We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Tenerife Playa
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have just got back from 10 days all inclusive at the H10 Tenerife Playa with my wife and 5 year old son. As per most people I read Trip Advisor before I went and was pleased by the positive reviews about the hotel and the odd poor review which you get with almost all hotels. To help review this I will split it into different aspects of my holiday

Room

The rooms are basic but sufficient as you dont spend much room in them. We had three proper beds in our room, an excellent bathroom with hairdryer and a TV. A fridge is an extra cost as is the safety deposit box which we had for 2.50 Euros per day plus 10 Euro deposit. I heard a few people moaning that there were no tea making facilities or an iron which I would expect for all inclusive myself aswell as a fridge but not at this hotel.

Maids come everyday and change sheets every two days if needed. They leave a card for you to put on the bed if you want them changed

I found the beds extremely hard to sleep on but that could just be a personal thing as my wife and son were fine.

Air Conditioning unit worked perfectly and has settings for you to adjust temp, speed of fan and a timer.

Reception and Staff

All staff were excellent which surprised me as a few reviews had mentioned poor service. Upon arrival it became apparent that the travel company had not advised the hotel about my 5 year old son as they only had two adults on their system. We showed them our paperwork and she adjusted everything straight away and made a call on a walkie talkie. We went up to the room and there were only two beds there so we decided to go for dinner as it was 9pm and then sort it out after. We returned after dinner and they had already put another bed in the room without any need for us to chase.

On our last but one day the reception staff also called our supplier who were collecting us for the airport as we had to confirm and spoke to them to confirm everything for us.

Food/Drink

The food is extremely good. As with all inclusive it can get repetitive if you are eating three meals a day but there was always a different meat and fish dish available, salad bars, pasta, rice dishes and local cuisine like paella. There was a grill on every night with them cooking one meat, fish and grilled veg which was nice. They had sweets also which were nice and lots of ice cream for the kids. One negative I would say if I had to was that they could cater a little more for children as there were few options aimed at just kids. All the staff in the restaurant were friendly and it is situated on the second floor overlooking the sea so great views while you are eating, They serve water when you sit if you want it and the drinks are all self service on tap for soft drinks, sangria and beer.

The bars have excellent staff as some of them rotate from the dining area and you can have a wide variety of drinks on the AI menu. I was drinking Vodka which was Smirnoff, the Whiskey was Red Label so they are not local brands and the measures were excellent. There was no problem with one drink per person either, They also have waiters in the show room going round so you dont have to get up. One barman in particular gave good service and was on most nights and is a credit to the hotel, Manuel De La Cruz.

Entertainment

Miranda and Angelica provide the animation and work really hard. There are daily games including water polo, darts, archery, shooting, table tennis, french boules and skittles. Everybodys name is taken as all the winners receive a certificate on the night.

Kids mini disco is at 2030 where the kids can dance to songs and get a certificate too and there is live entertainment every night apart from Sunday where they just have a DJ on. Before the live show every night at about 2215, Miranda or Angelica present the days certificates to everyone and gets them up on stage which my son enjoyed (I didn't though as I had to go up for my skittles one).

The live shows are good and included Barry White and Elvis tributes (Elvis was fantastic) and Samba and Flamenco dancers/singers as well as acrobats so very entertaining. On other nights the animation team do the entertainment with things like bingo and you bet

Pool Area

They have two main pools and a childrens pool. The kids pool is too small really but my son could touch the floor in one of the big pools which was good. There are a lot of rules regarding the pool and there is no reserving sunbeds. You are not allowed at the pool until 0900 (0845 depending on the pool guy on) and they will ask you to remove towels if before then. There is no diving either in any of the pools.

There is a pool bar where self service soft drinks and snacks are available. There is an area with pool tables, table tennis, small park and a basketball court with darts and archery.

Attractions

Loro Parque is the obvious one. You can buy tickets from the reception at no extra cost 33 Euros per adult, under 6's free. If you turn left out of the hotel and walk 5 minutes down the promenade there is a free train that goes directly to Loro Parque so saves on money. First train is 0900 and goes every 20 minutes. Get there 10 minutes early if the first of the day to beat queue. They have dolphin, sea lion, killer whale and parrot live shows. The dolphins and killer whales are amazing and the park is a must go. They have lots of other attractions like penguin world, tigers, gorillas, alligators, sharks, turtles, meerkats, carp, jaguars to name but a few. My son loved it and we got lots of photos and videos of the shows. We left about 1630 and had seen everything and had a dinner at one of the self service buffets which was expensive. The hotel offers picnics as part of AI so would order one of these the night before to save money.

Lago Martianez is across the road from the hotel 4.50 Euros for adults and 2 for kids. An umbrella is 2 euros also. There are lots of salt water pools in the complex and it is a must see when there

Overall

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a great stay and the staff were amazing. I also signed up for the Club H10 card which they give you and you get points for your stay and can be used for future holidays within the H10 group. It is free so just ask at the desk.

The only negatives were the childrens menu in the restaurant and the limited facilities in the room but we got by and had a great holiday in a great hotel. Thanks

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are available upon request on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank narm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TENERIFE_PLAYA, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for all the kind comments and your time to write them in TRIPADVISOR.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holidays, and we hope you will come back in the future.
We will try to improve the menu for children, and some of the services you indicate for the All Inclusive.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    617
    267
    108
    43
See reviews for
355
893
65
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Have just returned from another great holiday in H10. Escaped the terrible UK weather and watched the Olympics opening in a small town bar in the open air. The Hotel has continualy improved year over year. The public facilities are excellent and well ordered. The rooms are of a high standard and ours had been recently renovated. There is a wide selction of meals available and the dining room staff are courteous and helpful.
Can't wait till next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TENERIFE_PLAYA, General Manager at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for taking the time to give you kind opinion about our hotel in TRIPADVISOR.
We are pleased you felt satisfied with the last improvements, and we hope that your next holiday will be as pleasant as this last one, or more. We all look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Alfonso E. Peinado
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is without any dought the best Hotel in Puerto De La Cruz. After staying in quite a lot of Hotels in the north of Tenerife it has always come up to the highest standards every time. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the food is excellent, plenty of choice for everyone even for veggies. The rooms are imaculate, we just cant fault this Hotel in anyway. We wouldnt stay in any other Hotel every again over in the north.

Room Tip: Stay in any room they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joan Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for writing your opinion in Tripadvisor, we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and our service. We hope you will return soon again to our hotel.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

excellent hotel in a great location,would recommend going on all inclusive has the drinks in this hotel are of a very good measure some being international brands,food is very good,but the male dinning room staff need to be more people friendly as a couple of the bar staff,female staff are suberb,our room in the hotel was cleaned every day to the highest standard,the hotel all over is very clean,the walk to the old town is really great passing several bars with real live music,would recommend this hotel and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for writing your kind comments about our hotel. We will try to improve the service in the restaurant you indicate and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in our hotel.

Best regards

Alfosno E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I was delighted to go back to this Hotel as the last time I was there was over forty years ago, when I was a young girl, now happily married. A holiday was a good idea to find out what I had been missing all these years. The Hotel was clean and tidy. The food was good, but, they mainly catered for the Europeans. Not really children friendly. No activities through the day for those who stayed around the pool, that I could see. No Bingo nights. The locations is central to the shops and the main walking area. There is a Lottery shop next to the Hotel handy for those like myself who plays the game regularly. Happy I went back. We possibly will go to Tenerife again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the pool area, it was quiet as most of the clients were middle aged to elderly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TENERIFE_PLAYA, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for spending your time to write your kind opinion about our hotel in TRIPADVISOR.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your holidays, and we will consider your suggestions about the entertainment programme.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future, we remain

Yours faithfully

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Was my second visit to this hotel and due to the poor weather this spring in tenerife both me and my mum got a dreadful cold and were not well for some of the days but the staff were really helpful and always check to make sure your ok even at dinner.
The best food in a hotel I have had in many all around tenerife and even veggies get a good mix of food.
This time I had a ground floor pool room and this was great to pop over to the pool when ever I wanted or if it was warm enough.
I will return again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cat-turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for writing you kind comments in Tripadvisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holidays, and we hope you will return soon.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

cannot fault hotel, perfect location, very clean, excellent food even if sweats were repetative. but, other than daytime reception staff who were very freindly, a lot of the rest of the staff could do with some training in being polite, one was downright rude, they also did favour there spanish guests over anyone else. also the evening entertainment was also aimed squarely at their spanish guests. we did have 1 game of bingo all week for the english guests. also i have to say we went all inclusive and remember this is a four star hotel there was no tea making facilities in the room (not acceptable for a hotel of this standard). having said all this we will return.
as a tip we went on the submarine trip, yes a genuine sub, this was excellent, going down 28 metres seeing the fish, sting rays etc in their own environment.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbriatraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for giving us your opinion about the hotel; we are sorry you did not fylly enjoyed your holidays, and we are looking into every matter you mentioned. We hope that the next time you will visit us we will be able to offer you something different, regarding the entertainment, and a better attention.
Best regards
Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#13 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valle Mar
Valle Mar
#14 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Property: H10 Tenerife Playa
Address: Avenida Colon 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Lastminute, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing