We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expertly Managed Hotel...In a superb location”
Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
H10 Tenerife Playa
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Stayed at H10 Tenerife Playa from 7th until 21st December. From the moment we arrived we were made most welcome in this this superbly run Hotel. We had booked balcony rooms and had 310 and 312 which overlooked the Martianez Lido and partly the sea. probably the 2 floors above would have full sea view we had palm trees partly obscuring the view. Nonetheless we were more than happy with what we had. Rooms are very comfortable with great beds and pillows and kept immaculate by the maids. A never ending supply of toiletries in the bathroom together with plenty of towels. Lovely pool area dotted with palms and plentiful sunbeds although the second week folk were going out REALLY early and reserving where they wanted to sit. This was not allowed the first week but the rule was not enforced the second. So it was a case of of if you cant beat them...! I have been travelling abroad for 42 years as I worked in the travel industry all of that time and can honestly say that the food overall had to be the best encountered. How anyone could find fault with it is beyond me. It wasnt just the huge choice but the real quality of the food on offer that was amazing. Chefs here certainly know how to cook. Service throughout the Hotel was excellent however top marks has to go to everyone in the dining room. The 2 Head Waiters had everything running perfectly and the staff were so hard working and so pleasant. I thought there was a good age mix in the Hotel....and if there is a lot more older folk there then so what? Everyone is entitled to a holiday! Location wise it has to be the best in town with the beautiful promenade and crashing waves right outside the front door. Spectacular! The bus station is 25 mins walk away or 4 euros in a taxi and we bought what is called BONO BUS tickets which lets you travel around at a much cheaper rate. We even did the island one dayf15 euros each! Take the bus from Puerto to Los Gigantes...fabulous scenery on this route and can easily match the famed Big Sur Highway of California. You can then go on to Costa Adeje from Gigantes and from there a direct bus operates to Puerto de la Cruz or you can come back via Santa Cruz if you want to linger longer in each resort. Excellent value. To summarise The Hotel is superb in every aspect and already thinking of another 2 week holiday next December or sooner.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with pool or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for your good comments about our hotel, and all the good information about Puerto de la Cruz and our beautyful island.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

came back on 18/12/12 the hotel is looking tired but our room was kept spotless by the maids
the food was good with fresh cooked meat being served up by the chefs each day and the waiters worked very hard and always friendly
we had a sea view room on the 5th floor and the view was fantastic and the location was also great I have to agree with Shirley it was mostly older guests staying there but i am one so that was no problem
my only complaint was at busy times in the resturant you sometimes had to Q
but over all it was a good hotel will use it again if i go back
one last thing the beds and pillows was some of the best i have ever had

Room Tip: pay for a sea view on a high floor it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b_upsall311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for your opinion in Tripadvisor; we will consider imrpoving about what you suggested to offer you a better service hoping you will be back soon at the hotel.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Just back from a week at this Hotel, weather was fantastic lovley and hot. The Hotel is by no way 4 star i would rate it at 3 star, room was tired and dirty in need of mayjor refurb and with no fridge in room was left very dissapointed, the room was in my opion was below standard and more like 2 star, thanks to the thonmson rep we managed to get another room, but still not what i would call 4 star. If you are 65 plus then this hotel would be more for you as SAGA use this hotel, so we felt a little out of place here. Entertainment was poor and the bar was expensive felt more like and an OAP retirement home. On a brighter note views where fantastic from the hotel and location was good for getting around. The food was good with a wide choice to choose from

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony all other room are like dungeons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for writing your opinion about our hotel in Tripadvisor.
This is very important for us in order to improve our service.
We took note of your suggestions.

Thank you again

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

My husband and I travelled to this hotel for one week from 9th December with another couple. Although we have been to the resort a few times this was the first at this hotel and we were not disappointed. We travelled with Thomsons half board and had upgraded to a balcony room. Before we went I emailed the hotel to request a high floor sea view and they responded immediately to say they would try to accommodate us. We were on floor 5 room 504 with a lovely view over the lido and the sea. The room was clean and the over bath shower was powerful with instant hot water. having said that these rooms could certainly do with an update particularly the bathrooms. Although there is lots going on on the avenue below the music stops at 11 and everything is quiet. No road noise as it is pedestrianized. The public areas in the hotel are lovely especially the terrace by the pools. The dining room is light and modern and the food is good with a great selection. our friends were celebrating their Ruby Wedding anniversary and they had informed the hotel before travelling. On one evening they put on a special meal for us served to our table with champagne. It was lovely. Thankyou to the restaurant staff for such a treat. between 5 and 6 the bar has Happy Hour serving 2 drinks for the price of one. It was lovely walking out of the hotel and strolling along the avenue into the town centre where the Christmas lights were lovely then back to the Cafe de Paris for coffee and listening to the trumpeter and watching the world go by. This is a lovely time of the year to go. We had temperatures of 20 to 28 celsius. Not too hot for walking but warm enough for shorts and light tops. We bought a bono card and used it to travel on public buses to various places. This was a lovely holiday and we would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor sea view, but in the winter they do not get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxicanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for spending some minutes of your time and write your kind opinion about our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

We hope you will return soon again to our hotel.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed here in october 2012,we were welcomed with a glass of bubbly, and a porter to take us to our room..
The rooms were not over big, but was adequate for our needs and cleaned daily..
The staff were very friendly and polite, especially in the resturant..food was lovely and plentiful with a good variety, and i am to say the least a very fussy eater..show cooking every evening with various meats and fish cooked to order..Breakfast was as good bacon and eggs cooked fresh-not in the cabinets as usual for most hotels..
All inclusive is well worth it, drinks flow freely through the hotel all day..
Pool was very clean and was maintained all day everyday.
Evening entertainment was minimal, but was okay for out of season..
The animation team were very good during the day, and was'nt pushy if you did'nt want to join in-but it was a good laugh and we took part ..Miranda was excellent at all she done and made us feel welcome..
The laguna was excellent, and a good day for all the family.
Lots of shops cafes and bars all in close walking distance, and the view over the mountains were brilliant, and a lovely view from the resturant where we often see the sun setting ..
Looking forward to a return visit..

I can't understand the negatives about this hotel at all..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for you kind comments in Tripadvisor, and the good description you gave about the location.
We wll share your opinion with all the staff, and with Miranda in particular.
We are also looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Thank you

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We went to Tenerife in August and chose this location because the climate is not too hot as can sometimes be the case in the South. The Hotel was 1st class.The food was good and varied and the staff were all friendly and knowledgable. There was never any hassle and it was easy to get a table with the fabulous view across the bay. There was no problem in finding a sunlounger and the pool area was spot on with the bar and snacks at lunchtime. The location is ideal with the main town just a short stroll away. If you've got a bunch of kids who just want sunshine and sand then maybe not for you. But if you want a relaxing holiday and are a more mature traveller then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank busycycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor and your suggestions to the other travellers.
We hope you will soon come and visit us again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed here from 26 Nov 2012 to 3 Dec 2012 on an All inclusive holiday. This hotel is superb. A Thomson 4 star rated, and it lived up to that rating. Staff were polite and nothing was too much trouble, from the night we arrived to the day we left. Late night flight meant we got there at midnight, and the restaurant had left out a salad meal for all of us on this flight. The hotel room was adequate for the two of us, after all, all you do is sleep in there.. well you know....! This hotel has junior suites if you need anything any bigger. The restaurant was run by one or two maitre Ds who really knew their jobs. One thing I liked was that no shorts for gentlemen for evening dinner. The staff were run off their feet in the restaurant but were always polite. Food was lovely for us, even though there were chips in the buffet for breakfast!! We enjoyed some of the hotel chef's specials and local food, which was superb. The several bars that this hotel has served some blinding measures, equivalent to 3 shots here my husband tells me! The spirits - gin, whiskey etc were not watered down which we have found in some Tunisian hotels. I was a bit tipsy several times!! Only two things marred the holiday, the weather...from the night we arrived to the day we went home it bucketed down in the north of Tenerife! A quick trip to the south on a Thomson excursion gave us one hour of sun! The other thing was the lifts in the hotel.... we were on the 8th floor with a fantastic view of the sea... but although there were three lifts, they only carried 6 persons max, so it was quite a wait at times to get back to your room! All in all,a fantastic holiday, the weather cannot be helped, but we had a great time in the H10, and were are planning another holiday in Tenerife. Loro Parque is a must as an excursion, especially if you do the Discovery Premier Tour, which takes you behind the scenes... we loved it!.

Room Tip: We had Room 809, lovely sea views, and we watched the surfers every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goldiewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Guests,

thnak you for writing your opinion in Tripadvisor; we are so glad you enjoyed your holidays, and your good comments help and motivate us to improve day after day.

Thank you again

Looking forward to weocloming you, we remain

Yours faithfully

Alfonso E. peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,163 reviews
26.5 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,861 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#7 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Address: Avenida de Colon, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £71 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in northern Tenerife along the coastal town of Puerto de la Cruz, the H10Tenerife Playa stands in a prime location on the pedestrian promenade in front of the famous Lago Martiánez, just 50 metres from the sea. The hotel’s complete facilities include swimming pools, a varied array of dining options and meeting rooms for any type of event. In addition, the hotel now offers Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing