! the bathroom was so luxurious, the view from the balcony was breathtaking. breakfast was excellent and we had a couples' spa package which was very relaxing.. we seriously couldnt have asked for a better honeymoon hotel

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank loola93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,646)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2009

Positive:
- very good breakfast buffet with a very good choice (there was even a Nespresso machine,which the guests used). It was quiet, distinguished and not hectic as it is sometimes the case in hotels. If the weather was a little bit too cold we sat inside next to the very beautiful birds in the glass cage.
- nice garden
- shuttle bus to the town
- birthday cake as it was our daughter’s birthday and we got a small bottle of sparkling wine

Negative:
- bad dinner on the very first evening. This was not really a surprise to us as we had read the reviews of previous hotel guests on tripadvisor.com (Thanks!). So we also did not dare to order room service. If we had got the impression that the meals are good we would have preferred eating in the hotel, at least sometimes. So we ate four times in the restaurant aguamarina (at C/ Marqués Vallanueva del Prado, 44, only a five-minutes walk from the hotel) and realized that also other hotel guests regularly came to this restaurant. The food was indeed good value. A three course menu cost only Euro 8.90. They also had fish (e.g. encebollado a la canaria at Euro 7.00), pasta (e.g. Spaghetti a la bolonesa at Euro 5.00) and pizza (e.g. calzone at Euro 6.50).
- The building is quite old and the interior is old fashioned, conservative and sometimes even shabby.
- Some hotel guests complained to the hotel manager that only one of the three hotel restaurants was open.
- Twice we had a problem with our room key and could not enter our room. At the reception we were told that this key was for another room.
- Once suddenly a guy was standing in our room. He had not knocked or used the door bell.
- No playground or other activity possibilities for children but it was obvious that the staff likes children.
- Very often the staff was unfriendly as if a smile would hurt. I have never experienced such a behaviour in a hotel of this class.
- The staff did not speak English well most of the time, which one should be able to except in such a hotel.
- We had our laptop with us but obviously the hotel guests principally had to pay for using the internet on the hotel PCs, which should not be the case.
- We had landed on the south airport and had previously asked the hotel to pick us up. They had informed us that a taxi from the airport to the hotel costs Euro
120.-- . We realized in the end that this price was an absolute rip-off for a 50 minutes ride. It would have been better not to make any reservation and to take any taxi at the airport, which would have cost around Euro 70 or 80 only.
- On the internet page it had been written that hotel guests do not have to pay for the entrance fee to the Loro park. When we got the tickets at the reception it was said that this not apply for our case as we had got a special price for the room. In our opinion this was a little bit small-minded.
- The weather was chilly when we were there. A taxi driver told us that the weather was indeed strange.

In can happen that two or even three things go wrong but as our overall impression was really not so good, we were disappointed of this hotel. As the weather was also too chilly, we therefore decided to leave the hotel after eight days instead of the booked 13 days. I am sorry to say but this hotel is not up to the official standard (anymore).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mueseli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We decided to take a break from the English weather and took the children to the island for their spring break. This hotel is located on the northern end of the island so if you fly into the south be prepared for the long (and expensive) taxi ride. The pool was great and the children had a blast. There was plenty of lounge chairs and a small cafe located next to the pool area. The gardens were beautiful and I truely enjoyed them. The spa was also very nice and dinner at the restaurant was authentic but that is where the good things about this hotel stop. When we checked in we were forced to purchase an additional room for the children because local fire laws prevented more than 3 people in a room (?) We were not notified at the time of booking of this requirement which was interesting as they accepted a reservation for 4 in one room. Needless to say, this was not a cost we had anticipated. The rooms were very small and it was good that we did get the additional room because there was no way to fit all our stuff in the one room. The beds were awful! I had to use the spa because my back hurt so bad. We did not spend much time inside the hotel at all. It is time for some renovations.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carribeandreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

I cannot praise the Hotel and the staff enough! We had a wonderful week, and apart from the restaurant (we only had one meal at the Thai restaurant, and that was enough) everything was marvellous. The breakfast buffet was superb, the gardens and hotel immaculate! We will be going back!
We tried various restaurants around the hotel and can recommend the Chinese "Shanghai" on C/ San Amaro - Urb. La Paz,15 which was excellent, as was the Italian opposite the Botanical Gardens on the roundabout five minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We have just spent a week at the Botanico (our second visit) and thoroughly enjoyed it. Can't agree with the negative reviews on the site - we had a great time. The staff in particular are marvellous - very helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The receptionist Pino summed it up when she said - " 'not possible' is not a phrase we use here at Botanico" - this was when we asked to change our half board arrangement for one night which was not straightforward for her to do but she sorted it out with a smile. Yes - it is a traditional hotel - not the most modern decor in the world - but it was well kept and seemed to be regularly refurbished. As it was a quiet time of year they had closed one of the floors and it was all being decorated.

We had one of the standard rooms overlooking the pool and Mount Teide. The rooms are a decent size, all with a small balcony. The only thing we would say about the room is that the bathroom was looking a little tired - probably the height of sophistication 15 years ago but now needs a bit of updating. If you go at a quiet time of year as we did I wouldn't recommend shelling out for a suite or penthouse - you don't really need the facilities of a private terrace with sunbeds as you will always be able to get space round the pool or in the spa garden. However, you might consider the penthouses if you are there in peak season.

We particularly enjoyed the spa. The thermal circuit is included (unlike other places we have stayed which charge an arm and a leg to use it) and was well-maintained. We found the sauna quite hot enough!

We also got very good service from the Concierge and Reception - Toni was a joy - always greeted us like long-lost friends whenever we went to ask something!

We like the town and went down there both in the daytime and in the evening. There are quite a few good places to eat, although some are very touristy - but there are also good places very hear the hotel. Tucan (mentioned in a previous review) is great, also Bacco.

We ate in the hotel's 3 different restaurants for 3 nights and enjoyed all of them. Prices were about what we expected for a 5 star hotel. The breakfasts are very good - probably the best we have experienced. A huge buffet, with cook-to-order as well. And the bonus of very hot water in thermos pots brought to you so you could have a good cuppa!

Overall a very nice place to stay with excellent service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

My husbadn and I stayed ta this hotel March/April 2007- should have put my review on ages ago- anyway we went for two weeks on half board. The hotel is set in Puerto de la Cruz towards the back of the resort near the botanical gardens. It is nicely furnished and the rooms were pleasant. Our balcony overlooked the main pool area and gardens towards Mount Teidi, which you could see on a clear day. The gardens are beautifully kept with a large pond with fish and swans. There were largish bird cages at the back with various tropical birds in them- not sure about this. The main pool also had a pool bar which served snacks (expensive and not that good) in the day. The hotel offered a buffet breakfast which was good with plenty of choice. There was an Italian, an Oriental, and an International restaurant in the hotel and being on half board we could eat at any of the three for dinner which was great. There was also a spa area which had a lovely quieter pool for adults only and a very quiet gym. There was also an indoor pool at the spa and various treatments rooms eg sauna and steam room etc. which guests could use. You only paid for actual treatments eg massages. The hotel is rated as a five star which I suppose it is, it is quite elegant but I did find some of the staff unhelpful and unfriendly and the prices for drinks in the bar on the high side. It took approx 20 mins to walk down to the centre of Puerto and a bit longer to walk back up! There was a hotel shuttle bus during the day. Puerto is quite spanish, they were digging up alot of the resort when we were there but it must be completed now. There are lots of cafes, restaurants and shops and a lovely lido right on the seafront. There is a beach of dark sand, but the lido is nicer. We hired a car for a week but Tenerife is big and so to get to the southern resorts it takes about an hour and the roads are big busy roads. Weather was mixed, it can be in the north because of Mount Teidi.

Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
Thank liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Just spent a week here.

The great things:
- spa (as everyone else also notes)
- Ambassador suite (large, great bathroom, lovely balcony)

Terrible:
- service / quality standards especially in catering. Do not go if you have any pretensions to liking / understanding wine for example
- staff were not particularly friendly, poor level of english spoken by reception in particular for a 5* hotel
- prices, some were ludicrous - we ordered a CHILD'S portion of spagetti from room service and were charged Euro 19!

Also, not necessarily terrrible, but I would definitely not recommend with children. We knew there were no specific kids activities (which is fine) but clientele is pretty elderly / intolerant of even very mild noise / anyone moving more quickly than you can get around with a zimmer frame!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJCChiswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
798 reviews
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 59 in Costa Adeje
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £138 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing