We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Las Vegas
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 12 February 2014

After reading reviews we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Service very good and staff most efficient and helpful, especially in the restaurant. Rooms very clean, comfortable and tidy but showing their age.
Food was varied and plenty of it, the Spanish saga team were like locusts, and the buffet hot and regularly topped up. The pool area was very clean but the pool was a tad chilly, the lifeguard/ pool attendant most helpful. Couldn't comment on the evening entertainment as we were out every evening as there was so much to enjoy in the evenings around the area, oh the noisy discos were closed an up for sale!
Would return here again, hopefully not before to long

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGrahamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCLasVegas, Director General at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear LondonGrahamr,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as this positive opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
I will congratulate restaurant staff and to the lifeguard cause your words.
I hope also you come back very soon cause you are more than welcome.
Best regards,

Jose Padron.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Las Vegas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Firstly i must concur with previous reviewers, the location of the hotel is excellent, right on the promenade , so easy access to the the town centre (left out of the hotel), and the lido and casino (to the right). the promenade also has numerous bars and restaurants to suit all tastes.
The hotel staff have to be commended, the reeption staff were excellent and the staff in the restaurant were exceedingly efficient, tables were cleared in the blink of an eye. The level of service of the restaurant staff was far higher than i have experienced in supposedly superior hotels.
However the hotel does seem jaded, the room size was small, nothing seems to have changed from the photos that appear in the Laker 1981 Summersun brochure.
The pool area is a great suntrap and the shaded seating between the reception area and tyhe pool are an oasis of calm.
What you have to bear in mind when staying at the Las Vegas is that you will not have paid much compared to staying at other hotels in Puerto, so whilst some things can be improved on, you cant really complain about the hotel

Room Tip: its horses for courses, front views are over the sea, however if yu want views up to La Orotavo and...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NorthernCockney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCLasVegas, Director General at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear NorthernCockney1 ,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as your opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
I will congratulate the staff cause your words.
We take note about you remarks to improve our services and facilities and I hope you come back here vey soon to enjoy them.
Kind regards,

Jose Padron.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the hotel for a week after a thomson cruise. We found the hotel very well positioned and the staff very good. The rooms were fine and on opening the curtains and stepping onto the balcony saw Mount tiede surrounded by white cloud, and that was from a room at the back of the hotel! The reception staff were all very friendly and always busy due to the number of guests checking in and out. The restaurant was self service buffet and you could get fresh cooked food, steak, fish, omelets etc every evening and at breakfast the chef cooked a wide range of items, there was a paella of some sort, fish ,meat etc every night even a black rice one!. The main problem we had was that my wife has allergies and the labels on some of the food on the buffet were not translated into English very well, for example one said unsweetened while the Spanish said wheat free! so we asked the manager to check some of the labels as some people might be allergic to something and that would be a very bad thing to get wrong.We would love to return here and hope the above is of help. we stayed in January and the weather was very mixed, the sea was rough and the clouds came and went. the Lora Park nearby is well worth spending a day at though the price is a bit expensive. The free land train to the park starts right outside the hotel, and that's a big bonus.

Room Tip: avoid the peak times in the buffet as it can be a bit crowded,
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keyboardbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCLasVegas, Director General at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear keyboardbrian ,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as your opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
We take note about you remarks and advise about our translations to improve them and I hope you come back here vey soon to enjoy our hotel cause you are more than welcome.
Kind regards,

Jose Padron.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had two weeks holiday in the hotel in January. This was our third visit and we are returning in March. A very pleasant hotel,Excellent service from the reception desk, friendly and helpful restaurant staff. Plenty of choice of food. The room was a very good size and although a little dated perfectly comfortable. and always kept spotlessly clean. And to the lady who only had one pillow, yes you only had to ask for more. My husband always does and there is no problem. We cant wait to go back in March

As has been said before the location is excellent and just a vey pleasant walk to the centre of town

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 712Lloyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCLasVegas, Director General at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear 712Lloyds ,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as this positive opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
Do not hesitet to contact me in case you need something when you come back in March.
I am very proud to have guest as you and I will congratulate all our staff cause your words.
Best regards,

Jose Padron.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Pleased with our spacious,clean room with {as requested) wonderful Mt Teide view.Bathroom a little cramped but clean and well supplied with towels changed daily.The reception staff were very friedly and helpful.The only drawback for us with the rear room was the awful noise from the disco at the back of the hotel.O.K if the twin double glazed doors were tight shut but then had to have aircon on.Superb location very handy for the bus station and as we were on walking holiday this was great..The local bus service is reliable,cheap with very skilled,helpful drivers who take you on some scenic,hair raising journeys.We cant reccomend this service enough(we have used them for 6years now and cant praise them enough)

Room Tip: If you want sun and the facility to dry walking gear choose the Mt View. about 7 to 10th floor
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 500cynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCLasVegas, Director General at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear 500cynthia ,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as your opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
We take note about you remarks to improve our services and facilities and I hope you come back here vey soon to enjoy our hotel cause you are more than welcome.
Kind regards,

Jose Padron.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is its promenant position.Out the front door and you are right on the front line of Puerto.The free land train to Loro Parque starts here,bus stops,taxi rank,casino,macdonalds,shops,bars,restaurants all within minutes.
The hotel is quite pleasant with friendly,helpful staff but is more 3* than 4*.Food is very good,lots of choices every day.Biggest issue for us was the bathroom,a sink with 2 cracks in and black mould where the bath meets the wall.
Other than that nice rooms with big beds and plenty of storage.
Overall,highly recommended based on price and location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCLasVegas, Director General at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Phil J ,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as your opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
We take note about you remarks to improve our services and facilities and I hope you come back here vey soon to enjoy our hotel cause you are more than welcome.
Kind regards,

Jose Padron.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here half board. We had an enjoyable weeks stay despite the weather. The location is ideal. Walk out of the lobby directly onto the promenade. The hotel staff were efficient and friendly. The food was varied for the week and we always enjoyed our dinner and breakfast.
Cannot comment on the entertainment, as we did not stay in to watch it. There are very nice and comfortable sitting areas in the garden where you can sit and enjoy a cup of tea and go on the net. The hotel lays on free tea and biscuits from 3 - 4 o clock and it is the best time for wifi, as night can be hit or miss getting on line due to amount of people using it. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk to the bus station. We used the bono card to travel to Santa Crux and also to the mall, La Villa. The direct bus to Santa Crux took about 3/4 of an hour and we had a nice day there. The mall is about 15 minutes and the bus was every hour. The bus was busy both ways.
The mall has all the big Spanish shops and a big hypermarket. My only complaint of the hotel were the pillows. There was only one and it was not comfortable, but I am sure I could have got another one if I asked. I just kept forgetting to ask reception who by the way were first class and always appeared happy to help.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennyp1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCLasVegas, Director General at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear kennyp1952 ,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as this positive opinion help us to continue working to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
I hope you come back soon to Puerto de la Cruz and stay with us again cause you are more than welcome and also I hope that on your next visit you will have better weather cause it has not been normal.
Best regards,

Jose Padron.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,650 reviews
0.3 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#18 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#21 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,081 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#22 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Vegas

Address: Avenida Colon 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £59 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Vegas 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Vegas could not be better situated: directly at the sea, in front of the Martinez Lakes and with views of Teide mountain. Furthermore, it is located in the very centre of the city of Puerto de la Cruz. The hotel was recently renovated in 2004 and has 261 rooms on its 13 floors. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, children's swimming pool, miniature golf, table tennis, pool, petanque, sauna, beauty salon, coffee bar and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalonia Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Vegas Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Catalonia Las Vegas Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing