We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware when you book that the hotel advertised is not this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Trianflor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Trianflor
Ranked #75 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just returned from staying at this hotel after a 2 weeks stay. Firstly this hotel is not the one advertised on the internet, please be aware that the one advertised is the hotel opposite and you are not allowed to use their facilities. This hotel is not a 4* it is probably an average 2* The hotel itself is very clean and tidy and we were given a 2 bedroom apartment which was huge and cleaned everyday with clean towels and the maid always made an effort with the children's beds by displaying their toys and teddy bears nicely. Food.. we booked all inclusive because we thought we could save some money for other activities such as days out, but the food was not good, we always had breakfast but I had egg on toast everyday as the menu contained pizza and chips, meatballs, fried eggs and scrambled eggs, fruit and bread and toast.
lunch and dinner was much the same everyday, chips, pork and fish, rice. we ate out almost every night. The hotel is located in a great position for all amenities such as bars and restaurants and the main square which is great full of restaurants with live music and a children's play area. The hotel swimming pool is located at the top of the hotel (floor 8). The swimming pool is fine and the children enjoyed using it but we often visited the beach or the 8 sea water pools which is only 10 minutes walk away and is fantastic. we would visit Puerto De la Cruise again just for these. The pool bar in the hotel only open from 11-1pm then you have to get in the lift and get drinks from the bar 8 floor down. This hotel is very spanish orientated and they seem to get priority over everything, however the staff were fine and the older lady on reception was lovely and very helpful. If you want a hotel for its location and cleanliness then book here on a BB only. The food around the resort is fairly priced and there are some lovely restaurants and bars. If you want a fabulous steak visit the Taurus steak house near to the main square it is reasonably priced and the fillet steak is to die for. Also the Italian restaurant Zebra Maria is another must visit, it is a climb up but we got a taxi for 3 euros on our second visit. I would definitely visit the resort again but I would not stay at this hotel, its a shame because it does not require too much work to make it a good hotel.

Room Tip: if you have a family ask for room 2211 but be aware as this is at the front of the hotel and is quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

I have just returned from Dania Park with my daughter for a 10 night all-inclusive stay at the hotel. First of all I have no links with the hotel nor do I have any axe to grind..... Unfortunately I feel that some people writing reviews on here may have exactly that. I can't believe the amount of moaning by some people and the negativity shown to this hotel.
For not a lot of money, you get get a clean hotel serving excellent food and generously portioned drinks all with efficiency and a smile! The hotel was not busy when we went so it was easy to get a sun-bed by the pool.
When we arrived we were ushered straight to the restaurant because lunch was due to end....an instant nice touch. Then we made our way to our room. The room was clean and spacious. I did not run my finger across the top of the wardrobe in search of dust because I am not a wierdo! The air con worked fine and their was a tv - Somebody actually complained in one review that the their tv only received 4 channels!!!! For goodness sake STAY AT HOME!
The staff work their backsides off and with a smile. The poolside bar is open from 10am until 6pm with a break for lunch - this is so that the barman can go and work in the restaurant before rushing back to the pool bar. From 6pm the downstairs bar stays open until 11pm. Some reviewer on here actually complained that 'brand' name beers and spirits were not included in the all inclusive package!!! For goodness sake STAY AT HOME!
The restaurant was typical of all inclusive restaurants. Breakfast was either continental or cereals. The warm selection was ham, beans, sausages (of the hot dog type), eggs, toast etc. You help yourself to drinks - coffee, fruit juices and water. There was always fruit of offer. For lunch and dinner there was the salad bar and always 3 pasta type dishes. The warm section was always veg, pasta/paella, fish, pork, a 'guest' meat, garlic breads, Canarian potatoes and a rotating special. Drinks, again serve yourself, red/rose/white wine, beer, water, sparkling water, orange, coke and lemonade. People have moaned like mad about the food and drink in this hotel..... For goodness sake, you are in a foreign country, do not expect Danish bacon and Cumberland sausage! wouldn't it be easier to simply STAY AT HOME?
The power went off in our room a couple of times and the receptionist followed me straight to the room and sorted the problem....with a smile.
The hotel, like the town of Costa De La Cruz, mainly caters for Spanish holiday makers. Personally I like this, I don't want to be just with English people on holiday, if you prefer all English comforts then I would recommend going to the south of the island. The hotel entertainment reflects this so again, if you want nightclubs, karaoke bars and late nights then the south of the island would be a more appropriate destination. The hotel is a short walk from the main square with lots of restaurants and bars around it mainly used by Spanish families. It is safe to walk around late at night but things go pretty quiet after 1am.
As a summery, I feel a little cross that people are having a moan at a hotel that really tries it's best to make your holiday comfortable. No Dania Park is not a 5* luxury hotel with which caters for all ages and needs....you need to pay a lot of money to get one of those! But what Dania Park does not deserve is a nasty slagging off by people with unrealistic expectations....for goodness sake people...STAY AT HOME!
Dania Park even let us stay in our room on our day of departure until our return transfer at 7pm...at no extra cost. Fair enough the hotel was not full but even so, nobody can complain at that kind of service.
Well done Dania Park and thank you for all your hard work in making our stay in Costa De La Cruz very pleasurable.

Room Tip: The sea views do not get any sun. The mountain views facing the street are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
25  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were rather horrified when we looked at the reviews after booking our last minute deal to Trianflor. We decided to make the most of it and decided that if all else failed, we would just drink more. However, we got to Trianflor at about 11.30pm and were warmly welcomed and shown a cold dinner of ham, salad bread and cheeses plus a bottle of wine. That set us off in a good mood.
The next morning we got up and explored. The hotel is spotlessly clean, and remained this way for the whole holiday. Towel/bedding changed every day, whole room including glass/mirrors cleaned. My husband sometimes forgot to lock the safe and nothing was taken.

The pool area is on top of the roof which is a bit freaky if you look over the side and like me you don't like heights.It was also quite small. You can also play mini golf as long as you put down a returnable deposit. There are table tennis tables as well but we didn't use them. The hot tub was empty for the whole of our stay.

The food is fresh and mostly consisted of fresh salads and vegetables with fish and 1 or 2 other meats available each day. There was loads of fruit to eat and a selections of cakes/pastries each meal time. You could help yourself to wine and beer as well as soft drinks. We liked the food because we are not fussy and are happy to eat different things, however a lot of the Brits complained and said they couldn't find anything to eat.

There was no entertainment in the evening. If like us, you have a child who you would normally put into a kids club, or disco in the evening then you will be disappointed, as were we. It did get a bit boring with nothing to go to in the evening so we went into town a few times. Town is cheap and there are lots of bars with live music.

Overall this hotel is not a 4 star, more like a 2/3 star. Highlights for us was the cleanliness and the fresh, good quality food. Negatives was the lack of entertainment or things to do for the children in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank calendula2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just come back from a 5 day All Inclusive stay at the Elegance Dania Park, the Hotel Trianflor is opposite the Dania however the the review page for the dania links here.

After booking our holiday, we looked at the reviews for the hotel and became concerned with how negative they all were however I can honestly say that we had a great holiday and have few bad things to say about the place.

Arrival
After our outbound flight was delayed we arrived a few hours later than expected and got to the resort around 4am. Check In was smooth and we were asked if we wanted any food before going to the room. The food was very standard and included sandwiches and salad however the thought of offering the food even at 4am was nice. They did not inform us of the meal times or bar times so had to go back down and ask the next day.

Hotel + Bedroom
There are 7 floors to the hotel. The eating area is on the -1 level with the lobby and evening bar being located on floor 0. Floors 1-5 are bedrooms then floor 6 is where you have access to the 2 pools, jacuzzi and sun-loungers. The whole hotel is very clean and our bedroom had been cleaned by 11am.
The bedroom had 2 single beds that were pushed together to make a double, a good sized bathroom and a small balcony. The view from our room wasnt great, however there was only a small amount of rooms that I would say had a chance of a 'seaview'. We couldnt seem to get the safe working but didnt bother querying about it. The shower was nice and powerful and the water a good temperature.

Restaurant + Bar
Breakfast was served until 9.30 and there was a good variety of food. The hot food I tried was not great with the scrambled egg being runny and the bacon being quite fatty however the eggs seemed alright. They had a good range of pastries and breads and had a couple of cereals and some yogurt.
Lunch and dinner seemed quite similar. They always had different meats and fish to choose from then some sort of pasta or rice and things like chips, garlic bread and soup. The paella was really nice and the pork they cut infront of you was lovely. The veal they had on the one day was quite tough however I think that was the only bit of food I left out for being bad quality.
They had a couple of choices for drinks. With breakfast there was some juices and a choice of hot drinks then with Lunch or Dinner you could have the addition of beer, wine or fizzy drinks. The glasses/cups were quite small and this meant that you would have to refil a good few times with every meal.

Pools + Pool Bar + Sunloungers
There are 2 pools and a jacuzzi. The water isnt the warmest however you get used to it after a minute or so.
The pool bar is strange in the fact that it closes when lunch is on which means you have to go all the way down to the restaurant if you want a drink during this time which was annoying. There was only ever 1 member of staff serving at a time which was fine at the start of our holiday however on the last 2 days the hotel got quite busy and at times ended up queuing for 20 minutes for a drink. They are nice and generous with measures and are fine with you getting 3/4 drinks at a time to save queuing again.
It was only on the last day of the holiday that we went to put out our towels early to get a sunlounger as the hotel had got considerably busier then. On all the other days we would get up to the pool about 10.30 and had no trouble getting a sunlounger with a cushion.

Entertainment
This is what let the hotel down. The only form of entertainment that the hotel had was a keyboard player that was rather repetitive. They put music on later in the night however this was loud and there was no way of having a conversation without shouting. There was also no outdoor space to have a drink and relax in the evening. If they had cleared the sunloungers from the roof and replaced them with tables and chairs + opened the pool bar, this would have gave a nice place to go of an evening.

Overall
The hotel gave a great place to stay during our holiday and I think it is unfairly reviewed by others. To bring the hotel up to a 4 star level they need to keep the pool bar open all day and change the pool area to a seating area of a night-time. For what we paid for 5 night (£375pp) it was great value and I would recommend it to others.

Positives
Good variety of food
Variety of drinks
Very clean
Lots of sunloungers

Negatives
Nowhere to sit outside in the evening
Fruit selection could be improved
Hot food at breakfast could be improved
Pool bar opening times are awkward

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

just got back from 2 week all inclusive--very disappointed--This hotel is stated as 4 star--be lucky to get a 1 star
all pics showing this hotel are of hotel dania park which is opposite which we were not allowed to use the facilities there
there is only 1 pool at hotel Magek not 4 --the other pools shown are in dania Park
Hot Tub is broke
Jakuzi--?? over road of course at Dania park
No entertainment--its in Dania park
Pool bar shown--is in Dania park--hotel magek only opens pool bar for 2 hours in the morning so we had to keep going on the lift to fetch drinks
It is like a morgue--no music playing most of the time
Wi-Fi--didn't work most the time
TV --old tv in bedroom --Spanish channels only had BBC news channel
only 1 plug socket so difficult to charge phones etc as this is the one that tv is plugged in to

Food is awfull--what you have for evening meal is always on the buffet next day for breakfast
Food is very Spanish /limited choice of menu and luke warm--we had to heat it up in a microwave which on 2nd week was unplugged so hot food was then completely out of the question/Food had flies flying round/ stale bread /repetitive--pork/gammon/rabbit / chicken--left-overs always appearing on next meal time
snacks were cake left uncovered on the pool bar or toasieved we were coming to a luxury hotel--what a joke ted sandwich
the list goes on--DONT BOOK
Also Not child friendly at all--I felt sorry for families booked in there as there is absolutely nothing there for kids/ no menu even that caters for kids
Our door card didn't work 7 times --receptionists were quite rude when they had to keep sorting new cards/ tried to blame us for the cards not working/ we were at times told to wait by the door for up an hour / one night we were even unable to lock our door
Only good thing I can say is that the rooms were clean and that we met a lot of lovely people who were in the same situation as what we were --We All believed we were coming to a luxury hotel--what a joke

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 93sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

just come back from an 11 day all inclusive holiday at the Trainflor hotel, we believed we was getting a 4 * holiday clearly we didn't get this, as soon as you spoke to people they all felt the same. when we first arrived wasn't given any information on times of meals, drinks ( bottle water are available to take out, snacks at the bar, picnic that you can have if going out for the day (ask at reception) was under the impression there was several pools on offer this wasn't the case due to not having the sister hotels as advertised , entertainemnt ( even music would have been nice around the pool and in the bar area, if you asked for music in the bar he would put it on but then put the TV on so couldn't hear the music) was told it is a 4* hotel because it has satalite TV there is just 1 very small satalite TV in the bar area, you have an old type TV in your bedroom with spanish channels and 2 news channels. So no entertainment at ALL as advertised
When going on holiday we love trying the local food but found the food was repetative e.g if pork / gammon type meat was on for the evening meal it would be on for breakfast / lunch the next day, the food wasn't warm you had to warm it up in the microwave which wasn't cleaned after every meal time, it seemed like ofal was always on the menue ( cheap horrible meats)
Flys around the salad area the food wasn't under a cooler / covered ., mouldy grated cheese
the pool area: there was only 5 parasols no way near enough to go around, 1 x small pool wasn't sutible for small children. The bar at the pool area opened from 11am until 13:00hrs you can get snacks (toastie sandwich only)oh yes cakes that are just left on a plate with flies around them, after 13:00hrs you had to mess about going downstairs for drinks to take upstairs messing about, sncks available in bar area not sure what you got saw some one eating chunky chips) if you got the only miserable bar staff then don't expect him to speak or even smile or rush, the all inclusive drinks finish at 23:00hrs on the dot, after that you have to buy drinks but only until mid night ( don't sit out side after 23:30hrs he makes you come inside even though you are sat quiet finishing your drinks sports activities you have to pay for (tennis 10 euros ,don't ask to go kick a ball on the tennis court this will still cost you 10 euros, table tennis the bats look like they need replaying, nothing for the kids to do.with in the hotel ( go to loro parque very enjoyable )
the rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed every day so can't fault the maids they work very hard, The patio door was so stiff to open.the locks on the outer door didn't lock very well apparently the maids leave your patio door open but we never had this happen to us we were told someone had there belongings stolen and the hotel receptionist didn't want to know so sent them to the police to deal with it
It does advertised that a Tia massage this is not on site you have to phone them to come / hair dressers never saw them. they will do your laundry at a cost not sure how much
We went to the lido just down the road which is well worth it 5euros 50 cent (for adult) for the day 10am - 18:00hrs 2euro 50 cent for a parasol which you need to get as soon as you get in because these go quickly. sun bedsand mats are free. you can take your own food in if you want
We met some lovely people and enjoyed ourselves despite been mis sold a 4* holiday

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank beverley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just come back from a 10 day all inclusive at this hotel. The only good thing about this hotel was the maid service, really clean indeed.
The negatives - Food horrible, pizza and chips dont go down well from breakfast, bread rolls rock hard and dry and dont get me start on the rest of the food. Most days I would walk in and walk straight back out again. Ate out most days.

The pictures of the pool and pool bar that all websites are showing are wrong, the pool they show are of the hotel opposite which use to be the sister hotel but is not anymore.

The pool is small, jacuzzi is broke, never been plumbed in.
Pool bar only open 2 hours a day, 11am til1pm.
No music by pool and hardly at the bar.
Main bar shuts at 12pm but between 11pm and 12 whether your all inclusive or not you pay for your drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#43 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#70 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Hotel Perla Tenerife
#45 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#21 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#50 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trianflor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trianflor

Address: Calle Cupido s/n | Puerto de la Cruz, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dania Magec Resort)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#29 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £22 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Trianflor 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a central area just 500 meters from the Plaza del Charco, the Hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying a pleasant stay in Tenerife-Puerto de la Cruz. Around the hotel you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and just 50 meters away there is a guagas (bus) and taxi station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Trianflor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dania Magec Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Dania Magec
Hotel Trianflor Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing