We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for puerto de la cruz holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Carabela Apartments
Ranked #62 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Mikkeli, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good choice for puerto de la cruz holiday”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were 2 weeks at this hotel, in the 5 floor. Our apartment was on teide side and sun was shining whole day to balcony. The view from the kitchen windows was teide as you can see from my picture. There was daily cleaning at rooms (not sunday). There was little kitchen in room which you can use. You can make some food etc. There is couple of cheap stores near, one supermarket is just 100m from hotel. At night there was pretty ok to sleep, altough there was some traffic in the road and busses make noise in the morning but that was not problem because we woke up 07 normally.
Room sound insulation was poor, you can hear tv from other apartment and talking.
There was not so many activities in the hotel, no gym. 2 pools , 1 heated. 4 places total where you can enjoy sun. 2 roof areas and 2 pools.
Hotel is about 1km from pdlc centrum, you can walk easily if you dont afraid stairs and uphill. But if you dont want to walk you can drive with taxi it costs only 4€ in the city area.
Wifi internet costs 2€ per day and it works average.. sometimes fast sometimes slow.
There is bus stop in 100m of the hotel, you can go for example to Teide or Santa cruz with bus. 103 goes directly to Santa Cruz and price is 5€ for one direction.
In conclusion i can say if you want superluxus dont go to la carabela, but if you want to stay in budget and can live with little noise this is good hotel. In my opinion i would choose this next time.

Room Tip: Definetly take apartment from Teide side. 5 floor was good and we had balcony on teide side. Sun was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank AnttiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    65
    68
    32
    33
See reviews for
38
126
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

very basic ,supermarkets and restaurants were nearby which was quite helpful.what i did dislike was the fact there was a private house nearby which was blasting loud music all night not a good experience even after complaining.All in all overall this appartment was good but some things let it down.rooms were big and clean and there was a balcony so it was nice.the staff were very helpful and friendly and this made the experience much better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lewishednesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a family wedding In Puerto de la Cruz. Very hard to find parking nearby depite being advertised as having parking. Had a room with a corner balcony so got sun all day and the views were beautiful. Booked for self catering but thankfully did not have to use it - kitchen consisted of 2 rings only!!. Room large and clean. Only downside was music played very loudly from a private house facing the apartment (could not blame the apartments owners for that) very late at night. No air-conditioning but did not need it when we were there.
Staff friendly and helpful. Supermarket and restuatrants within walking distant but beach a long steep walk away via steps which was no problem for us.
Excellent value for money being situated in the up market Botanico area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a corner balcony that way you get a great view with sun and shade all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accountsclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed in an apartment here and only have one complaint that I left my coat in the room by mistake when I checked out. After telephoning the hotel and returning the next day the jacket could not be found. Why?
I would suggest while I'm on here that the hotel should perhaps apply for a blue disabled bay as the parking is abismal. This is really not a disabled friendly hotel either at the entrance or in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday at The Carabela (7th April 2012). We read the reviews here on Trip Adviser and chose it as the best place to meet our needs and budget.

The positives were that the hotel was very good value for money, with a large bedroom, very clean hotel both inside the rooms, social areas etc and outside. The bedroom was cleaned daily except Sundays and towels were changed daily. The only thing the maid did not do was wash any plates, glasses etc or wipe down the surfaces in the kitchenette area.

I had asked for a room on the corner of the tall building as they get the sun in the afternoon and have the biggest balconies but was told on arrival this was not possible as they get booked well in advance (we were very last minute). We did however get a 3rd floor room with an amazing view of Mount Teide, I had to blink twice to really believe it was there it was so impressive.

The hotel is centrally located but you need to be fit if you want to go to the town on foot. There are a large number of very steep steps and a steep incline to get past, fine on the way down but a killer on the way back. There is however, a very efficient taxi service for 4 euros in case you can't manage it.

The negaitves: Plastic sheets on the bed - crinkle, crinkle each night. To be honest I think we had new matresses and they were just trying to protect them. The floor tiles by the door were cracked and loose, the fridge was quite a health hazard and must have cost them a fortune in electricity because the seals were so damaged the door wouldn't close properly - see photos. The base of the fridge was a bit dodgy too. We didn't suffer any ill effects so wasn't a problem and we used the fridge for everything. The staff on the reception were helpful when you directly spoke to them but offered no more. I suspect that this could be a cultural thing rather than anything else, they missed out on selling us some trips. The barman was however quite a character which was refreshing.All the above wouldn't have been a problem, our most major issue was about 4-5 days into the holiday when 2 Spanish couples and a child moved into the room next door and insisted on playing loud music which not only could be heard through the wall but also echoed around the pool making sitting out a very unpleasant experience unless of course you like Spanish grunge. It was this that spoiled an otherwise great break.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra (2 euros per day plus a big deposit for the remote) to get a remote control fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgiep99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel was cheap! I know why. The food was basic and poor, the rooms were ok but I don't really like looking at a building site from mine, the pool was emptied and not re- filled. Internet connection was charged for and slow! The staff (except for Carola and the other barman) were indifferent to the point of being rude, simply because it rained! Puerto de la Cruz is NOT for the unfit! It is very hilly and, as all the life is down in the town, you have a gruelling walk back! We had teenage children with us and Puerto does NOT cater for them! We cut our holiday short and went to Playa de las Americas instead!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busboy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The Carabela aparthotel is situated in the lovely district of La Paz/ El Botanico. The area has many large 4* and 5* hotels but being on the very crest of the downward-sloping hill to the town and beaches, La Carabela has a better location than all of them. I stayed in a single roof-top apartment which gave me a sun deck about the size of a basketball court with fabulous 360 degree views of the sea and the imposing Mount Tiede, plus all day sunbathing. This was in addition to the apartment's own balcony. The room was large and quite well equipped for the price and cleaned well every day by the friendly staff. I had B&B with the standard buffet with hot options which was fine. There is a steep climb back up from town but that goes for any of the many hotels in the area and with the amount of seafood I was putting away every evening I actually appreciated it! I found the town to be a delight, civilized, safe and completely free of any rowdy behaviour. The restaurant options are endless. There were many more Spanish and retired German tourists than Brits and this went for the hotel's guests too. I thought La Carabela to be great value for money and I will be very happy to book more stays there in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooftop apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelator6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#54 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#58 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#59 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#41 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Pl...
#51 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tenerife Ving
Hotel Tenerife Ving
#63 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Carabela Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carabela Apartments

Property: La Carabela Apartments
Address: Carretera del Botanico s/n | Calle Richard J Yeoward 3, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carabela Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Carabela Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carabela Apartments Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
La Carabela Apartments Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing