We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for under 65's”
Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H10 Tenerife Playa
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Just back from a week at this Hotel, weather was fantastic lovley and hot. The Hotel is by no way 4 star i would rate it at 3 star, room was tired and dirty in need of mayjor refurb and with no fridge in room was left very dissapointed, the room was in my opion was below standard and more like 2 star, thanks to the thonmson rep we managed to get another room, but still not what i would call 4 star. If you are 65 plus then this hotel would be more for you as SAGA use this hotel, so we felt a little out of place here. Entertainment was poor and the bar was expensive felt more like and an OAP retirement home. On a brighter note views where fantastic from the hotel and location was good for getting around. The food was good with a wide choice to choose from

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony all other room are like dungeons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for writing your opinion about our hotel in Tripadvisor.
This is very important for us in order to improve our service.
We took note of your suggestions.

Thank you again

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

My husband and I travelled to this hotel for one week from 9th December with another couple. Although we have been to the resort a few times this was the first at this hotel and we were not disappointed. We travelled with Thomsons half board and had upgraded to a balcony room. Before we went I emailed the hotel to request a high floor sea view and they responded immediately to say they would try to accommodate us. We were on floor 5 room 504 with a lovely view over the lido and the sea. The room was clean and the over bath shower was powerful with instant hot water. having said that these rooms could certainly do with an update particularly the bathrooms. Although there is lots going on on the avenue below the music stops at 11 and everything is quiet. No road noise as it is pedestrianized. The public areas in the hotel are lovely especially the terrace by the pools. The dining room is light and modern and the food is good with a great selection. our friends were celebrating their Ruby Wedding anniversary and they had informed the hotel before travelling. On one evening they put on a special meal for us served to our table with champagne. It was lovely. Thankyou to the restaurant staff for such a treat. between 5 and 6 the bar has Happy Hour serving 2 drinks for the price of one. It was lovely walking out of the hotel and strolling along the avenue into the town centre where the Christmas lights were lovely then back to the Cafe de Paris for coffee and listening to the trumpeter and watching the world go by. This is a lovely time of the year to go. We had temperatures of 20 to 28 celsius. Not too hot for walking but warm enough for shorts and light tops. We bought a bono card and used it to travel on public buses to various places. This was a lovely holiday and we would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor sea view, but in the winter they do not get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxicanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for spending some minutes of your time and write your kind opinion about our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

We hope you will return soon again to our hotel.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed here in october 2012,we were welcomed with a glass of bubbly, and a porter to take us to our room..
The rooms were not over big, but was adequate for our needs and cleaned daily..
The staff were very friendly and polite, especially in the resturant..food was lovely and plentiful with a good variety, and i am to say the least a very fussy eater..show cooking every evening with various meats and fish cooked to order..Breakfast was as good bacon and eggs cooked fresh-not in the cabinets as usual for most hotels..
All inclusive is well worth it, drinks flow freely through the hotel all day..
Pool was very clean and was maintained all day everyday.
Evening entertainment was minimal, but was okay for out of season..
The animation team were very good during the day, and was'nt pushy if you did'nt want to join in-but it was a good laugh and we took part ..Miranda was excellent at all she done and made us feel welcome..
The laguna was excellent, and a good day for all the family.
Lots of shops cafes and bars all in close walking distance, and the view over the mountains were brilliant, and a lovely view from the resturant where we often see the sun setting ..
Looking forward to a return visit..

I can't understand the negatives about this hotel at all..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for you kind comments in Tripadvisor, and the good description you gave about the location.
We wll share your opinion with all the staff, and with Miranda in particular.
We are also looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Thank you

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We went to Tenerife in August and chose this location because the climate is not too hot as can sometimes be the case in the South. The Hotel was 1st class.The food was good and varied and the staff were all friendly and knowledgable. There was never any hassle and it was easy to get a table with the fabulous view across the bay. There was no problem in finding a sunlounger and the pool area was spot on with the bar and snacks at lunchtime. The location is ideal with the main town just a short stroll away. If you've got a bunch of kids who just want sunshine and sand then maybe not for you. But if you want a relaxing holiday and are a more mature traveller then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank busycycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor and your suggestions to the other travellers.
We hope you will soon come and visit us again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed here from 26 Nov 2012 to 3 Dec 2012 on an All inclusive holiday. This hotel is superb. A Thomson 4 star rated, and it lived up to that rating. Staff were polite and nothing was too much trouble, from the night we arrived to the day we left. Late night flight meant we got there at midnight, and the restaurant had left out a salad meal for all of us on this flight. The hotel room was adequate for the two of us, after all, all you do is sleep in there.. well you know....! This hotel has junior suites if you need anything any bigger. The restaurant was run by one or two maitre Ds who really knew their jobs. One thing I liked was that no shorts for gentlemen for evening dinner. The staff were run off their feet in the restaurant but were always polite. Food was lovely for us, even though there were chips in the buffet for breakfast!! We enjoyed some of the hotel chef's specials and local food, which was superb. The several bars that this hotel has served some blinding measures, equivalent to 3 shots here my husband tells me! The spirits - gin, whiskey etc were not watered down which we have found in some Tunisian hotels. I was a bit tipsy several times!! Only two things marred the holiday, the weather...from the night we arrived to the day we went home it bucketed down in the north of Tenerife! A quick trip to the south on a Thomson excursion gave us one hour of sun! The other thing was the lifts in the hotel.... we were on the 8th floor with a fantastic view of the sea... but although there were three lifts, they only carried 6 persons max, so it was quite a wait at times to get back to your room! All in all,a fantastic holiday, the weather cannot be helped, but we had a great time in the H10, and were are planning another holiday in Tenerife. Loro Parque is a must as an excursion, especially if you do the Discovery Premier Tour, which takes you behind the scenes... we loved it!.

Room Tip: We had Room 809, lovely sea views, and we watched the surfers every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goldiewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thnak you for writing your opinion in Tripadvisor; we are so glad you enjoyed your holidays, and your good comments help and motivate us to improve day after day.

Thank you again

Looking forward to weocloming you, we remain

Yours faithfully

Alfonso E. peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Just returned from a week's stay at H10 Tenerife Playa. Having read lots of the reviews I was a little apprehensive. An excellent location close to the Lido and the main drag. The hotel itself is extremely clean and the poolside garden is beautiful, the rooms, although a little dated, had some of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in. The maids kept our room immaculate and the staff were friendly and didn't mind my lame attempts to speak Spanish at them! We had a pool view and a balcony - and the gardens are lovely and there's lots of small birds and butterflies in the garden. Word of warning- the hotel seems to cater almost exclusively to the elderly - so if you are in your 70s and over you will love it there. The staff were particularly attentive to those with disabilities so it's an excellent choice if you have mobility problems. The entertainment is very much geared towards the upwards age bracket - crooners, bingo etc.My partner and I are in our 30s so we spent our entire holiday getting odd looks from everyone who was staying there - especially when we dared to go in the hotel bar. Talking of the bar - we went all inclusive - which was good from a cost saving point of view but did mean we were subjected to some pretty poor standard drinks - all the cocktails came from a packet and the coffee was not pleasant and neither was the AI wine in the restaurant. The beer was apparently ok though. We ate out a couple of times at Bambi gourmet and Restuarante La Carta - both of these restaurants were exceptional and I recommend both of these. The food at the hotel was very patchy - at times it was lovely and other times pretty poor. Breakfast was usually good - a lot of choice of various dishes - from spanish omelettes, meat and cheese, pastries, bacon, eggs, frankfurters, fruit (some tinned some fresh) and lots of cereal. The food had a tendency to be left standing for a little too long sometimes. For lunch and dinner - again there was a lot of choice and some lovely dishes and desserts. Again, unfortunately some of these had been left standing too long. If it was fresh it was lovely. The waiters were extremely efficient and attentive and the tables were nice too - I'd recommend sitting upstairs for a lovely view of the Lido and the beach. In short, I'm not sure if we'd stay AI again in the hotel - our money may be best spent in other restaurants but as a base and somewhere to sleep it was lovely. I can't comment on the pool or anything like that as we just went out every day.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank g b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for your nice comments and all your suggestions, which we will take into consideration and which are very important for us, to improve our service.

We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best regards

Alfosno E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

When you pick an all inclusive deal, you are never certain of the drinks you will be served. Well, they served a large number of branded drinks which included my favourite dry sherry and brandy!

The hotel was very well appointed with books to borrow, wifi and spa facilities. The choice and range of food was excellent. Frequently at breakfoast there was cava for a bucks fizz (or on its own) and vodka for a bloody mary. Yes, there was often a queue at dinner time but the staff relaid tables so quckly afer guests had finished that the wait was very short.

Apart from the two pools there was well organised daytime activities for those that did not want to just laze and read. In the evening there was dancing and a variety of different entertainments provided.

We would happily return.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a balcony as the view of the sea and its surfers was worth evey penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor.
We would be pleased to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Alfosno E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#11 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
2,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,929 reviews
27.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,135 reviews
27.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Address: Avenida de Colon, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £67 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in northern Tenerife along the coastal town of Puerto de la Cruz, the H10Tenerife Playa stands in a prime location on the pedestrian promenade in front of the famous Lago Martiánez, just 50 metres from the sea. The hotel’s complete facilities include swimming pools, a varied array of dining options and meeting rooms for any type of event. In addition, the hotel now offers Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing