We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break”
Review of Hotel Tigaiga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tigaiga
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice break”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location .rooms where basic but lovely . The Staff were very friendly and the customer service was brilliant and food was average but nice .I would definitely come back ,myself and my family had a wonderful break we felt so at ease and relaxed .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipsaway34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMTigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your Tigaiga holidays and have passed on your kind words to our team. HASTA LA VISTA
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    40
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
192
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Tenerife is much more than "Playa de las Americas". Puerto de la Cruz is for my part a better place to be between the south (very hot) and the north part ( more windy).
If you ever plan to stay in Puerto de la Cruz, than the "Tigaiga" hotel must be one of your top three ranked hotel on your list. Quiet place surrounded by gardens, a not to crowded swimmingpool, nice and clean rooms, and above all, very friendly people.
You will be not too far from the center of the city, and at the same time not too close to enjoy a quiet stay, if needed.
For sure, if I go back to Puerto de la Cruz, this hotel will be on the top of my wish list.

Room Tip: Take a nice room with view on the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMTigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay at the Tigaiga. We were delighted to read that you had a relaxing time and that you enjoyed our service. Please do come and stay with us again soon.
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

At first we found it a bit weird to be on holiday abroad and be able to speak German to all the staff (and in fact to 95% of the other guests too) but once you get used to that it is in fact a lovely hotel. Beautiful both inside and outside. Lovely location up on a hill with great views. Green parrots flying around wild on the premises. We stayed for 5 nights and could have easily stayed longer... The staff helped us book hiking tours which included pick up (and drop off) directly from the hotel. The pool is lovely and was never crowded during our stay. We ate two nights in the restaurant and spent 4 of our five evenings having a late drink there as well. The setting is perfect, and the entertainment managed to be pleasant rather than cheesy. Nice background music in other words. Food was excellent too. On the evenings we ate down town, we decided to take a taxi back up to save us the late night hike (with kids) - and this is well worth the 3.50 Euros that taxi costs...
The rooms were nice and newly renovated. The beds could have been better... But should not be a deal breaker.
If you are not German or at least (as me) german-speeking you might feel a bit left out though.

Room Tip: Staff mentioned that all rooms on floor one and two are renovated - floor three not yet, so I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lieselathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMTigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your travel experience. We are happy that you have been pleased with the facilities and services provided by our hotel team. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent 10 days at the Tigaiga Hotel owned by the Taig family and run by Enrique and his two sisters. The Hotel is set in its own immaculate sub-tropical gardens within the Taoro Park overlooking Puerto de la Cruz with views of Mount Teide and the sea. The family are very hands- on making sure everything is running as it should. The food is excellent with plenty of choice. The room we had was superb on the 3rd floor overlooking P de La Cruze on one side and Mt Tiede on the other with a west facing balcony. P de La Cruze is easily reached on foot in 15 minutes although coming back is a bit steep, taxis are however cheap. We hired a car and found the Island scenery stunning. The Hotel has a lovely pool for relaxing around. Our holiday was booked through Prestige Holidays who once again gave excellent service, we had private transfers from the South Airport about an hour away, and were met by Representatives.

Room Tip: Go for the third floor for the best views, we were on the NW corner (room 323)
See more room tips
Green Features: Towel re-use programme, recycling bins in common areas, emphasis on local produce. It was obvious thought had been given to environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianblack532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMTigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for having chosen the Tigaiga for your stay in Tenerife and for taking the time to make a so extensive review about your visit. It is a pleasure to read that we have been able to offer you a good holiday experience. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We have just returned after 2 delightful weeks in the Tigaiga. This was our first time there as in previous years, in Puerto, we have been at other very good hotels - but this one undoubtedly puts these in the shade. The building and grounds are beautifully kept under the close supervision of members of the owning family who also move around speaking to guests. In management terms this used to be referred to as "walking the job". The owners are brilliant exponents of this technique.

The breakfast buffet selection was absolutely first class with impeccable attention. Servicing of the room was to a very high standard and the maids are to be truly commended for this and their cheerful manner. On the first floor, I recall they were Miriam and Macarena but I may have got this wrong.

We did not spend all that much time around the hotel as we like to get out and travel around the island and also still enjoy some challenging walking. However, had we wished to stay put, it would be difficult to imagine more relaxing and tranquil surroundings. One word of caution, if heading west on the hourly TITSA number 363 bus it is sometimes best not to rely on the stop near the hotel as the bus is often fully loaded by the time it gets there. Safer to go to the bus station down town.

As we were reluctantly leaving for home Irene (of the family) was on hand to bid us farewell.

We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Craigendarroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We wish to thank you for making such a wonderful review about your stay with us!
Thank you specially for your kind words regarding our Tigaiga team; we will inform them all about your compliments! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Famililia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Situated a 15 minute walk through public gardens from the centre of the town, the Tigaiga is set in beautiful gardens of its own, with plenty of shady areas to sit, affording magnificent views of the coast and the mountains. There is a beautiful pool complex. Service is exceptional throughout, with the reception staff being worthy of a special mention for helpfulness. Members of the family who own the hotel were regularly circulating and talking to guests. Our room was a good size, not over luxurious, but with all you could require and with an excellent bathroom. A generous balcony gave even better views than the gardens. The whole hotel was blissfully quiet.

Breakfast was an extremely varied high quality buffet. The food in the a la carte restaurant was excellent - mainly traditional Spanish/Canarian dishes with a modern twist - and was very reasonably priced for the quality.

German visitors were in an overwhelming majority, but no sunbed wars were evident! A couple of very minor gripes - the only English TV Channel available was BBC World News, and we never quite worked out the seating arrangements at breakfast - on two occasions, having sat at the same table as the previous day we were politely asked to move for no very obvious reason.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra for a room with coast and mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thamesboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for having chosen the Tigaiga for your stay and for your time to make a so interesting review about your visit. We feel proud of having been able to offer you a good vacational experience. Your feedback will be considered in order to increase the quality of some of our services (breakfast seating) and facilities (TV channels). Once again THANK YOU, we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankenthal, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Most reviews are correct. Here some appendixes .....

the position of the hotel is 900 m (light above) the historic center of Puerto de la Cruz.
Walking through Taoro Park is fast and no problem. For people with handicap .... don't be afraid, you'll need 5 mins more and can use the sidewalk - or take a cab for 4 €.

The Tigaiga is family-managed since over 50 years and one of the smaller hotels in Puerto.
The staff and the service is absolutely excellent (5*). Green area is well tended and very beautiful. Perfect place for relaxing. Breakfast offers massive selection and good quality.
One point of constructive criticism .... the bed could be larger for tall people.

We're coming back.

Room Tip: Take the "Teide-View" and you'll get both ..... mountain and atlantic-ocean .... eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CityMan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you appreciate our staff and all our services. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
550 reviews
0.7 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tigaiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tigaiga

Property: Hotel Tigaiga
Address: Parque Taoro, 28, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tigaiga 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tigaiga: Beautifully located in extensive subtropical gardens in the tranquil Taoro Park above the main town of Puerto de la Cruz but only 15 minutes walk from the town centre. Owned by the Talg family since it opened in 1959 it is now managed by the third generation. Rooms are very comfortable and with all requirements and excellent bathrooms. Breakfast is an extensive buffet offering both hot and cold options and half-board dinner is 5 courses and waiter served. The heated pool and terrace have spectacular views over Puerto and the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Tigaiga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tigaiga Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing