We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful park Atmosphere away from the Hustle”

Parque Tajinaste Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto de la Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parque Tajinaste Apartments
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 29 May 2007

We stayed at the Parque Tajinaste for two weeks, self catering back in 2004.

Its appealing pics in the brochure drew us to the are as we were hoping to try Tenerife again but away from the chaos of Playa de Las Americas.

The grounds are indeed immaculate with beautiful tropical flowers trees and neatly trimmed lawns. The pool is a fair size and the poolside bar accomodating. The rooms were cool and roomy - enough for two with a small kitchenette, ceiling fan and TV. Maids visisted probably 4 times per week. They changed the beds twice a week. As for towels they do ask you to use your own discretion i.e dry them yourself and only change if you really have to - environmentaly concious Hotel!

Right next door to the hotel is a small but beautiful orchidarium with sub tropical plants of all description. They charge about £4 to get in but its a lovely way to spend the odd hour if you are the green fingered type.

The staff are very helpful and speak English to a fairly high degree. We did meet the famous or infamous security guard who is indeed a stickler for the rules. However he is friendly enough and does make sure you are safely to your door at night with a pleasant Buenos Noche.

The hotel was situated about 200 uphill from the first part of the resort and be prepared - you will need to have sturdy legs to walk up and down this resort as it teeters on the top of a very high cliff (excellent view point) and trickles down countless steps to the city centre below. The top of the resort is o.k but a bit like Berlin on Sea or a mini Rotterdam. i.e. lots of Dutch, Germans and Swedish etc. The bars are fine and again everyone speaks the lingo regardless so don't be afraid pop in for a drink on the way down to the Brit and Irish bars further down.

I would certainly agree with the point of walking down but unless you are Paula Radcliffe or some kind of pain lover I would definately NOT attempt walking back up especially in the height of the day. Guaranteed agony, dehydration and tears. The taxi is aboy 3 Euros and you are back at the hotel in no time. You will find them situated on the main road down into the town.

The resort itself is varied and cosmopolitan with all kinds of shops selling fashion such as Mango etc to the high spanish designers and Lladro and the more up market brands of jewellers and leather outlets. Plus your standard nick nack tacky cack touristy shops.

Wander down through the town and take in some of the lovely spanish piazza, terraza's and squares where all ages congregate. The town has history further down into the harbour with the 15Century merchants house and harbour house. There are some pretty good restaurants down here.

All in all a good resort for those who don't mind the walk and trying something new instead of your traditional Brit Bars and Egg'n'Chips.

Loro Parque is a must - absolutely fantastic plus the yellow train will pick you up and run you back to the town centre for free. Lido Martianez is huge with plenty of room for all. Nostromo is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JINKYSDRAGONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2006

My wife and I have just returned after a fabulous two week break at the Parque Tajinaste. We have stayed here before and therefore knew what to expect and we're delighted to report that standards have not slipped. The apartment we were allocated was HUGE. A large living area, separate bathroom and kitchen which came complete with a fridge freezer and dishwasher. We had a large balcony area which overlooked the pool and although we stayed in the second two weeks of August neither the pool or the complex were busy. The shop / bar is rather small but given all of the other excellent shops and restaurants around it has all you would require (restaurants of note are Magnolia and La Terrace, both serving excellent food with first class service). The staff at Parque Tajinaste were very friendly and welcoming esp Maria in the bar who always greeted us with a cheery "Hola". All in all a great place to take a relaxing break. As some of the other reviewers have commented it's not ideal for families as the only "laid on" entertainment is the pool. However, the Spanish families staying when we were there seemed more than happy and the children very well behaved. We're delighted we went back and will certainly be back - we are even looking into buying an apartment so you can't get a better recommendation than that.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2006

As first time visitors to Tenerife, my wife and I were suitably impressed with both the top floor studio apartment and it's location with a panoramic view over the pool and gardens all the way to ther volcano. Staff and services were firts class and we will have no hesitation in making a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 19Del41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2005

We stayed at Parque Tajinaste for a week Feb 4-11 2005 and overall really enjoyed it. The apartments are situated 10-15 mins uphill walk from the town centre, but we were aware of that when booking, but this may put off anyone with mobility problems (or an aversion to walking uphill).

The week was deliberately timed to coincide with Carnival, and it was a great backdrop to our holiday. We went to parades through the town centre, and entertaiment at the Plaza Europa and Plaza Charco. It was just a shame we missed the final parade on Sat 13 but a week was all our time allowed. All the locals seem to join in Carnival and get dressed up and the atmosphere is wonderful.

We took 2 trips while on holiday. We had gone with Airtours and booked their trip to the Sunday market at Los Cristianos; it was tacky and repetitive and plagued by timeshare touts; there were decent places to eat but it was hard to find them if you wanted more than the "English pub food" phenomenon. I was later told there is a better Sunday market at Santa Cruz.

A Miller Travel tour round the island turned out to be a Blanket Trip, with the first 4 hours taken up with a bus ride to their HQ a pathetic lunch and a lengthy demonstration of their blankets. I have nothing against their bedding, in fact I was quite impressed, but be sure you don't mind putting up with this if you want a cheap (9 Euro) day trip. The only Miller trip without a blanket trip is to La Gomera, at 45 Euros, which sounded quite good. After the demonstration we had a quick look at a dragon tree, a lunch stop, a pleasant bus ride round some of the south-west before a boat trip at which the promised whales n dolphins missed their cue, and then up the eastern motorway past the airport back to Puerto. Still, 9 Euros; what can you expect?

Our apartment was on the main road, featuring traffic and a lack of sun, but they moved us to a better one as soon as they could, and given we wanted to be out and about as much as possible this didn't affect our holiday. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't use the pool but plenty of people did, and the little cafe/bar beside it was pleasant for breakfast or a quick coffee or glass of wine. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff.

Our favourite tapas place was Arcon, close to Charco. The Chocolate dessert was lovely! There was a friendly bar called Fragata on the other side of the square. Cafe Royal in the town centre was pleasant.

Best day out was Loro Parque. 22 Euros, well worth the money. Lots of things to look at, good places to eat, shows with dolphins, sea-lions and parrots. We were there from 11am to 6pm so saw most of it. There is a "road-train" from the centre of Puerto albeit it's not the most comfortable way to travel (try not to be tall!).

It rained on 3 of the full 6 days we had, and the day before we left was torrential. I would not let this put you off though; other tourists said they had been going there for 20 years and had never seen anything like it.

Tajinaste is close to the botanical gardens which are well worth a look. We often started our days with breakfast at the Botanical Gardens Bar or the Bistro Europa opposite its entrance, very friendly. In the evenings the bar is very much a local with customers playing dominoes and watching Canarian TV, we found it a nice place to chill after a hard days touristing and their food is good and predictably cheaper than in the town centre (though we found the prices reasonable everywhere).

Enjoyed it a lot, would go back. Hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank gbwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
York, UK
115
Reviewed 15 January 2005

As a little background : this was my first experience of Tenerife having previously been to Fuertaventura and various Med resorts. My wife and I are both early 30s and looking for somewhere warm (this in January) with decent food, relaxed bars and maybe some good walking.

The apartment we had was a studio with beds that fold up into the wall to give more space, however even with the beds down the apartment was very roomy and the kitchen was well equipped with good oven and large fridge-freezer. One thing to note - although there is a filter coffee maker there was no kettle in the apartment.

Our apartment overlooked the road rather than the pool but did have a small private patio/garden area with sunbeds and table and chairs, however being north-facing and in January this didn't get any sun so was of little use to us at this time.

The shared facilities amount to a very nice garden and pool in the centre of the triangular complex with views of Pico el Teide and also the Jardin Botanico. There is a small bar and mini-supermarket (emphasis on mini) by the pool, and there is a sun terrace above the bar.

I would only have two real grumbles - as mentioned in another review there was a definite mustiness to our apartment - possibly as it was January and maybe hadn't been used recently, and also having a north facing flat it was a little dark throughout the day and cool in the evenings as there is no heating (although plenty of blankets were provided).

The staff were all very friendly and courteous and it seemed that the management are doing quite a bit of work in terms of redecorating the place and tidying up the gardens although it never felt intrusive.

In terms of location Puerto de La Cruz is very picturesque and certainly more lush I expected however also very steep! The apartments are actually in the La Paz district above the town proper and beaches/Lido and it is a very stiff 20 minute climb to get back to so for those not so fit a 2.5 euro taxi ride is probably the order of the day.

La Paz is a quiet and "upscale" area with a number of supermarkets, restaurants and bars although these are predominantly German so Erdinger is more prominent than Carling (which is no bad thing in my view), however for some this may be a bit of a culture shock if you are used to resorts aimed at english tourists ! Note that this is the quiet end of a quiet town so definitely not a 18-30 resort (again - no bad thing). There are a few english pub style bars in La Paz and the main town offering the usual Sky Sports for those of us who need to keep in touch with the world of premiership football.

The Botanical gardens are literally 30 seconds walk from the apartments are well worth a visit, and walks along the clifftops offer spectacular views down onto Puerto de la Cruz and along the coast. The main town is an old port and so doesn't have much in the way of natural beach - there is one man made crescent shaped beach on the east of the town which seems popular with sufers and sunbathers but not casual swimmers/paddlers as the waves were quite big. To the west of the town is a more traditional beach and there is a large lido in front of the centre of the town but at the time we were there (early-mid Jan) it was undergoing a lot of renovation work and looked like it might be out of action for a while.



Plusses :
Large apartment, good facilities, bars restaurants and supermarkets all close at hand. Main town centre very traditional Spanish. Weather ideal for the time of year.

Minuses :
Hard work getting to and from town centre, La Paz caters mainly for german market, north facing apartments seemed a little dark and musty.

Overall I would go back to both Puerto de La Cruz and the Parque Tajinaste although probably for another winter break. If I was looking for a summer beach holiday I'd aim for something in the main town, or to be honest I'd probably pick somewhere other than Puerto de La Cruz with more beach.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New Milton. Hampsire. England.
115
Reviewed 12 November 2003

Loved very much this resort. (after we complained about the first apartment that was on front of the hotel overlooking the main road.) We asked to be moved to back overlooking swimming pool, lucky there was an apartment available the next day. My advise to any one going here make sure you are put at the back, the front is very dark and dingy, and the first one we had was in my opinion very shabby with a rather nasty odour. Staff were exellent, from the manager to the barman, gardeners, maids ect, even though they did not speak much English they were very friendly. Yes would go again if I could book at rear by pool before I went.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cardiff, Wales
19
Reviewed 23 October 2003

Firstly, UK tourists should beware. Do not take the option of the studio apartments. They are no better than a youth hostel, with single beds, and they are right next to the road. Nearly all the Brits that we met were given these apartments before complaining.

My family of four upgraded to a 2 bed bungalow immediately on arrival, for approximately 180 pounds for the week. I would recommend this as the bungalows are beautiful.

We had a couple of toddlers, and were disappointed to find that there were no facilities at all for the kids. The pool doesn't even have a shallow end. In fact Puerto de la Cruz itself isn't great for kids. The much vaunted Lido doesn't have any slides or kids areas, other than a single small shallow pool. This resort is more suited to the "Saga Louts" in my opinion.

80% of the guests are German, and this is reflected in the area around the hotel. More bratwurst than Hamburg. If you want local cusine, try the small Canarian restaurant opposite the German zebra restaurant.
Also, El Meson, tucked away in the small shopping area 100 yards from the hotel is superb for a relaxing tapas and a bottle of wine. Good value pizza in the Bar Europa directly opposite the Apartments.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
27.3 mi away
Aparthotel Parque de la Paz
Aparthotel Parque de la Paz
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masaru Apartments
Masaru Apartments
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tigaiga Suites
Tigaiga Suites
#38 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Pl...
#54 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartments Ambassador
Apartments Ambassador
#4 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parque Tajinaste Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parque Tajinaste Apartments

Address: C Retana, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Class:3 star — Parque Tajinaste Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Parque Tajinaste Apartments Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Parque Tajinaste Apartments Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing