We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tigaiga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tigaiga
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Thame
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

This is a delightful small hotel which is very well managed by its family owners who are very visible and hands-on, ensuring that high standards are maintained. It is in a beautiful, peaceful location with immaculate gardens and a very attractive heated pool with plenty of sun beds, mattresses, shades etc.
Our third floor bedroom was spotless and comfortably functional rather than stylish. All rooms, corridors, and even balconies appeared to be carpeted so none of the usual noise problems of tiled floors. We had superb views of Mt. Teide and over the town to the sea.
Food was generally good and certainly plentiful, with extensive breakfast buffet or cooked to order. The half board option for dinner was good value with 5 courses and good choice although we would have preferred fewer courses in favour of better quality mains. Whilst the fish mains were generally excellent the meat mains options were disappointing. The salad buffet was,of course, self service but it was relaxing to have the rest of the meal served. Good wine list and reasonable prices.
It did seem strange, given the obvious quality of this hotel, that "standard" facilities such as in-room safe and tea/coffee should carry extra charges. The hotel is clearly not in the low-cost airline league!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BN152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback about the Tigaiga!
Your feedback helps us improve our service and quality standards.
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    39
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
187
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This hotel is a gem. Situated higher up in Puerto de la Cruz surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens and a great swimming pool. There's a very pleasant 15 minute walk down 200 steps which meanders through water gardens until you reach the old part of the town which has many fine restaurants (see my 2 recommendations). The rooms are large, functional and well appointed with generous balconies and good bathrooms with lovely outlooks over the mountains, gardens and sea. The staff were all very pleasant and could not do enough for you. There were a few let downs - the house white wine is not good and should be replaced and the food was not really to our taste (we did complain about one meal, but we given a full refund). The breakfast's are vast, lots of choice but tinned fruit and some processed meats are used and the bacon needs to be cooked much crispier. The food did not worry us though as there are so many great restaurants in the town. We also had to pay for a safe which seems a little petty for a premium level hotel and when we put our drinks in the fridge they were removed on the grounds that we had not bought them from the mini bar - it is recommended you hire a fridge from them if you want to store your own drinks. I have never come accross this situation before, but overall the i would return to the hotel as it good qualities more than outweigh the bad.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CatHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

A seventies building, a bit dated inside and out, but comfortable and with good service. Elderly clientele in the main, and mostly from Germany. It did not bother us, our German improved considerably over the week! Entertainment most evenings, rather sedate and understated but we enjoyed it. No problem getting space round the pool, although the hotel was full, it was quiet, goodness knows where everyone goes during the day. Easy walk, for us, down steps to the town. We walked back up the steps too, but we are reasonably fit, 50 somethings. Puerto de la Cruz full of retirees, mostly German, escaping the winter months. Casino a waste of time. Beaches, black sand, hotel pool is better. But we had a lovely week, and I enjoyed the hotel. Perhaps not good for children. Their noise would be noticed in the quiet ambience of the hotel! Not cheap, you could get cheaper hotels further south, but I would not like it. This area is green, pleasant and civilised!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scarlet1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigaiga, Director General at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Tigaiga, Puerto de la Cruz. Looking forward to welcome soon! Kind regards from sunny Tenerife
Familia Enrique Talg and Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

With my husband we stayed two nights in Hotel Tigaiga.
It is a quiet and well located old-fashioned hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
However, the price we paid per night was exorbitant :190 Euros for a double room with breakfast only.Our room was clean, convenient but with a small old-fashioned bathroom.
At the restaurant, food is not gastronomic at all as they pretend it to be...The hotel is mainly used by (old) german tourists and the food is "german style".The first night we ate a (small) piece of grouper ("mero") apparently boiled ....awful!! Grouper is so tasty when well cooked...
Finally,with a rate of 100 Euros per night we would have been satisfied to stay at Hotel Tigaiga . At 190 Euros a night, it's EXCESSIVE on Tenerife island.We also stayed at two five stars hotels on Tenerife, where we paid 150 Euros per night for a huge modern double room with a huge modern bathroom, including breakfast, lunch, dinner and free "booze galore" for my husband and myself.At Tigaiga we had to pay for water at dinner the first night and you have to pay to use your in-room safe!!!..not included in the 190 Euros rate.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank yoyomak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigaiga, Director General at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Thank you for your comment. With only 76 double rooms and a high staff to guest ratio we provide personalized service different to over 650 bedded hotels.

We will continue to strive to provide the best service and hope to meet our visitors expectactions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

A very friendly hotel with helpful staff. Food pretty good, but spoilt by tinned food on the buffet. Could not understand who liked cold boiled sprouts in the salad bar either!? Coffee nice in hotel bars, but dire at breakfast. We were on a walking holiday which required us to procure a packed lunch for the next day. We bought some butter, cheese, and yoghurts which we put in the mini bar fridge (plenty of space without disturbing the drinks). When we got back from a day out, our butter etc was on the dressing table! How petty is that? Later we discovered that we could "hire" another fridge for our own purposes. Weird! Also charged for using the safe in the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank globexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigaiga, Gerente at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Many thanks for sharing your feedback.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and also disappointed to hear that you were disturbed by little "quirks". I would like to mention that our table d´hóte restaurant offers (complementary to the waiter served menu) a buffet with a choice of over forty items, trying to fulfill a variety of guests´ wishes. Also, the room-minibars are clearly marked "Exclusive for hotel beverages" and due to health & safety regulations our staff complies with this policy.
I would personally like to apologise to you for the inconvenience caused to you and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The staff were without exception friendly and helpful. The room was really nice with a sea view. The gardens are very nice and the area is quiet. It is at the top of a very steep hill which is the price you pay for the views. If we are in Tenerif this is where we will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigaiga, Gerente at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Tigaiga Hotel.
We will share your positive comments with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Small, very established family run hotel. Set in attractive gardens. Surounded by beautiful scenery. Has a varied menu and wines. Attentive staff. Some evenings Canarian music. Tanquil place to relax and unwind. Although the standard rooms are very good, we prefer the additional space of the suites. A hotel that will draw you back year after year!
We enjoy the Taoro Park area very much. Apart from the lush green hotel gardens, the way down to town takes us past the waterfalls and is only a short distance to the centre.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tigaiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tigaiga

Property: Hotel Tigaiga
Address: Parque Taoro, 28, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tigaiga 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tigaiga: Beautifully located in extensive subtropical gardens in the tranquil Taoro Park above the main town of Puerto de la Cruz but only 15 minutes walk from the town centre. Owned by the Talg family since it opened in 1959 it is now managed by the third generation. Rooms are very comfortable and with all requirements and excellent bathrooms. Breakfast is an extensive buffet offering both hot and cold options and half-board dinner is 5 courses and waiter served. The heated pool and terrace have spectacular views over Puerto and the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tigaiga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tigaiga Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing