We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
H10 Tenerife Playa
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Holiday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We went back to the H10 Playa in Feb/March this year, our second visit. Everything was just as good as before. This is a well-run hotel in an excellent location. One day we had trouble with our door lock and the technician was there within five minutes. One of the coffee machines broke down and it was working again the following morning!
The food is very good indeed and there is a huge choice. We always eat too much! It is wonderful to have breakfast on the outdoor terrace. All the staff are polite and friendly.
The weather was a bit grey, but at 20 degrees, warm enough to walk around in short sleeves. There was still enough to keep us occupied on the island. If you are into History, I would recommend a visit to The Pyramids of Guimar and the Thor Heyerdahl Museum. We did it on a Bono ticket with Titsa service buses.
My husband is a serious walker and he got a bus up to Aquamansa and did some trails around there, whilst I had a relaxing day at the pool!
We found the WiFi improved. There are sometimes glitches, but generally we could download "The Times" in our fourth floor room. So we were happy.
Don't know what to say about balconies with sea view versus pool view.We liked both of them. More sun overlooking the pool (South).
It is hard to find anywhere to beat this place. We saw two carnivals (Santa Cruz and Puerto) both of which were spectacular. Could be 3rd time next year!

Room Tip: Paying extra to have a balcony is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieWdswth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor, and all the good descriptions of the island and of waht you can see, and about the beautyful carnival, and the many places for people who like to walk. These informations will be very helpful for other travellers.
We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel in general, and we hope you will visit us soon again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    608
    263
    106
    42
See reviews for
348
878
63
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, england
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well placed right on the front and on a level part of Puerto .d.l.c. Walking around the town is easy from here and pleasant. The facilities are good and the staff are attentive and friendly. Some reviews have mentioned the "tired rooms" , these are in part correct but although the decor is dated I found that everything worked and nothing was broken, so the tiredness is down to perception. The meals were very good with lots of choice with frequent changes of food so that fresh choices were always available. In addition there freshly cooked hot choices always available at breakfast and dinner. Now to the wine, if you prefer fresh whites then try the Frontera from a neighbouring island, it was superb with the freshly cooked fish. For the reds I found Arroyo from the mainland great with all the meats. Cava is available at breakfast for free if you like to start early. Would I go back - yes.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamish1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that you spent a nice holiday here with us, and that you liked the hotel in general.
We hope you will soon come back and visit us.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were at the Tenerife Playa during Carnival, and the parade started from right outside the hotel. That illustrates just what a fantastically convenient location this hotel has. This was one of the friendliest and most sociable hotels we have ever stayed in. The way that the lounges and bar are set out makes it remarkably easy to talk to and get to know people, and the staff of the hotel set the friendly atmosphere beautifully. There are so many people who have stayed here time after time that it almost feels like being amongst old friends and family. The food is very good and a lot of people are fed in amazingly spectacular surroundings outside the window, with a degree of speed and efficiency that is impressive. There are some staff members who deserve special mention for outstanding efforts to make your holiday the best it can be.
Firstly Miranda and her "Blue Team" animation activities. She made the holiday for us. She combines the patience of a saint with the joyful enthusiasm of a five year old! We came away with twenty sports diplomas and a gold medal!
Secondly the resident band, "Canarias Dos". Wow! Sure, they will play you strict tempo dance music if that is your thing, but if you let them off that leash, they will play you, on keyboard and bass, a perfect guitar solo from Pink Floyd or Santana too, or a spot of Michael Jackson, or a jazzy piano solo that would grace any jazz club.
Lastly, I have to mention Victor, the bar waiter, always smiling, always joking- and much faster at bringing your drink that he claims!
We have made a lot of friends at Tenerife Playa, and we are already planning our next visit. In saying that, I just have to let people know that neither of us has ever gone back to the same place for a holiday in our lives. It is that special.
Dave & Wendy, Staffordshire Moorlands.

Room Tip: Second floor was very convenient, no need to wait for the lift, but there was not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor.
We are so pleased you enjoyed the location and the hotel atmosphere in general, together with our staff, the othe Guests, and the attractions of Puerto de la Cruz, like the beautyful Carnival.
Thank you again for writing your opinion.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just arrived home from excellent holiday. Great food and entertainment. Miranda and Angelica excellent sports hosts really made our holiday.First class, will definitely be back again. Joan and Jim, Fife

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments,m which we will share with all the staff, especially with Miranda and Angelica.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holidays and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel, lovely location right on sea front and near lots of little shops and restaurants.
I did feel a little young (age 41) here but travelling on my own at least the some of the older generation took the time to speak to me every day, which made the stay nice.
Reception and restaurant staff friendly.
Bar staff were a little rude, not sure if it was because I was all inclusive and most people there on half board and paying for drinks.
Rooms very clean, a little dated, beds very hard!
Pool area nice and clean.
Outside restaurant nice but always empty, friendly staff.
Overall would recommend for anyone a bit older than myself

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Annebiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your suggestions, which we will keep in consideration in order to improve our service.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a relaxing holiday at the H10 Tenerife Playa. We treated ourselves to an upgrade to a junior suite with H10's Privilege package. This gave us choice of tables in the restaurant (necessary if you want to sit by the windows overlooking the sea). It also gave access to a private lounge with two computers, free Wi-Fi, snacks and free drinks. There is a pleasant pool area well sheltered from the usual stiff breeze (very cold at the moment). Staff were great and very helpful. Lunch was a disappointment; maybe because most guests were on half board so the restaurant was quite empty. As a result the choice of food was poor and the service fell well below that for other meals. Generally food was very good with a wide range of options. At peak times the restaurant was very crowded and the space between tables was minimal for guests not entitled to Privilege tables. We were delighted with the Junior Suite. It had a lovely glass partitioned walk-in shower room and separate toilet, bidet and washroom. The bed was six foot wide and extremely comfortable. The windows overlooked the sea and pedestrian area. We have been to hotels where the balcony was bigger than the one we had, but it served the purpose. Evening entertainment would appeal more to older guests. The hotel duo provided good music until 10 p.m. then handed over to other shows.
In summary, for us, the hotel was a success because we paid for the upgrade; but we met at least three other couples who return year after year to this hotel, without upgrading, and are really delighted with it.

Room Tip: An upgrade to Privilege status will give you much larger rooms in the best position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor and your suggestions. We are pleased you enjoyed your Junior Suite Privilege, and the hotel in general. We appreciate your suggestions, and we will work on them to offer an improved service to our Guests.

We hope you will visit us soon again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Recently returned from H10 Tenerife Playa. Was impressed with the location of this hotel. As other reviewers have commented it overlooks the sea front with a nice flat promenade which takes you past shops and small bars and eateries. Once of the sea front the streets, although pedestrianised in places, can have some small inclines which might make pushing a wheelchair difficult. however, there are plenty of benches and places to sit to take a 'breather'.

We found the main areas and our room itself clean and our room was adequate with a balcony overlooking a side street and seafront. Quiet overnight , apart from the sea which isn't a problem at all. quantity and quality of food at all meal times was excellent, especially liked sparkling wine at breakfast. You could have something different every day. As with most buffet type hotel meals you have to be prepared for crowding around food.

This hotel is a Saga hotel and obviously the clientele reflect this age group - good thing is that they know a good hotel and many people we talked to had been many times before, so that in itself is a recommendation. My only negative, if I have to make one,is that the bar staff could see a little friendlier. A good Hotel in brilliant location

Room Tip: Choose a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgefromtamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed the location and the hotel, and we hope to be welcoming you again in a near future.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#13 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valle Mar
Valle Mar
#12 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Property: H10 Tenerife Playa
Address: Avenida Colon 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing