We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,location,location”
Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Tenerife Playa
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Location,location,location”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The H10 Tenerife Playa is in a perfect place in Puerto de la Cruz opposite the beach,ocean and the picturesque lido. There is a flat walk into the town where there are lots of shops and restaurants. We stayed at the hotel for a week just before Easter and really enjoyed it. Our room on the 4th floor overlooked the pool and was very comfortable. It was well worth the extra payment for a balcony. Maid service was very efficient and the room was always very well cleaned. The restaurant was always busy but the food selection and quality were good as was the service, although my husband did miss not being offered mushrooms as part of the breakfast buffet! The only real quibble was the rudeness of some of the guests during the entertainment- they thought it was OK to talk loudly and ruin it for anyone trying to enjoy it. There was a terrific duo one evening called Garfunkel and Simon and we were so embarrassed for them at the behaviour of some guests. The hotel needs to have a more separated entertainment and bar area. Other than that we had a super holiday and we would recommend the hotel and Puerto de la Cruz. The seven pools in the lido are wonderful and Loro Parque is amazing. Other places not to miss in Puerto are the Botanic gardens and the Orchid gardens. A trip to Mount Teide is also a must. We would definitely be happy to holiday in Puerto de la Cruz again and if we did we would stay at the Tenerife Playa.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieStretford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor. We are pleased you enkoyed your stay at our hotel, and we appreciate your suggestion which we will keep in consideration.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    626
    269
    109
    46
See reviews for
361
907
67
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the H10 for 10 nights over Easter.
The staff were, without exception polite and a credit to the H10 brand.
A particular mention to Miranda the animator, the cleaning staff, the bar staff ( who you could joke around with) and the brilliant restaurant staff. We stay in a lot of hotels, but here the professionalism of the staff shone through in spades.
The restaurant has a fabulous unbroken view of the bay. Stunning.
Everywhere is spotless.
The rooms are tired but ours (137 on the ground floor, opening into the garden) was spacious, clean and had more than adequate storage. We felt as if we had landed on our feet.
We took the all inclusive package via LoCost Holidays and felt that we received very good value for money. The food changes daily and there is a good variety. Some popular dishes like paella are always available. The house wine is pretty rough but the variety of other drinks available on the all inclusive option was great.
We hired a car for the whole time we were at the hotel as the cost of the transfer from the South airport for the 3 of us almost paid for 10 days car hire. There is no car park at the hotel. You have to park wherever you can find a space by the road. Frequently we parked near the tunnel about 15 mins walk away.
We were disappointed that Easter was not celebrated or in evidence in the hotel. A little Easter egg on the table or a happy Easter banner surely would not have been too much trouble?
We attended the Santa Semana events within the lovely resort of Puerto de la Cruz and participated in the Good Friday and Easter Sunday processions- a real sight to see and a real experience - but a shame that other guests at the hotel knew nothing about what was going on 15 minutes walk away- it was a spectacle and a cultural experience whether or not they have a faith.
The age profile of guests at the hotel was mature when we arrived. As the 10 days progressed the age profile dropped considerably.
I will definitely consider rebooking this hotel.
Comfortable, friendly and family focused. And the resort itself is brilliant. Pedestrianised, clean, safe, lots of old buildings, great bars, views of Teide and authentic.

Room Tip: We had room 137 on the ground floor. Tucked away so quiet. Effectively a suite with a privacy curtai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murray_towers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind coments and all the information you gave in your review, which will be very helpful for other travellers.
We hope you will visit us soon again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just arrived home after a great holiday at this hotel, which was the secound time we have stayed. We think the hotel is clean in a good position on the sea front. Food is very good plenty to choose from, staff very friendly especially miranda the entertainments coordinator who made it very enjoyable and fun. We will be going again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor, which we will share with all the staff, especially with Miranda.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel April 11 to April 18 during the school holidays. Upon reading previous reviews I was pleasantly surprised to see that the hotel was hosting many different holiday makers from young, middle aged and elderly couples to families with young children through to families with older children. The hotel did a good job in catering for everyone. The activities program could be participated in by all. There is table tennis facilities and a sports court for the likes of basketball and football. It would have been a better holiday if the activities program had also included these activities or if they were more prominently advertised. The rooms were a good size and kept clean and tidy. They were functional but a bit tired. We stayed half board and thought the restaurant food was very good. From our view point all staff were friendly and helpful. It is not a lively resort but there is plenty to do within a few minutes walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and if went back to this resort would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel. The wi if needs improving.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor, that we will share with all the staff.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holidays here with us, and we hope you will visit us soon again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Alfosno E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just arrived home after a week's holiday in Tenerife. The hotel was nice, but the average age of the customers was 80! We were the youngest ones there (28)!
The reception staff were quite rude and unhelpful, but the rest of the staff were great. The food available at breakfast and dinner was good, with a lot of choice. The only downside was the food was generally cold/ luke warm. We were told we couldn't pay for our dinner drinks after every meal, instead we had to wait until the end of our stay!
The pool and sun terraces were great, but be aware- people reserve sun loungers with towels! The staff do nothing to stop it.
The rooms are dated and need modernising. They are quite small and compact. You have to pay €15 to use the fridge, something I've never experienced before.
The evening entertainment was awful! We couldn't stay at the hotel in the evenings due to the entertainment, but we were limited with other options, as the town is very quiet and everything is shut by 10.30pm onwards. Head into plaza del charco for bars etc if you want nice cocktails.
Overall it was an average stay, but I wouldn't go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, the sunset is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We return to this hotel every year, for the simple reason that it is very clean, with friendly, helpful, staff. Miranda in particular, on the entertainments side of things, does a great job, with her enthusiastic but never pushy or forceful way in promoting the games which are varied enough to appeal to many different tastes and abilities. The restaurant staff are very helpful and accommodating re seating you The reception staff are patient and helpful with any enquiries you may have. The food is varied and plentiful, and I feel that the hotel is usually very busy ( very often with guests like ourselves, returning time and time again), is testament to the fact that people love the friendly atmosphere that pervades. My only gripe?? Please improve the wifi !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind comments in Tripadvisor, which we will share with all the Guests, especially with Miranda.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having previously stayed at this hotel (this was our 6th stay) we can honestly say that the standard of food in the Restaurant has improved (it was always good but this time it was excellent). The hotel is very centrally situated and is kept very clean although we do feel that the bedrooms could do with being revamped as these do let the hotel down but having said that it is clean, excellent staff and very comfortable. We certainly will be going back!

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms that end in 18 - 22 as they have balconies and higher up has lovely views and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind comments. We are pleased you liked the hotel and you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valle Mar
Valle Mar
#14 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Property: H10 Tenerife Playa
Address: Avenida de Colon, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in northern Tenerife along the coastal town of Puerto de la Cruz, the H10Tenerife Playa stands in a prime location on the pedestrian promenade in front of the famous Lago Martiánez, just 50 metres from the sea. The hotel’s complete facilities include swimming pools, a varied array of dining options and meeting rooms for any type of event. In addition, the hotel now offers Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing