We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
smartline Teide Mar
Ranked #47 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Salamanca, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Apartments”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have just returned from our first stay at these apartments and found them to be perfectly adequate for our need's, the rooms are spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the location ideal

the one thing that we did think let the complex down was the food, we only tried breakfast once and ended up leaving it as it was stone cold, stone cold fried egg's are not ideal but as the rest of the supposed hot food was also stone cold it at least all matched,it was obvious that the heating under the food containers was either not working or not being used, the dining room at breakfast was chaotic to say the least with no one in charge or overseeing the food, guests trying to pay etc and it was pretty much a free for all

our first couple of nights when we went to the bar after a night out were just perfect,the barman is a great character with a ready wit and a smile for everyone,it was the perfect place to sit with a whisky before bed, but this all changed when on the third day the complex was taken over by a very large contingent of guests from a mainland Europe country ,the bar in the evening then became unusable due to the shouting and bullying nature of these guests,the women spent most of the evening shrieking and screaming like schoolgirls even though they were all over retirement age

there are some wonderful restaurants only a few minutes walk from the complex,our favorite was the Arianna,the pasta dishes served here were the best we have ever had and for a price that you would expect in a local cafe for coffee and cake,the bulk of the bars and cafe's nearby are German oriented and serve dishes not usually seen

the Wifi in the complex is expensive and very unreliable, it will only work on the ground floor and then only when it feels like it, the connection drops constantly and is most certainly not worth the 6E a day that they ask to use it.

the apartments themselves are fine if just a little tired,the are staff wonderful and this makes the apartments good value ,just be aware of the little extras like being charged for the wifi ( the first time we have ever had to pay for it in a hotel and we stay in quite a few over the course of our work )

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    105
    86
    39
    34
See reviews for
61
161
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to Teide Mar. As I noted before, the apartments are in a nice location close to restaurants and the Botanic Gardens. Staff were very helpful.

The apartments are set out in an "L" shape. Last year we had a room on the outside of the "L" facing a quiet side road. This year we were allocated a room facing the noisy main road with a busy bar just below the room. Fortunately we were able to upgrade to a garden room for a supplement.

The garden room was pleasantly quiet and had a much better view. If we go again next year, I'll definitely book the garden view room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have just returned from our holiday in Tenerife and, like with any other trip I ever take, I consulted Tripadvisor for advise before booking accomodation in Puerto de la Cruz. Teide Mar had very positive reviews, so I went and booked it for our family holdiay - my husband, almost 3 year old daughter and 8 month old son & myself. I can honestly say that we were not disappointed as this is really a nice apartment complex in a great location.

THE APARTMENTS: Yes the apartments are basic (let's face it, budget holiday apartments usually are), but we had all the things we needed and just used it as a base really. We booked into a studio apartment and my husband and I had a single bed each, our daughter slept on the sofa bed and our baby in a cot. The cot was old, but had a decent mattress and was secure. The kitchenette was clean, the bathroom was clean. We had plenty of fresh towels. Housekeeping was daily, except Sundays and Wednesdays. However, I felt that they arrived a bit too early - usually around 9am - so there were a few mornings that I told them we didn't need cleaning. Our linen was changed twice weekly. We had a side apartment on the second floor, facing on to a quiet street with fantastic views of a hazy-topped Mount Teide and the hillside lights at night. We did have a small ant visitation one day, but bug spray from the Suma supermarket up the road sorted that out. We were able to borrow an iron and hairdryer from reception without any charge/deposit. The only minor gripe is that here wasn't a kettle, which we found particularily awkward as we needed to boil water for baby bottles, so we had to use a pot instead.

Outdoors, the pool area is lovely. The trees and grenery make it very lush and relaxing. The little bar is nice. It wasn't at all busy whilst we were there and there was a huge abundance of loungers, which you could pull to secluded areas under trees for some privacy. The children's pool was decent sized, the main pool was very generously sized and the wide steps in the shallow end were handy for kids playing also. A sign read that the pools area closes at 6pm, but this was not strictly enforced at all, and it was often still in use at 7.30pm. Small playground with swings, climbing frame & playhouse was a bit dilapadated (not that my daughter even noticed!) We didn't encounter the staff very often, the wheenver we did they seemed very nice and friendly.

We never go all-inclusive as we love to eat out & sample local cuisine, so I can't comment on the on-site food, although having peeped into the restaurant one night, everything looked presentable and the aroma was nice. We only heard music on Saturday nigths. Our apartment was directly over the bar, but it had stopped by 11.30pm. There was no other entertainment that we observed, but as I said, we didn't hang around much so may have missed whatever was on.

Don't bother purchaing WiFi from reception as it is weak and not available beyond the foyer area and, I thought, far too expensive at €6 per day. There is a little room off the foyer with computers and internet access is €1 for 10 mins, which was still very pricey. Very few bars/restaurants offer WiFi and we never got very fast connections anyway, so we just used the data on our iPhones and got very good 3G reception both in the apartments and around the town in general.

LOCATION: It was our first time to Tenerife, although we have visited the other Canary Island before and felt the terrain was very similair. Puerto de la Cruz was actually where my parents honeymooned in 1976 and I got the impression that the town hasn't changed much, so whilst parts are dated and restaurant interiors sometimes camp, it actually has a charming result. One concern we did have before coming was the conveneince of the location for us as a family with two smallies and a buggy. Around the apartments, which are in the La Paz area, are many nice restaruants and souviner shops, a Suma supermarket (with a lovely bakery at the entrance), pubs & cafes. All within 2-5 minutes of a stroll. We only ate around La Paz twice as we much preferred strolling down to the seafront/pier areas in the evening for the wonderful atmosphere. It took us about 15 to walk down. You can go either via the steps route or the hilly road. Scenery on the way down is beautiful and there are nice little touristy shops to pass. My husband wheeled our baby in his buggy back up the hilly road a few nights, but usually joined me and our daughter in a taxi as it was a fiar slog back up. Taxi journey was never any more than 5 mins and €3.50 back to the apartments. There are so many restaurants to choose from around the town, seafront and old square. Great value too. We usually went for two mains, plus a child's portion of something (Paella or pasta) with drinks, which came in around €30. Most places had menus which included things like pizzas for €7, escalopes, salad & chips for €8, omlettes for €5, Paella for two €20, pasta dishes for €8, etc. I ate Paella most nights (love it!) and was never disappoitned with it anywhere. For desert, we often went to one of the many wonderful ice-cream parlours and ate 3-scoops bowls for €2 each as we strolled around. The tourist population is mainly made up of middle-aged, elderly and families with young children. We did not come across very many Irish or British, but there were lots of Germans and Spaniards around. Whilst there are some "discoteques" around, you won't find large groups of party-goers up around this part of the island.

MUST DO/SEE: Loro Parque is a must. There is a free open-sided yellow bus that leaves from outside McDonalds and takes you there in about 15 mins. €33 each for adults, our kids were free. Fantasic day out - great whale, sealion and shark shows, plus an aquarium and an artic penguin house that is breath-taking. PuebloChicco was also fun. Free bus runs to this also and is was €12.50 for adults, kids under 3 free. It's basically a miniature land (a bit on to the Brussels Mini Europe, if anyone has been there), which our daughter loved. Playa Jardin is a beach at the far end of the town. About €4 in a taxi. 1KM long. It is black volcanic sand which is very coarse and an absolute nightmare to get out of your scalp. You can do bus-trips to the crater of Mount Teide which I imagine would be amazing, but we opted not to with the kiddies in tow. Siam Park waterpark looked like a must too, but again, probably not the best for very small children. You'll pass many tour operators around the streets, but just across the road and a few metres up from Teide Mar there is a guy called Pablo, who has excellent English having lived in Leiscester for 5 years, who we found to be very helpful and honest about the attractions and what we should & shouldn't bother with.

We'll defintiely be returning to Tenerife and are very likely to stay at the Teide Mar apartments again and would definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank YvonneOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

lovely apartment great place. staff was really helpfull and apartment was nice could have done with a kettle pan takes a bit to boil for cup of tea, the pool was good, food in hotel looked good but we went out but if i go again i would go all in only didnt after reading reviews sorry i didnt, nice area we had a lovely time, close to some nice restaurants one place u can get a 3 course meal for 7.95 and the food was good. close to supermarkets only down side is their are hills and the hill down to town centre and free train to loro is ok to walk down but hard to walk up but lots of taxis around. i would go back an will be going back its aroun d an hour from airport which is only downside i found, we had a lovely time and some nice places to go around and see like the gardens, and my 9 year old loved it to :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toni12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

went to teide mar way back in 2000 nice clean hotel with a couple of restaurants just outside and only one bar open pepitos which seemed to cater mainly for the germans kept being constantly asked to go to a half built hotel by a man outside hotel doors free taxi there n back but nearly three hours of hard sell to book your next five years holiday but got free loro park tickets which is well worth going to long way to town lots of steps but lovely when u there really good scottish pub that do a proper full english

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Everything was excellent. Amazing pool. Everythingclean and tidy, in fact beautiful! We had an absolute nightmare with our transfers but the hotel dealt with it brilliantly and sorted everything out for us. We didn't need to do a thing, even the staff at the hotel just told us to just enjoy our holiday. The best service we have had in a hotel since I can remember and we go on holiday several times a year. Would definitely recommend particularly if you want to feellike part of the family

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanneprestige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We were sold this hotel through onthebeach.com as a 4* hotel. It is not even close to a 3*. The rooms are shabby and the beds were falling apart. Don't expect your room to be cleaned during your stay either. The noise in the hotel was unbearable. I didn't get a single nights sleep during my week there with groups of school kids screaming, shouting and running/skateboard around the corridors throughout the night. The beach is advertised as being 300m from the hotel. That's true as the crow flies, but the reality is it is a good 20min walk. If you do want to pay for the TV bear in mind it works out at about £20 for the week and you are paying for a 9x9" box that only has 1 news channel in English. Without wanting to sound like a complete grump, the resort is actually lovely and there are much nicer hotels nearer the sea front that are around the same price. I've stayed in better hostels!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#29 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masaru Apartments
Masaru Apartments
#26 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos RF Bambi
Apartamentos RF Bambi
#35 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#42 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Alta
Apartamentos Alta
#31 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Carabela Apartments
La Carabela Apartments
#61 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Teide Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Teide Mar

Property: smartline Teide Mar
Address: Calle Acevino 6, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos Teide Mar)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Teide Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teide Mar is located nearby center of La Paz, the most popular residential areas of Puerto de la Cruz with interesting sights, shops, bars and restaurants. Puerto de la Cruz is reachable within walking distance. A beautiful place with a fishing harbor an nice old town centre with colonial buildings- • 4,000 m2 of lush subtropical garden area • In the near of the centre of Puerto de la Cruz • Special senior activities and facilities • Adults friendly Accommodation Teide Mar offers 257 junior suites with a combined bedroom and living room. The junior suites are designed with senior guests in mind, with for example higher beds, long shoe horn and easy opening wardrobes. The hotel also offers store space for scooters and walkers. Room types available: • Junior suite (approx. 36,5 m2 including balcony) with standard view for 2-3 guests • Junior suite (approx. 36,5 m2 including balcony) with pool or garden view for 2-3 guests Room facilities: • Furnished balcony • Single beds (in most junior suites with duvet beddings and reading lamps • Double bed (grand lit) (in a few junior suites) (only upon request) with duvet beddings and reading lamps • Extra bed type: Sofa bed • TV with satellite channels (flat screen 32 inches) (free of charge; Remote control with deposit) • Safe (against charge) • Telephone • Kitchenette • 2 hot plates • Coffee machine (filter – German coffee) • Kettle • Kitchen equipment (basic) • Fridge • Dining place • Bathtub with shower (with small steps for easier access) • WC • Hairdryer Cleaning 5 times per week, change of linen 2 times/week, change of towels 3 times/week. Food & Beverage smartline Teide Mar offers a buffet restaurant and both inside bar and pool bar. Restaurant & bar facilities: • Buffet restaurant • Bar • Pool bar The hotel offers the following meal plans: • Self-Catering • Bed & Breakfast • Half board Breakfast (8 a.m. – 10 a.m.); lunch (1 p.m. -3 p.m.) and dinner (7 p.m. – 9 p.m.) are served in the buffet restaurant. Pool & Beach The hotel provides its guest a 100 m2 large pool, which is heated to approx. 22-24 degrees during November till March. Sun loungers by the poolside and parasols on the grass are available free of charge. The pool is equipped with steps, a ladder and a hand rail for easy access. Guests can additionally can relax in the 4. 000 m2 botanical garden, which lays 500 meters from the hotel or indulge theirself with a massage which is organized by Thomas Cook host (against extra charge). In the west of Puerto de la Cruz you will find the 260 meter long Playa Jardin with black lava sand. Next to the Lago Martianez area you will find an additional beach, "Playa Martianez", also with black lava sand which is typical for this island. Sports, Relaxation & Entertainment smartline Teide Mar has a special senior program, including walking tours, yoga and other activities - arranged by the Thomas Cook host in the hotel (all at an additional charge). Furthermore, guests have the have the choice between the following various activities: • Tennis court (against charge) • Pool table (against charge) • Yoga – organized by the Thomas Cook host (against charge) • Nordic walking tours – organized by the Thomas Cook host (against charge) • Afternoon coffee party in one of the local coffee shops - organized by the Thomas Cook host • Shopping tours - organized by the Thomas Cook host • Singing groups - organized by the Thomas Cook host • Weekly wine degustation – organized by the Thomas Cook host (against charge) • Game room to play cards or bridge* • TV room* • Reading room * *) Please note that the game room for playing cards, the TV room and the reading room is one sole room Internet • Free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel • Stationary computers available (against charge) Additional Information • Please note: Hotel is recommended for 16+ • Reception • Elevators • Mini market • Self-service laundry–against charge • Medical center – across the road • Dog friendly (up to 4kg) – upon request • Parking facilities available in the nearby streets of the hotel – free of charge Contact Teide Mar Calle Acevinos, Urb. La Paz 6 Spain , Tenerife 38400 Puerto de la Cruz ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your smartline Teide Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teide Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Smartline Teide Mar Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing