We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was only beaten by the weather, it rained every day!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Carabela Apartments
Ranked #55 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel was cheap! I know why. The food was basic and poor, the rooms were ok but I don't really like looking at a building site from mine, the pool was emptied and not re- filled. Internet connection was charged for and slow! The staff (except for Carola and the other barman) were indifferent to the point of being rude, simply because it rained! Puerto de la Cruz is NOT for the unfit! It is very hilly and, as all the life is down in the town, you have a gruelling walk back! We had teenage children with us and Puerto does NOT cater for them! We cut our holiday short and went to Playa de las Americas instead!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busboy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

The Carabela aparthotel is situated in the lovely district of La Paz/ El Botanico. The area has many large 4* and 5* hotels but being on the very crest of the downward-sloping hill to the town and beaches, La Carabela has a better location than all of them. I stayed in a single roof-top apartment which gave me a sun deck about the size of a basketball court with fabulous 360 degree views of the sea and the imposing Mount Tiede, plus all day sunbathing. This was in addition to the apartment's own balcony. The room was large and quite well equipped for the price and cleaned well every day by the friendly staff. I had B&B with the standard buffet with hot options which was fine. There is a steep climb back up from town but that goes for any of the many hotels in the area and with the amount of seafood I was putting away every evening I actually appreciated it! I found the town to be a delight, civilized, safe and completely free of any rowdy behaviour. The restaurant options are endless. There were many more Spanish and retired German tourists than Brits and this went for the hotel's guests too. I thought La Carabela to be great value for money and I will be very happy to book more stays there in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooftop apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelator6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Have just returned from a week staying at La Carabela Apartments - I rated it as Very Good on the basis of cost. It was cheap. The room, and it was one large single room, had an electric hob, fridge and cooking worktop at one end and the beds at the other, with a seperate bathroom. So not really an apartment. But - it was clean and the room was quite large and didn't feel cramped. My balcony was never sunny, so wasn't that nice to sit on. There was a T.V. in the room but it cost extra, as did the use of the safe - 12 Euro for the week, which seems excessive as this a service usually provided free of charge. There were two pools, one smaller pool was hardly used by anyone and could feel like your own private little space, it had trees around it which were filled with birds and no other noise, a lovely space to dream away an afternoon. The walk into the old part of the town was OK during the day but could be a bit of a drag at night and the area around the hotel was limited. On the whole, as I had no sun on my balcony, the charm of the little swimming pool saved La Carabela for me. I would stay there again - but maybe ask to be on the sunny side of the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny balcony and seek out the little swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harper b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

OK, La Carebela is neither luxurious nor stylish - but it's excellent value for money and we would happily stay there again. We like the La Paz area, having stayed there before - OK, the walk back from the town centre is up a fair hill, but good for walking off a large dinner! And yes, nearby parking is limited - but there's plenty within a 5 minute walk.

Our apartment was surprisingly spacious, well-lit and spotlessly clean - though the decor is dated. The (3) beds were comfortable (no sofa though), and there was plenty of storage space. Plenty of hot water from the shower (over the bath). Towels changed every two days or better, room cleaned 6 days per week.

Kitchen equipment fine for our needs, but perhaps a problem for more ambitious culinary efforts. (No microwave or oven, only two electric rings. No can opener either, and only one small kitchen knife plus a bread knife.) We made good use of the small electric filter coffee-maker, and found that a measured quantity of water soon boiled in a saucepan for tea.

Our room was on the second storey of Block B, facing South, so we could see Teide, the sea, and the sunset. But Block A shaded the morning sun, which didn’t reach us until about 11.00 a.m. Although we faced onto the street, it was very quiet indeed. The two blocks each have their own pool – ours was small and pretty basic, though it did get the sun. It was unheated – we didn’t try it (neither did anyone else that we noticed)! Block A’s pool looked rather smarter, and we did see someone in it – I’m sure we could have used it if we wished.

We were self-catering – we did try one breakfast in the restaurant, which was (no more than) OK if hectic.

Room Tip: Avoid north-facing rooms in block B (no sun or view), and ground floor rooms in both blocks (not muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BampaOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Just arrived back after 10days in La Carabela apartments, just lovely, we wanted a quiet scenic holiday doing nothing but relaxing and thats what we got!, lots to see and do, the holiday is what you make it, NO YOBS!!, views are stunning, will be going back again, steep to beach but taxis are cheap, staedy walk down, taxi drive back - sorted. Would highley recommend

Room Tip: Corner suites have larger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

There are lots of hills in Peurto de la Cruz, but when it's only 3 Euros to get a Taxi to the coast does it really matter? The area this hotel is situated in is beautiful, you're up in the hills of the region a 2 min stroll to some really lovely bars and restaurants ( I recommend the pizza place just to the side of the 25 supermarket, 5 euros for a pizza big enough to feed at least 4, and their seafood is AMAZING)

The hotel rooms are basic, but tidy, clean and well maintained. in our room was a two ring hob, coffee maker/kettle and a fridge, which was all we needed. there are two pools, as was mentioned before. we went in early september 2011 and had the pool of the smaller building practically to ourselves and managed to toast ourselves bronze in privacy. The pool isn't olympic size, probably around 20ft by 8ft, but it'd lovely and deep and I managed to get some 'propper swimming' done. The check out staff can be a little brisk, but I think that's mostly due to the language barrier rather than any rudeness.

Oh and be warned that this is very much a German tourist area, we had no issue with towel placements or rudeness, but many of to locals know German rather than english, nothing a little pointing and basic spanish won't help with.

This was a relaxing trip for two friends finishing their degree, so we didn't tour the island very much, but I do have a few recommendations, the zoo, Loco Park is very good fun, their dolphin show great for kids and their aquarium is mesmerizing. The national botanic gardens ( a 5 min walk away) are lovely and worth a visit. Buy some lace whilst your there too, take it from a textiles graduate, you won't get anything finer. And make sure you have a cocktail or three at the bar overhanging a cliff, you'll know it when you see it.

Room Tip: From what I know all rooms are lovely, but in the larger building the rooms on the south side have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank laurenlikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

The Carabela apartments are clean, adequate and ok for the price. Some of the staff are friendly but others struggle to say good morning. The apartments are situated in a quiet part of town about 15 minutes from the seafront and main bars. The old and the idle should be aware that it is up a small hill but not as steep as some of the reviews would have you believe.

The kitchen was poorly equipped with only a 2 ring hob and a fridge. There was no Kettle, no Toaster and no Microwave. The selection of pots and pans was adequate but I had to buy a couple of G and T glasses.

There was no TV in the room (Not that I wanted one) but there was one in the reception area.

The Apartment was cleaned every day but Sunday to a good standard and towels were changed.

There are 2 swimming pools but they are very small and not much use for any serious swimming but ok for a cooling dip.

If you are taking a Laptop, the hotel supplies wi-fi for 2 euros a day but the reception is poor. There are better quality free wi-fi connections around the town.

I was self catering so didn’t use the restaurant facilities or bar.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank davieoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#54 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#60 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#65 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Puerto Azul Hotel
Puerto Azul Hotel
#59 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Pl...
#56 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Don Candido
Don Candido
#42 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Carabela Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carabela Apartments

Address: Carretera del Botanico s/n | Calle Richard J Yeoward 3, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: £23 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carabela Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Carabela Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carabela Apartments Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
La Carabela Apartments Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing