We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel- very bad WIFI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Puerto Palace
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in 2 rooms on half board basis (family of 4).

The room was comfortable, good bed. Always could find parking, staff alsways willing to help.

Food was OK but nothing amazing take in acount that you have to pay for drinking water at dinner , why charge for water???the only place that i was asked to pay for water was in Turkey,

You have to leave a deposit for the tv remote control and towels, the safe costs money for renting.
Forget about using WIFI the connection is very poor even in the public areas.

Couldnt use the gym, I was told at reception that it opens at 7:30 when I got there I was told by the guy in charge that they open at 9:00 when i told them that opening time is at 7:30 he promised to open at 8:30 but when I returned it was still closed same thing happened on the day after..


20min walk to the center and beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VECTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice hotel, with nice areas, good food, nice cleanning, good gardens and swimning pools, great for chrildrens. Not frendly staff (in the recepcion).. the ladie from the restaurant that receive the money from the drinks was the only very nice and friendly! They don´t speak any english and they don´t even try.

Room Tip: View to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mafd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Good quality for the price.
Good things:
cool garden, loads of flowers, jacuzzi, swimming pool on the roof, good food, clean rooms, gave us 2 bedroom even though we did't pay for it, nice view.
Bad things:
Swimming pools and jacuzzi open till 6 pm, roof pool site is nudist area, staff could speak a little better english (but they were kind and helpful so we can forgive the their english :), somtimes you can tell that the hotel is from 80', it's located up the hill but still close to beach (15min).

Generally i would recommend for that price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apomcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed two nights at Puerto Palace Hotel in April 2013. I got a very good price on the hotel, and cannot really complain when I consider this (hence the rating). That being said; this is by no standards a 4-stars hotel. Everything from the reception to the rooms seemed to have had its heydays in the 70s. Even though it was all clean, it has not been well maintained over the years…

My room was quite small, and the door to the balcony was impossible to close completely. Even though it is never really cold at night, a chilly wind found its way into my room. And with only a single blanket in the bed, I was freezing (I got more blankets the next day, but the draught was still quite uncomfortable).

You have to pay to get Internet access in your room, and in the reception area it was painfully slow. Impossible to use to anything else than checking your e-mail.

The breakfast was, for me, a big disappointment. I have had many great breakfasts at hotels in Tenerife, and this was an all-time low. It was no more than adequate, and of low quality. The bread was unusually dry, the selection of ham, cheese etc. was almost non-existent and the coffee weak. I did however appreciate the scrambled eggs with mushrooms. But again, how much can I expect for € 45 per night?

The receptionists were all nice and helpful, and the pool area seemed OK.

The hotel is situated a bit outside the city, up on the hill, but it is a nice walk down to the city center and to Loro Parque. I arrived with bus, and took a taxi to the hotel – which cost me € 3,6. Money well spent, even though it would not take you more than 20 minutes to walk up with suitcases.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a budget holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool area, not the busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in febuary as wew were on a mini break in Puerto to see the carnival.We have stayed here quite a few times before and the hotel has always been very good.It is a bit out of town but we usually stay here because of the ease of parking but this year we decided to use the bus service from Las Americas to Puerto,this was great and very cheap compared to hiring a car.We watched the carnival on friday night and saturday afternoon,the work that goes into the parade and the costumes puts UK carnivals to shame.The celebrations werestill ongoing at 0530 on the sunday and it was great to see so many young people out in the streets having a good time with little evidence of any trouble.The only draw back to this hotel is the fact that you need to get a taxi back as it is quite a walk uphill so next year we will choose 1 in the centre.Staff are brilliant and the hotel still is very clean and well maintained and would reccommend it as a quiet retreat away from the bustle of the centre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripper019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed b & b for a week at the end of Jan 2013. The hotel is clean and well-run with entertainment and dancing every evening. Comfortable rooms but ask for a room on the opposite side to the pool if you want to avoid traffic noise. The hotel caters chiefly for German guests so the reception staff's English is not brilliant but not a problem either. The pools are excellent and there is a gym with a good tennis court and an even better squash court which were big attractions for us. There's even a nudist area with a pool on the roof if you want an all-over tan. The breakfast buffet is a bit predictable but better than many hotels I've stayed in. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill which could be a problem for some people but we found the walk into/from town a nice way to help work off our evening meal. It also means that you are in a nice quiet part of town with nice walks to the local parks. We managed to get a room at short notice at a very good price and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martiand45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a half board basis for a week from 6 - 13th jan 2013. This was our first visit to Tenerife so we stayed in 3 different locations to get an overview of the island. The Puerto Palace was our first stop. The entrance to the hotel is very inviting with lovely garden grounds to the front, welcoming reception area with comfortable seating.
We were shown to our room which as requested had a pool and mountain view. Also an extremely large and comfortable bed. However, there was a lot of traffic noise from the nearby busy road. The next day I asked if it would be possible to move to a quieter room and the receptionist was very helpful and was able to move us to a room nearer the middle of the building which had an even better view of the mountain.
The whole hotel was very clean. The garden area is beautiful and pools excellent - cold but ok once you were in! The hotel is well situated, a ten minute walk down to town, and 2mins in a taxi back! The food was very acceptable, always something you could enjoy, especially the fresh salads and tasty dressings. Food selection at the pool bar during the day was quite limited but that didn't really concern us. Only the coffee was disappointing.
We enjoyed the entertainment programme in the bar. Different acts were brought in each night and we thought the standard was very good.
All in all this was a great introduction to Tenerife. We were very lucky with the weather - even in the north of the island we had sunshine and temperatures in the 20s every day. Puerto de la Cruz is lovely and a great centre for visiting all the places of interest in the north. We got the bus to Garrichico which is lovely and the bus stops just across the road from the hotel.
We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with pool and mountain view away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cupola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,673 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,891 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerto Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerto Palace

Address: C/. Dr. Celestino Cobiella Zaera, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £61 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puerto Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Puerto Palace has 290 rooms (Junior Suites, Doubles and Singles) all of which are completely equipped with bath, hairdryer, telephone, Sat t.v.,minibar, safety boxes (rented) air-coditioning and balcony. Totally air-conditioned with entrance hall and three panoramic elevators, the Hotel Puerto Palace is the perfect choice. We offer a Reception area with 24 hour service. A modern restaurant is available for you, for breakfast, lunch or dinner buffet. At dinner, throughout the year except summer, it is mandatory for the gentlemen wear long trousers. On the hotel terrace, you can relax at our heated swimming pool for adults, water fall and a pool for children and all of which is surrounded by a solarium area. We also offer two exterior jacuzzis, a sauna and massage parlour. You also have at your disposition a complete gym, tennis court, minigolf and volleyball court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Puerto Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Palace De La Cruz
Hotel Puerto Palace Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing