We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel with low service level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
smartline Teide Mar
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel with low service level”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

Hotel is really affordable and cheap, though service and and location does not fit even to it. Hotel is quite long from the beach, and town center, and you need to climb a while to get to a hotel, makes you really tired...

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Adnan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    110
    89
    41
    34
See reviews for
62
172
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Enjoyed our stay here. Accommodation was clean and tidy and pool was excellent with pleasant gardens surrounding it. There is also a tennis court. Not the most luxurious place, but perfectly adequate for a weeks stay. Reception staff were helpful and efficient. There is a bit of walk down a steep hill into town however there are a number of reasonable bars and restaurants close to the apartments.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmp0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

just returned from a week holiday at teide mar appartments. It appears to be a very tired , outdated place that having some money spent on it could make it very nice. first thing we spotted when entering our room was a huge cockroach (4 floors up not expected)
most of the reception staff cant speak english which for a hotel that caters for various nationalities , i thought was poor. the gardens were unkept, trhe swimming pool had loose tiles in it along with broken slabs around it. As i said it is ashame as it is in a good location unfortunately ,in its present condition, i would not return

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at the Teide De Mar apartments for 10 nights on a half board basis and it was lovely. The staff on reception were very friendly and welcoming and had met all our requests when we booked ( two rooms close together and a pool view). The rooms were a nice size and clean and tidy, and the view of the gardens was very nice. The cleaner did a wonderful job of tidying our rooms especially as one of them had three teenagers in it so sometimes it got a little messy at times!! The pool area was great for sunbathing and the kids enjoyed the pool even though it was a little cold, but they soon got used to it. The food in the restaurant was good for a half board stay and we always found there was plenty to eat. The staff in the restaurant were also very friendly. The area of Puerto is very nice and fairly quiet so if your looking for a relaxing holiday then this is an ideal place. There are a few bars and restaurants and shops which provide everything you need, but if you want something more then there are also local supermarkets. We visited the sea fed swimming pools, Lago Martinez, Loro Parque, Siam water park and the El Teide volcano and all were very enjoyable. The weather was glorious and the sun shone most of our stay, we did have a couple of days when it was cloudy but it was a welcome break from the sun and it was still hot.
Overall we all had a wonderful time and would definitely visit this part of Tenerife again and stay at the Teide De Mar.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I really enjoyed our stay here. It's not the most luxurious, but friendly staff, clean rooms and a decent choice of food made up for this.
The Internet is extra but the wi fi isn't available in the rooms anyway! We just used the free wi fi in local bars and restaurants.
Plenty of room by the pool and not too noisy. It's very Spanish which we liked.
We went to near by hotels for kids disco and went out in the evening so we quite liked the fact it wasn't on in our hotel.
It's a budget break but a really nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week B&B with my friend and we liked the traditional wood style balconies and mature gardens around the pool. Breakfast good with plenty choice but glad we were going out for dinner. Rooms very clean and fresh but there was a lingering odour of cats in ours from the drains in bathroom - strange coz no cats around! Great base for exploring the town and plenty nice wee cafes and restaurants round about.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonam15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at the Teide Mar apartments the first week in August. The hotel was very clean with lovely gardens and a nice large deep pool. The staff were extremely helpful and spoke very good english. The room was a good size and very clean, the maids attended the room most days. We stayed all inclusive, which consisted of a wide variety of foods and drinks. The area of La Paz is very quiet with plenty of bars and restaurants and is only a short walk to the town which is a hive of activity. We booked with on the beach.com which worked really well with smooth transfers. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asklyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#28 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#43 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#58 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos RF Bambi
Apartamentos RF Bambi
#33 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#41 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#61 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Teide Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Teide Mar

Property: smartline Teide Mar
Address: Calle Acevino 6, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos Teide Mar)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Teide Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teide Mar is located nearby center of La Paz, the most popular residential areas of Puerto de la Cruz with interesting sights, shops, bars and restaurants. Puerto de la Cruz is reachable within walking distance. A beautiful place with a fishing harbor an nice old town centre with colonial buildings- • 4,000 m2 of lush subtropical garden area • In the near of the centre of Puerto de la Cruz • Special senior activities and facilities • Adults friendly Accommodation Teide Mar offers 257 junior suites with a combined bedroom and living room. The junior suites are designed with senior guests in mind, with for example higher beds, long shoe horn and easy opening wardrobes. The hotel also offers store space for scooters and walkers. Room types available: • Junior suite (approx. 36,5 m2 including balcony) with standard view for 2-3 guests • Junior suite (approx. 36,5 m2 including balcony) with pool or garden view for 2-3 guests Room facilities: • Furnished balcony • Single beds (in most junior suites with duvet beddings and reading lamps • Double bed (grand lit) (in a few junior suites) (only upon request) with duvet beddings and reading lamps • Extra bed type: Sofa bed • TV with satellite channels (flat screen 32 inches) (free of charge; Remote control with deposit) • Safe (against charge) • Telephone • Kitchenette • 2 hot plates • Coffee machine (filter – German coffee) • Kettle • Kitchen equipment (basic) • Fridge • Dining place • Bathtub with shower (with small steps for easier access) • WC • Hairdryer Cleaning 5 times per week, change of linen 2 times/week, change of towels 3 times/week. Food & Beverage smartline Teide Mar offers a buffet restaurant and both inside bar and pool bar. Restaurant & bar facilities: • Buffet restaurant • Bar • Pool bar The hotel offers the following meal plans: • Self-Catering • Bed & Breakfast • Half board Breakfast (8 a.m. – 10 a.m.); lunch (1 p.m. -3 p.m.) and dinner (7 p.m. – 9 p.m.) are served in the buffet restaurant. Pool & Beach The hotel provides its guest a 100 m2 large pool, which is heated to approx. 22-24 degrees during November till March. Sun loungers by the poolside and parasols on the grass are available free of charge. The pool is equipped with steps, a ladder and a hand rail for easy access. Guests can additionally can relax in the 4. 000 m2 botanical garden, which lays 500 meters from the hotel or indulge theirself with a massage which is organized by Thomas Cook host (against extra charge). In the west of Puerto de la Cruz you will find the 260 meter long Playa Jardin with black lava sand. Next to the Lago Martianez area you will find an additional beach, "Playa Martianez", also with black lava sand which is typical for this island. Sports, Relaxation & Entertainment smartline Teide Mar has a special senior program, including walking tours, yoga and other activities - arranged by the Thomas Cook host in the hotel (all at an additional charge). Furthermore, guests have the have the choice between the following various activities: • Tennis court (against charge) • Pool table (against charge) • Yoga – organized by the Thomas Cook host (against charge) • Nordic walking tours – organized by the Thomas Cook host (against charge) • Afternoon coffee party in one of the local coffee shops - organized by the Thomas Cook host • Shopping tours - organized by the Thomas Cook host • Singing groups - organized by the Thomas Cook host • Weekly wine degustation – organized by the Thomas Cook host (against charge) • Game room to play cards or bridge* • TV room* • Reading room * *) Please note that the game room for playing cards, the TV room and the reading room is one sole room Internet • Free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel • Stationary computers available (against charge) Additional Information • Please note: Hotel is recommended for 16+ • Reception • Elevators • Mini market • Self-service laundry–against charge • Medical center – across the road • Dog friendly (up to 4kg) – upon request • Parking facilities available in the nearby streets of the hotel – free of charge Contact Teide Mar Calle Acevinos, Urb. La Paz 6 Spain , Tenerife 38400 Puerto de la Cruz ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your smartline Teide Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teide Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Smartline Teide Mar Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing