We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice holiday place with great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Principe San Felipe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice holiday place with great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had the pleasure of staying in this hotel during Easter and can recommend this place to Families and other looking for a nice place during stay in Tenerife.

The hotel itself is pretty traditionel and what stands out is the staff (especially in the restaurant) and the pool area that is very good.

The area and town of Porto de la Cruze offers some nice walks during evening and remember to visit the beach area in the front of the town, where you find a great time for one or more days.

Room Tip: Get upwards to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teddy_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionSanFelipe, Public Relations Manager at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear TripAdvisor user

Thank you for your positive review about Bahia Principe San Felipe. It is always very fulfilling when our guests recommend the hotel to others.

We are happy to read that our staff managed to exceed your expectations and that you liked the pool area so much.

We shall be more than pleased to welcome you again any time in the future.

Kind regards from Puerto de la Cruz,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Manuela Durrer
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    527
    209
    51
    40
See reviews for
446
808
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in both September 2012 and September 2013 for 10 night stays on an all inclusive basis. Both were fantastic holidays.

The rooms are very nice and clean. If you like a room that gets loads of sun all day, ask for a pool view, otherwise go for a sea view. We tried both, but preferred the sea view because it was a bit too hot on the balcony in the room with the pool view. You get a mini bar in your room that is filled a couple of times a week. This I think included a couple of tins of San Miguel, Coca Cola, Fanta etc.

The food is excellent with a great choice. As we were staying for 10 nights, we were allowed to use the a la carte restaurants on 3 nights. These 3 course meals were really special and this restaurant is very nice indeed with superb service from the lovely staff. It felt so strange going for these lovely meals with a bottle of wine without paying at the end of it, that's the joys of all inclusive!

I particularly enjoyed the all inclusive drinks. San Miguel on tap, loads of cocktails and spirits, plus a great range of soft drinks. It's certainly worth the extra to go all inclusive!

The hotel as a whole is really well run and the staff are so helpful, I would recommend the Bahia Principe San Felipe to anyone.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are very sunny, sea view rooms are more shaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionSanFelipe, Public Relations Manager at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Dave,

Thanks ever so much for taking the time to write this lovely review about your two stays with us.

We are truly pleased to hear you felt comfortable and were especially satisfied by the food variety and quality. It is gratifying to know our all-inclusive scheme met your expectations and that the staff contributed to making your holidays a success.

We deeply appreciate your recommendation of Bahia Principe San Felipe to other TripAdvisor users.

Hoping to welcome you here again soon, we send you our best wishes from Puerto de la Cruz,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in Tenerife,

Manuela Durrer
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here on Friday 9th May May till the 16th May 2014 Fab hotel very clean big bedrooms, the staff were so lovely and spoke English, Spanish and German,. Very very helpful the waiters never left your dirty plates for long and in the mornings they came straight away to ask if you wanted tea or coffee

There is an A La Carte Restaurante on site which you have to book for Tuesdays are Italian and Thursdays are Mediteranean just book at reception

The breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main restaurant was absolutely lovely and differed most evenings

The town itself was nice and near a port so lots of walking can be done in the evening round the shops and bars etc to wear your dinner off

The only thing i would say is that it was very cloudy in this area and is an hour and a bit away from the airport

We hired a car from Avis in the town a little Volkswagen Up which was about 92 Euros for two days we went up to Mount Tiede and you can get a cable car up to the mountain for about 25 Euros if you dont fancy this there is a nice restaurant you can sit in to chill and look out at the beautiful scenery

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the pool side which is sunny in mornings and afternoon on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your recent stay with us. With great pleasure we read you enjoyed your holidays, especially the restaurants and the spacious rooms.

We hope you will visit us again in the near future, and we will welcome you with open arms.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Tenerife

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

After researching TripAdvisor and Hotels.com reviews, my family and I were very excited about our stay. The half-board included with our stay made breakfast and dinner decisions very convenient. Staff was always kind. Drinks and wine, however, were reasonably priced and good.

However, there are some issues with cleanliness in our room. The overall decor was dated. The bathtub and shower was moldy and smelly. I had to bathe our 2 month old and it made me uncomfortable. Also, the pushed together double beds kept coming apart in the middle of the night. When I pushed the beds back together throughout the night, my baby would wake up and I could hear the upstairs and neighbors pushing the beds back together at all hours. When I made the reservation, I specified to have a crib in the room on a quiet side of the hotel and this was not done. Reception kept talking about my baby and never offered a crib or anything. We were nickel and dimed for paying for the safe daily and we did not like the deposit method for a towel at the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marieryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor-user,

Thank you for giving us your feed back on your stay with us and are glad you have enjoyed the food and beveridge offer we have. We have informed the department managers of the issues you mention about your room for further evaluation.

We hope to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed in January 2014 this was to have been our 46 wedding anniversary and my wifes ***birthday celebration unfortunately this all started to go wrong when we arrived at the hotel,I had requested a pool view room not a sea view as we had stayed here before when booking in a asked if the room we had was a pool view and was told it was when we eventually found it ,it was a sea view next to the lifts.I went straight down to reception to question this and was told that the hotel was fully booked till March and all the people with a pool view had paid extra for them???????????? In all my years of travel I have never ever had to pay for a pool view only for a sea view the male elderly receptionist was totally unhelpful and rude..The following day at the welcome meeting I spoke to the Thomas Cook rep who approached reception on my behalf to request a change of room we were offered a childs room on a higher floor but declined it ,it wasn't till the ninth day that the Thomas cook rep asked us how was the new room that she realised we had not been moved and arranged for another room but by this time it was to late we had missed our anniversary and her birthday so declined the move.That all said the rest of the hotel staff entertainment food are really good which is why we wanted to return to what used to be our faverite hotel in Tenerife

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view its on the sunny side of hotel also high floor to avoid noise from bar at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Thomas,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us. We can now only express our regret for not having been able to live up to your expectations. Regrettfully we cannot always assist all the requests we receive, eventhough we try our utmost best.
We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the food and the service we offer, and we hope you will visit us again and will give us the opportunity to this time exceed your expectations.

We send you our best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We decide to do something we have never done before - return to a hotel and resort.
On arrival the welcome was fantastic, the room had great views and we quickly settled into the the hotel.
Food offers great variety and it is easy to eat far more than you planned - diet went out of the window. Waiting staff are friendly and the language skills exceptional.
Entertainment in the lobby bar was enjoyable - if you don't like snakes there is only one night to avoid and the Birds of Prey up close and personal is an interesting evening.
Housekeeping are great - almost invisible and yet the standard of cleaning is exceptional
If you are looking to relax in a great atmosphere, want feel the pressure and stress just wash away then we would recommend the San Felipe - thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: If you like stunning sea views ask for an *01
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliana S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and to recommend Bahia Principe San Felipe hotel to other travellers.

We appreciate your wonderfull words regarding our facilities and qualify service. We work hard every day to satisfy our guest needs and we are so happy to read that you had a memorable and relaxed vacation here with us.

We hope to welcome you many more times.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in Tenerife.

Best Regards,

Juliana Sandoval
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I use to live in Puerto but never was able to either have the time or funds to stay here. Now older, wiser and with better jobs in the UK. We can pretty much pick where we want to go and every year, at times twice a year we can't go anywhere else.

This hotel is truly a wonderful place to relax and recharge your batteries, especially when your work life is pretty full on!

Staff are lovely and nothing is ever too much to ask. There have been reviews that say they are a bit off- well you know what so would I be if I was spoken to in the way some of the folks spoke to them. Thr trick is to treat folk with respect and it is returned. And just because the sky is the wrong colour no point moaning at the hotel staff!!!

Food is grat and loads of choice. I am probably the worlds fussiest eater and I find loads to eat and enjoy. There are always some rude / arrogant Europeans that always push in front of me but hey, they are the sad ones and I just laugh as they are just sad!!

The pool and gardens are just breathtaking and stunning. Lovely place to sit with a cuppa

The views from the balcony are second to none and perfect to take away the stress of the day job!

All I will say is that if you don't enjoy your stay here then your expectations will never be met.

Go and you will be back every year xxx

Room Tip: Sea Viw rooms are quieter from beach noise from floor 6 and higher Corner rooms have best of sea an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus A, Subdirector at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Toni,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and to recommend Bahia Principe San Felipe hotel to other travellers in this forum.

We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay so much, and it is difficult to express our gratefulness for your nice comments in all areas of the hotel, specially the mention to our staff.

Once again thank you for all your comments, we hope to welcome you one more time here in Tenerife.

Kindest regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Tenerife

Jesús Alonso
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#13 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Principe San Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe San Felipe

Property: Bahia Principe San Felipe
Address: Avenida de Colon, 22. Puerto de la Cruz - Tenerife. Espana, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Principe San Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool 1 children's pool Terraces with loungers and sun umbrellas Subtropical garden Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court 1 buffet restaurant and 2 a la carte restaurants 3 bars Meeting and convention room Golf courses: Real Club de Golf de Tenerife (20 km from the hotel) - Buenavista Golf (45 km from the hotel). Rooms 261 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with views of the sea or Mount Teide and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: Queen size, king size or 2 twin beds Air conditioning Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub with shower, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Iron and ironing board (available on request) Minibar Safe (additional charge) Sitting room ( Junior Suites) Balcony or terrace Wifi (no additional charge) Wake-up call service Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children (4-12years) Evening Mini Disco Balloon twisting or face painting workshops Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Internet in the hotel lobby (no additional charge) Postal and fax services Car park (subject to availability) Pharmacy Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia Principe San Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
San Felipe Hotel
Bahia Principe San Felipe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing