We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Botanico is the perfect retreat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
United Kingdon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel Botanico is the perfect retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Hotel Botanico is the perfect retreat - I stayed there alone for my birthday in November 2010 and when I looked out of my room on my birthday it was magical - the sun was emerging above the mountains and the conifer trees surrounding the pool I overlooked completed the picture. It is a lovely hotel but if you don't intend using the spa facilities extensively you wont get the best out of your stay - the spa is truly amazing - it was built after the main hotel so it is much smarter than the main pool area, which in my opinion does let the hotel down - it's certainly not what the 5 star rating was judged on. I was also pleasantly surprised by the surrounding area - the hotel is just a stones throw from lots of little shops, cafes and restaurants - the brochure stated the hotel 'was in a residential area' so I was delighted to be able to browse and frequent the shops, cafes and restaurants. Northern Tenerife is renowned for being cloudy which it was - but when the sun did come out it was quite lovely. If you are hoping for sun every day maybe the north may not be what you are after. I would definitely go back to Hotel Botanico and would recommend it to anyone wanting 'an away from it all holiday'

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatR0che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    241
    65
    22
    20
See reviews for
318
877
67
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

If you are considering to book the Botanico, then do it! You won't be disappointed. As soon as you arrive the staff can't do enough for you, the hotel has a spacious feel with a lovely pools and restaurant area set in the most beautiful gardens. The rooms are not massive but have all amenities, even a choice of pillows. You hear a bit of traffic noise at times as its set in a residential/restaurant area near the Botanical Gardens but not far from the centre of Porto de la Cruez and its coastline as well as Mount Teide, Golf Courses and the famous Lorque Park.
The food is so good, especially breakfast offers a large choice of all you could fancy; even a chocolate fountain!
But the best was the Spa. It is really something out of this world with its Oriental feel and you want to spend several hours there every day. From the Thermal Circuit (great when the weather clouds over a bit) to heavenly treatments, Yoga, Stretching, Toning and Thai Chi classes, a gym and warm outside pool and jacuzzi to the amazing treatments on offer with a rest on the open air heated waterbeds afterwards.... It is pure bliss and you come home feeling so much better, even after a weekend break like ours. We will certainly return - it's a gem!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

It’s funny how different sets of people can see the same thing at the same time so completely differently. My wife and I have just returned from a seven night stay at Hotel Botanico and, for us, it was a slice of heaven. We are professionals in our 30s who, through a combination business and leisure, have had the pleasure of staying in some of the most luxurious hotels you can imagine and this place is right up there with the best of them. From the moment we arrived the pampering and personal attention started with very warm welcome from the multi-lingual staff (they spoke numerous languages - some staff spoke more, some staff spoke less but all were able to commununicate clearly) and glass of cold mango juice before we headed up to our room with our bags following us up a few moments later. Awaiting us in the room was a bottle of fizz as I had mentioned it was our belated honeymoon as well as a lovely view of the gardens and the Ocean.

This attention to detail followed through with every dealing we had with the hotel and their staff from room service to housekeeping to waiting staff to the concierge or the pool team thru the breakfast greeters and door people... the politeness and “can’t do enough for you” attitude was present throughout. Every evening we got a turn down, fresh water for the room, ever morning the room got a good clean and the facilities were SPOTLESS! There are few hotels as clean as this one and I bet 90 per cent of homes never get this clean either. The breakfast spread every morning was so fresh and there was such a wide choice of meats, cheeses, cooked – with omelettes, crepes and fried eggs even cooked to order, breads, fruits, juices, teas, coffees... whatever you wanted they had, or would do their best to get it for you, and it tasted SO good. We didn’t try the restaurants in the evening and due to the price so we can’t comment on that but lunch by the pool was entirely acceptable and very tasty (I recommend the Grilled Sardine Sandwich – YUM!). Sure, it’s more expensive to eat IN than OUT but what do you expect? It’s a hotel! That’s what hotels do!

We spent a good bit of time in the Spa area and it was a delight and all the treatments we had were well worth the price tag – I recommend the Traditional Thai Massage in the outside Pagoda and the Volcanic Stones Facial. The evening activities we tried were a great way to meet other guests – we especially liked the Sherry Tasting and the Welcome Cocktail Evening.

The mix of guests staying when we were there was very varied in age and nationality ranging from families (very well behaved ones) to 20-somethings from France, the UK and Holland through to 70-year-old+ Germans, Spaniards and Americans so that, to me, is a great cross section. Even as we checked out at the end of our stay the management came out of the office to say goodbye and the front desk staff shook our hands and wished us well hoping we’d come back again. We will be coming back for sure.

Is this a centrally located hotel? No, but that’s the beauty of it and why it is so calm and peaceful yet it still so easy to get to other places. There is plenty to do nearby with a choice of some great low cost, low glitz but none the less absolutely delicious dining (including some gorgeous tapas) just across the street from the hotel, the Botantic Gardens are about three minutes walk from the hotel, there is a courtesy bus into Puerto plenty of times a day (apart from weekends and national holidays) and loads of buses nearby that will take you into town or all over the island plus taxis are reasonable and bountiful. Nothing to see or do? Hardly. We recommend the Wine Museum (La Baranda) which is about 15 minutes in a cab or you can take the 101 bus from round the corner – do the tasting and make sure you eat in the patio restaurant there as the food is stunning; Loro Parque (owned by the same people as the hotel apparently) is a very pleasant day out (although maybe not so much in high season) and it’s about 10 minutes in a cab and it is a spotless too – if you eat here we recommend Casa Pepe; or how about exploring some of the old town (much nicer than the downmarket touristy bit) or the Contemporary Art Exhibit in the Tourist Office Building or spending some time on the beach? In the Old Town there are so many great places to eat (assuming you don’t want Brit Abroad style food under a 7 Up umbrella!) including Papaya and La Tasquita de Min (no frills but amazing food and some very nice wine even on a list limited to 5/6 options!). The locals are so friendly and very tolerant/patient/encouraging when we tried to speak Spanish which was very much appreciated.

As far as the weather goes, and this is by no means ever guaranteed, we went Oct 28 through Nov 4 and had one cloudy day but all the others were highs of 24/26 degrees – even my wife who doesn’t ever tan came back with a healthy colouring! Sure, this hotel is classic/traditional/old school in its styling and presentation but this belated honeymoon was everything we could have hoped for and more. The team at Hotel Botanico are world class and we can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TommoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

Money is hard earned these days, and if you booked a holiday to stay here, you would be really disappointed, as we were. We have stayed at numerous 5 star hotels throughout Tenerife and the other Islands, and this one is certainly the worst, by a mile. We booked half board, but the food is a disgrace. Fortunately the Manager was on his rounds, when he came to say hello at our dining table. We had literally just been handed our main course after waiting an hour and half, and it was absolutely disgusting. He saw it first hand and apologised. From then on, we ate out and that was much better at half the price. The chamber service is almost non existant. If you don't let them in at 6pm to change your towels, they won't come back. No one speaks English, and there are very few English speaking people here, mostly old Germans (65 to 80 years). The only good thing is the Spa. It's expensive, but the treatments are great. The building is old, but definitely not grand. It desperately needs a refurbishment, inside and out. The other good thing is the outside pool water was warm (heated). Weather in the North (here) in November was not good, so very little to see or do. Took over an hour to get here. WE WILL NEVER RETURN!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VMaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
222 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

We normally couldn't afford to stay here but we had a package deal for the World Parrot Congress which made it affordable. The hotel is just incredible, beautiful gardens, impeccable service (they cleaned twice a day), great breakfast buffet and free internet. It's not wifi, they will bring you a cable for 10 EUR deposit and refund it when you give it back. We stuffed ourselves silly on the breakfast and didn't need to eat until dinner, maybe just a snack. There is a supermarket across the road to get cheap snacks and sodas. I love that there were wild parrots in the grounds-Quakers and Amazons-an extra bonus for bird lovers who may be coming to Loro Parque. We will be back for the next conference in 2014!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tikibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Just returned from a trip to Tenerife.

Our flights were delayed and we had a problem finding this hotel in our hire car. (Its at the top of the resort just near the botanical gardens a long way from most of the hotels). Make sure you take good instructions on location as sat nav did not get it right. Must add the hotel put up a new sign on the main road while we were there.

The night staff were very helpful and checked us in with a smile and even parked the car.

The room was clean and comfortable (missing tea and coffe making) and the bathroom was large and always emaculate, including bathrobes and slippers to use while you are there. Room service turned down the beds and emptied the bins in the evening.

We were on bed and breakfast and could not fault the spread available for breakfast. Eating in the hotel was pricey but there are plenty of places to eat near the hotel.

The hotel has two outdoor pools and we usually used the main pool where a lovely man puts up the umbrella and spreads your towels on the comfortable pool bed. It evens has two covered swinging beds.

We had a late flight and we were able to get a late check out.

The hotel is not a cheap option but I think if you are looking for somewhere above the norm Botanico is a good choice. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tconUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Just returned from two week break at Botanico Tenerife, a stunning hotel which incidently recently came 2nd in the best hotel in Spain which speaks for itself. You need not leave the hotel if the purpose is to just chill. We made full use of the superb Spa Garden with its thermal rooms and spa circuit which are second to none and feature in the 'Best Spa's in The World' book. Excellent gym with very modern equipment. The gardens are stunning along with the water gardens and masses of Koi carp to just amble through. For plant lovers the Botanical Gardens of Tenerife are literally just over the road to roam for a couple of hours, just 3 euro entry! We decided to go half board and were not dissapointed, the Italian and Spainish restaurants served a top class menu, but the Thai Restaurant was our favourite half board includes vritually everything on the menu, the food was outstanding! Breakfast served absolutely everything you could think of.Oone downfall was the extortionate prices of drinks but then it is a 5* hotel. Staff were incredible not able to do enough for you and alwalys had a welcome for you, management came to chat on a daily basis to ensure everything was satisfactory and took on board any comment,. many of the people we met had been on repeat visits for as much as 25 years which is quite a testament to the hotel! My husband and myself both celebrated a birthday during our stay, each of us received bubbly and a delicious cake on the day. We would certainly go back without hesitation!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lythamwindmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
22.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
25.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
22.9 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
24.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Property: Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing