We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tigaiga
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tigaiga Suites(Puerto de la Cruz)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Taoro Garden(Puerto de la Cruz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parque San Antonio(Puerto de la Cruz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Puerto Palace(Puerto de la Cruz)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Don Candido(Puerto de la Cruz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Chiripa Gardens & Resort(Puerto de la Cruz)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Trianflor(Puerto de la Cruz)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
My City Hotel(Puerto de la Cruz)
View Hotel
Casa del Sol(Puerto de la Cruz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
231
44
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
44
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restauranttaoro parkgarden tourbooked bed breakfastlate januaryin terms of food qualityal jazeerafruit buffethill overlooking the townstayed two nightshanging spacehalf boardmount teidewell run hotelminor criticismset in beautiful gardenspeaceful location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We have stayed at the Hotel Tigaiga for two weeks in September for the past seven years and we are delighted to say that over this period the high standard of the hotel has been maintained.
The hotel is situated in a quite location by the Park Taoro.
We are both past retirement age and can easily walk down to the centre of Puerto de la Cruz but return by taxi (about 4 euros with tip). There is a bus stop about three hundred yards from the hotel with frequent frequent services to the bus station in the town centre from where buses run to most parts of the island.
The entire hotel is spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and well appointed.
The rooms we have occupied have all had twin beds which the rooms can easily accommodate, with large wardrobes,plenty of drawer space, a mini bar and safe.Tea and coffee making facilities can be provided as an extra.
The bathrooms are fully equipped and the rooms have balconies complete with table and chairs.
Robes and and towells are provided for use by the pool.
The gardens and pool area is excellent with views overlooking the resort and the sea.
There are many sun beds situated in the gardens and by the pool,Parasols and sun bed covers are provided by a pool attendant, there is no charge for this service.
Beneath the pool there are changing rooms, toilets, showers and a sauna.
At the side of the hotel away from the pool there is a tennis court.
The food at the hotel is very good. Buffy breakfast is seved in the dining room with both continental and cooked food on offer.
Dinner,which in summer is served on the terrace, comprises of five courses and with the exception of the salad bar is waiter service. The wine list is adequate with good quality wines at reasonable prices.
Relaxed entertainment is provided about three times a week and asually accompanies the evening meal.
There are two bars in the hotel, one of which opens only in the winter months and the other by the restaurant is small and not comfortable and this is our only ctriticism of the hotel.
The hotel staff are excellent and nothing is to much trouble.The family who own the hotel, two sisters and a brother, are always on hand should their attention be required.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank couplefromleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Stayed at Tigaiga for 1 week from July 4th 09, we are a couple in our early 50's and were mainly looking for relaxation and peace with some nice food.
Tigaiga provided all of the above and did it very well also.
We had a lovely room, 1st floor on a corner, room 123 and with views over both the pool and the gardens looking towards Mount Teide and with the resort and coast below.
There was loads of wardrobe space - which made a big difference and lots of hangers, there was a great mirror and a magnifying mirror in the bathroom and a hairdryer which has to be used in the bathroom. There is a safe which is extra. There are bathrobes which can be worn down to the pool area.
The twin beds were very comfortable, there is enough space and there is a mini bar.
The balcony was also spacious and has green matting which made it much more comfortable. There was a table and chairs on the balcony.
There is no tea/coffee making facilities but you can hire them I believe from the hotel. We brought our own but the hotel do not allow you to use the minibar fridge to store anything other than their drinks, so if you put milk for tea or anything else in there it is removed by room maids. There is a notice to say you can hire another fridge for that purpose!!
We arrived at about 9.15 pm and really didn't feel like any dinner by then but we did fancy a drink in the bar before going to bed, the only problem is that there is no bar open in the hotel where you can sit and have a drink. You can sit in the restaurant and have drinks with your dinner and even a couple after your dinner at the table but no bar area for before and after. There is a bar by reception but I never saw it used - maybe it is used more in the winter. In the evenings the hotel was deserted by about 10pm - I presume most people had gone to bed. We didn't really mind as we were there mainly to rest anyway and I suppose there are lots of other places to go which are easily reached by taxi.
The hotel is family owned and this is much in evidence as there is lots of information about the hotel and the man who built it and his children who now own it. It is def refreshing to stay somewhere where the owners take care and pride in the hotel and also the surroundings and especially the gardens which are unique and delightful with some rare species and all very well cared for.
The hotel is most popular with German and German speaking guests and in fact we were the only Brits in the hotel and I occasionally forgot that I was in Tenerife when we were having dinner and breakfast, as many of the staff speak German also and we even received our questionnaire in German. It didn't trouble us at all and most people were friendly but my German is sadly lacking. Breakfast is typically German with cold meats and cheese, boiled eggs and rye bread etc, there is also scrambled and fried eggs and bacon but the bacon looked very fatty and typically European rather than English and the eggs were just average. There were lots of different juices and also you could squeeze your own oj. The cereal didn't look too appealing but there was plenty of fruit and different types of bread and lots of jam of all description.
We were on half board and dinner was excellent - in fact one of the highlights was the evening food. We had 5 courses and there was a choice of starter, mains and dessert from 2 as part of the set meal. There was usuallu a soup starter, then a pasta dist etc followed by the main course and dessert. Then there was a lovely salad buffet also to start with which included different types of cheese and cold meat plus a hot meat dish and vegetables - really excellent. All of the food was beautifully cooked and presented and tasted delicious - def top marks for that.
The seating was outside mainly with some additional tables inside but if everyone arrived promptly at 7 for dinner there were not enough tables outside so you had to sit inside where it was quite warm or wait.
The pool area is very pleasant and usually quiet with lots of sunloungers, it does get a bit busier and quite a bit noisier at the weekends when local families are there with their children so less peaceful on those days but not really a problem. The pool itself is very pleasant and was warm enough.
You could walk down to the resort in about 15 to 20 mins and we usually got a taxi back they are quite reasonable and plentiful.
We visited Loro Parque in Puerto de la Cruz and had a most enjoyable day - the shows were very good, Abaco mansion is also beautiful and a nice place to relax and have a look round the house and have a drink in the garden.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed at Hotel Tigaiga for 3 nights and were very pleased by the first class service the hotel offered. Although not necessarily the high ritz of some other hotels, Tigaiga offers clean, comfortable rooms with amazing views of the mountains and ocean. We were greated upon check-in with a sherry and/or freshly squeezed orange juice, in our rooms we had fresh fruit and a bottle of white wine on ice. The gardens at the hotel are prestine and you really note the love and care that went into them. Hotel Tigaiga is run by a family and all the staff are courtious and go the extra mile to provide good service. From the reception, bar staff, restaurant staff or hotel management we felt as though we were a part of the family.

The pool is really well taken care of with a magnificient hilltop view of the ocean.

Our last day, one of the hotel owners came by at breakfast and took the time to speak to all the guests individually. She was very kind and helpful. She also was flexible and letting us check out later.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pdelparte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Just got back from Tigaiga, where we stayed for 8 nights.I highly recommend this family-owned hotel. It's like your home away from home. Rooms are not luxurious or hip, but the beds are very comfortable, great bedding, the closets huge (great if you're staying longer and don't want to live out of a suitcase), the bathroom fabulous and views from the balcony (with table and chairs) beautiful. Pool is cold, but the garden is beautiful and set in the equally beautiful Taoro park, way way above town. On a clear day, you can see the Pico del Teide volcano.

Take time to look around in Taoro park and the neighbouring residential area -- well worth it.

Breakfast buffet is amazing. And the 4-course dinner (soup, appetizer, main, dessert) + very generous salad buffet is high quality and tasty. Don't expect typically Spanish specialities though. Each day there's a choice between a meat or fish main dish. If you're vegetarian, they can accommodate you, but ask well in advance.

Most of the guests are German, some English and most middle-aged and older. Hotel management and many staff speak both German and English.

VERY comfy and lovely place. We miss it already...

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CityCountryMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We have just returned from a two night stay at this peaceful small hotel. Compared to hotels on the south of the island, it could be said to be a little dated, however ALL the staff were very friendly and obliging, nothing was too much trouble.

We arrived to attend a wedding, our clothes hadnt travelled well, no problem! unable to converse with the chambermaid, she managed to understand our dilemma, suit was removed whilst we were having coffee and promptly returned fully pressed.

would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 333judi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews