We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cracking hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Las Vegas
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 28 December 2011

After reading some of the reviews on the Internet my husband and I and two friends were a little bit dubious as to what we would find. However we were very pleasantly surprised to find such an excellent hotel! We have just returned after spending two weeks over the Christmas period. The hotel was decorated wonderfully and the staff did everything they could to make our stay a lovely Christmas experience. Our room, with balcony overlooking the sea was spacious and immaculately clean with comfortable beds and loads of very hot water. The food served buffet style, was excellent with a huge range each day - always plenty to suit every palate. The location was first class, right on the sea with a lovely promenade - one way past other hotels where we could stroll after dinner and listen to various kinds of entertainment - the other way still alongside the sea to the 'old town' with its many Christmassy lights, restaurants etc. We had sports and activities going on in our hotel during the day for those who wanted to take part, a lovely swimming pool area and entertainment every night. We were not sure what to expect on Christmas day as we were only half board. However we were invited to Christmas lunch - and boy was that some lunch! During Christmas day morning we received a box of chocs from the management deliver to our room and Santa was in the foyer delivering presents to the children. We expected a buffet lunch but this was a set 5-course menu with 3 different wines, served to the table. It was a beautiful meal! The normal buffet meal was still served later that evening! Just one little thing we think they could have improved on is the dress code. They stipulated no shorts, flip flops etc at dinner but they did not follow this through and although the vast majority made the effort, you always get some, don't you!Altogether we don't think we could have found a better hotel and we certainly aim to visit again!

Room Tip: We looked at previous reviews and it said that the sunny side was rather noisy from a nearby disco a...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Dear guest:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,865)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Las Vegas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

The hotel is generally good. It's a few yards from the sea front - our room had a balcony looking out to the sea. Good room, cleaned satisfactorily each day with clean towels always provided. The food is good with a reasonable choice every day.
I would stay there again BUT the loud music from a bar next door below the room begins every evening and can get louder and louder, the worst being the Elvis impersonator twice a week. The plus is that the racket never went beyond 10.30pm but the Las Vegas should sort this out as reading Tripadvisor I am not the first unhappy guest.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kenpimlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Dear Sir:
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words. Sincerely,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

we stayed at this hotel before, but this year we took our holiday Nov.1st-15th but when there is a show on panic sets in, we were bundled over twice during our stay by the spanish people
pushing their way to the front, my glasses got broken, mattresses on the beds are worn out. wrote to the manager but no reply.
alan & diane ashby

Room Tip: our room was about half way up looking over the pools. no noise on this side
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Dear Sir:
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations and we would like to clarify that we cannot resposibilize for an accident with another guest. As you agree, we did know about your glaces when you had leaved the hotel. We will try to compensate you in your next stay.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words. Sincerely,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Not a good start - Arrived off a late flight to unmanned reception desk! Following day asked for a seaview room and was given a lovely room the following morning.

The reception area is a bit dated and unwelcoming but the dining room is great and the location of the hotel is the best in Port de la Cruz.

Room Tip: High floor. Sea view
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear Sir / Madam:
We would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance to exceed your expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words. Sincerely,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

this was my first time at this hotel along with my wife and two freinds who had stayed last year 2010,i was a little dubious after reading the review's on this site however what do people expect for the price butler's hand maidens you get my drift the hotel is clean the staff are freindly the food is good ok it could do with some modernisation but we had no complaint's the room was cleaned every day clean towels if needed comfortable beds what more could you ask i think some people's expectations are just too high for this hotel,the location was exellent evrything you wanted be it bar's resteraunt's tat shop's even mcdonald's right under the hotel so stop moaning people and if you are thinking of trying this hotel go for it we certainley would go again.

Room Tip: ask for high floor sea view you wnt be sorry
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgemcBedworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Dear Sir:
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words. Sincerely,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed 4 days in july and the best part of the hotel is its location. you can pretty much walk anywhere from it, you're right next to the loro park tram stop, by the beach. However, the rooms need some major updating, everything about them is old and rusty. The bathroom feels like a 2 star at most. We had a nice balcony but again, the furniture outside was old and sticky. We chose the two meals and it was definitely sufficient food but of low quality. for breakfast the buffett is huge and the selection appeals to all tastes. Dinner, on the other hand, was also composed of a wide variety but it apparently didn't meet our food needs. We mostly didn't like anything about the food: overcooked paella, rubbery fish, tough meat. The pool area is great and there is a small playground that our 3 year old loved. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Definitely not four stars for US standards...Like some other reviewers comment...bring your earplugs! it's very loud at nights!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front. The lower rooms have a much larger balcony (3rd floo)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Emmagoestothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Emma:
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words. Sincerely,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

While this hotel advertises itself as 4 stars, my partner and I suggested that by US standards, it is more like 2 stars and a moon. The pros- best location in Puerta de Santa Cruz. Lagos Martianez is a 2-minute walk and the train to Loro Park is next to the hotel. What we found so-so was the room (beds were extremely uncomfortable), food (stick to eating whatever is at the grill area but be sure to have the mijo picon sauces). People at the front desk were always very nice. They were also very patient with my spanglish. Note that the noise level is very high due to the location next to Cafe Paris. Bring ear plugs if you are a poor sleeper.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoandchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director_HC_LasVegas, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Sir:
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words. Sincerely,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,646 reviews
0.3 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#22 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Vegas

Address: Avenida Colon 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £59 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Vegas 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Vegas could not be better situated: directly at the sea, in front of the Martinez Lakes and with views of Teide mountain. Furthermore, it is located in the very centre of the city of Puerto de la Cruz. The hotel was recently renovated in 2004 and has 261 rooms on its 13 floors. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, children's swimming pool, miniature golf, table tennis, pool, petanque, sauna, beauty salon, coffee bar and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Vegas Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Catalonia Las Vegas Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing